DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application, Amendments, And/Or Claims
The Applicants amendments/remarks received 11/21/2025 are acknowledged. Claims 1, 24 and 27 are amended; claims 8-9 and 15-20 are canceled; no claims are withdrawn; claim 28 is new; claims 1-7, 10-14, 21-28 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 1, as set forth at p. 5 of the previous Office Action is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1-7, 9-14 and 21-26 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), as set forth at pp. 6-9 of the previous Office Action is moot regarding claim 9 due to cancelation of the claim and is withdrawn regarding the remaining claims in view of the amendment of the claims.
The rejection of claims 27 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), as set forth at p. 11 of the previous Office Action is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claim.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 28 constitutes new matter because the original disclosure does not disclose that the transferring the one or more portions of the PPP comprises: “as the separator tube is coupled to the separator tube port, the air needle extends further toward a cap of the separator tube than the PPP needle to enable the air needle to penetrate the cap before the PPP needle is able to penetrate the cap to enable the interior of the separator tube to become coupled to the external air before becoming coupled to the syringe port, thereby enabling an equalization of air pressure within the interior of the separator tube with air pressure of the external air prior to the interior of the separator tube becoming coupled to the syringe port”; hence, claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement by constituting new matter.
Additionally, claim 27 recites “the equalization of the air pressure within the interior of the separator tube with the air pressure of the external air prior to the interior of the separator tube becoming coupled to the syringe port comprises the removal of a vacuum prior to the interior of the separator tube becoming coupled to the syringe port” which is not disclosed in the original disclosure and constitutes new matter. Hence, claim 27 is separately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement by constituting new matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments of the Applicant’s Response on p. 17 regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is moot as the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement by constituting new matter, Applicant alleges (Remarks received 11/21/2025, pp. 12-17) that the portions of claims 27-28 identified as new matter above are not new matter. Applicant argues that drawings can provide written description; however, none of the instant drawings provide written description for the method steps identified as new matter above. As discussed in the previous Office action and documented below, the original specification discloses the simultaneous equalization of pressures between the separator tube, transfer syringe and external air (see below) NOT a method step comprising inserting only the longer air needle into the interior of the separation tube, letting the pressure between the separator tube and the external air equilibrate followed by a pressure equalization with the transfer syringe when the shorter plasma needle is inserted; hence, claims 27-28 are rejected for constituting matter above.
Practitioner’s arguments on pp. 15-16 attempting to support this 3-step method from the original disclosure is completely unpersuasive. The original disclosure, relevant portions quoted below, speaks for itself and clearly does not support this 3-step method.
The original disclosure discloses that the pressure between the separator tube interior, the external air and the transfer syringe is equalized simultaneously, rather than the 3-step procedure of claims 27-28:
[0063] of the original specification discloses “As is about to be described, each of the different types of transfer device 1300a, 1300b and 1300c is configured to enable the PPP 13 to be transferred from a separator tube 1200a or 1200b coupled to the separator tube port 1320, and to a transfer syringe 1400 coupled to the syringe port 1340. Additionally, and as is also about to be described, each of the different types of transfer device 1300b and 1300c is additionally configured to also enable external air surrounding the transfer device 1300b or 1300c to be drawn in through an air filter 1350 at the filtered air port 1330, and conveyed to the separator tube 1200a or 1200b that is coupled to the separator tube port 1320.” (emphasis added); thus, external air is equilibrated with the interior of the separator tube when the tube is coupled to the separator tube port, not before.
[0067] of the original specification discloses “FIG. 2E depicts aspects of the manner in which the dual-flow device 1300b enables a simultaneous transfer of filtered air 93 into a separator container 1200a or 1200b, and of PPP 13 out of the separator container 1200a or 1200b as part of transferring PPP 13 to the transfer syringe 1400. As depicted, the separator tube port 1320 may incorporate both an air needle 1329 and a PPP needle 1321 that are each positioned to penetrate through the cap 1210 of a separator tube 1200a or 1200b to enable the flow through each of gases and/or liquids into and/or out of such a separator tube 1200a or 1200b.” (emphasis added); thus, the transfer of external air into the separator tube and withdrawal of plasma from the separator tube is simultaneous, NOT that the air goes in before the plasma is withdrawn.
