The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 20 claims and claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's argument, filed on March 12, 2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1, 4,19 and 20 are amended and claims 2-3 are canceled. Claims 1 and 4-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/12/2026 remarks have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection which is deemed appropriate to address all of the needs at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al. (WO 2020/029202 A1) in view of Yang (TW202141344 (A); given by the applicant in the IDS) and further in view of Chen et al.( US 2017/0295366 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chai discloses a decoding device, comprising: a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores computer programs, which when executed by the processor, configures the processor to([para 0161-0162]-processor 14): determine a reference sample value for a first colour component of the current block according to a value of the first-colour-component sample ([para 0048]- obtaining a first image component adjacent reference value and a first image component reconstruction value corresponding to a current coding block); determine a weighting factor according to the reference sample value for the first colour component of the current block([para 0055]- determining a correlation coefficient according to the first image component adjacent reference value and the first image component reconstruction value; step 103, inputting the correlation coefficient into a preset weight calculation model to obtain a weight coefficient corresponding to the adjacent reference point); determine a first prediction block for a second colour component of the current block according to the weighting factor and a reference sample value for the second colour component of the current block([para 0105]- obtaining a second image component adjacent reference value corresponding to the current codlng block;
step 104 a, The first image component adjacent reference value and the second image component adjacent reference value are input into a first preset factor calculation model to obtain a first proportion parameter, and step 104 B, the weight coefficient, the first proportion parameter, the first image component adjacent reference value and the second image component adjacent reference value are input into a second preset factor calculation model to obtain a second proportion parameter; Step 105 a: Obtain a second image component prediction value according to the first proportion parameter, the second proportion parameter and the first image component reconstruction value); perform first filtering on the first prediction block to determine a second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block, wherein the second prediction block comprises prediction values of all second-colour-component samples in the current block([see claim 1-2]- dividing an image, determining a chroma component intra prediction mode of a current coding block according to the chroma component intra-prediction mode, and determining a prediction block of a chroma component of the current coding block; and performing prediction correction on the prediction block of the chroma component of the current coding block to obtain a corrected prediction block of the chroma component of the current coding block. The performing prediction correction on the prediction block of the chroma component of the current coding block includes: determining a filter according to the chroma component intra prediction mode; and performing prediction correction on the prediction biock of the chroma component of the current coding block by using the filter); and determine a reconstructed value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block according to the second prediction block([see in para 0024-0025]- determining the reference prediction block of the chrominance component
of the current coding block according to the reconstructed block of the luminance component of the current coding block includes: determining the reference prediction block using the luminance component of the current coding block A linear model for performing cross-component prediction on the reconstruction block). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yang to the modified system of Chai an image decoding method, and related devices, in order to use the spatial correlation between adjacent encoding blocks and the current encoding block to correct the prediction samples of the chrominance components of the current encoding block, and to improve the prediction accuracy and Coding efficiency [Yang; para 0005 ].
