DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chuah et al.(US 10,937,247)(Hereinafter referred to as Chuah).
Regarding claim 1, Chuah teaches A virtual environment display method (Systems and methods related to an image capture process using ring paths may include traversing a user device around a ring path in a center of a room, capturing imaging data using the user device during the traversal, and processing the imaging data using photogrammetry. The imaging data may be captured using an imaging sensor associated with the user device, and the imaging data may be processed based on data received from position and orientation sensors associated with the user device. In addition, a three-dimensional model of the room may be generated based on the imaging data. See abstract)(See figure 2), comprising:
obtaining, by a wearable electronic device, a plurality of images, wherein each of the plurality of the images is captured by a camera observing a target place from a respective different angle of view (As further described herein at least with respect to FIGS. 15A and 15B, upon receiving user consent, the image capture process using panorama paths may include generating a panorama path comprising one or more locations within the room or space based at least in part on the room measurements and/or movement of the user device within the room, generating a direction or order of traversal among the one or more locations of the panorama path, and generating a direction or order of sweep of the user device at each of the one or more locations of the panorama path. See col. 13 lines 27-37) (Various portions of the system diagram of FIG. 1 may be 20 associated with a user device, such as a personal computing device, mobile computing device, smartphone, tablet computing device, laptop computing device, wearable computing device, headset or head-mounted computing device, eyeglass or eyewear computing device, or other user computing device. See col. 7, lines 20-26);
obtaining, by the wearable electronic device, based on the plurality of images, a panoramic image by projecting the target place to a virtual environment (As further described herein at least with respect to FIGS. 15A and 15B, upon receiving user consent, the image capture process using panorama paths may include generating a panorama path comprising one or more locations within the room or space based at least in part on the room measurements and/or movement of the user device within the room, generating a direction or order of traversal among the one or more locations of the panorama path, and generating a direction or order of sweep of the user device at each of the one or more locations of the panorama path. See col. 13 lines 27-37);
extracting, by the wearable electronic device, layout information of the target place in the panoramic image, the layout information comprising boundary information of an object at the target place (The room or space may be bounded by a floor 302 or lower, substantially horizontal boundary, at least two walls 304-1, 304-2 or substantially vertical boundaries, and a ceiling (not shown) or upper, substantially horizontal boundary. See col. 17, lines 3-7)( Based at least in part on the room pictures 106 and the position and orientation information of the user device, the photogrammetry processor 108 may generate a photogrammetry mesh 110 of the room or space. The photogrammetry mesh 110 may comprise a three-dimensional, composite mesh of substantially all the room pictures 106 that have been combined, e.g., utilizing various image processing, feature detection, machine learning, geometric computer vision, and/or other algorithms and techniques. Col. 8, line 64 to col. 9 line 6) (The process 200 may then proceed to generate a three dimensional model of the room based on the dimensions, images, three-dimensional photogrammetric meshes, textures, details, and/or objects, as at 228. For example, various three-dimensional modeling algorithms or techniques, such as a room modeler 118, may receive and process the various data associated with the room or space, as described herein, and may generate a three-dimensional model of the room or space that accurately reflects various aspects of the actual, real-world room or space, including size, scale, shape, textures or surface features, details or fixtures, objects or furniture, and/or other aspects of the room or space. The three-dimensional model of the room or space may be generated with various levels or degrees of resolution. For example, depending on characteristics of the computing device and associated display that may render, display, or present the three-dimensional model, the three-dimensional model may be generated with a level of resolution high enough to enable photorealistic rendering of the model while also minimizing the computation load and processing time associated with the model. In some examples, embodiments, multiple three-dimensional models of a room or space at different levels of resolution may be generated, e.g., using remote or cloud computing device, and one of the multiple three-dimensional models may be selected for transmission to and presentation by a user computing device based on characteristics of the user computing device and associated display. See col. 16, lines 29-56); and
displaying, based on the layout information and by the wearable electronic device, a target virtual environment, the target virtual environment being a simulation of the target place in the virtual environment (The process 200 may then proceed to generate a three dimensional model of the room based on the dimensions, images, three-dimensional photogrammetric meshes, textures, details, and/or objects, as at 228. For example, various three-dimensional modeling algorithms or techniques, such as a room modeler 118, may receive and process the various data associated with the room or space, as described herein, and may generate a three-dimensional model of the room or space that accurately reflects various aspects of the actual, real-world room or space, including size, scale, shape, textures or surface features, details or fixtures, objects or furniture, and/or other aspects of the room or space. The three-dimensional model of the room or space may be generated with various levels or degrees of resolution. For example, depending on characteristics of the computing device and associated display that may render, display, or present the three-dimensional model, the three-dimensional model may be generated with a level of resolution high enough to enable photorealistic rendering of the model while also minimizing the computation load and processing time associated with the model. In some examples, embodiments, multiple three-dimensional models of a room or space at different levels of resolution may be generated, e.g., using remote or cloud computing device, and one of the multiple three-dimensional models may be selected for transmission to and presentation by a user computing device based on characteristics of the user computing device and associated display. See col. 16, lines 29-56).
