DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-11, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2006128283 hereafter referred to as Tateishi in view of Yun et al. (US 2011/0141656).
In regards to claim 1,
Tateishi discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (3 – fig. 1; [0016]) having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (fig. 1-3), the body including a dielectric layer (7 – fig. 1; [0016]) and
an internal electrode (9a & 9b – fig. 1; [0016]) disposed alternately with the dielectric layer in the first direction, the internal electrode extending to one surface among the third and fourth surfaces (fig. 1 & 3); and
an external electrode (5 – fig. 1 & 3; [0015]) disposed on the one surface, and connected to the internal electrode (fig. 1 & 3; [0016]),
wherein, when a thickness of a central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction and a width of the central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on the one surface, are respectively denoted by T1 and W1 (W1; fig. 3 – the internal electrode inherently has a thickness at the end surface), and a thickness of the central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction and a width of the central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on a central portion of the body in the second direction, are respectively denoted by T2 and W2 (W2; fig. 1 & 3 – the internal electrode inherently has a thickness at the central portion), 0.6≤W2/W1≤0.9 are satisfied (table 1). Tateishi fails to disclose T1>T2.
Yun ‘656 discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (fig. 1; [0026-0028]), the body including a dielectric layer (120 – fig. 1-2; [0028]) and
an internal electrode (130 & 140 – fig. 1-2; [0026]) disposed alternately with the dielectric layer in the first direction, the internal electrode extending to one surface among the third and fourth surfaces (fig. 1); and
an external electrode (150 & 160 – fig. 1; [0026]) disposed on the one surface, and connected to the internal electrode,
wherein, when a thickness of a central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction and a width of the central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on the one surface, are respectively denoted by T1 (t2 – fig. 2; [0033] – the internal electrode inherently has a width at the end surface) and W1, and a thickness of the central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction and a width of the central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on a central portion of the body in the second direction, are respectively denoted by T2 (t1 – fig. 2; [0033] – the internal electrode inherently has a width at the central portion) and W2, T1>T2 ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the internal electrodes of Tateishi to have thicknesses as taught by Yun ‘656 to obtain a capacitor wherein difference in density and thickness is reduced such that cracking and pore formation is prevented.
In regards to claim 2,
Tateishi as modified by Yun ‘656 further discloses wherein T1 and T2 satisfy 0.5≤T2/T1<1 ([0033] & table 1 of Yun ‘656).
In regards to claim 3,
Tateishi as modified by Yun ‘656 further discloses wherein the internal electrode includes a main portion (seen in fig. 3 of Tateishi) disposed on the central portion of the body in the second direction, and a lead portion (portions of 9a/9b that extend from edge of overlapping portion to connect to external electrodes of Tateishi) extending from the main portion to the one surface, and
a width of the lead portion in the third direction is greater than that of the main portion in the third direction, and the width of the lead portion in the third direction gradually increases from the main portion toward the one surface (seen in fig. 3 of Tateishi).
In regards to claim 10,
Tateishi as modified by Yun ‘656 further discloses wherein a width of the internal electrode in the third direction gradually decreases from the one surface toward the inside of the body (fig. 3 of Tateishi).
In regards to claim 11,
Tateishi as modified by Yun ‘656 further discloses wherein a thickness of the internal electrode gradually decreases from the one surface to the inside of the body (fig. 2; [0034] of Yun ‘656).
In regards to claim 14,
Tateishi as modified by Yun ‘656 further discloses wherein the internal electrode is spaced apart from the fifth and sixth surfaces (fig. 3 of Tateishi).
Claim(s) 1, 4, & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasabayashi et al. (US 2011/0267736) in view of Yun ‘656.
In regards to claim 1,
Sasabayashi ‘736 discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (12 – fig. 2; [0018]) having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (fig. 1-3), the body including a dielectric layer (16 – fig. 2; [0018]) and
an internal electrode (18a & 18b – fig. – fig. 2; [0020]) disposed alternately with the dielectric layer in the first direction, the internal electrode extending to one surface among the third and fourth surfaces (fig. 2-3); and
an external electrode (14a & 14b – fig. 1; [0017]) disposed on the one surface, and connected to the internal electrode (fig. 1-2),
wherein, when a thickness of a central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction and a width of the central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on the one surface, are respectively denoted by T1 and W1 (a; fig. 3 – the internal electrode inherently has a thickness at the end surface), and a thickness of the central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction and a width of the central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on a central portion of the body in the second direction, are respectively denoted by T2 and W2 (b; fig. 3 – the internal electrode inherently has a thickness at the central portion), 0.6≤W2/W1≤0.9 are satisfied (table 1). Sasabayashi ‘736 fails to disclose T1>T2.
