DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 39-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the first power circuitry" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the second power circuitry" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 40-47 are rejected due to their dependence upon claim 39.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The subject matter of instant claim 41 is recited in instant claim 39. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-32, 36-41 and 45-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2 977 282 A1 to Witte in view of DE 10 2012 020421 A1 to Witte.
Re-claim 30, Witte (EP ‘282) teaches an electronic brake system comprising:
a first hydraulic circuit associated with a first wheel brake (circuit 12, specifically circuit associated with first wheel VR);
a second hydraulic circuit associated with a second wheel brake (circuit 14, specifically circuit associated with second wheel VL);
a first parking brake EPB 2 is associated with a third wheel brake HR;
a second parking brake EPB1 is associated with a fourth wheel brake HL;
first ECU1 and second ECU2 controllers;
the first controller ECU1 is electrically coupled to the first hydraulic circuit 12 associated with the first wheel brake VR, and electrically coupled to the second parking brake EPB1 associated with the fourth wheel brake HL (see page 5 paragraphs 5 and 8 of the translation);
the second controller ECU2 is electrically coupled to the second hydraulic circuit 14 associated with the second wheel brake VL, and electrically coupled to the first parking brake EPB2 associated with the third wheel brake HR (see page 5 paragraphs 5 and 9 of the translation). However, Witte (‘282) fail to show the third wheel brake HR not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits, or the fourth wheel brake HL not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits.
Witte (DE ‘421) teach an electronic brake system having rear wheel brakes in either fluid connection with front wheel brakes (such as figure 1), or fluidly separated (such as figure 5) and thus not fluidly coupled with either the first VL or second VR hydraulic circuits. Note the fluid circuits in Witte (DE ‘421) are independent of one another, as in Witte (EP ‘282). The use of electromechanical brakes for HL and HR in Witte (DE ‘421) reduces the amount of hydraulic piping required, and allows for individual control of the rear brakes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized the ease of replacing the third HR and fourth HL wheel brakes of Witte (EP ‘282) with isolated electromechanical type brakes as taught by Witte (DE ‘421), as this would have simplified the overall brake apparatus by reducing hydraulic piping and weight, and would have provided for individual operation of the rear brakes separate from the hydraulic circuits.
Re-claims 31 and 40, the first controller ECU1 controls the first hydraulic circuit 12 and the second parking brake EPB1; the second controller ECU2 controls the second hydraulic circuit 14 and the first parking brake EPB2.
Re-claim 32, the first controller ECU1 is powered from a first power circuitry 52, the second controller ECU2 is powered from a second power circuitry 54, the first hydraulic circuit is powered from the first power circuitry, the second hydraulic circuit is powered from the second power circuitry, the first parking brake is powered from the second power circuitry, and the second parking brake is powered from the first power circuitry. The valves of the circuits and the parking brake assigned to the ECU is powered by the ECU circuitry, see page 6 paragraph 7 of the translation.
Re-claims 36 and 45, the first hydraulic circuit 12 comprises a first line hydraulically coupled to the first wheel brake VR and a plurality of first valves 22a/22c/22d provided on the first line, the second hydraulic circuit 14 comprises a second line hydraulically coupled to the second wheel brake VL and a plurality of second valves 26a/26c/26d provided on the second line.
Re-claims 37 and 46, the first controller ECU1 operates the first plurality of valves by opening and closing the valves as necessary, the second controller ECU2 operates the second plurality of valves by opening and closing the valves as necessary,
Re-claims 38 and 47, a communication line (internal data bus) is present between the controllers (see page 6 paragraph 1).
Re-claims 39 and 41, Witte (EP ‘282) teaches an electronic brake system comprising: first ECU1 and second ECU2 controllers, the first controller is powered from a first power circuitry 52 and the second controller powered from a second power circuitry 54; a first hydraulic circuit 12 is associated with a first wheel brake VR, the first hydraulic circuit electrically is coupled to the first controller and powered from the first power circuitry; a second hydraulic circuit 14 associated with a second wheel brake VL, the second hydraulic circuit is electrically coupled to the second controller and powered from the second power circuitry; a first parking brake EPB2 is associated with a third wheel brake HR, the first parking brake electrically coupled to the second controller ECU2 and powered from the second power circuitry 54; a second parking brake EPB1 is associated with a fourth wheel brake HL, the second parking brake electrically coupled to the first controller ECU1 and powered from the first power circuitry 52. However, Witte (‘282) fail to show the third wheel brake HR not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits, or the fourth wheel brake HL not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits.
Witte (DE ‘421) teach an electronic brake system having rear wheel brakes in either fluid connection with front wheel brakes (such as figure 1), or fluidly separated (such as figure 5) and thus not fluidly coupled with either the first VL or second VR hydraulic circuits. Note the fluid circuits in Witte (DE ‘421) are independent of one another, as in Witte (EP ‘282). The use of electromechanical brakes for HL and HR in Witte (DE ‘421) reduces the amount of hydraulic piping required, and allows for individual control of the rear brakes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized the ease of replacing the third HR and fourth HL wheel brakes of Witte (EP ‘282) with isolated electromechanical type brakes as taught by Witte (DE ‘421), as this would have simplified the overall brake apparatus by reducing hydraulic piping and weight, and would have provided for individual operation of the rear brakes separate from the hydraulic circuits.
Re-claim 31, the first controller ECU1 controls the first hydraulic circuit 12 and the second parking brake EPB1; the second controller ECU2 controls the second hydraulic circuit 14 and the first parking brake EPB2.
