DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This is a non-final rejection in response to the amendments and arguments filed 05/06/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending with claims 1, 4, 9, 19 and 20 amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026, with respect to the art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to arguments to amendments in claims 1 and 19, examiner contends that the prior art still teaches the limitations as amended in the claims. While the prior art Rogers teaches a recess relative to a first insert aperture, the prior Renggli teaches where an insert may be disposed in a component without a recess and Kwiatkowski teaches where further components may be configured to accommodate an insert head, see rejection below.
In response to argument to claim 1 on page 7-9, examiner contends that the interpretations were meant to address the invention as claimed where applicant arguments appears to be relative to a mating surface which limitations were not presented in claim 1 in the last rejection. In response to arguments that modification to the prior art Rogers would change the principle of the operation of Rogers, examiner contends that a principle of operation of Rogers is to provide an insert system with a means to operate a jacking member. To that end, the modification of Rogers with Renggli and Kwiatkowski, with configurations of an insert, would still provide a means to operate a jacking member in the system. In response to arguments to claim 9, it is contended that the prior art US 2017/0219002 to Leutard teaches where a first flange (110 for instance) may directly interact with a mating surface of a second component (120 for instance, figure 2), see rejection below. In response to arguments to claim 20, examiner disagrees that the combination of the references would not teach the claimed invention. In view of the prior art, the insert would have portion threaded into a component as taught by Renglli and a head as taught by Kwiatkowski and a unthreaded portion as taught by Rogers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-12 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0208652 to Rogers et al. (Rogers) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2017/0167296 to Renggli (Renggli) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0316614 to Kwiatkowski et al. (Kwiatkowski).
In Reference to Claim 1
Rogers disclose an assembly for a powerplant (¶ [0001], gas turbine engine for instance), comprising:
a first powerplant component (Fig. 4, 212 for instance) including a first component mount (206 for instance) and a plurality of first component apertures (Figs. 3 and 5, holes through 206 including 209 in figure 3 and hole in 206 in figure 5 for instance), the first component mount (206 for instance) comprising a first component mating surface (left surface of 206 for instance, and adjacent 216), the plurality of first component apertures arranged circumferentially about an axis (about axis A for instance, see figure 1) and extending axially through the first component mount (see bolt configuration of bolt 202 through 206, figure 4), the plurality of first component apertures including a plurality of first component fastener apertures (Fig. 3, 209 for instance) and a first component insert aperture (Fig. 5, hole though 206 for instance);
a second powerplant component (Fig. 4, 210 for instance) including a second component mount (208 for instance) and a plurality of second component fastener apertures (holes through 208, see bolt configuration 202 in figure 4), each of the plurality of second component fastener apertures aligned with a respective one of the plurality of first component fastener apertures (see figure 4, the bolt configuration extending through 206 and 208 for instance);
a plurality of fasteners (Fig. 4, 202 for instance) attaching the first component mount (206) and the second component mount (208) together, each of the plurality of fasteners (202) mated with a respective one of the plurality of first component fastener apertures (through 206 for instance, see figure 4) and a respective one of the plurality of second component fastener apertures (through 208 for instance, see figure 4); and
an insert (Fig. 5, 201 for instance) disposed into the first component insert aperture (in 206 as seen in figure 5), the insert (201) comprising a threaded bore (see ¶ [0023], 207 for instance) and a head (Fig. 5, 205 for instance), the head disposed axially outside of the first component insert aperture (205 axially to the left of aperture of 206 that host portion 220 or 201 for instance).
Rogers does not teach “... the first component insert aperture extending from the first component mating surface ...” or the insert being “... threaded into the first component insert aperture ....”
Renggli is related to connection of components (abstract and ¶ [0001]), as the claimed invention, and teaches a first component insert aperture (Fig. 4, in 120 and hosting 122 for instance) extending from a first component mating surface (surface of 120 interacting with 122 for instance) and teaches an insert (Figs. 3 and 4, 128 for instance) threaded into a component insert aperture (106 for instance) of a component (68 for instance).