Regarding claim 12, Chuah teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining the plurality of images comprises: obtaining a video stream captured by the camera after an angle of view of the camera rotates by one circle within a target range of the target place (FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram 1300 of an example of panorama path generation, in accordance with disclosed implementations. See col. 72 lines 48-50)(See figure 13); and performing sampling from a plurality of image frames comprised in the video stream to obtain the plurality of images (Further, the various imaging sensors described herein may capture imaging data, such as still images, wide-angle images, video imagery, or other types of imaging data, in any of various formats, such as GIF, JPEG, TIFF, PNG, MOY, MPG, MP4, or various other imaging or video file formats. See col. 105, lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 13, Chuah teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the layout information comprises a first layout vector, a second layout vector, and a third layout vector, the first layout vector indicating information of a junction between a wall and a ceiling at the target place, the second layout vector indicating information of a junction between a wall and a ground at the target place, and the third layout vector indicating information of a junction between walls at the target place (The room or space may be bounded by a floor 302 or lower, substantially horizontal boundary, at least two walls 304-1, 304-2 or substantially vertical boundaries, and a ceiling (not shown) or upper, substantially horizontal boundary. See col. 17, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 14, Chuah teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the camera is a monocular camera or a binocular camera on the wearable electronic device (Various portions of the system diagram of FIG. 1 may be associated with a user device, such as a personal computing device, mobile computing device, smartphone, tablet computing device, laptop computing device, wearable computing device, headset or head-mounted computing device, eyeglass or eyewear computing device, or other user computing device. For example, the user device may include a processor, a memory having various executable instructions and/or various applications, one or more output devices such as a display, monitor, stereoscopic display, head-mounted or eyeglass-mounted display, screen, speakers, or other out- puts, one or more input devices such as buttons, a touchscreen, microphones, or other inputs, a power supply such as a battery or rechargeable battery, one or more imaging sensors configured to capture images within respective fields of view of the imaging sensors, and/or one or more sensors such as inertial measurement units, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, depth sensors, or other position or orientation sensors configured to receive data associated with position and orientation of the user device. In addition, the various applications may include an augmented reality room or object capture application, and one or more applications comprising various algorithms or techniques, such as photogrammetry, machine learning, geometric computer vision, image processing, geometric calculation, position and orientation tracking, edge detection, surface detection, feature detection, and/or other algorithms and techniques. See col. 7, lines 20-46).
