Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, claims 17-20 in the reply filed on 5/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/8/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S 2005/0286228 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Kim discloses a display apparatus, comprising: a display panel (Fig.3, #210) configured to display an image (Fig.3 and paragraph [0035-0036]); a metal plate (Fig.3, #220) disposed behind the display panel (Fig.3); a first circuit board (Fig.3, #230) disposed behind the metal plate and electrically connected to the display panel (Fig.3, #230 is connected to #210 via #270); a chip on film (Fig.3, #270) having a first side electrically connected to the display panel (Fig.3) and a second side electrically connected to the first circuit board (Fig.3), the chip on film further including a portion configured to be bent (Fig.1, #270 has a portion that is configured to bend); and a front cover (Fig.2, #251) disposed in front of the first circuit board (Fig.2-3, #251 is in front of #230) and spaced apart from the display panel in a vertical direction (Fig.2, flipped -90 degrees, such that the display panel #210 is spaced apart from #251 in the vertical direction), wherein an upper area of a front surface of the first circuit board is coupled to the metal plate (Fig.3, #230 upper area of a front surface is coupled to #220), and a lower area of the front surface of the first circuit board is coupled to the front cover (Fig.2-3, #230 is coupled to #251 via #220 in conjunction with #280).
In regards to Claim 2, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first circuit board has an upper portion overlapping the display panel in a front-rear direction of the display apparatus (Fig.3, #230 has an upper portion which overlaps display panel #210) and a lower portion overlapping the front cover in the front-rear direction (Fig.2-3, #230 has a lower power which overlaps the front cover #251 in the front to rear direction).
In regards to Claim 14, Kim discloses a display apparatus, comprising: a display panel (Fig.2-3, #210) configured to display an image (Fig.2-3 and paragraph [0034]); a metal plate (Fig.3, #220) disposed behind the display panel (Fig.3); a first circuit board (Fig.2-3,. #230 on the right side) disposed behind the metal plate and electrically connected to the display panel (Fig.3, #230 connected via #270); a chip on film (Fig.3, #270 is a chip on film) having a first side electrically connected to the display panel and a second side electrically connected to the first circuit board (Fig.3, #210 and #230 are connected via #270), the chip on film further including a portion configured to be bent (Fig.3); a front cover (Fig.1-3, #251) disposed in front of the first circuit board (Fig.2) and spaced apart from the display panel in a vertical direction (Fig.2-3, flipped -90 degrees discloses the front cover apart in the vertical direction); a cover member (Fig.2, #240) in front of the display panel (Fig.2-3); a second circuit board (Fig.2, #230 (Middle pcb)) electrically connected to the first circuit board (Fig.2, discloses each pcb connected to each via flexible connection and paragraph [0038]); and a flexible circuit board (Fig.2, the flexible circuit board between middle pcb and far right pcb (1st pcb)) electrically connecting the first circuit board to the second circuit board (Fig.2), wherein an upper area of a front surface of the first circuit board is coupled to the metal plate (Fig.2-3, upper area of front surface of #230 is coupled to metal plate), and a lower area of the front surface of the first circuit board is coupled to the front cover (Fig.2-3, #230 is coupled to #251 through #280/220/290).
In regards to Claim 15, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 14, wherein a lower portion of the cover member and an upper portion of the front cover are disposed to overlap each other in the front-rear direction (Fig.2, #240 and #251 overlap each other in the front-rear direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S 2005/0286228 A1) in view of Boman (U.S 2017/0344082 A1).
In regards to Claim 3, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, at least a portion of the first area is disposed to overlap the display panel in the front-rear direction, and the second area is disposed to overlap the front cover in the front-rear direction.
Kim fails to disclose: Wherein the first circuit board includes a first area and a second area having a greater thickness than the first area.
However, Boman discloses: Wherein the first circuit board includes a first area (Fig.2, #218) and a second area (Fig.2, #220) having a greater thickness than the first area (Fig.2, #220 has a greater thickness than #218, see paragraph [0034] and claim 18, as such the office notes that with the combination of Kim in view of Boman, the first circuit board disposed within the display apparatus (as taught by Kim) would be modified to include a first and second area, wherein the second area is thicker (as taught by Boman) to support heavier components).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the first circuit board disposed within the display apparatus (as taught by Kim) to include a first and second area, wherein the second area is thicker (as taught by Boman) to support heavier components. By modifying the thickness of the circuit board, would allow for smaller components to be mounted on a thinner portion and larger components mounted on the thicker portion, so conserve space and reduce the overall size.
In regards to Claim 4, Kim in view of Boman discloses the display apparatus of claim 3, further comprising a back cover (Kim, Fig.2, #252), wherein at least a portion of the back cover is disposed behind the display panel and the first circuit board (Kim, Fig.2), wherein the back cover includes an accommodation part (Kim, Fig.2, #252 includes a recess between the back cover walls to accommodate the internal components of the display apparatus) configured to accommodate the second area of the first circuit board (Fig.2-3, #252 shown to accommodate the circuit boards #230).
Claims 5-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S 2005/0286228 A1) in view of Boman (U.S 2017/0344082 A1), and further, in view of NAM (U.S 2021/0026590 A1).
In regards to Claim 5, Kim in view of Boman discloses the display apparatus of claim 4.