[0068] of the original specification discloses “As depicted, with a separator tube 1200a or 1200b coupled to the separator tube port 1320 such that the needles 1321 and 1329 penetrate the cap 1210 thereof, and with the end connector 1410 of the transfer syringe 1400 coupled to the syringe port 1340, there may be an initial equalization of pressures thereamong.” (emphasis added); thus, equalization of pressures happens when both needles are penetrating the separator tube NOT equalized before the separator tube is coupled to the separator tube port as stated in amended claim 1.
Hence, claims 27-28 clearly constitute new matter which must be removed from the claims to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-7, 12-14, 21-23 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) over Esteron et al., US 2023/0172989 (cite A, PTO-892, 2/14/2025; herein “Esteron”) in view of Mijers et al., US 2020/0146939 (cite A, PTO-892, 6/24/2025; herein “Mijers”) and Sealfon et al., US 2018/0116909 (cite B, PTO-892, 6/24/2025; herein “Sealfon”) as set forth at pp. 11-21 of the previous Office Action is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims.
Claims 1-7, 10-14, 21-23 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esteron et al., US 2023/0172989 (cite A, PTO-892, 2/14/2025; herein “Esteron”) in view of Hanna et al., US 2015/0174221 (cite B, PTO-892, 2/14/2025; herein “Hanna”), Mijers et al., US 2020/0146939 (cite A, PTO-892, 6/24/2025; herein “Mijers”) and Sealfon et al., US 2018/0116909 (cite B, PTO-892, 6/24/2025; herein “Sealfon”).
Esteron teaches methods for treating a respiratory condition or disorder of a subject ([0071-72]; [0073]; p. 6, claim 11) with a composition enriched in alpha-2-macroglobulin (α2M herein; [0009], [0041], [0043], [0073]) wherein the method comprises drawing whole blood ([0050], [0052-54]) wherein the blood can be from a non-autologous donor [0050], separating plasma containing α2M molecules from other components of the whole blood with a separator tube comprising a separator gel ([0007-10], [0031], [0033], [0035-38], [0073]; p. 6, claim 1), thus producing “platelet poor plasma”, i.e., PPP, isolating the α2M molecules from other components of the plasma which can be with a filter ([0012], [0046-49], [0073]; pp. 6-7, claims 8 and 28), and administering the composition enriched in α2M molecules to the patient via inhalation with a nebulizer ([0013], [0071-72]; p. 6, claim 11) wherein the donor and patient are different individuals [0050]. Esteron teaches that the respiratory condition can entail lung damage [0013]. Esteron teaches that separating the plasma from other components of the whole blood comprises: depositing the whole blood into a separator tube, wherein the separator tube contains an amount of separator gel; and subjecting the separator tube to a centrifugal force for a predetermined period of time to cause a combination of the centrifugal force and the separator gel within the separator tube to separate the plasma of the whole blood within the separator tube from red blood cells and white blood cells of the whole blood within the separator tube ([0007-10], [0031-33], [0035-38], [0073], [0074]; p. 6, claim 1), the plasma composition removed from above the separator gel after centrifugation in Esteron constitutes PPP because the plasma composition is produced by the method set forth in the instant disclosure and claims.
Esteron teaches removing the α2M-enriched plasma (26 in Fig. 4) from above the separator gel (24 in Fig. 4) with a syringe attached to a transfer device comprising a hollow needle by piercing the septum of the separator tube and withdrawing the plasma (denoted by the arrow in Fig. 4; [0033], [0052]). The plasma can then be inserted into the next tube in the process by pressing on the plunger of the syringe and expelling the plasma (e.g., as in Fig. 5). Esteron teaches that the α2M-enriched plasma (third cellular fraction in Esteron) can be further concentrated by centrifugation [0033] or filtration with a hemoconcentrator comprising a 15 kDa filter which removes water and low molecular weight components and specifically recites that this enriches the composition for α2M [0073] but Esteron does not specifically teach isolating the α2M molecules from other components of the plasma by centrifuging the plasma containing the α2M molecules in a tube comprising a filter with a molecular weight cut off ranging from 100 kDa to 500 kDa; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice said method of further isolating the α2M molecules in view of the disclosure of Hanna.