Regarding claim 16, Chuah teaches A virtual environment display apparatus (Systems and methods related to an image capture process using ring paths may include traversing a user device around a ring path in a center of a room, capturing imaging data using the user device during the traversal, and processing the imaging data using photogrammetry. The imaging data may be captured using an imaging sensor associated with the user device, and the imaging data may be processed based on data received from position and orientation sensors associated with the user device. In addition, a three-dimensional model of the room may be generated based on the imaging data. See abstract) (See figure 2), comprising:
one or more processors (may include a processor 1734, See col. 103, lines 59-60); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual environment display apparatus (and a memory 1736 having various executable instructions and/or various applications, such as an AR application 1738 and various data processing applications 1740 that may comprise various algorithms or techniques, such as photogrammetry, machine learning, geometric computer vision, image processing, geometric calculation, position and orientation tracking, edge detection, surface detection, feature detection, and/or other algorithms and techniques. See col. 103, lines 62 col. 103, line 3) to:
obtain a plurality of images, wherein each of the plurality of the images is captured by a camera observing a target place from a respective different angle of view (As further described herein at least with respect to FIGS. 15A and 15B, upon receiving user consent, the image capture process using panorama paths may include generating a panorama path comprising one or more locations within the room or space based at least in part on the room measurements and/or movement of the user device within the room, generating a direction or order of traversal among the one or more locations of the panorama path, and generating a direction or order of sweep of the user device at each of the one or more locations of the panorama path. See col. 13 lines 27-37) (Various portions of the system diagram of FIG. 1 may be 20 associated with a user device, such as a personal computing device, mobile computing device, smartphone, tablet computing device, laptop computing device, wearable computing device, headset or head-mounted computing device, eyeglass or eyewear computing device, or other user computing device. See col. 7, lines 20-26);
obtain based on the plurality of images, a panoramic image by projecting the target place to a virtual environment (As further described herein at least with respect to FIGS. 15A and 15B, upon receiving user consent, the image capture process using panorama paths may include generating a panorama path comprising one or more locations within the room or space based at least in part on the room measurements and/or movement of the user device within the room, generating a direction or order of traversal among the one or more locations of the panorama path, and generating a direction or order of sweep of the user device at each of the one or more locations of the panorama path. See col. 13 lines 27-37);
extract layout information of the target place in the panoramic image, the layout information comprising boundary information of an object at the target place (The room or space may be bounded by a floor 302 or lower, substantially horizontal boundary, at least two walls 304-1, 304-2 or substantially vertical boundaries, and a ceiling (not shown) or upper, substantially horizontal boundary. See col. 17, lines 3-7)( Based at least in part on the room pictures 106 and the position and orientation information of the user device, the photogrammetry processor 108 may generate a photogrammetry mesh 110 of the room or space. The photogrammetry mesh 110 may comprise a three-dimensional, composite mesh of substantially all the room pictures 106 that have been combined, e.g., utilizing various image processing, feature detection, machine learning, geometric computer vision, and/or other algorithms and techniques. Col. 8, line 64 to col. 9 line 6) (The process 200 may then proceed to generate a three dimensional model of the room based on the dimensions, images, three-dimensional photogrammetric meshes, textures, details, and/or objects, as at 228. For example, various three-dimensional modeling algorithms or techniques, such as a room modeler 118, may receive and process the various data associated with the room or space, as described herein, and may generate a three-dimensional model of the room or space that accurately reflects various aspects of the actual, real-world room or space, including size, scale, shape, textures or surface features, details or fixtures, objects or furniture, and/or other aspects of the room or space. The three-dimensional model of the room or space may be generated with various levels or degrees of resolution. For example, depending on characteristics of the computing device and associated display that may render, display, or present the three-dimensional model, the three-dimensional model may be generated with a level of resolution high enough to enable photorealistic rendering of the model while also minimizing the computation load and processing time associated with the model. In some examples, embodiments, multiple three-dimensional models of a room or space at different levels of resolution may be generated, e.g., using remote or cloud computing device, and one of the multiple three-dimensional models may be selected for transmission to and presentation by a user computing device based on characteristics of the user computing device and associated display. See col. 16, lines 29-56); and
display, based on the layout information, a target virtual environment, the target virtual environment being a simulation of the target place in the virtual environment (The process 200 may then proceed to generate a three dimensional model of the room based on the dimensions, images, three-dimensional photogrammetric meshes, textures, details, and/or objects, as at 228. For example, various three-dimensional modeling algorithms or techniques, such as a room modeler 118, may receive and process the various data associated with the room or space, as described herein, and may generate a three-dimensional model of the room or space that accurately reflects various aspects of the actual, real-world room or space, including size, scale, shape, textures or surface features, details or fixtures, objects or furniture, and/or other aspects of the room or space. The three-dimensional model of the room or space may be generated with various levels or degrees of resolution. For example, depending on characteristics of the computing device and associated display that may render, display, or present the three-dimensional model, the three-dimensional model may be generated with a level of resolution high enough to enable photorealistic rendering of the model while also minimizing the computation load and processing time associated with the model. In some examples, embodiments, multiple three-dimensional models of a room or space at different levels of resolution may be generated, e.g., using remote or cloud computing device, and one of the multiple three-dimensional models may be selected for transmission to and presentation by a user computing device based on characteristics of the user computing device and associated display. See col. 16, lines 29-56).