However, the combination of Chai and Yang do not exclusively discloses select a first-colour-component sample in a neighboring area of a current block
from first-colour-component samples in the neighboring area, wherein the neighboring area comprises at least one of: a top neighboring area, a top-right neighboring area, a left neighboring area, or a bottom-left neighboring area.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses select a first-colour-component sample in a neighboring area of a current block from first-colour-component samples in the neighboring area, wherein the neighboring area comprises at least one of: a top neighboring area, a top-right neighboring area, a left neighboring area, or a bottom-left neighboring area([para 0011-0013]- receive neighboring reconstructed first-color pixels and current reconstructed first-color pixels of a current first-color block; receive neighboring reconstructed second-color pixels of a current second-color block collocated with the current first-color block; determine linear model (LM) parameters according to a linear model for one or more LM Intra modes, wherein the LM parameters for at least one of said one or more LM Intra modes is determined based on multiple rows of the neighboring reconstructed second-color pixels adjacent to a top boundary of the current second-color block and a first part of the neighboring reconstructed first-color pixels, or multiple columns of the neighboring reconstructed second-color pixels adjacent to a left boundary of the current second-color block and a second part of the neighboring reconstructed first-color pixels; receive input data associated with current second-color pixels of the current second-color block). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Chen to the modified system of Chai and Yang a coding technique associated with Intra prediction using inter-color linear mode based on reconstructed pixels of another color which may further improve the performance and/or reduce the buffer requirement of chroma Intra prediction [Chen; para 0009 ]
Regarding claim 2, Chai discloses determining the reference sample value for the first colour component of the current block according to a value of a first-colour-component sample in a neighbouring area of the current block([para 0118]- the second image component adjacent reference value and the third iIIEge component adjacent reference value respectively represent the second image component parameter and the third image component parameter of the adjacent reference point. Specifically, the third image component neighboring reference values and the second image component neighboring reference values may be used to perform prediction between the same components), wherein the neighbouring area comprises at least one of: a top neighbouring area, a top-right neighbouring area, a left neighbouring area, or a bottom-left neighbouring area([para 0118-0119]- the second image component adjacent reference value and the third iIIEge component adjacent reference value respectively represent the second image component parameter and the third image component parameter of the adjacent reference point. Specifically, the third image component neighboring reference values and the second image component neighboring reference values may be used to perform prediction between the same components; [see also para 0035; 0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses determine the value of the first-colour-component sample by selecting from first-colour component samples in the neighboring area([para 0102]- Its linear model is obtained by training the original samples and reconstructed samples of the adjacent pixels of the original pixel of the luminance component of the current coding unit, and the sample information of the adjacent pixels includes the upper neighbors of the original pixel of the luminance component of the current coding unit).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for device claim 19 have been met in device claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 20 have been met in device claim 1.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of MA et al. (US 2022/0007011 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chai and Yang do not exclusively disclose
determining a sample position to-be-selected according to a position and/or a colour component intensity of the first-colour-component sample in the neighbouring area; and determining the value of the first-colour-component sample from the neighbouring area according to the sample position to-be-selected.
In an analogous art, MA discloses determining a sample position to-be-selected according to a position and/or a colour component intensity of the first-colour-component sample in the neighbouring area([para 0085]-determining intensity of color component); and determining the value of the first-colour-component sample from the neighbouring area according to the sample position to-be-selected([para 0080;0082 nad 0085]- candidate positions are determined based on pixel positions and colour component intensity values). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of MA to the modified system of Chai and Yang a method for predicting a colour component, an encoder, a decoder, and a storage medium. The number of pixels in a reference pixel set is reduced, so that not only are the calculation complexity and memory bandwidth reduced, but also the accuracy of a prediction model is improved, thereby improving the prediction accuracy of a colour component to be predicted and the prediction efficiency of a video picture [MA; para 0005 ].
Claims 5-9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Budagavi et al.( US 2020/0221125 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chai and Yang do not exclusively disclose wherein the first filtering comprises up-sampling filtering, wherein an input of the up-sampling filtering is a first up-sampling input block, and an output of the up-sampling filtering is a first up-sampling output block.
In an analogous art, Budagavi discloses wherein the first filtering comprises up-sampling filtering([para 0093; 0199; 0202, 0207]- applying a 2D filter to the up-sampled occupancy map), wherein an input of the up-sampling filtering is a first up-sampling input block, and an output of the up-sampling filtering is a first up-sampling output block([see in Fig. 12A-12C, 13 and para 0207 and 0211]- Flowchart 3000 begins at operation 3002 up-sampling a low-resolution occupancy map by a factor corresponding to the occupancy precision value selected for the occupancy map at the encoder. In this illustrative embodiment, the low-resolution occupancy map is up-sampled by a factor of 4. In operation 3004 a 2D filter is applied to the up-sampled occupancy map). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Budagavi to the modified system of Chai and Yang methods for adaptive selection of occupancy map precision for down-sampling and up-sampling of occupancy maps during processing of point clouds where a smaller occupancy precision value provides better quality at the cost of increased bitrate for coding occupancy map and also methods will improve the visual quality of the reconstructed point cloud at high bitrate [Budagavi; para 0096-0097 ].