Hanna teaches methods for isolating alpha-2 macroglobulin (α2M) from whole blood (Abst.; [0161]). Hanna teaches that the α2M compositions can be prepared from mammalian samples comprising plasma, wherein the red blood cells, white blood cells and platelets have been removed from the sample [0015], i.e., platelet poor plasma. Hanna teaches that the α2M composition can be further enriched for α2M by filtration of the sample with a filter with a molecular weight cutoff (MWCO) of ~500 kDa wherein the α2M composition is retained by the filter, i.e., the α2M is in the retentate, and undesirable proteins less than 500 kDa have been reduced (from the retentate) [0015]. Hanna teaches that the filtration can be performed by centrifugation [0015], which would necessarily entail transferring the plasma, e.g.,PPP, comprising the α2M, from the separator tube to a centrifuge tube with an integral 500 kDa filter, i.e., an aggregator, and recovering the retentate, which comprises the α2M, after centrifugation, i.e. filtering the waste plasma from the PPP comprising transferring the PPP from the transfer syringe and into at least one aggregator, wherein each aggregator of the at least one aggregator comprises a filter; and subjecting the at least one aggregator to a second centrifugal force in a second centrifuging stage for a second predetermined period of time to cause a combination of the second centrifugal force and the filter within each aggregator of the at least one aggregator to filter the waste plasma from the PPP to generate the aggregate within the at least one aggregator.
Neither Esteron nor Hanna specifically teaches the transfer device and transfer method set forth in claim 1. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by Esteron in view of Hanna comprising the transfer device and transfer method set forth in claim 1 in view of the disclosures of Mijers and Sealfon.
Mijers teaches a fluid transfer device comprising a syringe port (6) which couples to a transfer syringe, i.e., a syringe port disposed on a first portion of an exterior of a transfer device to enable the transfer syringe and the transfer device to be used cooperatively to perform the transfer of the one or more portions of the plasma, wherein the syringe port (disposed on a first portion of an exterior of the transfer device) is configured to be coupled to an end connector of the transfer syringe while a transfer needle of the transfer syringe is disconnected from the end connector of the transfer syringe; a needle for withdrawing the fluid through the transfer device and into the syringe (8), i.e., a separator tube port of the transfer device, wherein the separator tube port comprises a hollow plasma needle that is separate and distinct from the transfer needle of the transfer syringe, and is configured to couple the separator tube port to the syringe port of the transfer device; a venting needle connected to the outside air (9), i.e., the separator tube port comprises a hollow air needle that is separate and distinct from the transfer needle of the transfer syringe, and is configured to couple the separator tube port to external air surrounding the transfer device; and a housing with a housing insert or inset which does not completely cover the needles ([0015-16] discloses that the needle protector may comprise a centrical surface which may be adapted to be punctured by the needles; hence, it is prima facie obvious for the needle protector to not comprise a centrical surface covering the needles because it is prima facie obvious to not have an optional feature), i.e., the separator tube port comprises a recess that is defined by the second portion of the exterior of the transfer device, that is configured to surround the plasma needle and the air needle and define an opening to limit access to the plasma needle and the air needle without fully covering the plasma needle, and that is configured to receive and surround one end of the separator tube through the opening to cause an interior of the separator tube to become coupled to the syringe port through the plasma needle, and to become coupled to the external air through the air needle, as the separator tube is inserted into the separator tube port through the opening (Abst.; Figs. 1-6; [0045-52]).
Mijers does not teach that the air needle is longer than the plasma needle; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious in view of the disclosure of Sealfon.
Sealfon teaches transfer devices comprising 2 needles, one needle (104) connected to a syringe port (110) for withdrawing solution and a longer needle (102) connected to the external air (114), the arrangement of which Sealfon teaches is helpful for reducing foaming (Abst.; Fig. 1A). Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify Mijers transfer device to comprise an air needle which is longer than the plasma needle to assist in reducing foaming.
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to transfer the plasma from the separator to the isolator with the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon because the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon would provide protection from needle sticks, allow the release of pressure or vacuum from the interior of the separator tube to facilitate transfer of the plasma and reduce foaming of the liquid.