Regarding claim 18, Chuah teaches The virtual environment display apparatus of claim 16, wherein the virtual environment display apparatus comprises a wearable electronic device (Various portions of the system diagram of FIG. 1 may be associated with a user device, such as a personal computing device, mobile computing device, smartphone, tablet computing device, laptop computing device, wearable computing device, headset or head-mounted computing device, eyeglass or eyewear computing device, or other user computing device. For example, the user device may include a processor, a memory having various executable instructions and/or various applications, one or more output devices such as a display, monitor, stereoscopic display, head-mounted or eyeglass-mounted display, screen, speakers, or other out- puts, one or more input devices such as buttons, a touchscreen, microphones, or other inputs, a power supply such as a battery or rechargeable battery, one or more imaging sensors configured to capture images within respective fields of view of the imaging sensors, and/or one or more sensors such as inertial measurement units, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, depth sensors, or other position or orientation sensors configured to receive data associated with position and orientation of the user device. In addition, the various applications may include an augmented reality room or object capture application, and one or more applications comprising various algorithms or techniques, such as photogrammetry, machine learning, geometric computer vision, image processing, geometric calculation, position and orientation tracking, edge detection, surface detection, feature detection, and/or other algorithms and techniques. See col. 7, lines 20-46).
Regarding claim 19, Chuah teaches The virtual environment display apparatus of claim 16, wherein the layout information comprises a first layout vector, a second layout vector, and a third layout vector, the first layout vector indicating information of a junction between a wall and a ceiling at the target place, the second layout vector indicating information of a junction between a wall and a ground at the target place, and the third layout vector indicating information of a junction between walls at the target place (The room or space may be bounded by a floor 302 or lower, substantially horizontal boundary, at least two walls 304-1, 304-2 or substantially vertical boundaries, and a ceiling (not shown) or upper, substantially horizontal boundary. See col. 17, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 20, Chuah teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, when executed (and a memory 1736 having various executable instructions and/or various applications, such as an AR application 1738 and various data processing applications 1740 that may comprise various algorithms or techniques, such as photogrammetry, machine learning, geometric computer vision, image processing, geometric calculation, position and orientation tracking, edge detection, surface detection, feature detection, and/or other algorithms and techniques. See col. 103, lines 62 col. 103, line 3) (See figure 2), cause:
obtaining a plurality of images, wherein each of the plurality of the images is captured by a camera observing a target place from a respective different angle of view (As further described herein at least with respect to FIGS. 15A and 15B, upon receiving user consent, the image capture process using panorama paths may include generating a panorama path comprising one or more locations within the room or space based at least in part on the room measurements and/or movement of the user device within the room, generating a direction or order of traversal among the one or more locations of the panorama path, and generating a direction or order of sweep of the user device at each of the one or more locations of the panorama path. See col. 13 lines 27-37) (Various portions of the system diagram of FIG. 1 may be 20 associated with a user device, such as a personal computing device, mobile computing device, smartphone, tablet computing device, laptop computing device, wearable computing device, headset or head-mounted computing device, eyeglass or eyewear computing device, or other user computing device. See col. 7, lines 20-26);
obtaining based on the plurality of images, a panoramic image by projecting the target place to a virtual environment (As further described herein at least with respect to FIGS. 15A and 15B, upon receiving user consent, the image capture process using panorama paths may include generating a panorama path comprising one or more locations within the room or space based at least in part on the room measurements and/or movement of the user device within the room, generating a direction or order of traversal among the one or more locations of the panorama path, and generating a direction or order of sweep of the user device at each of the one or more locations of the panorama path. See col. 13 lines 27-37);