Kwiatkowski is related to an insert disposed in a component (Fig. 2, 46 in 38 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches the insert threaded into a component insert aperture (at 45 for instance), and the insert comprising a threaded bore (47 for instance) and a head (48), the head disposed axially outside of the first component insert aperture (48 above 45 for instance) and also teaches where second component (40 for instance) is configured to host the head of an insert (48) that’s threaded into a first component (38 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, in the system of Rogers, wherein the first component insert aperture (of Rogers) extends from the first component mating surface (of Rogers as configured as taught by Renglli to have an insert not disposed in a recess and further where a second component is configured to host the head of an insert as taught by Kwiatkowski), and wherein the insert (of Rogers) is threaded into the first component insert aperture (as configure as a threaded insert as taught by Renggli and Kwiatkowski for instance), the insert comprising a threaded bore (of Rogers) and a head (as taught by Kwiatkowski), the head disposed axially outside (as taught by Kwiatkowski) of the first component insert aperture (of Rogers), so as to use an art known technique (such as the configuration of a threaded insert in a component and the configuration of an insert hole to extend from a surface of a component, as taught by Renggli, and the configuration of a threaded insert with a head situated on a component and configuration of additional components to host a head of such insert as taught by Kwiatkowski for instance) into the system of Rogers (as a modification to an insert to be threaded into a component and having a head seated on mating surface of the component for instance) and predictably secure the insert into the system of Rogers.
In Reference to Claim 2
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the threaded bore is configured to be empty during powerplant operation (Rogers ¶ [0001] and [0029], the jacking screw not required until disassembly of components thus the insert capable of being empty during engine operation).
In Reference to Claim 3
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the second component mount (Rogers Figs. 4-5, 208 for instance) comprises a second component mating surface (Rogers, right surface of 208 for instance) radially and circumferentially overlapping the threaded bore (Rogers Fig. 5, bore of 202 for instance); and each of the plurality of second component fastener apertures (Rogers Fig. 4, that through 208 for instance) projects into the second component mount (Rogers, 208) from the second component mating surface (Rogers, through 208, see bolt configuration in figure 4).
In Reference to Claim 4
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 3, wherein the first component mating surface (Rogers, 219 and left surface of 206 for instance) axially engaging the second component mating surface (Rogers, right surface of 208 and via 216 through force of connection for instance); and each of the plurality of first component apertures (Rogers, holes 209 and that hosting 201 for instance) projects into the first component mount (Rogers, 206) from the first component mating surface (as taught by Renglli and Kwiatkowski).
In Reference to Claim 5
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the second component mount (Rogers Fig. 5, 208 for instance) radially and circumferentially covers the threaded bore (Rogers, of 201 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 7
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first component mount (Rogers Fig. 5, 206 for instance) radially contacts the second component mount (Rogers, 208 for instance and at bottom for instance).
In Reference to Claim 9
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the head is abutted axially against the first component mating surface (as taught by Renglli and Kwiatkowski, see claim 1); and the insert further includes a shank (Rogers, 220 for instance) projecting out from the head (Rogers, 205) to a distal end of the insert (Rogers, right end of 201 for instance), the shank threaded into the first component insert aperture (as having exterior threads as taught by Renggli and Kwiatkowski).
In Reference to Claim 10
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 9, wherein the head is disposed axially between (as taught by Renglli and Kwiatkowski the configuration for accommodation of a head of an insert for instance) the first component mount and the second component mount (Rogers, between components 206 and 208 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 11
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 9, wherein the head (205 of Rogers for instance) is seated in a pocket (Rogers, 203 for instance) in the first component mount (Rogers, 206).
In Reference to Claim 12
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 9, wherein the head (205 in Rogers and 48 of Kwiatkowski, as modifying of Rogers) is disposed in a pocket in the second component mount (48 disposed in a pocket 44 in a component 40 as taught by Kwiatkowski, and would be as modifying of 208 of Rogers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rogers wherein the head (of Rogers) is disposed in a pocket (as taught by Kwiatkowski) in the second component mount (of Rogers), so as to use an art known technique (such as the positioning of the head on an insert relative to joined components as taught by Kwiatkowski) into the system of Rogers and predictably situate the components of the system.
In Reference to Claim 15
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of first component fastener apertures is an unthreaded through-hole (Rogers Fig. 4, in 206 for instance, see bolting configuration).