Regarding claim 6, Budagavi discloses determining an up-sampling factor, wherein the up-sampling factor comprises at least one of: a horizontal up-sampling factor, or a vertical up-sampling factor([para 0199]- upsampling the low-resolution occupancy map by a factor of 4 in both horizontal and vertical direction) ; performing up-sampling filtering on the first up-sampling input block according to the upsampling factor, to obtain the first up-sampling output block(Note; since the claimed "or" is a selective "or" examiner considers only the claimed " a horizontal up-sampling factor, or a vertical up-sampling factor ").
Regarding claim 7, Budagavi discloses when the horizontal up-sampling factor is greater than 1 or the vertical up-sampling factor is greater than 1([para 0199]- the up-sampled occupancy map can be trimmed by upsampling the low-resolution occupancy map by a factor of 4 in both horizontal and vertical directions (for occupancy resolution=4)), performing up-sampling filtering on the first up-sampling input block to obtain the first up-sampling output block([para 0207 and 0211]- Flowchart 3000 begins at operation 3002 up-sampling a low-resolution occupancy map by a factor corresponding to the occupancy precision value selected for the occupancy map at the encoder. In this illustrative embodiment, the low-resolution occupancy map is up-sampled by a factor of 4. In operation 3004 a 2D filter is applied to the up-sampled occupancy map).
Regarding claim 8, Budagavi discloses wherein performing the up-sampling filtering on the first up-sampling input block is configured to perform at least one of: performing up-sampling filtering on the first up-sampling input block in a horizontal direction; performing up-sampling filtering on the first up-sampling input block in a vertical direction; performing up-sampling filtering on the first up-sampling input block in a horizontal direction and then in a vertical direction; or performing up-sampling filtering on the first up-sampling input block in a vertical direction and then in a horizontal direction([para 0199]- upsampling the low-resolution occupancy map by a factor of 4 in both horizontal and vertical direction).
Regarding claim 9, Budagavi discloses use the first prediction block as the first up-sampling input block([see in Fig. 12A-12C, 13 and para 0207 and 0211]- Flowchart 3000 begins at operation 3002 up-sampling a low-resolution occupancy map by a factor corresponding to the occupancy precision value selected for the occupancy map at the encoder. In this illustrative embodiment, the low-resolution occupancy map is up-sampled by a factor of 4. In operation 3004 a 2D filter is applied to the up-sampled occupancy map); and use the first up-sampling output block as a second prediction block for a second colour component of the current block([see in Fig. 12A-12C, 13-15 and para 0207 and 0211]- Flowchart 3000 begins at operation 3002 up-sampling a low-resolution occupancy map by a factor corresponding to the occupancy precision value selected for the occupancy map at the encoder. In this illustrative embodiment, the low-resolution occupancy map is up-sampled by a factor of 4. In operation 3004 a 2D filter is applied to the up-sampled occupancy map).
Regarding claim 13, Chai discloses wherein the up-sampling filtering is implemented by one of: linear interpolation, or convolution operation based on a preset neural network([para 0169, 0182]- linear model).
Claims 10, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Yang and Budagavi as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Wan et al.( US 2022/0070476 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chai, Yang and Budagavi don not exclusively disclose perform filtering enhancement on the first prediction block to obtain a first enhanced prediction block; use the first enhanced prediction block as the first up-sampling input block; and use the first up-sampling output block as a second prediction block for a second colour component of the current block.