extracting layout information of the target place in the panoramic image, the layout information comprising boundary information of an object at the target place (The room or space may be bounded by a floor 302 or lower, substantially horizontal boundary, at least two walls 304-1, 304-2 or substantially vertical boundaries, and a ceiling (not shown) or upper, substantially horizontal boundary. See col. 17, lines 3-7)( Based at least in part on the room pictures 106 and the position and orientation information of the user device, the photogrammetry processor 108 may generate a photogrammetry mesh 110 of the room or space. The photogrammetry mesh 110 may comprise a three-dimensional, composite mesh of substantially all the room pictures 106 that have been combined, e.g., utilizing various image processing, feature detection, machine learning, geometric computer vision, and/or other algorithms and techniques. Col. 8, line 64 to col. 9 line 6) (The process 200 may then proceed to generate a three dimensional model of the room based on the dimensions, images, three-dimensional photogrammetric meshes, textures, details, and/or objects, as at 228. For example, various three-dimensional modeling algorithms or techniques, such as a room modeler 118, may receive and process the various data associated with the room or space, as described herein, and may generate a three-dimensional model of the room or space that accurately reflects various aspects of the actual, real-world room or space, including size, scale, shape, textures or surface features, details or fixtures, objects or furniture, and/or other aspects of the room or space. The three-dimensional model of the room or space may be generated with various levels or degrees of resolution. For example, depending on characteristics of the computing device and associated display that may render, display, or present the three-dimensional model, the three-dimensional model may be generated with a level of resolution high enough to enable photorealistic rendering of the model while also minimizing the computation load and processing time associated with the model. In some examples, embodiments, multiple three-dimensional models of a room or space at different levels of resolution may be generated, e.g., using remote or cloud computing device, and one of the multiple three-dimensional models may be selected for transmission to and presentation by a user computing device based on characteristics of the user computing device and associated display. See col. 16, lines 29-56); and
displaying, based on the layout information, a target virtual environment, the target virtual environment being a simulation of the target place in the virtual environment (The process 200 may then proceed to generate a three dimensional model of the room based on the dimensions, images, three-dimensional photogrammetric meshes, textures, details, and/or objects, as at 228. For example, various three-dimensional modeling algorithms or techniques, such as a room modeler 118, may receive and process the various data associated with the room or space, as described herein, and may generate a three-dimensional model of the room or space that accurately reflects various aspects of the actual, real-world room or space, including size, scale, shape, textures or surface features, details or fixtures, objects or furniture, and/or other aspects of the room or space. The three-dimensional model of the room or space may be generated with various levels or degrees of resolution. For example, depending on characteristics of the computing device and associated display that may render, display, or present the three-dimensional model, the three-dimensional model may be generated with a level of resolution high enough to enable photorealistic rendering of the model while also minimizing the computation load and processing time associated with the model. In some examples, embodiments, multiple three-dimensional models of a room or space at different levels of resolution may be generated, e.g., using remote or cloud computing device, and one of the multiple three-dimensional models may be selected for transmission to and presentation by a user computing device based on characteristics of the user computing device and associated display. See col. 16, lines 29-56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 6, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuah et al.(US 10,937,247)(Hereinafter referred to as Chuah) in view of Brown et al. (“Automatic Panoramic Image Stitching using Invariant Features”, 2005)(Hereinafter referred to as Brown).