In Reference to Claim 16
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of second component fastener apertures is an unthreaded through-hole (Rogers Fig. 4, in 208 for instance, see bolting configuration).
In Reference to Claim 17
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of fasteners (Rogers Fig. 4, 202) includes a second head (Rogers, right portion of 202 for instance) abutted axially against the first component mount (Rogers, 206); and a shank (Rogers, middle portion of 202 for instance) projecting axially out from the second head, through a respective one of the plurality of first component fastener apertures (Rogers, in 206) and a respective one of the plurality of second component fastener apertures (Rogers, in 208), to a distal end of the shank (Rogers, left portion of 202 for instance); the shank mated with a nut (Rogers, at left portion of 202, nut not labeled) at the distal end of the shank (Rogers, see left side of 202), and the nut abutted axially against the second component mount (Rogers, 208 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 18
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the powerplant comprises an aircraft engine (Rogers, ¶ [0021]); the first powerplant component comprises a first engine case; and the second powerplant component comprises a second engine case (Rogers Fig. 4 and ¶ [0027]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0208652 to Rogers et al. (Rogers) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2017/0167296 to Renggli (Renggli) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0316614 to Kwiatkowski et al. (Kwiatkowski) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2017/0219002 to Leutard et al. (Leutard).
In Reference to Claim 6
Rogers, as modified by Renggli, disclose the assembly of claim 1, except, "... wherein the first component mount axially contacts the second component mount ....”
Leutard is related to as insert disposed relative to a first and second component mounts (Figs. 1-2), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the first component mount (110 for instance) axially contacts the second component mount (210 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rogers wherein the first component mount axially contacts the second component mount (as taught by Leutard), so as to use an art known technique (of the configurations of component mounts in a system as taught by Leutard) into the system of Rogers and predictably connect the components of the system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0208652 to Rogers et al. (Rogers) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2017/0167296 to Renggli (Renggli) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0316614 to Kwiatkowski et al. (Kwiatkowski) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0290865 to Schraer (Schraer).
In Reference to Claim 8
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the insert includes exterior threads threaded (as taught by Renggli, the exterior threads applicable to the insert of Rogers for instance) into the first component insert aperture (Rogers Fig. 5, aperture hosting 201 for instance), and interior threads (Rogers Fig. 2, 222 for instance) along the threaded bore (Rogers, 207 for instance), but does not explicitly teach “... the exterior threads configured with a first rotational thread direction about a centerline axis of the insert; the interior threads configured with a second rotational thread direction about the centerline axis of the insert that is opposite the first rotational thread direction ....”
Schraer is related to a threaded insert with exterior threads and interior threads (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the exterior threads configured with a first rotational thread direction about a centerline axis of the insert (¶ [0021], left-hand external threads for instance); the interior threads configured with a second rotational thread direction about the centerline axis of the insert that is opposite the first rotational thread direction (¶ [0021], right-hand internal threads for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rogers wherein the exterior threads (of Rogers as modified) is configured with a first rotational thread direction about a centerline axis (as taught by Schraer) of the insert (of Rogers); the interior threads (of Rogers) is configured with a second rotational thread direction about the centerline axis of the insert that is opposite the first rotational thread direction (as taught by Schraer), so as to use an art known technique (of the use of oppositely configured interior and exterior threads of an insert as taught by Schraer) into the system of Rogers and predictably secure and use of the jacking insert of Rogers.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0208652 to Rogers et al. (Rogers) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2017/0167296 to Renggli (Renggli) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0316614 to Kwiatkowski et al. (Kwiatkowski) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US Patent 4,361,943 to Kobusch (Kobusch).
In Reference to Claim 13
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 9, except, “... wherein the head comprises a wrenching feature ....”
Kobusch is related to a threaded insert with exterior threads and interior threads (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a head of the insert comprises a wrenching feature (an hexagonal head for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rogers wherein the head (of Rogers) comprises a wrenching feature (as taught by Kobusch), so as to use one art known device (of a insert component with a head having a wrenching feature as taught by Kobusch) into the system of Rogers and predictably secure the insert into the component of Rogers.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0208652 to Rogers et al. (Rogers) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2017/0167296 to Renggli (Renggli) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0316614 to Kwiatkowski et al. (Kwiatkowski) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of GB 850,396 to Matthews (Matthews).
