DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 12-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12, line 3 recites, “An initiator”, which should be corrected to “an initiator”. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 13-20 depend from Claim 12.
Claim 18, line 1 recites, “an electrically shunt”, which should be corrected to clarify the claim language. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 19 depend from Claim 18.
Claim 12, line 6 recites, “MCU”, without previously reciting the limitation in full form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the current detection device " in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 13-20 depend from rejected Claim 12.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the switch’s MCU" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 13-20 depend from rejected Claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lanclos (US 8,695,506, IDS Document).
Regarding Claim 1, Lanclos discloses a method for detecting current through an initiator (Figures 1-5, Abstract) comprising:
supplying current to the initiator (by closing continuity switch 88 in 86 and arming switch 76 and continuity switch 721 in 701, Figure 3), wherein the supplied current is less than the current necessary to initiate the initiator (Figure 3, Column 3, lines 8-15, “…The method includes inserting the perforating string into the wellbore and flowing an amount of electricity to the detonator that is below a threshold amount for initiating detonation of the detonator…”);
detecting whether current is flowing through the initiator (current flowing through the detonator using meter 96, Figure 3, comprising 100, Figure 4, Column 6, lines 57-59, “….a meter 100 is shown in the switch assembly 70.sub.1 for measuring electrical flow or potential to the detonator 781 and through the detonator 781…..” ); and
toggling a digital input of a switch corresponding to whether or not current is detected flowing through the initiator (toggling continuity switch 88, ground switch 90 or switch coupling 99 to 98 corresponding to detection, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Lanclos discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising initiating the initiator (Column 4, lines 33-36, 50-54, “…circuitry (not shown) is provided within the switch assemblies 70.sub.1-n for selectively opening and/or closing the continuity switches 72.sub.1-n and/or the arming switches 76.sub.1-n in response to a signal delivered in the communication line 74”, Column 5, lines 35-42).
Regarding Claim 3, Lanclos discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising determining whether or not an initiator is present (Figure 3, Column 6, lines 12-16, “…if no current is monitored at the meter 96 after emitting the test current, it can be an indication of an open circuit between the communication line 74 and detonator 781…”).
Regarding Claim 4, Lanclos discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising sending a signal to a surface location corresponding to the measured current (meter 96, coupled to controller 98 via 84, Figure 3, Figure 4, Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Lanclos discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising testing the initiator with a supplied current that is less than the no-fire current of the initiator (Column 6, lines 1-6, “….testing connection integrity to the detonator 781 involves configuring the perforating system 50 as depicted in FIG. 3, i.e., closing switches 88, 761 and opening switch 90, and delivering a current large enough to be monitored, yet below the threshold necessary for initiating activation of the detonator 781..”).
Regarding Claim 6, Lanclos discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising isolating the initiator from a power source (by opening continuity switch 88 in 86, 82, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Lanclos discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising recording the detected current over time to monitor the integrity of the initiator during the perforating process (Column 5, lines 61-67).
Regarding Claim 9, Lanclos discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising using an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) to measure the voltage across the initiator, thereby enabling calculation of the initiator's resistance (comprising 100, Figure 4, Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 3, “…analog to digital converter may be included within meter 100 or the switch assembly 70…”).
Regarding Claim 10, Lanclos discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising applying a high-impedance path in parallel with the initiator to ensure that the current flowing through the initiator remains below its no-fire threshold during detection (comprising switch 76, Figures 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanclos (US 8,695,506, IDS Document).
Regarding Claim 7, Lanclos discloses further comprising adjusting the supplied current (comprising controller 98 adjusting the supplied current by controlling the on/off state of the switches 88, 90, 72, 76, Figures 3-4, Column 4, lines 33-36, 50-54, “…circuitry (not shown) is provided within the switch assemblies 70.sub.1-n for selectively opening and/or closing the continuity switches 72.sub.1-n and/or the arming switches 76.sub.1-n in response to a signal delivered in the communication line 74”, Column 5, lines 35-42).
Lanclos does not specifically disclose adjusting the supplied current being based on the detected resistance of the initiator to optimize the accuracy of the current measurement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the current or other test parameter to increase/optimize the accuracy of the current measurements and thus to optimize the performance of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11, Lanclos discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising monitoring the current detected and sending the current detected to operating personnel at the surface (Column 5, lines 61-64, “…the meter 96 may be set at surface so that operations personnel can monitor connection integrity, between the communication line 74 and the detonator 781…”, Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 3, “…analog to digital converter may be included within meter 100 or the switch assembly 701. The values measured with the meter 100 can be transmitted to the controller 98 via the communication line 102…”).