Regarding claim 2, Chuah teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining the panoramic image comprises: performing key point detection on the plurality of images to obtain location information of a plurality of image key points at the target place in the plurality of images respectively (Chuah; In example embodiments, the imaging data may be captured for later processing by a photogrammetry processor to generate a photogrammetric mesh of the room. In some embodiments, photogrammetry may require that each image of the imaging data includes at least approximately 30% overlap with at least one other image of the imaging data. In other embodiments, photogrammetry may require that each image of the imaging data include different percentages or amounts of overlap with at least one other image of the imaging data, e.g., at least approximately 20%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 80%, or other percentages or amounts of overlap. For example, a desired amount of overlap between images may be obtained by processing to determine an actual amount of overlap between images, adjusting a frame rate of an imaging sensor, providing guidance or cues related to a rate of movement of an imaging sensor, and/or providing guidance or cues related to capture of additional or supplemental
imaging data. Further, the required amount of image overlap for photogrammetry meshes of rooms may depend on various factors, such as room dimensions, fields of view, image resolutions, image capture rates, imaging sensor movement rates, or other factors. See col. 77, lines 31-52);
determining a plurality of camera poses of the plurality of images respectively based on the location information, the camera poses indicating angle-of-view rotation attitudes of the camera during capturing of the images (During sweep of the field of view of the imaging sensor, the arrow 1418 may be generated to present a direction of sweep, e.g., left-to-right, as shown in FIG. 14H. In addition, the image capture progress bar or block 1416 may be generated, presented, and updated to indicate progress of image capture during the sweep of the user device at the 15 image capture location, upon receiving user consent. Further, the image capture progress bar or block 1416 and/or the arrow 1418 may be presented with a first size, shape, orientation, thickness, color, transparency, and/or other visual characteristic during successful sweep of the field of view of the imaging sensor and corresponding capture of imaging data, e.g., vertical angle or orientation, sweep rate, sweep movement, and/or other aspects of the sweep movement are within acceptable thresholds or ranges, and the image capture progress bar or block 1416 and/or the arrow 1418 may be presented with a second size, shape, orientation, thickness, color, transparency, and/or other visual characteristic during unsuccessful sweep of the field of view of the imaging sensor and corresponding capture of imaging data, e.g., vertical angle or orientation, sweep rate, sweep 30 movement, and/or other aspects of the sweep movement are outside acceptable thresholds or ranges. As described herein, the imaging data captured during such sweeps at image capture locations may be processed by a photogrammetry processor and/or used to generate a three-dimensional model 35 of the room. See col. 84, lines 9-35), but is silent to respectively projecting, based on the plurality of camera poses, the plurality of images from an original coordinate system of the target place to a spherical coordinate system of the virtual environment to obtain a plurality of projected images; and obtaining the panoramic image by splicing the plurality of projected images.
Brown teaches projecting the images onto spherical coordinates and stitching the images together (Ideally each sample (pixel) along a ray would have the same intensity in every image that it intersects, but in reality this is not the case. Even after gain compensation some image edges are still visible due to a number of un modelled effects, such as vignetting (intensity decreases towards the edge of the image), parallax effects due to unwanted motion of the optical centre, mis-registration errors due to mis-modelling of the camera, radial distortion and so on. Because of this a good blending strategy is important. From the previous steps we have n images Ii(x, y) (i ϵ {1..n}) which, given the known registration, may be expressed in a common (spherical) coordinate system. See section 7, multi-band Blending)( Render panorama using multi-band blending, see page 69, right col.). Chuah and Brown teach of panoramic image generation from multiple images and Brown teaches that parallax effects can occur due to unwanted motion of the optical centre which can be corrected utilizing a good blending strategy which projects onto a common spherical coordinate system, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system of Chuah with the blending techniques of Brown such that the system could correct for unwanted motion of the optical centre.
Regarding claim 5, Chuah in view of Brown teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining the panoramic image by splicing the plurality of projected images comprises: splicing the plurality of projected images to obtain a spliced image; and performing at least one of smoothing or light compensation on the spliced image to obtain the panoramic image (Brown; Ideally each sample (pixel) along a ray would have the same intensity in every image that it intersects, but in reality this is not the case. Even after gain compensation some image edges are still visible due to a number of un
modelled effects, such as vignetting (intensity decreases towards the edge of the image), parallax effects due to unwanted motion of the optical centre, mis-registration errors due to mis-modelling of the camera, radial distortion and so on. Because of this a good blending strategy is important. See section 7, multi-band blending).