In Reference to Claim 14
Rogers, as modified by Renggli and Kwiatkowski, disclose the assembly of claim 9, except, “... wherein the shank comprises a wrenching feature ....”
Matthews is related to a threaded insert with exterior threads and interior threads (col 1, ll 11-19), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a shank (Figs. 4, lower portion of insert for instance) comprises a wrenching feature (17 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rogers wherein the shank (of Rogers) comprises a wrenching feature (as taught by Matthews), so as to use an art known technique (of a wrenching feature disposed on a shank of an insert as taught by Matthews) into the system of Rogers and predictably allow for wrenching of the insert.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0208652 to Rogers et al. (Rogers) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2017/0167296 to Renggli (Renggli) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2017/0219002 to Leutard et al. (Leutard).
In Reference to Claim 19
Rogers disclose an assembly for a powerplant (¶ [0001], gas turbine engine for instance), comprising:
a first powerplant component (Fig. 4, 212 for instance) including a first flange (206 for instance) and a plurality of first component apertures (Figs. 3 and 5, holes through 206, 209 in figure 3 and hole in 206 in figure 5 for instance), the plurality of first component apertures arranged circumferentially about an axis (about axis A for instance, see figure 1) and extending axially through the first flange (see bolt configuration of bolt 202 through 206, figure 4), the plurality of first component apertures including a plurality of first component fastener apertures (Fig. 3, 209 for instance) and a first component insert aperture (Fig. 5, hole though 206 for instance), and the first flange (206) comprising a component mating surface perpendicular to the axis (left face of 206 for instance);
a second powerplant component (Fig. 4, 210 for instance) including a second flange (208 for instance) and a plurality of second component fastener apertures (holes through 208, see bolt configuration 202 in figure 4), and each of the plurality of second component fastener apertures aligned with a respective one of the plurality of first component fastener apertures (see figure 4, the bolt configuration extending through 206 and 208 for instance);
a plurality of fasteners (Fig. 4, 202 for instance) attaching the first flange (206) and the second flange (208) together, each of the plurality of fasteners (202) comprising a first shank (middle portion of 202) projecting axially through a respective one of the plurality of first component fastener apertures and a respective one of the plurality of second component fastener apertures (Fig. 4, 202 through 206 and 208 for instance); and
an insert (Fig. 5, 201 for instance) projecting axially through the first component insert aperture (through 206 for instance) and fixed to the first flange (206), the insert (201) comprising a threaded bore (see ¶ [0023], Fig. 2, 207 for instance) and a second shank (Fig. 5, 220 of 201 for instance), the threaded bore (207) extending axially through the insert (201), and the second shank (220 for instance) extending through the first component insert aperture (through 206, see figure 5) and axially projecting out of the first component insert aperture (portion 221 of 201 projecting out of aperture in 206 for instance) opposite to the second flange (208 for instance).
Rogers does not teach “... the second flange contacting the component mating surface of the first flange ...” of the insert fixed “... through a threaded interface ....”
Leutard is related to as insert disposed relative to first and second flanges (Figs. 1-2), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the second flange (120 for instance) contacting a component mating surface of the first flange (110 for instance).
Renggli is related to connection of components (abstract and ¶ [0001]), as the claimed invention, and teaches an insert (Figs 3 and 4, 128 for instance) fixed to a component (68 for instance) through a threaded interface (see figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rogers wherein the second flange contacts the component mating surface of the first flange (as taught by Leutard), and wherein the insert (of Rogers) projects axially through the first component insert aperture (of Rogers) and fixed to the first flange (of Rogers) through a threaded interface (as taught by Renggli), so as to use an art known technique (of the configurations of component flanges in a system as taught by Leutard and of using a threaded insert in a turbine component as taught by Renggli) into the system of Rogers (as a modification to an insert to be threaded into a component for instance,) and predictably secure the insert into the system and connect components in the system.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0208652 to Rogers et al. (Rogers) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2017/0167296 to Renggli (Renggli) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0316614 to Kwiatkowski et al. (Kwiatkowski) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0290865 to Schraer (Schraer).