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers and Sealfon described above wherein the transfer of the autologous PPP from the separator tube comprising a separator gel, to the centrifuge tube with an integral 500 kDa filter, i.e., aggregator, comprises transferring one or more portions of the PPP from within the at least one separator tube and into at least one aggregator, wherein each aggregator of the at least one aggregator comprises a 500 kDa MWCO filter, and administering at least some of the α2M-enriched plasma, i.e., aggregate, to the patient via inhalation with a nebulizer, wherein transferring the one or more portions of the PPP comprises: coupling the transfer syringe to a syringe port disposed on a first portion of an exterior of a transfer device to enable the transfer syringe and the transfer device to be used cooperatively to perform the transfer of the one or more portions of the PPP, wherein the syringe port is configured to be coupled to an end connector of the transfer syringe while a transfer needle of the transfer syringe is disconnected from the end connector of the transfer syringe; with the end connector of the transfer syringe remaining coupled to the syringe port of the transfer device, coupling each separator tube of the at least one separator tube, one at a time, to a separator tube port disposed on a second portion of the exterior of the transfer device, wherein: the separator tube port comprises a hollow PPP needle that is separate and distinct from the transfer needle of the transfer syringe, and is configured to couple the separator tube port to the syringe port of the transfer device; the separator tube port comprises a hollow air needle that is separate and distinct from the PPP needle of the transfer device and from the transfer needle of the transfer syringe, and is configured to couple the separator tube port to external air surrounding the exterior of the transfer device; the separator tube port comprises a recess that is defined by the second portion of the exterior of the transfer device, that is configured to surround the PPP needle and the air needle to define an opening to limit access to the PPP needle and the air needle without fully covering the PPP needle, and that is configured to receive and surround one end of the separator tube within the recess to cause an interior of the separator tube to become coupled to the syringe port through the PPP needle, and to become coupled to the external air through the air needle as the separator tube is inserted into the separator tube port through the opening; and as the separator tube is coupled to the separator tube port, the air needle extends further toward a cap of the separator tube than the PPP needle to enable the air needle to penetrate the cap before the PPP needle is able to penetrate the cap to enable the interior of the separator tube to become coupled to the external air before becoming coupled to the syringe port, thereby enabling an equalization of air pressure within the interior of the separator tube with air pressure of the external air prior to the interior of the separator tube becoming coupled to the syringe port; while each separator tube of the at least one separator tube is coupled to the separator tube port, operating a plunger of the transfer syringe to withdraw at least one portion of the one or more portions of the PPP from the separator tube and into the transfer syringe through the PPP needle of the transfer device, and to draw a portion of the external air into the separator tube through the air needle of the transfer device; and following transfer of the one or more portions of the PPP from each separator tube of the at least one separator tube, disconnecting the end connector of the transfer syringe from the syringe port of the transfer device and connecting the transfer needle to the connector of the transfer syringe; filtering waste plasma from the one or more portions of the PPP transferred into the transfer syringe by transferring the PPP recovered from the separator tubes into aggregator tubes with an integral 500 kDa MWCO filter, centrifuging the aggregator tubes to generate an aggregate of the α2M molecules in the retentate, recovering the retentate, i.e., aggregate; and administering at least some of the aggregate to the patient via inhalation with a nebulize; therefore, claims 1-3, 6-7, 12 and 28 are prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 4, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious that the method could be used for veterinary applications wherein the donor and patient are not the same species because Esteron teaches using blood from a donor or a non-autologous source [0050]; therefore, claim 4 is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 5, Esteron teaches drawing the blood into collection tubes wherein the collection tubes can comprise ACD-A [0050-54], but does not specifically state that drawing the whole blood from the donor comprises: using a whole blood syringe comprising a hollow needle to draw the whole blood from the donor; and partially pre-filling the whole blood syringe with an anticoagulant before using the whole blood syringe to draw the whole blood from the donor; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to draw the blood with a syringe comprising a hollow needle comprising ACD-A because it is an obvious variant using conventional phlebotomy equipment to Esteron’s teaching of drawing the blood into collection tubes comprising ACD-A; therefore, claim 5 is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 10-11, Hanna teaches that the α2M molecules can be further purified from the α2M enriched plasma, i.e., PPP, by transferring the plasma from the at least one separator tube and into an α2M reservoir; and using a peristaltic pump to circulate the plasma among the α2M reservoir, a cross-flow filter with a molecular weight cut off (MWCO) of 500 kDa and a waste bag to cause other components of the plasma to pass through the 500 kDa MWCO cross-flow filter and into the waste bag, while the α2M molecules remain within the α2M reservoir ([0018-22], [0153-158], [0164-166]).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers and Sealfon comprising transferring one or more portions of the plasma, i.e., PPP, containing α2M molecules in the method made obvious by Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers and Sealfon from within the separator tube and into an α2M reservoir; and using a peristaltic pump to circulate the plasma among the α2M reservoir, a 500 kDa MWCO cross-flow filter and a waste bag to cause other components of the plasma to pass through the 500 kDa MWCO cross-flow filter and into the waste bag, while the α2M molecules remain within the α2M reservoir because Hanna teaches further purifying the α2M molecules from the α2M enriched plasma by transferring the plasma into an α2M reservoir, using a peristaltic pump to circulate the plasma from the α2M reservoir through a 500 kDa MWCO cross-flow filter wherein other components of the plasma smaller than 500 kDa pass through the cross-flow filter and into the waste bag, while the α2M molecules remain within the α2M reservoir; therefore, claims 10-11 are prima facie obvious.