In an analogous art, Wan discloses perform filtering enhancement on the first prediction block to obtain a first enhanced prediction block([claim text 9]- second filtering processing comprises up-sampling filtering or low-pass filtering, wherein when the second filtering processing is the up-sampling filtering, the method further comprises: determining a horizontal up-sampling factor and a vertical up-sampling factor corresponding to the current block; and determining, according to the MIP block, the horizontal up-sampling factor and the vertical up-sampling factor, a predicted value of a to-be-filled sample position in the current block by means of a third preset calculation model, to obtain the prediction block of the current block); use the first enhanced prediction block as the first up-sampling input block([claim text 9]- second filtering processing comprises up-sampling filtering or low-pass filtering, wherein when the second filtering processing is the up-sampling filtering, the method further comprises: determining a horizontal up-sampling factor and a vertical up-sampling factor corresponding to the current block; and determining, according to the MIP block, the horizontal up-sampling factor and the vertical up-sampling factor, a predicted value of a to-be-filled sample position in the current block by means of a third preset calculation model, to obtain the prediction block of the current block); and use the first up-sampling output block as a second prediction block for a second colour component of the current block([claim text 9]- second filtering processing comprises up-sampling filtering or low-pass filtering, wherein when the second filtering processing is the up-sampling filtering, the method further comprises: determining a horizontal up-sampling factor and a vertical up-sampling factor corresponding to the current block; and determining, according to the MIP block, the horizontal up-sampling factor and the vertical up-sampling factor, a predicted value of a to-be-filled sample position in the current block by means of a third preset calculation model, to obtain the prediction block of the current block). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wan to the modified system of Chai, Yang and Budagavi a method for colour component prediction for determining a neighbouring reference sample set of a current block, and determining a preset parameter value corresponding to the current block, wherein the neighbouring reference sample set comprises at least one reference sample to obtain a prediction block of the current block [Wan; abstract].
Regarding claim 11, Wan discloses use the first up-sampling output block as a first up-sampling-filtering prediction block([para 0134, 0169-0171 and para 0176]- wherein the second filtering processing comprises up-sampling filtering or low-pass filtering, wherein when the second filtering processing is the up-sampling filtering, the method further comprises: determining a horizontal up-sampling factor and a vertical up-sampling factor corresponding to the current block; and determining, according to the MIP block, the horizontal up-sampling factor and the vertical up-sampling factor, a predicted value of a to-be-filled sample position in the current block by means of a third preset calculation model, to obtain the prediction block of the current block, wherein the to-be-filled sample position is a sample position in the current block different from a sample position in the MIP block); and perform filtering enhancement on the first up-sampling-filtering prediction block, to determine a second prediction block for a second colour component of the current block([para 0134, 0169-0171 and para 0176]- wherein the second filtering processing comprises up-sampling filtering or low-pass filtering, wherein when the second filtering processing is the up-sampling filtering, the method further comprises: determining a horizontal up-sampling factor and a vertical up-sampling factor corresponding to the current block; and determining, according to the MIP block, the horizontal up-sampling factor and the vertical up-sampling factor, a predicted value of a to-be-filled sample position in the current block by means of a third preset calculation model, to obtain the prediction block of the current block, wherein the to-be-filled sample position is a sample position in the current block different from a sample position in the MIP block).
Regarding claim 14, Wan discloses wherein the filtering enhancement comprises at least one of: bilateral filtering, median filtering, Gaussian filtering, normalized filtering, or neural network filtering([claim 18]- the second filtering processing comprises up-sampling filtering or low-pass filtering, wherein when the second filtering processing refers to the up-sampling filtering).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Yang and Budagavi as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of SYCHEV et al.( US 2018/0220162 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chai, Yang and Budagavi don not exclusively disclose perform first filtering enhancement on the first prediction block to determine a second enhanced prediction block; use the second enhanced prediction block as the first up-sampling input block; use the first up-sampling output block as a second up-sampling-filtering prediction block; and perform second filtering enhancement on the second up-sampling-filtering prediction block, to determine a second prediction block for a second colour component of the current block.