In Reference to Claim 20
Rogers discloses an apparatus for a turbine engine (¶ [0001]), comprising:
a jacking insert (Figs. 2 and 5, 201 for instance) including a head (205), a shank (220 for instance), a bore (207), and interior threads (222);
the shank (220) comprising an exterior portion (portion of 220 as secured into 206 for instance) and an exterior unthreaded portion (unsecured portion 221 for instance, see figure 2), the shank projecting axially along a centerline axis of the jacking insert out from the head (205) to a distal end of the jacking insert (opposite head for instance), the exterior unthreaded portion (portion 221 for instance) at the distal end of the jacking insert (201 for instance) and the exterior portion (portion of 220 as secured into 206 for instance) between the exterior unthreaded portion (221 for instance) and the head (205 for instance);
the bore projecting axially along the centerline axis through the head and the shank (see figures 2 and 5); and
the interior threads (222) arranged along the bore (207).
Rogers does not teach “... exterior threads ...,” “... exterior threaded portion ...,” “... the exterior threads arranged along an exterior of the shank, and the exterior threads configured with a first rotational thread direction about the centerline axis of the insert ...” “... and the interior threads configured with a second rotational thread direction about the centerline axis of the insert that is opposite the first rotational thread direction ....”
Renggli is related to connection of components in a gas turbine engine (abstract and ¶ [0001]), as the claimed invention and teaches an insert (Figs 3 and 4, 128 for instance) having exterior threads (Fig. 4, outer threads of 128, not labeled) and interior threads (206) threaded into a turbine component (68 for instance).
Kwiatkowski is related to an insert disposed in a component (Fig. 2, 46 in 38 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches the insert including a head (48 for instance), a shank (of portion at 45 for instance), exterior threads and interior threads (at 45 and 47 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, in the system of Rogers, wherein the jacking insert (of Rogers) includes a head (of Rogers or as taught by Kwiatkowski), a shank (of Rogers), a bore (of Rogers), exterior threads (as taught by Renggli and Kwiatkowski) and interior threads (of Rogers); the shank (of Rogers) comprising an exterior threaded portion (portion of 220 of Rogers as secured into 206 and as modified by Renggli to be a threaded insert) and an exterior unthreaded portion (portion 221 of Rogers and that not directly secured into 206 for instance); the exterior unthreaded portion (of Rogers) at the distal end of the jacking insert (of Rogers) and the exterior threaded portion (portion 220 of Rogers as modified to be a threaded insert for instance) between the exterior unthreaded portion (of Rogers) and the head (of Rogers); and the exterior threads arranged along the exterior threaded portion of the shank (portion 220 secured to 206 of Rogers and as modified to be a threaded insert), so as to use an art known technique (such as the use of a threaded insert in a component, as taught by Renggli, and the use of a threaded insert with a head situated on a component as taught by Kwiatkowski for instance) into the system of Rogers (as a modification to an insert to have exterior threads and to be threaded into a component and further having a head seated on the component for instance, as opposed to a fitted insert with a head for instance) and predictably secure the insert into the system of Rogers.
Schraer is related to a threaded insert with exterior threads and interior threads (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the exterior threads arranged along an exterior of a shank (of the insert 10, figure 1), and the exterior threads configured with a first rotational thread direction about the centerline axis of the insert (¶ [0021], left-hand external threads for instance); and the interior threads configured with a second rotational thread direction about the centerline axis of the insert that is opposite the first rotational thread direction (¶ [0021], right-hand internal threads for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, in the system of Rogers, wherein the exterior threads are configured with a first rotational thread direction about the centerline axis of the insert (as taught by Schraer); and the interior threads (of Rogers) are arranged along the bore (of Rogers), and the interior threads configured with a second rotational thread direction about the centerline axis of the insert that is opposite the first rotational thread direction (as taught by Schraer), so as to use one art known (such as an insert having exterior threads and interior threads and having different rotation directions as taught by Schraer) into the system of Rogers and predictably secure and use the jacking insert into the system of Rogers.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show mounting components and the connection of turbine components.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745