Regarding claim 6, Chuah in view of Brown teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the performing key point detection comprises: performing key point detection on each image of the plurality of images to obtain location coordinates of each of a plurality of image key points in each image; and pairing a plurality of location coordinates of a same image key point in the plurality of images to obtain location information of each image key point, the location information of each image key point indicating location coordinates of each image key point in the plurality of images (Chuah; In example embodiments, the imaging data may be captured for later processing by a photogrammetry processor to generate a photogrammetric mesh of the room. In some embodiments, photogrammetry may require that each image of the imaging data includes at least approximately 30% overlap with at least one other image of the imaging data. In other embodiments, photogrammetry may require that each image of the imaging data include different percentages or amounts of overlap with at least one other image of the imaging data, e.g., at least approximately 20%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 80%, or other percentages or amounts of overlap. For example, a desired amount of overlap between images may be obtained by processing to determine an actual amount of overlap between images, adjusting a frame rate of an imaging sensor, providing guidance or cues related to a rate of movement of an imaging sensor, and/or providing guidance or cues related to capture of additional or supplemental
imaging data. Further, the required amount of image overlap for photogrammetry meshes of rooms may depend on various factors, such as room dimensions, fields of view, image resolutions, image capture rates, imaging sensor movement rates, or other factors. See col. 77, lines 31-52).
Regarding claim 17, Chuah teaches the virtual environment display apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the virtual environment display apparatus to obtain the panoramic image by: performing key point detection on the plurality of images to obtain location information of a plurality of image key points at the target place in the plurality of images respectively (Chuah; In example embodiments, the imaging data may be captured for later processing by a photogrammetry processor to generate a photogrammetric mesh of the room. In some embodiments, photogrammetry may require that each image of the imaging data includes at least approximately 30% overlap with at least one other image of the imaging data. In other embodiments, photogrammetry may require that each image of the imaging data include different percentages or amounts of overlap with at least one other image of the imaging data, e.g., at least approximately 20%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 80%, or other percentages or amounts of overlap. For example, a desired amount of overlap between images may be obtained by processing to determine an actual amount of overlap between images, adjusting a frame rate of an imaging sensor, providing guidance or cues related to a rate of movement of an imaging sensor, and/or providing guidance or cues related to capture of additional or supplemental
imaging data. Further, the required amount of image overlap for photogrammetry meshes of rooms may depend on various factors, such as room dimensions, fields of view, image resolutions, image capture rates, imaging sensor movement rates, or other factors. See col. 77, lines 31-52);
determining a plurality of camera poses of the plurality of images respectively based on the location information, the camera poses indicating angle-of-view rotation attitudes of the camera during capturing of the images(During sweep of the field of view of the imaging sensor, the arrow 1418 may be generated to present a direction of sweep, e.g., left-to-right, as shown in FIG. 14H. In addition, the image capture progress bar or block 1416 may be generated, presented, and updated to indicate progress of image capture during the sweep of the user device at the 15 image capture location, upon receiving user consent. Further, the image capture progress bar or block 1416 and/or the arrow 1418 may be presented with a first size, shape, orientation, thickness, color, transparency, and/or other visual characteristic during successful sweep of the field of view of the imaging sensor and corresponding capture of imaging data, e.g., vertical angle or orientation, sweep rate, sweep movement, and/or other aspects of the sweep movement are within acceptable thresholds or ranges, and the image capture progress bar or block 1416 and/or the arrow 1418 may be presented with a second size, shape, orientation, thickness, color, transparency, and/or other visual characteristic during unsuccessful sweep of the field of view of the imaging sensor and corresponding capture of imaging data, e.g., vertical angle or orientation, sweep rate, sweep 30 movement, and/or other aspects of the sweep movement are outside acceptable thresholds or ranges. As described herein, the imaging data captured during such sweeps at image capture locations may be processed by a photogrammetry processor and/or used to generate a three-dimensional model 35 of the room. See col. 84, lines 9-35), but is silent to respectively projecting, based on the plurality of camera poses, the plurality of images from an original coordinate system of the target place to a spherical coordinate system of the virtual environment to obtain a plurality of projected images; and obtaining the panoramic image by splicing the plurality of projected images.
