Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by (Shelton, IV et al. US 2019/0183503 (hereinafter Shelton).
Regarding claim 17, Shelton discloses a method for controlling a surgical device (Motors 152,154,156; par 0158; each motor controller is coupled to a main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254), the method comprising: operating an articulation motor (156; par 0226) to actuate an articulation actuation assembly configured to articulate an end effector to an initial articulation position; operating a firing motor (par 0209) to actuate a firing actuation assembly configured to move a flexible drive beam (542) through the end effector (par 0179; figs 10-12); and maintaining the initial articulation position by adjusting the articulation motor in response to actuation of the firing actuation assembly and movement of the flexible drive beam by the firing motor (par 0256; control of the articulation motion disclosed in par 0245-0249 “the flexible firing beam 542 must flex around the articulation joint to accommodate the articulated position of tool assembly 600 relative to the proximal body portion 520. Such flexing of the firing beam 542 applies resistive forces to the tool assembly 600 that seek to undesirably straighten or align the tool assembly 600 with the proximal body portion 520 and essentially move the tool assembly 600 out of the desired articulated position. In at least one form, the adapter 8200 depicted in FIG. 96 may address such problem” see par 0249 “During this firing stroke (action 8228), the magnitude and direction of a change in the amount of strain experienced by the articulation driver 258 is measured and sent to the motor control circuit (action 8230). The motor control circuit compares this strain information to the previously recorded strain information and if necessary, the motor 156 or other motor driven system is reactivated (through manual controls or automatic controls) to move the articulation driver 258 in an appropriate axial direction to bring the recorded strain approximately back to the previously recorded strain information or at least reduce the amount of strain being experienced by the articulation driver 258 as the dynamic clamping assembly 550 is being driven from the firing position to ending position (action 8232) to maintain the surgical end effector in the desired articulated position).
Regarding claim 18, Shelton discloses the method according to claim 17, further comprising measuring an articulation position of the end effector during movement of the flexible drive beam (542) to obtain a measured articulation position (par 0249 “the magnitude and direction of a change in the amount of strain experienced by the articulation driver 258 is measured and sent to the motor control circuit action 8230).
Regarding claim 19, Shelton discloses the method according to claim 18, further comprising adjusting the articulation motor (156) to compensate for a change in the initial articulation position based on the measured articulation position (par 0249; The motor control circuit compares this strain information to the previously recorded strain information and if necessary, the motor 156 or other motor driven system is reactivated (through manual controls or automatic controls) to move the articulation driver 258 in an appropriate axial direction to bring the recorded strain approximately back to the previously recorded strain information or at least reduce the amount of strain being experienced by the articulation driver 258 as the dynamic clamping assembly 550 is being driven from the firing position to ending position action 8232).
Regarding claim 20, Shelton discloses the method according to claim 17, further comprising storing a database having a plurality of articulation correction values, each of which corresponds to one of a plurality of longitudinal position values of the flexible drive beam (main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254, sensors which communicate with the main controller which detect rotary travel which indicate the position of the drive elements and these signals determine the rate of the motors, such as the motor used for articulation based on the position of the firing beam; par 0256; control of the articulation motion disclosed in par 0245-0249).
Regarding claim 21, Shelton discloses the method according to claim 20, further comprising adjusting the articulation motor based on an articulation correction value corresponding to a longitudinal position value (main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254, sensors which communicate with the main controller which detect rotary travel which indicate the position of the drive elements and these signals determine the rate of the motors, such as the motor used for articulation based on the position of the firing beam; par 0256; control of the articulation motion disclosed in par 0245-0249).
Regarding claim 22, Shelton discloses the method according to claim 21, further comprising determining the longitudinal position value based on rotation of the firing motor (main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254, sensors which communicate with the main controller which detect rotary travel which indicate the position of the drive elements and these signals determine the rate of the motors, such as the motor used for articulation based on the position of the firing beam; par 0256; control of the articulation motion disclosed in par 0245-0249).
Regarding claim 23, Shelton discloses a method for controlling a surgical device (Motors 152,154,156; par 0158; each motor controller is coupled to a main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254), the method comprising: obtaining an initial articulation position of an end effector of the surgical device (156; par 0226); moving an actuation assembly of the surgical device by firing or retracting a flexible drive beam (542; par 0179; figs 10-12); and adjusting the position of the actuation assembly based at least in part on one or more articulation correction values that are based at least in part on one or more corresponding motor position values (par 0256; control of the articulation motion disclosed in par 0245-0249 “the flexible firing beam 542 must flex around the articulation joint to accommodate the articulated position of tool assembly 600 relative to the proximal body portion 520. Such flexing of the firing beam 542 applies resistive forces to the tool assembly 600 that seek to undesirably straighten or align the tool assembly 600 with the proximal body portion 520 and essentially move the tool assembly 600 out of the desired articulated position. In at least one form, the adapter 8200 depicted in FIG. 96 may address such problem” see par 0249 “During this firing stroke (action 8228), the magnitude and direction of a change in the amount of strain experienced by the articulation driver 258 is measured and sent to the motor control circuit (action 8230). The motor control circuit compares this strain information to the previously recorded strain information and if necessary, the motor 156 or other motor driven system is reactivated (through manual controls or automatic controls) to move the articulation driver 258 in an appropriate axial direction to bring the recorded strain approximately back to the previously recorded strain information or at least reduce the amount of strain being experienced by the articulation driver 258 as the dynamic clamping assembly 550 is being driven from the firing position to ending position (action 8232) to maintain the surgical end effector in the desired articulated position).