Lanclos does not specifically disclose generating an alert if the current detected through the initiator falls outside a predetermined range, indicating a potential fault in the initiator or wiring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the apparatus of Lanclos, generating an alert indicating potential such that the operating personnel can perform the necessary maintenance to avoid potential shut down and loss of operation.
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanclos (US 8,695,506, IDS Document) in view of Chan (US 4,570,216).
Regarding Claims 12-14, Lanclos discloses an apparatus for detecting current through an initiator (Figures 1-4, Abstract) comprising:
an initiator (comprising 78, Figures 3-4) in series with a low side initiator voltage isolation switching device (comprising 82), wherein the initiator voltage isolation switching device allows a small amount of electrical current to flow through the initiator (switch 88 in 82 in closed position allows current flow to the initiator 78, Figures 3-4, Column 3, lines 8-15, “…The method includes inserting the perforating string into the wellbore and flowing an amount of electricity to the detonator that is below a threshold amount for initiating detonation of the detonator…”), and a current detection device comprising a resistor for detecting the current passing through the initiator (comprising resistor 94 and meter 96, Figure 3, comprising 100, Figure 4).
Lanclos does not discloses the initiator in series with a high-impedance resistive divider, the high impedance resistive divider further comprising a plurality of resistors in series that are in parallel with the low side initiator voltage isolation switching device, and the resistive divider can toggle a digital input of the switch’s MCU between high (on) or low (off) depending on the current detection device detecting current passing through the initiator, wherein the value for the plurality of resistors sum to 9.9 MΩ (Claim 13), or wherein initiator current is 50 μA at 500 volts.
Chan discloses a switching apparatus comprising a sensing circuit (21, Figure 2), the sensing circuit comprising a resistor divider circuit (comprising R13, R14, R15 in 21, Figure 2) configured to toggle a digital input of a switch’s MCU between high (on) or low (off) depending on the resistor divider circuit detecting a signal at the input (21 coupled port A3 of MCU 22 such that internal circuitry of microprocessor 25 toggles the control circuit and thereby reverses the control signals at the PORT A1 and PORT A0 terminals, Figure 2, Column 5, lines 47-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the apparatus of Lanclos, a resistor divider as taught by Chan and to select the resistance values and set the operating parameters such as current and voltage based on the design requirements to obtain optimum performance.
Regarding Claim 15, combination of Lanclos and Chan discloses the apparatus of Claim 12 further comprising a clamping Zener diode coupled to the initiator, wherein the clamping Zener diode provides high voltage protection to the current detection device (comprising Zener diode Z5 in the sensing circuit 21 in Figure 2 of Chan in the combination).
Regarding Claim 16, combination of Lanclos and Chan discloses the apparatus of Claim 12 further comprising a rectifier diode directing current into a voltage rail, wherein the rectifier diode provides high voltage protection to the current detection device (Chan, comprising diode D2 coupled to 23 in Figure 2 in the combination).
Regarding Claim 17, combination of Lanclos and Chan discloses the apparatus of Claim 12 further comprising a means for providing high voltage protection to the current detection device (Chan, comprising Zener diode 15, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 18, combination of Lanclos and Chan discloses the apparatus of Claim 12 further comprising an electrically shunt coupled to the initiator voltage isolation switching device (Lanclos, comprising ground switch 90, Figures 3-4).
Regarding Claim 19, combination of Lanclos and Chan discloses the apparatus of Claim 18, wherein the shunting is accomplished using a switch turned on and off by a microcontroller (switch 90 turned on and off by 98, Figure 3). Combination of Lanclos and Chan does not specifically disclose the switch being a depletion-mode MOSFETs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the switch in the apparatus of Lanclos, as a depletion-mode MOSFETs, having the advantages of high switching frequency and low power loss.
Regarding Claim 20, Lanclos discloses the apparatus of Claim 12 further comprising a microcontroller supplied with power from a wellsite (Lanclos, comprising controller 98 receiving power from electrical source 99 at wellsite, Figure 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shen et al. (US 5,789,951) discloses a sensing circuit coupled to a voltage source (40 coupled to VBAT, 26, Figure 2), the sensing circuit comprising voltage sensing element (40, Figure 2), a current limiter in series with a current detection resistor (42 in series with 44) and reverse connected diode across the current detecting resistor( diode 46 across 44).
/LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 6/27/2026 /CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838