Brown teaches projecting the images onto spherical coordinates and stitching the images together (Ideally each sample (pixel) along a ray would have the same intensity in every image that it intersects, but in reality this is not the case. Even after gain compensation some image edges are still visible due to a number of un modelled effects, such as vignetting (intensity decreases towards the edge of the image), parallax effects due to unwanted motion of the optical centre, mis-registration errors due to mis-modelling of the camera, radial distortion and so on. Because of this a good blending strategy is important. From the previous steps we have n images Ii(x, y) (i ϵ {1..n}) which, given the known registration, may be expressed in a common (spherical) coordinate system. See section 7, multi-band Blending)( Render panorama using multi-band blending, see page 69, right col.). Chuah and Brown teach of panoramic image generation from multiple images and Brown teaches that parallax effects can occur due to unwanted motion of the optical centre which can be corrected utilizing a good blending strategy which projects onto a common spherical coordinate system, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system of Chuah with the blending techniques of Brown such that the system could correct for unwanted motion of the optical centre.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7-11, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Chuah.
Chuah teaches a 3D model generation and display method from ring paths, panorama paths, and photogrammetry (Systems and methods related to an image capture process using ring paths may include traversing a user device around a ring path in a center of a room, capturing imaging data using the user device during the traversal, and processing the imaging data using photogrammetry. The imaging data may be captured using an imaging sensor associated with the user device, and the imaging data may be processed based on data received from position and orientation sensors associated with the user device. In addition, a three-dimensional model of the room may be generated based on the imaging data. See abstract) (See figure 2).
Chua is silent to the limitations “wherein the determining the plurality of camera poses comprises: setting amounts of movement of the plurality of camera poses to zero; and determining, based on the location information, amounts of rotation of the plurality of camera poses of the plurality of images respectively.” of claim 3.
The prior art of record alone or in combination is silent to the limitations “wherein the determining the plurality of camera poses comprises: setting amounts of movement of the plurality of camera poses to zero; and determining, based on the location information, amounts of rotation of the plurality of camera poses of the plurality of images respectively.” Of claim 3 when read in light of the rest of the limitations in claim 3 and the claims to which claim 3 depends and thus claim 3 contains allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record alone or in combination is silent to the limitations “wherein the respectively projecting the plurality of environment images from the original coordinate system of the target place to the spherical coordinate system of the virtual environment comprises: modifying the plurality of camera poses, so that the plurality of camera poses are aligned at a spherical center of the spherical coordinate system; and respectively projecting the plurality of images from the original coordinate system to the spherical coordinate system based on a plurality of modified camera poses to obtain the plurality of projected images. ” Of claim 4 when read in light of the rest of the limitations in claim 4 and the claims to which claim 4 depends and thus claim 4 contains allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record alone or in combination is silent to the limitations “wherein the extracting layout information of the target place in the panoramic image comprises: projecting a vertical direction of the panoramic image as a gravity direction to obtain a modified panoramic image; extracting an image semantic feature of the modified panoramic image, the image semantic feature representing semantic information, in the modified panoramic image, that is associated with the object at the target place; and predicting the layout information of the target place in the panoramic image based on the image semantic feature. ” Of claim 7 when read in light of the rest of the limitations in claim 7 and the claims to which claim 7 depends and thus claim 7 contains allowable subject matter.
Claims 8-11 contain allowable subject matter because they depend on a claim that contains allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record alone or in combination is silent to the limitations “further comprising: performing material recognition on the object at the target place based on the panoramic image to obtain a material of the object; and modifying, based on the material of the object, at least one of sound quality or a volume of audio associated with the virtual environment. ” Of claim 15 when read in light of the rest of the limitations in claim 15 and the claims to which claim 15 depends and thus claim 15 contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hutten et al. (US 2021/0174591)(Hereinafter referred to as Hutten), generally describes creating a virtual space of a real world based on panoramic stitched photos (See paragraph [0059]).
/NICHOLAS R WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611