Regarding claim 24, Shelton discloses the method of claim 23, wherein adjusting the position of the actuation assembly is performed for each motor rotation of a motor of the surgical device (main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254, sensors which communicate with the main controller which detect rotary travel which indicate the position of the drive elements and these signals determine the rate of the motors, such as the motor used for articulation based on the position of the firing beam; par 0256; control of the articulation motion disclosed in par 0245-0249).
Regarding claim 25, Shelton discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the one or more articulation correction values are obtained based at least in part on measuring changes in the articulation position during firing and retraction of the flexible drive beam (main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254, sensors which communicate with the main controller which detect rotary travel which indicate the position of the drive elements and these signals determine the rate of the motors, such as the motor used for articulation based on the position of the firing beam 542; par 0256; control of the articulation motion disclosed in par 0245-0249).
Regarding claim 26, Shelton discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the one or more articulation correction values are derived using transfer functions correlating firing and/or retraction movements with articulation positions (main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254, sensors which communicate with the main controller which detect rotary travel which indicate the position of the drive elements and these signals determine the rate of the motors, such as the motor used for articulation based on the position of the firing beam; par 0256; control of the articulation motion disclosed in par 0245-0249).
Regarding claim 27, Shelton discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising: obtaining a current motor turn value; and looking up the one or more articulation correction values in a storage based at least in part on the current motor turn value and the initial articulation position (par 0225-0226; motor current is detected with the articulation sensor assembly 3300; par 0259-0260; current sensor 2018 and detection module 2030).
Regarding claim 28, Shelton discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising: adjusting the position of the actuation assembly based at least in part on one or more articulation sensor reading values from an articulation sensor (par 0225-0226; motor current is detected with the articulation sensor assembly 3300).
Regarding claim 29, Shelton discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the adjusting comprises compensating for a change in the initial articulation position due to movement of the flexible drive beam (542) to maintain the initial articulation position (par 0249 “During this firing stroke (action 8228), the magnitude and direction of a change in the amount of strain experienced by the articulation driver 258 is measured and sent to the motor control circuit (action 8230). The motor control circuit compares this strain information to the previously recorded strain information and if necessary, the motor 156 or other motor driven system is reactivated (through manual controls or automatic controls) to move the articulation driver 258 in an appropriate axial direction).
Regarding claim 30, Shelton discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising continuing to adjust the position of the actuation assembly until firing or retraction of the flexible drive beam is complete (par 0249 “During this firing stroke (action 8228), the magnitude and direction of a change in the amount of strain experienced by the articulation driver 258 is measured and sent to the motor control circuit (action 8230). The motor control circuit compares this strain information to the previously recorded strain information and if necessary, the motor 156 or other motor driven system is reactivated (through manual controls or automatic controls) to move the articulation driver 258 in an appropriate axial direction).
Regarding claim 31, Shelton discloses a method for controlling a surgical device (Motors 152,154,156; par 0158; each motor controller is coupled to a main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254), the method comprising: obtaining an initial articulation position of an end effector of the surgical device (156; par 0226); moving an actuation assembly of the surgical device by firing or retracting a flexible drive beam (542; par 0179; figs 10-12); and adjusting the position of the actuation assembly based at least in part on one or more articulation sensor reading values from an articulation sensor (par 0225-0226; motor current is detected with the articulation sensor assembly 3300; par 0259-0260; current sensor 2018 and detection module 2030).
Regarding claim 32, Shelton discloses the method of claim 31, wherein adjusting the position of the actuation assembly comprises operating a motor of the surgical device (par 0225-0226; motor current is detected with the articulation sensor assembly 3300; par 0259-0260; current sensor 2018 and detection module 2030).
Regarding claim 33, Shelton discloses the method of claim 31, further comprising interrupting movement of the actuation assembly to obtain the initial articulation position (par 0225-0226; motor current is detected with the articulation sensor assembly 3300; par 0259-0260; current sensor 2018 and detection module 2030).
Regarding claim 34, Shelton discloses the method of claim 31, further comprising adjusting the position of the actuation assembly based at least in part on one or more articulation correction values that are based at least in part on one or more corresponding motor position values (Motors 152,154,156; par 0158; each motor controller is coupled to a main controller 142b coupled to memory, the main controller communicates with the motor controllers through an FPGA, which provides control logic signals; par 0254; par 0225-0226; motor current is detected with the articulation sensor assembly 3300).
Regarding claim 35, Shelton discloses the method of claim 31, wherein the adjusting comprises compensating for a change in the initial articulation position due to movement of the flexible drive beam to maintain the initial articulation position (par 0249 “During this firing stroke (action 8228), the magnitude and direction of a change in the amount of strain experienced by the articulation driver 258 is measured and sent to the motor control circuit (action 8230). The motor control circuit compares this strain information to the previously recorded strain information and if necessary, the motor 156 or other motor driven system is reactivated (through manual controls or automatic controls) to move the articulation driver 258 in an appropriate axial direction).
Regarding claim 36, Shelton discloses the method of claim 31, further comprising continuing to adjust the position of the actuation assembly until firing or retraction of the flexible drive beam is complete (par 0249 “During this firing stroke (action 8228), the magnitude and direction of a change in the amount of strain experienced by the articulation driver 258 is measured and sent to the motor control circuit (action 8230). The motor control circuit compares this strain information to the previously recorded strain information and if necessary, the motor 156 or other motor driven system is reactivated (through manual controls or automatic controls) to move the articulation driver 258 in an appropriate axial direction).
Conclusion
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731