Esteron teaches storing the composition enriched for α2M molecules at -80 °C for repeating treatment [0063]; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the method made obvious by Esteron in view of “Vacuette blood transfer device” to further comprise the step of storing the isolated α2M molecules in a freezing environment prior to administering the at least some of the isolated α2M molecules to the patient; therefore, claim 13 is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 14, the concentrated plasma retained in the aggregator would necessarily comprise serum albumin molecules and serotransferrin molecules along with the α2M molecules because the method made obvious by Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers and Sealfon meets the limitations set forth in the instant disclosure and claims, specifically, the cutoff of the filter is 500 kDa MWCO; hence, the aggregator with a 500 kDa filter would retain serum albumin molecules and serotransferrin molecules along with the α2M molecules; therefore, claim 14 is prima facie obvious.
Esteron teaches producing α2M-enriched plasma by centrifuging whole blood in a separator tube comprising separator gel ([0007-10], [0031], [0033], [0035-38], [0073]; p. 6, claim 1) wherein the tube can be glass [0051], i.e., transparent, is elongate and is sealed with a penetrable cap ([0052], Fig. 4), i.e., at least one separator tube, wherein each separator tube of the at least one separator tube comprises: an elongate transparent tube that defines an opening at one end that is sealed with a cap that is penetrable to receive whole blood; and an amount of separator gel disposed within the separator tube to cooperate with a first centrifugal force exerted on the separator tube for a first period of time during a first centrifuging stage to separate PPP containing α2M molecules from other components of the whole blood; therefore, claim 21 is prima facie obvious.
It is prima facie obvious to collect the reagents and equipment of a method into a kit because it would improve the convenience and marketability of the method and it would be obvious to have any number of disposables, such as separator tubes and aggregators, because it would allow practicing the method with a number of samples; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers and Sealfon wherein a kit is provided wherein the kit comprises: the at least one separator tube, a centrifuge, the transfer device, the transfer syringe, at least one aggregator and a nebulizer; therefore, claims 22-23 are prima facie obvious.
Esteron teaches that the separator tube can be a vacuum tube, i.e., which is pre-provided with a vacuum therein when in an unused condition, ([0032]; p. 7, claim 33); hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method wherein each separator tube of the at least one separator tube comprises a vacuum separator tube that is pre-provided with a vacuum therein when in an unused condition; and the equalization of the air pressure within the interior of the separator tube with the air pressure of the external air prior to the interior of the separator tube becoming coupled to the syringe port comprises the removal of the vacuum prior to the interior of the separator tube becoming coupled to the syringe port; therefore, claim 27 is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
The rejection of claims 1-7, 12-14, 21-23 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Esteron in view of Mijers and Sealfon has been withdrawn. Regarding the rejection of claims 1-7, 9-14, 21-23 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Esteron in view of Mijers, Sealfon and Hanna, Applicant argues (p. 25) that “Hanna-221 does not cure the aforedescribed deficiencies of the aforedescribed combination of Esteron, Mijers and Sealfon...” (p. 25).
Regarding the withdrawn rejection of claims 1-7, 12-14, 21-23 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Esteron in view of Mijers and Sealfon, Applicant alleges (p. 19) that “there is no possible combination of Esteron, Mijers and Sealfon that teaches a transfer device that: 1) is separate and distinct from any component of a syringe; 2) is configured to couple multiple separator tubes (one at a time) to a single transfer syringe; 3) provides a syringe port to enable coupling to an end connector of the transfer syringe while the transfer needle of the transfer syringe is not coupled to that end connector; 4) provides a separator tube port within a recess that defines an opening to receive an end of each separator tube of the one or more separator tubes that is sealed with a cap; and 5) provides the separator tube port with a plasma needle positioned within the recess so as to be accessible only through the opening to prevent needle sticks therewith without needing to be fully covered, and to enable the coupling of each separator tube inserted into the separator tube port to the syringe port.”
