DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicants' communication filed on October 8, 2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-26 are currently presented in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on October 8, 2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub No.: US-20240048654-A1 (herein “Seay”), and further in view of Pub No.: US-20220086276-A1 (herein “Rinalli”).
Claims 1, 10, and 19
Consider claim 1, Seay teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, a call initiation message comprising call data (see Seay Fig. 5, [0111]-[0112] note incoming call to the telephonic switching and computing framework 420 with caller ID information);
determining that a recipient device receives a triggering event (see Seay Fig. 5, [0115] note receiving a trigger event signaling to retrieve one or more augmented caller/entity data for the caller ID information);
based on determining the recipient user device receiving the triggering event, converting the call data to short message service (SMS) data (see Seay Fig. 5, [0119] note augmented data elements can be sent in an SMS to the recipient device); and
sending the SMS data to the recipient user device (see Seay Fig. 5, [0119], [0121] note sent in an SMS to the recipient device).
Seay fails to teach that the call data is rich call data and that the triggering event is a determination that the recipient device is not configured to process the call data prior to converting the rich call data to another format. Ranalli explains for a call with RCD information that are configured to limit the set of verified calling party attributes included in call signaling based on provided info, i.e. the dialed digits indicating that the recipient is a landline device which may only be able to receive limited RCD information (see Ranalli [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seay to include the recited teaching of Ranalli. Such a modification would improve Seay by mitigation of fraudulent calls (see Ranalli [0002]).
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2, 11, and 20
Consider claim 2, Seay as modified by Ranalli teach wherein the first computing device comprises one or more of a switch device or an RCD processor device (see Seay Fig. 4 note 420 note telephonic switching and computing framework 420).
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 2.
Claims 3, 12, and 21
Consider claim 3, Seay as modified by Ranalli teach wherein the call initiation message comprises one or more user device identifiers associated with an originating user device and one or more user device identifiers associated with the recipient user device (see Seay [0111], [0119] note original caller and recipient).
Claim(s) 12 and 21 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4
Consider claim 4, Seay as modified by Ranalli wherein determining the recipient user device is not configured to process the RCD is based on one or more user device identifiers associated with the recipient user device (see Ranalli [0015] note for a call with RCD information that are configured to limit the set of verified calling party attributes included in call signaling based on provided info, i.e. the dialed digits indicating that the recipient is a landline device which may only be able to receive limited RCD information).
Claim 5
Consider claim 5, Seay as modified by Ranalli teach wherein converting the RCD to SMS data comprises determining one or more claims in the RCD and converting the one or more claims to the SMS data (see Seay [0115]-[0117] note determining the augmented data elements for the caller ID information).
Claims 6, 14, and 22
Consider claim 6, Seay as modified by Ranalli teach wherein converting the RCD to SMS comprises extracting one or more of: one or more RCD claims, one or more RCD logos, or multimedia from the call initiation message (see Ranalli [0119] note multimedia message service (MMS)).
Claim(s) 14 and 22 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7, 15, and 23
Consider claim 7, Seay as modified by Ranalli teach wherein converting the RCD to SMS data comprises formatting one or more RCD claims into a structured SMS message (see Ranalli [0119] note SMS).
Claim(s) 15 and 23 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 7.
Claims 8, 18, and 26
Consider claim 8, Seay as modified by Ranalli teach further comprising causing the recipient user device to output the SMS data (see Seay Fig. 5, [0127] note the augmented data elements displayed in visual form on the receiving device).
Claim(s) 18 and 26 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 8.
Claims 9, 17, and 25
Consider claim 9, Seay as modified by Ranalli teach further comprising sending the RCD data to a database (see Seay [0130] note saving augmented data element to a computer database).
Claim(s) 17 and 25 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 9.
Claim 13
Consider claim 13, Seay as modified by Ranalli teach wherein receiving the SMS data is based on a determination that the recipient user device is not configured to process the RCD (see Ranalli [0015] note for a call with RCD information that are configured to limit the set of verified calling party attributes included in call signaling based on provided info, i.e. the dialed digits indicating that the recipient is a landline device which may only be able to receive limited RCD information).
Claims 16 and 24
Consider claim 16, Seay as modified by Ranalli teach further comprising causing the second computing device to send, to the recipient user device one or more of: the SMS data, an email, or a social media message, wherein the one or more of the SMS data, the email, or the social media message comprise repackaged RCD (see Seay [0119] note SMS, email, etc.).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 16.
Contact Information
/MARCUS HAMMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647