In an analogous art, SYCHEV discloses, perform first filtering enhancement on the first prediction block to determine a second enhanced prediction block([para 0060]- the prediction block generated by the upsampling filter 217 is fed to an adaptive sharpening filter 219 configured to apply a spatial adaptive sharpening filtering to the prediction block); use the second enhanced prediction block as the first up-sampling input block([para 0060]- the prediction block generated by the up-sampling filter 217 is fed to an adaptive sharpening filter 219 configured to apply a spatial adaptive sharpening filtering to the prediction block); use the first up-sampling output block as a second up-sampling-filtering prediction block([para 0060 and 0066]- the prediction block generated by the upsampling filter 217 is fed to an adaptive sharpening filter 219 configured to apply a spatial adaptive sharpening filtering to the prediction block. The output of the upsampling filter 217 of the spatial base layer 212 is a prediction block for an inter layer prediction coding of the video frame 201 of the spatial enhancement layer 202. The prediction block generated by the upsampling filter 217 as well as the sharpened prediction block generated by the adaptive sharpening filter 219 are preferably both transmitted to a switch 220 that is connected to the prediction unit 204 of the spatial enhancement layer 202. The predictive coding of the video frame 201 of the spatial enhancement layer 202 can be selectively based on the output of the upsampling filter 217 or on the output of the adaptive sharpening filter 219); and perform second filtering enhancement on the second up-sampling-filtering prediction block, to determine a second prediction block for a second colour component of the current block([para 0060 and 0066]- the prediction block generated by the upsampling filter 217 is fed to an adaptive sharpening filter 219 configured to apply a spatial adaptive sharpening filtering to the prediction block. The output of the upsampling filter 217 of the spatial base layer 212 is a prediction block for an inter layer prediction coding of the video frame 201 of the spatial enhancement layer 202. The prediction block generated by the upsampling filter 217 as well as the sharpened prediction block generated by the adaptive sharpening filter 219 are preferably both transmitted to a switch 220 that is connected to the prediction unit 204 of the spatial enhancement layer 202. The predictive coding of the video frame 201 of the spatial enhancement layer 202 can be selectively based on the output of the upsampling filter 217 or on the output of the adaptive sharpening filter 219). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of SYCHEV to the modified system of Chai, Yang and Budagavi a method for predictive coding a video and to a method for decoding an encoded video bit stream obtained by predictive coding to improve predictive coding by increasing sharpness of edges and reducing ringing artifacts in prediction blocks adaptively to local image content [SYCHEV ; para 0011].
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Zhang et al.( US 2019/0320171 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chai and Yang do not exclusively disclose determining a first weight value for the first prediction block in a bilateral filtering mode; and performing bilateral filtering on the first prediction block according to the first weight value, to obtain the second prediction block.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses determining a first weight value for the first prediction block in a bilateral filtering mode([abstract and para 0104]- a bilateral filter to the prediction block to generate a filtered prediction block for the current block, wherein to apply the bilateral filter, the processor is configured to determine weighting values); and performing bilateral filtering on the first prediction block according to the first weight value, to obtain the second prediction block([para 01014]-bilateral filter is applied to determine prediction blocks and ideo decoder 300 may use different linear combination of multiple filtered temporary prediction blocks to generate the final prediction block and linear weight for each of the filtered temporary prediction block). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhang to the modified system of Chai and Yang methods techniques for bilateral filtering that may be used during a prediction stage of video coding (encoding or decoding) to generate a filtered prediction block for the current block, wherein to apply the bilateral filter and this technique may offer efficient coding tools in future video coding standards [Zhang; abstract].
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jun et al.( US 2019/0166375 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chai and Yang do not exclusively disclose determining a compensation value of a second-colour-component sample of the first prediction block, according to a reference sample value in a neighbouring area of the current block; and refining a prediction value of the second-colour-component sample of the first prediction block according to the compensation value, to determine the second prediction block.
In an analogous art, Jun discloses determining a compensation value of a second-colour-component sample of the first prediction block, according to a reference sample value in a neighbouring area of the current block([see in Fig. 14 and para 0275 and 0277]- FIG. 14, neighbor reconstructed samples used for calculation of the compensation value and/or a scaling factor used for the scaling may be determined based on the shape, size, and/or position of the current block, the first prediction block, and/or the second prediction block); and refining a prediction value of the second-colour-component sample of the first prediction block according to the compensation value, to determine the second prediction block([see in Fig. 14]- FIG. 14, neighbor reconstructed samples used for calculation of the compensation value and/or a scaling factor used for the scaling may be determined based on the shape, size, and/or position of the current block, the first prediction block, and/or the second prediction block, the position of an arbitrary standard sample, and/or the position of a currently predicted sample; examiners considers, the currently predicted sample as refining prediction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Jun to the modified system of Chai and Yang a method for encoding/decoding an image using intra prediction and a recording medium storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method to enhance compression efficiency [Jun; abstract].