Applicant does not present any coherent line of reasoning demonstrating that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon is inseparable from any component of a syringe and Mijers discloses a transfer device which connects to the transfer syringe through a typical Luer-Lock end connector (4 in Figs. 2-8; [0046-57]); hence, Applicant’s allegation that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon is inseparable from any component of a syringe is completely unpersuasive and in contradiction to what the prior art discloses.
Applicant does not present any coherent line of reasoning demonstrating that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon is NOT configured to couple multiple separator tubes (one at a time) to a single transfer syringe. Serially removing the plasma from multiple separator tubes simply involves repeating the process disclosed in Mijers for removing solution from a single tube which a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious; hence, Applicant’s allegation that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon is NOT configured to couple multiple separator tubes (one at a time) to a single transfer syringe is completely unpersuasive and in contradiction to what the prior art discloses.
Applicant does not present any coherent line of reasoning demonstrating that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon DOES NOT provide a syringe port to enable coupling to an end connector of the transfer syringe while the transfer needle of the transfer syringe is not coupled to that end connector. Mijers discloses a transfer device which connects to the transfer syringe through a typical Luer-Lock end connector (4 in Figs. 2-8; [0046-57]); hence, Applicant’s allegation that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon DOES NOT provide a syringe port to enable coupling to an end connector of the transfer syringe while the transfer needle of the transfer syringe is not coupled to that end connector is completely unpersuasive and in contradiction to what the prior art discloses.
Applicant does not present any coherent line of reasoning demonstrating that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon DOES NOT provide a separator tube port within a recess that defines an opening to receive an end of each separator tube of the one or more separator tubes that is sealed with a cap. Mijers discloses a transfer device which comprises a cylindrical housing (25) which is a recess or opening which receives the end of each tube (Figs. 4,6; [0050], [0052]); hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon provides a separator tube port within a recess that defines an opening to receive an end of each separator tube of the one or more separator tubes that is sealed with a cap; thus, Applicant’s allegation that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon DOES NOT provide a separator tube port within a recess that defines an opening to receive an end of each separator tube of the one or more separator tubes that is sealed with a cap is completely unpersuasive and in contradiction to what the prior art discloses.
Regarding Applicant’s allegation that the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon DOES NOT provide a separator tube port with a plasma needle positioned within the recess so as to be accessible only through the opening to prevent needle sticks therewith without needing to be fully covered, and to enable the coupling of each separator tube inserted into the separator tube port to the syringe port, Applicant alleges (pp. 19-23) that Mijers requires that the needles be fully surrounded by a needle protector; however, Mijers teaches [0015-16] that the needle protector may comprise a centrical surface which may be adapted to be punctured by the needles; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious that the transfer device can comprise a needle protector which does not comprise a centrical surface covering the needles because it is prima facie obvious to not have an optional feature. Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the transfer device made obvious by Mijers in view of Sealfon to provide a separator tube port with a plasma needle positioned within the recess so as to be accessible only through the opening to prevent needle sticks therewith without needing to be fully covered, and to enable the coupling of each separator tube inserted into the separator tube port to the syringe port.
Applicant alleges that the transfer device of Mijers is “such a complex mechanism” as compared to the instant transfer device (pp. 19-22). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., it’s complexity) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Thus, Applicant’s allegations that the transfer device used in the claimed methods is not obvious over the teachings of Esteron, Hanna, Mijers and Sealfon is unpersuasive.
Applicant alleges (pp. 23-25), without any reasoning or explanation, that “there is no possible combination of Esteron, Mijers and Sealfon that teaches a method including all of: 1) within the at least one separator tube, separating platelet poor plasma (PPP) containing α2M molecules from other components of the whole blood; 2) transferring portions of the plasma from within the at least one separator tube and into a transfer syringe; and 3) filtering waste plasma from the one or more portions of the PPP transferred into the transfer syringe to generate an aggregate of the α2M molecules.” This is completely unpersuasive as Esteron clearly teaches subjecting at least one separator tube to a first centrifuging stage to separate plasma from red blood cells and white blood cells of whole blood and transferring portions of the plasma from within the at least one separator tube and into at least one isolator and Hanna teaches that the isolator can comprise a filter and subjecting the at least one isolator to a second centrifuging stage to cause a combination of the filter and centrifugal force to isolate α2M molecules from other components of the plasma as set forth in the rejection above. Hence, Applicant’s allegations are undeveloped and thoroughly unpersuasive.