Yun ‘656 discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (fig. 1; [0026-0028]), the body including a dielectric layer (120 – fig. 1-2; [0028]) and
an internal electrode (130 & 140 – fig. 1-2; [0026]) disposed alternately with the dielectric layer in the first direction, the internal electrode extending to one surface among the third and fourth surfaces (fig. 1); and
an external electrode (150 & 160 – fig. 1; [0026]) disposed on the one surface, and connected to the internal electrode,
wherein, when a thickness of a central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction and a width of the central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on the one surface, are respectively denoted by T1 (t2 – fig. 2; [0033] – the internal electrode inherently has a width at the end surface) and W1, and a thickness of the central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction and a width of the central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on a central portion of the body in the second direction, are respectively denoted by T2 (t1 – fig. 2; [0033] – the internal electrode inherently has a width at the central portion) and W2, T1>T2 ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the internal electrodes of Sasabayashi ‘736 to have thicknesses as taught by Yun ‘656 to obtain a capacitor wherein difference in density and thickness is reduced such that cracking and pore formation is prevented.
In regards to claim 4,
Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 further discloses wherein, in a cross-section of the body in the second and third directions, a side end of the lead portion in the third direction has a curvature (fig. 2-3 of Sasabayashi ‘736).
In regards to claim 6,
Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 further discloses wherein, in a cross-section of the body in the second and third directions, an edge, at which an end of the internal electrode in the second direction, spaced apart from the one surface, meets a side end of the internal electrode in the third direction, has a curvature (fig. 2-3 of Sasabayashi ‘736).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP2007173725A hereafter referred to as Tanaka.
In regards to claim 8,
Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 fails to disclose wherein, when a thickness of a side end of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on the one surface, is denoted by T1’, T1>T1’ is satisfied.
Tanaka discloses wherein, when a thickness of a side end of the internal electrode in the third direction, measured on the one surface, is denoted by T1’, T1>T1’ is satisfied (fig. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the internal electrodes of Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 to have thickness variation in the width direction as taught by Tanaka to obtain a capacitor with reduced capacitance variation and improved crack prevention.
In regards to claim 9,
Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the internal electrode, measured on the one surface, gradually decreases from the central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction toward a side end of the internal electrode in the third direction.
Tanaka discloses wherein a thickness of the internal electrode, measured on the one surface, gradually decreases from the central portion of the internal electrode in the first direction toward a side end of the internal electrode in the third direction (fig. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the internal electrodes of Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 to have thickness variation in the width direction as taught by Tanaka to obtain a capacitor with reduced capacitance variation and improved crack prevention.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP2007036003A hereafter referred to as Yamashita.
In regards to claim 12,
Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 fails to disclose wherein the internal electrode protrudes from the one surface.
Yamashita discloses wherein the internal electrode protrudes from the one surface (fig. 2 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the internal electrodes of Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 to protrude from the one surface as taught by Yamashita to obtain a capacitor wherein connection strength between the external electrode and internal electrode is improved.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugita (US 2018/0114644).
In regards to claim 13,
Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the multilayer electronic component in the first direction is 150 μm or less,
a length of the multilayer electronic component in the second direction is 250 μm or less, and
a width of the multilayer electronic component in the third direction is 150 μm or less.
Sugita ‘644 discloses wherein a thickness of the multilayer electronic component in the first direction is 150 μm or less,
a length of the multilayer electronic component in the second direction is 250 μm or less, and
a width of the multilayer electronic component in the third direction is 150 μm or less ([0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the multilayer electronic component of Sasabayashi ‘736 as modified by Yun ‘656 to have dimensions as taught by Sugita ‘644 to obtain a capacitor that is small in size. Furthermore, Sugita ‘644 discloses the dimensions of a capacitor are a design parameter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 & 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein, in the cross-section of the body in the second and third directions, a radius of curvature of the side end of the lead portion in the third direction is 50 μm to 90 μm (claim 5) & wherein, in the cross-section of the body in the second and third directions, a radius of curvature of the edge is 10 μm to 20 μm (claim 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0210257 – fig. 2-3; [0043] & [0047] JP2000049036A – fig. 2
US 2019/0131067 – fig. 4 US 2022/0093329 – fig. 3-4
JPH09069463A – fig. 1 JPH10097948A – fig. 5
JP2004228468A – fig. 1
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847