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of CHOI et al.( US 2020/0336739 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chai and Yang do not exclusively disclose predicting a second-colour-component sample of the first prediction block according to at least one prediction modes, to determine at least one initial prediction value of the second-colour component sample of the first prediction block; and performing weighted average calculation on the at least one initial prediction value and the prediction value of the second-colour-component sample in the first prediction block to determine the second prediction block.
In an analogous art, CHOI discloses predicting a second-colour-component sample of the first prediction block according to at least one prediction modes, to determine at least one initial prediction value of the second-colour component sample of the first prediction block([para 0090]- the intra predictor 120 may determine a weighted average value of a prediction value of each sample included in the first prediction block and a prediction value of each sample included in the second prediction block as a prediction value of each sample included in the current block); and performing weighted average calculation on the at least one initial prediction value and the prediction value of the second-colour-component sample in the first prediction block to determine the second prediction block([para 0090 and 0101]- generates a second prediction block of the second block by using the prediction directions of the regions included in the second block. In addition, an average prediction value of the boundary samples of the first prediction block adjacent to a boundary between the first prediction block and the second prediction block and the boundary samples of the second prediction block adjacent to the boundary samples of the first prediction block may be determined as the prediction value of the boundary sample of the first prediction block and the boundary sample of the second prediction block). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of CHOI to the modified system of Chai and Yang a method of obtaining a bitstream including residual data about a residual block of a current block, determining a plurality of prediction directions with respect to the current block, determining a plurality of reference samples included in a neighboring region of the current block in a current image, by using the plurality of prediction directions that are determined, generating a prediction block of the current block by using the plurality of reference samples, obtaining a residual block of the current block based on the residual data about the residual block of the current block, and reconstructing the current block by using the prediction block of the current block and the residual block of the current block to improve encoding/decoding efficiency [CHOI; abstract].
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of WANG et al.( US 20220217335 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chai and Yang do not exclusively disclose determining a residual value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block; determining a prediction value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block according to the second prediction block; and determining the reconstructed value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block according to the residual value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block and the prediction value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block.
In an analogus art, WANG discloses determining a residual value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block; determining a prediction value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block according to the second prediction block([para 0067 and 0118]- the prediction value of the current block according to the matching block, the decoder parses the bitstream to obtain a prediction residual of the current block, and obtains a reconstructed value of a sample in the current block according to the prediction value and the prediction residual of the current block); and determining the reconstructed value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block according to the residual value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block and the prediction value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block([para 0118]- a reconstructed value of a sample in the current block according to the prediction value and the prediction residual of the current block). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of WANG to the modified system of Chai and Yang a bitstream is parsed to obtain the decoding parameter of the current block, where the decoding parameter contains the parameter used in decoding the current block. The first template of the current block is obtained when the decoding parameter indicates that the current block uses the rotate template mode, where the first template contains the neighbouring reconstructed sample of the current block and by adopting a calculation manner of rotating the template, calculation amount in encoding and decoding can be reduced, thereby improving encoding and decoding efficiency [WANG; 0166].
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. WAN et al., US 2021/0368211 A1, discloses provide an in-loop filtering implementation method, an in-loop filtering implementation apparatus, and a computer storage medium.
2. SEREGIN et. al., US 2021/0092458 A1, discloses selecting the at least one filter with the set of filter coefficients is based on whether filtering in either a horizontal or a vertical directions or both for the current picture and the at least one reference picture is downsampling, upsampling, or regular motion compensation.
3. SATO et al., US 2016/0005155 A1, discloses an image processing device including an up-sampling filter configured to up-sample an image of a first layer referred to at a time of decoding of an image of a second layer with a higher space resolution than the first layer, and a control section configured to switch a filter configuration of the up-sampling filter for each block of an image.
4. ALSHINA et al., US. 2015/0341661 A1, discloses determining an up-sampling filter to accurately interpolate a sample value for each sampling position according to an up-sampling ratio for scalable video encoding and decoding.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD N HAQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487