Applicant argues (pp. 23-24) that the plasma cannot be concentrated by centrifugation of a hemoconcentrator. The rejection set forth above does not rely on concentrating plasma by centrifugation of a hemoconcentrator; hence, the allegation is moot.
Hence, the rejection over Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers and Sealfon is maintained with modification to address claim amendments and for clarity.
Claims 1-7, 10-14, 21-24 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers, Sealfon and Mitchell, US 3300051 (cite C, PTO-892, 2/14/2025; herein “Mitchell”).
The discussion of Esteron, Hanna, Mijers and Sealfon regarding claims 1-7, 9-14, 21-23 and 27-28 set forth in the rejection above is incorporated herein.
Hanna teaches that the α2M-enriched plasma composition, produced by centrifuging whole blood in a separator tube with a separator gel in the method made obvious by Esteron in view of Mijers, Sealfon and Hanna, can be further enriched for α2M by filtration of the sample with a filter with a molecular weight cutoff of ~500 kDa wherein the α2M composition is retained by the filter, i.e., the α2M is in the retentate, and undesirable proteins less than 500 kDa have been reduced from the retentate, wherein the filtration can be performed by centrifugation, which would necessarily entail transferring the plasma, e.g., platelet-rich plasma comprising the α2M, from the separator tube to a centrifuge tube with an integral 500 kDa filter, i.e., an aggregator, and recovering the retentate, which comprises the α2M, after centrifugation.
Neither Esteron nor Hanna teach that the aggregator comprises a first cylinder defined by a first cylindrical wall having a first end that is configured to be closable with a septum cap that is penetrable to receive the plasma containing the α2M molecules following the first centrifuging stage, and having a second end that is closed with the filter; and a second cylinder defined by a second cylindrical wall having a first end that is closed where the second cylindrical wall narrows to form a conically-shaped end portion, and having a second end that defines an opening that is configured to be coupled to the filter in a manner that causes a first interior space of the first cylinder and a second interior space of the second cylinder to be separated by the filter, wherein: the filter is configured to cooperate with a second centrifugal force exerted on the aggregator for a second period of time during a second centrifuging stage to isolate the α2M molecules from other components of the plasma; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the aggregator to have such design specifications in view of the disclosure of Mitchell.
Mitchell teaches a centrifuge filter tube comprising a first cylinder defined by a first cylindrical wall and a second cylinder defined by a second cylindrical wall; a first end of the first cylindrical wall of the first cylinder defines an opening that is configured to be closable with a cap, and a second end of the first cylindrical wall is closed with the filter; a first end of the second cylindrical wall of the second cylinder is closed, and the second end of the second cylindrical wall of the second cylinder defines an opening that is configured to be coupled to the second end of the first cylinder in a manner that causes a first interior space of the first cylinder and a second interior space of the second cylinder to be separated by the filter (col. 1, ll. 66 – col. 2, ll. 62; Fig. 1). The closed end of the second cylindrical wall appears hemispherical in Fig. 1; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the design of the closed end of the second cylindrical wall to narrow to form a conically-shaped end portion to match complementarily-shaped centrifuge tube rotors or holders.