Double Patenting
Claims 30-47 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,991. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all that is recited in claims 30-47 is recited in claims 1-9 and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,991.
Application Claims
U.S. Patent No. 12,109,991
Claim 30
An electronic brake system comprising: a first hydraulic circuit associated with a first wheel brake; a second hydraulic circuit associated with a second wheel brake; a first parking brake associated with a third wheel brake, wherein the third wheel brake is not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits; a second parking brake associated with a fourth wheel brake, wherein the fourth wheel brake is not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits; first and second controllers, wherein the first controller is electrically coupled to the first hydraulic circuit associated with the first wheel brake, and electrically coupled to the second parking brake associated with the fourth wheel brake; and the second controller is electrically coupled to the second hydraulic circuit associated with the second wheel brake, and electrically coupled to the first parking brake associated with the third wheel brake.
See claim 1
An electronic brake system comprising: a first hydraulic circuit associated with a first wheel brake and powered from a first power circuitry; a second hydraulic circuit associated with a second wheel brake and powered from a second power circuitry; a first hydraulic pressure sensor configured to detect a hydraulic pressure of the first hydraulic circuit and powered from the first power circuitry; a second hydraulic pressure sensor configured to detect a hydraulic pressure of the second hydraulic circuit and powered from the second power circuitry; a first parking brake associated with a third wheel brake, wherein the third wheel brake is not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits; a second parking brake associated with a fourth wheel brake, wherein the fourth wheel brake is not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits; a first pedal displacement sensor powered from the first power circuitry; a second pedal displacement sensor powered from the second power circuitry; first and second controllers electrically coupled to the first pedal displacement sensor and the second pedal displacement sensor, wherein the first controller is electrically coupled to the first hydraulic circuit associated with the first wheel brake, and electrically coupled to the second parking brake associated with the fourth wheel brake without being electrically coupled to the first parking brake associated with the third wheel brake; and the second controller is electrically coupled to the second hydraulic circuit associated with the second wheel brake, and electrically coupled to the first parking brake associated with the third wheel brake without being electrically coupled to the second parking brake associated with the fourth wheel brake.
Claim 31
See claim 2
Claim 32
See claim 3
Claim 33
See claim 4
Claim 34
See claim 5
Claim 35
See claim 6
Claim 36
See claim 7
Claim 37
See claim 8
Claim 38
See claim 9
Claim 39
An electronic brake system comprising: first and second controllers, the first controller powered from the first power circuitry and the second controller powered from the second power circuitry; a first hydraulic circuit associated with a first wheel brake, the first hydraulic circuit electrically coupled to the first controller and powered from the first power circuitry; a second hydraulic circuit associated with a second wheel brake, the second hydraulic circuit electrically coupled to the second controller and powered from the second power circuitry; a first parking brake associated with a third wheel brake, the first parking brake electrically coupled to the second controller and powered from the second power circuitry, wherein the third wheel brake is not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits; and a second parking brake associated with a fourth wheel brake, the second parking brake electrically coupled to the first controller and powered from the first power circuitry, wherein the fourth wheel brake is not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits.
See claim 11
An electronic brake system comprising: a first pedal displacement sensor powered from the first power circuitry; a second pedal displacement sensor powered from the second power circuitry; first and second controllers electrically coupled to the first pedal displacement sensor and the second pedal displacement sensor, the first controller powered from the first power circuitry and the second controller powered from the second power circuitry; a first hydraulic circuit associated with a first wheel brake, the first hydraulic circuit electrically coupled to the first controller and powered from the first power circuitry without being powered from the second power circuitry; a second hydraulic circuit associated with a second wheel brake, the second hydraulic circuit electrically coupled to the second controller and powered from the second power circuitry without being powered from the first power circuitry; a first hydraulic pressure sensor configured to detect a hydraulic pressure of the first hydraulic circuit and powered from the first power circuitry without being powered from the second power circuitry; a second hydraulic pressure sensor configured to detect a hydraulic pressure of the second hydraulic circuit and powered from the second power circuitry without being powered from the first power circuitry; a first parking brake associated with a third wheel brake, the first parking brake electrically coupled to the second controller and powered from the second power circuitry without being powered from the first power circuitry, wherein the third wheel brake is not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits; and a second parking brake associated with a fourth wheel brake, the second parking brake electrically coupled to the first controller and powered from the first power circuitry without being powered from the second power circuitry, wherein the fourth wheel brake is not fluidly coupled to the first and second hydraulic circuits.
Claim 40
See claim 12
Claim 41
See claims 11 and 13
Claim 42
See claim 14
Claim 43
See claim 15
Claim 44
See claim 16
Claim 45
See claim 17
Claim 46
See claim 18
Claim 47
See claim 19
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 30-47 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1-9 and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,991. As such claims 1-9 and 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,991 fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 30-47 and therefore anticipates claims 30-47. Thus the invention of claims 1-9 and 11-19 of the patent is in effect a "species” of the “generic” invention of claims 30-47. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 30-47 are anticipated (fully encompassed) by claims 1-9 and 11-19 of the patent, claims 30-47 are not patentably distinct from claims 1-9 and 11-19, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claims 1-9 and 11-19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Campau, Riddiford, Yokoyama, Reuter and Iwasaki each teach hydraulically isolated rear brakes.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
supervisor, Robert Siconolfi, can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW /THOMAS J WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 September 15, 2026