Kim in view of Boman fail to disclose: Wherein the accommodation part includes a portion corresponding to the second area of the back cover that protrudes from a rear surface of the back cover and is recessed in a front surface of the back cover.
However, NAM discloses: Wherein the accommodation part includes a portion corresponding to the second area of the back cover that protrudes from a rear surface of the back cover and is recessed in a front surface of the back cover (Fig.3-5, #600 being a rear cover (see paragraph [0126] includes accommodation part which protrudes outwards from a rear surface and recess in the front surface, as such the office notes that with the combination of Kim in view of Boman and NAM, the back cover which is configured to accommodate a circuit board (as taught by Kim) would be modified to have a portion protrude from the rear surface and recessed in the front surface (as taught by NAM) to accommodate elements within the display apparatus).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the back cover which is configured to accommodate a circuit board (as taught by Kim) to have a portion protrude from the rear surface and recessed in the front surface (as taught by NAM) to accommodate elements within the display apparatus. By including a protruding portion would allow for larger components to be covered without increase the overall size of the back cover.
In regards to Claim 6, Kim in view of Boman and NAM discloses the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the display apparatus is configured to be mounted on a dashboard of a vehicle (NAM, Fig.17-20 disclose #DIS2 placed within the dashboard #DB), and wherein the second area and the accommodation part are disposed inside the dashboard in response to the display apparatus being mounted on the dashboard (NAM, Fig.17 & 20, #DIS2 back cover would be disposed inside the #DB to look flush with said dash board).
In regards to Claim 7, Kim in view of Boman and NAM discloses the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first circuit board further includes a heating element disposed in the second area, wherein the heating element has a higher heating quantity than other elements of the first circuit board (Boman, Fig.2, #214 is a processor which produces more heat than other elements, see paragraph [0032]).
In regards to Claim 8, Kim in view of Boman and NAM discloses the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the chip on film is disposed to have the first side coupled to a lower portion of the first circuit board (NAM, Fig.5, #310 has a first side coupled to a lower portion of #330 on the far left side) and the second side coupled to a lower portion of the display panel (NAM, Fig.5, #310 second side is coupled to a lower portion of #210, and wherein the chip on film is vertically disposed to intersect the second area of the first circuit board (NAM, Fig.5, #310 is vertically disposed to intersect the second area of the board #330).
In regards to Claim 9, Kim in view of Boman and NAM discloses the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein at least a portion of the chip on film is disposed between the front cover and the first circuit board (Kim and NAM, Fig.3, #270 has a portion which is disposed between #251 and #230, Fig.5, #310 has a portion disposed between cover #100 and first pcb #330).
In regards to Claim 11, Kim in view of Boman and NAM discloses the display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the display panel is disposed outside the dashboard in response the display apparatus being mounted on the dashboard (NAM, Fig.17 and 20, #DIS2 display panel is disposed outside of #DB once mounted in the #DB).
In regards to Claim 12, Kim in view of Boman and NAM discloses the display apparatus of claim 11, wherein an upper cover of the dashboard is vertically disposed between the accommodation part and the display panel (NAM, Fig.18-19, upper cover #db is disposed between the display panel #DIS2 and the rear cover of said display).
In regards to Claim 13, Kim in view of Boman and NAM discloses the display apparatus of claim 7, wherein the heating element is at least one of a light emitting module, a CPU, and a capacitor (Boman, Fig.2, #214 is a processer (CPU, see paragraph [0031-32]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S 2005/0286228 A1) in view of Boman (U.S 2017/0344082 A1), and further, in view of Lee (U.S 2020/0254721 A1).
In regards to Claim 10, Kim in view of Boman discloses the display apparatus of claim 4.
Kim in view of Boman fail to disclose: Wherein the first circuit board is coupled to each of the front cover and the metal plate by a plurality of adhesive parts disposed to be spaced apart from each other.
However, Lee discloses: Wherein the first circuit board (Fig.2, #700) is coupled to each of the front cover (Fig.2, #100) and the metal plate (Fig.2, #600, can be made of metal, see paragraph [0081]) by a plurality of adhesive parts (Fig.2, #610 in conjunction with #200 having an adhesive to attached to the front cover, see paragraph [0057]) disposed to be spaced apart from each other (Fig.2, the adhesive parts are spaced apart from each other, as such the office notes that with the combination of Kim in view of Boman and Lee, the first circuit board coupled to the metal plate and front cover (as taught by Kim) to further include adhesive parts (as taught by Lee) to secure said circuit board with the metal plate and front cover).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the first circuit board coupled to the metal plate and front cover (as taught by Kim) to further include adhesive parts (as taught by Lee) to secure said circuit board with the metal plate and front cover. By utilizing a plurality of adhesive parts within the display apparatus, would allow users to easily replace and/or remove elements from said apparatus for replacement or repair.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to Claim 16, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “the front cover includes a first holder in a lower portion of the front cover, the first holder including a space configured to hold the second circuit board, and the back cover includes a second holder in a lower portion of the back cover, the second holder including a space configured to hold the second circuit board”, in conjunction with the remaining elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (U.S 2023/0189548 A1) – Discloses a display apparatus having a display panel a metal plate and first circuit board and a chip on film bent connected to said panel and circuit board, while further including a bent portion within a enclosure having a front and back cover.
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841