Hence, it would be obvious for the aggregator in the method made obvious by Esteron in view of Mijers, Sealfon and Hanna to have a design comprising a pierceable, resealable cap so that the α2M-enriched PPP can be transferred from the separator tube to the aggregator with the transfer device made obvious by Esteron in view of Mijers and Sealfon and wherein the filter has a molecular weight cutoff of about 500 kDa as in the method made obvious by Esteron in view of Mijers, Sealfon and Hanna wherein each aggregator of the at least one aggregator comprises a first cylinder defined by a first cylindrical wall having a first end that is configured to be closable with a septum cap that is penetrable to receive the PPP containing the α2M molecules following the first centrifuging stage, and having a second end that is closed with the filter; and a second cylinder defined by a second cylindrical wall having a first end that is closed where the second cylindrical wall narrows to form a conically-shaped end portion, and having a second end that defines an opening that is configured to be coupled to the filter in a manner that causes a first interior space of the first cylinder and a second interior space of the second cylinder to be separated by the filter, wherein: the filter is configured to cooperate with a second centrifugal force exerted on the aggregator for a second period of time during a second centrifuging stage to isolate the α2M molecules from other components of the plasma; therefore, claims 24 and 26 are prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers, Sealfon and Mitchell, Applicant argues that “Mitchell does not cure the aforedescribed deficiencies of the aforedescribed combination of Esteron, Mijers, Sealfon and Hanna-221...” (p. 25). The alleged deficiencies of Esteron, Mijers, Sealfon and Hanna are addressed on pp. 19-24 above. The rejection is maintained with modification to address claim amendments.
Claims 1-7, 9-14 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers, Sealfon, Mitchell and Aljefri, US 2020/0305781 (cite D, PTO-892, 2/14/2025; herein “Aljefri”).
The discussion of Esteron, Hanna, Mijers, Sealfon and Mitchell regarding claims 1-7, 9-14, 21-24 and 26-28 set forth in the rejection above is incorporated herein.
The method made obvious by Esteron in view of Hanna, Mijers, Sealfon and Mitchell comprises an aggregator with a septum cap; however, none of Esteron, Hanna, Mijers, Sealfon or Mitchell disclose that the septum cap extends the first cylindrical wall of the first interior space of the aggregator. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the septum cap to extend the first cylindrical wall of the first interior space of the aggregator in view of the disclosure of Aljefri.
Aljefri teaches a blood collection tube (title, Figs.) including a septum cap (e.g., Fig. 1C #20; par. [0081-0082]) capable of serving as an extension to a cylindrical wall to increase a volume (see Fig. 1C; see also e.g., Figs. 9A-10B and par. [0088] for cases having higher volumes). Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by Esteron in view of “Vacuette blood transfer device”, Hanna and Mitchell wherein the septum cap further comprises a third cylindrical wall configured to serve as an extension to the first cylindrical wall to increase a volume of the first interior space when the first end of the first cylindrical wall is closed with the septum cap, in order to accommodate different volume samples as desired; therefore, claim 25 is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Esteron in view of Mijers, Sealfon, Hanna, Mitchell and Aljefri, Applicant argues that “Aljefri does not cure the aforedescribed deficiencies of the aforedescribed combination of Esteron, Mijers, Sealfon, Hanna-221 and Mitchell...” (p. 26). The alleged deficiencies of Esteron, Mijers, Sealfon and Hanna are addressed on pp. 19-24 above. The rejection is maintained with modification to address claim amendments.
Double Patenting
The provisional rejection of claims 1-7, 9-14 and 21-27 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1, 3-6, 8-12, 23-28 and 30 of copending Application No. 18909731 (herein “’731”) in view of Esteron as set forth at pp. 28-32 of the previous Office Action is moot regarding claim 9 due to cancelation of the claim and is withdrawn regarding the remaining claims in view of the approval of the terminal disclaimer over ‘731.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-7, 9, 12-14 and 21-27 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-5, 7, 12, 15 and 21-25 of copending Application No. 18424552 (herein “’552”) in view of Mijers, Sealfon and Esteron as set forth at pp. 32-35 of the previous Office Action is moot regarding claim 9 due to cancelation of the claim and is withdrawn regarding the remaining claims in view of the approval of the terminal disclaimer over ‘552.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-7, 9, 14, 21-22 and 24-27 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 38-41, 49 and 55-58 of copending Application No. 18215498 (herein “’498”) in view of Esteron as set forth at pp. 35-37 of the previous Office Action is moot regarding claim 9 due to cancelation of the claim and is withdrawn regarding the remaining claims in view of the approval of the terminal disclaimer over ‘498.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-7, 9, 12-14 and 21-27 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 12-13, 25-26, 29 and 32-33 of copending Application No. 18/535841 (herein “’841”) in view of Esteron, Mijers and Sealfon as set forth at pp. 37-42 of the previous Office Action is moot regarding claim 9 due to cancelation of the claim and is withdrawn regarding the remaining claims in view of the approval of the terminal disclaimer over ‘841.
The rejection of claims 1-7,