DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
1. Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claims 1 and 16 recite “a robot arm for holding a surgical instrument; and a controller coupled with the robot arm, the controller programmed to: detect a position of the surgical instrument in at least one attraction volume corresponding with a planned trajectory of the surgical instrument for the THA procedure, the at least one attraction volume defined in part by a point and an axis extending from the point; and while the surgical instrument is in the at least one attraction volume during the THA procedure, provide assistance to movement of the surgical instrument in a direction toward the at least one attraction volume”. The limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, the claims purely recite decision making/determination steps (such as detecting a position) wherein these steps could be a clinician looking at the robot/tool. Further, the recitation “provide assistance to movement” is a broad statement that could encompass an alert or alarm, and not necessarily the actual movement of the instrument. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The components are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than any structure that can make decisions about robotic arm movement. Further, the use of the controller, sensors, and the robotic arm/surgical instruments in the claims, are merely insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed at an abstract idea.
The additional elements, such as the controller, sensors, and the arm/instruments while being mere structures for data gathering are also well-understood, routine, conventional activity that is widely prevalent or common use in the relevant industry. The use of sensors/controllers/robotic arms to gather patient information are well known in the art as disclosed by the following references: US 20200170739 A1 and US 20180008358 A1. Well-understood, routine and conventional activity cannot be significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 5 and 14 are not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 since those claims recite specific movements of the robotic arm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iorgulescu (US 20200170739 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 16, Iorgulescu teaches a surgical robot/method for use in a total hip arthroplasty (THA) procedure (Abstract and Par. 0036 teach a surgical robot for use in hip arthroplasty), the robot comprising:
a robot arm for holding a surgical instrument (Par. 0030 teaches a robotic arm being coupled to a surgical tool); and
a controller coupled with the robot arm (Par. 0030-0031 teach a control system for the arm), the controller programmed to:
detect a position of the surgical instrument in at least one attraction volume corresponding with a planned trajectory of the surgical instrument for the THA procedure (Par. 0032-0034 teach detecting the position of the surgical tool in relation to the patient’s body or in relation to the surgical environment- Par. 0034-0036 teaches there being 3-D imaging for establishing and modifying virtual haptic boundaries for use with a force system to provide haptic feedback to surgical tools), the at least one attraction volume defined in part by a point and an axis extending from the point (Par. 0042 teaches the attraction volume having an endpoint [402] and an axis [401]); and
while the surgical instrument is in the at least one attraction volume during the THA procedure, provide assistance to movement of the surgical instrument in a direction toward the at least one attraction volume (Par. 0057 teaches the movement of the surgical tool with alignment of the axis to the target)
In regards to claim 2, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one attraction volume includes multiple attraction volumes having distinct associated attraction forces (Par. 0051 teaches there being different haptic forces associated with different haptic geometries; Fig 6 shows there being multiple attraction volumes in conical shapes) .
In regards to claims 3, 5, and 17, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 2/16, wherein a first attraction volume has a lesser attraction force than a second attraction volume, and wherein the second attraction volume is a sub-volume of the first attraction volume; wherein an operator must exert greater force to remove the surgical instrument from the second attraction volume than the first attraction volume, and wherein the controller is configured to fix the surgical instrument in alignment with the planned trajectory in at least one operating mode.(Par. 0047 teaches there being a stop haptic plane [420] wherein if the tool is in the proper alignment then the forces would be higher, causing it to be difficult to remove, than if the tool where in the improper position since the force would be stopped by the stop haptic plane. Par. 0071 teaches the control system controlling/fixing the instrument to be back in alignment).
In regards to claim 4, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 3, wherein the point and the axis define a centerline of both the first attraction volume and the second attraction volume (Fig 5 shows the point [402] and the axis [401] defining a centerline).
In regards to claim 6, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 1, wherein the surgical instrument includes at least one of a reamer or an impactor (Par. 0030 teaches a reamer).
In regards to claims 7-9 and 18-19, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 1, wherein the controller is further programmed to progressively guide a tip of the surgical instrument to the point and an axis of the surgical instrument to the axis of the attraction volume, wherein progressively guiding includes providing haptic feedback to guide the tip of the surgical instrument to the point, and subsequently providing haptic feedback to guide the axis of the surgical instrument to the axis of the attraction volume, and wherein the axis of the attraction volume is aligned with the planned trajectory of the surgical instrument for the THA procedure (Par. 0034-0036 teach the control system having a haptic boundary and stop plane that would allow for the tool to be guided into the point and axis while providing haptic feedback about the position of the instrument. See also Fig 5). wherein the controller is configured to operate in multiple modes during the THA procedure, wherein the controller automatically switches between the operating modes in response to detecting the surgical instrument is aligned with the planned trajectory of the surgical instrument for the THA procedure (Par. 0047 teaches the haptic boundary and stop haptic line wherein the instrument would be allowed to keep advancing if in the proper orientation but would be stopped if hit the haptic boundary, i.e. switching modes of on and off).
In regards to claims 10-11 and 20, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 9/19, wherein at least one of the operating modes includes a hinge haptic control mode that limits degrees of freedom of the surgical instrument to permit rotation and translation around the axis thereof (Fig 5 and Par. 0057 teach the haptic control that would limit the degrees of freedom the instrument could take and allows for rotation and translation about the axis [401])
In regards to claim 12, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one attraction volume has an approximately conical shape (Fig 5 shows the conical shape).
In regards to claim 13, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 1, further comprising a navigation system for maintaining alignment of the surgical instrument along the planned trajectory for the THA procedure (Par. 0033-0036 teaches a navigation system [202] that maintains the positioning of the instrument).
In regards to claims 14 and 21, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 1/16, wherein the controller is configured to control a reaming portion of the THA procedure (Par. 0030 teaches the controller controlling the surgical tool attached to the arm which can be a reamer) by:
forcing the surgical instrument into alignment with the planned trajectory for the THA procedure such that a tip of the surgical instrument is coincident with the point, wherein the point defines an initial reaming location (Fig 5 shows the alignment of the tool [103] where the tip of the tool is coincident with the point [103a] for the initial steps); and
arresting axial movement of the surgical instrument when the tip reaches a final point that defines a final reaming location, the final reaming location being distal of the initial reaming location (Par. 0068 teaches the control CAS system can determine that the bone resection operation for a first post hole is complete when the reference point [103a] of the cutting tool reached an end point being at the bottom [102a], see also Fig 6),
wherein after forcing the surgical instrument into alignment with the planned trajectory, the surgical instrument is free to rotate about the axis or to pivot about the point (Par. 0057 teaches that the tool has the freedom to rotate), and
wherein the surgical instrument is free to rotate about the axis or pivot about the point after axial movement has been arrested (Par. 0073).
In regards to claim 15, Iorgulescu teaches the surgical robot of claim 1, further comprising an end effector for holding the surgical instrument, wherein the end effector enables coupling of distinct surgical instruments for the THA procedure (Par. 0030 teaches an end effector for holding several different/distinct surgical instruments such as burrs, saws, or reamers).
Conclusion
/S.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796