EXAMINER’S NOTE: The claims have been reviewed and considered under the new guidance pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG 2019) issued January 7, 2019.
This communication is in response to Applicant’s claims filed on 08 October 2024. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements respectfully submitted on 08 October 2024 and 27 March 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy et al. (WO 2023163753) in view of Lee et al. (Pub No. 2023/0170933).
Referring to the rejection of claim 1, Reddy et al. discloses a method for recovering reception during a ranging round comprising:
receiving, at a first device, a first encrypted message from a second device; (See Reddy et al., para. 107, i.e., a transmitting device, item 1102 receives a first encoded message from a receiving device, item 1104)
decrypting, at the first device, the first encrypted message based on a first index yielding a first decrypted message and determining, at the first device, that the first decrypted message was decrypted unsuccessfully; (See Reddy et al., para. 110-111, i.e., As the configuration parameters may be known to all devices that receive the configuration parameters, a malicious device that receives the configuration parameters may generate fake or harmful ranging messages based on the configuration parameters to tamper with the UWB ranging session. The transmitting device 1102 embed unique information associated with generating the STS in the payload section of a ranging message (e.g., the original plaintext that is received by all device via configuration parameters) to create a new plaintext. A device that does not have this unique information (e.g., a device is unable to decode it from the payload) would generate the STS based on the original plaintext, whereas a device that has this unique information would generate the STS based on the new plaintext. Thus, a receiving device may be able to identify whether a ranging message is authentic based on whether the STS in the ranging message is generated using the new plaintext)
decrypting, at the first device, the first encrypted message based on the second index yielding a second decrypted message, wherein second decrypted message includes first data and determining, at the first device, that the second decrypted message was decrypted successfully; (See Reddy et al., para. 171-172, 174, 182-183, i.e., the second wireless device receive a configuration message from the first wireless device that includes the first information and an indication to switch to a ranging message format that includes the payload section, such as described in connection with FIG. 11. The second wireless device receive a ranging message from a first wireless device that includes a first secure sequence and a payload section. The second wireless device buffer the first secure sequence prior to generating the second secure sequence and decode the payload section for the first information. The second wireless device generate a second secure sequence based on information embedded in the payload section of the ranging message and verify the ranging message based on whether the first secure sequence correlates the second secure sequence, (i.e., the receiving device verify the encoded ranging message based on whether the STS, item 1110 correlates to the STS, item 1114. The verification of the ranging message may be performed by the UWB ranging component of the apparatus)
However, Reddy et al. fail to explicitly disclose updating, at the first device, the first index to a second index and updating, at the first device, the second index to a third index.
Lee et al. discloses an ultra-wideband (UWB) device for transmitting/receiving multiple packets and a method for operating the same.
Lee et al. discloses updating, at the first device, the first index to a second index; (See Lee et al., para. 375-376 and Fig. 16A-B, i.e., an identical ranging slot index (slot 1) may be allocated to the second UWB device (responder 1) and the third UWB device (responder 2), a first address (address of responder 1) may be allocated to the second UWB device (responder 1), and a second address (address of responder 2) may be allocated to the third UWB device (responder 2). The second UWB device (responder 1) and the third UWB device (responder 2) allocated to an identical ranging slot index (slot 1) may transmit packets, based on a predetermined STS index. The second UWB device (responder 1) allocated firstly to a ranging slot index (slot 1) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 1”, and the third UWB device (responder 2) allocated secondly to the ranging slot index (slot 1) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 2”)
Lee et al. discloses and updating, at the first device, the second index to a third index. (See Lee et al., para. 377-378 and Fig. 16A-B, i.e., An identical ranging slot index (slot 2) may be allocated to the fourth UWB device (responder 3) and the fifth UWB device (responder 4), a third address (address of responder 3) may be allocated to the fourth UWB device (responder 3), and a fourth address (address of responder 4) may be allocated to the fifth UWB device (responder 4). The fourth UWB device (responder 3) and the fifth UWB device (responder 4) allocated to an identical ranging slot index (slot 2) may transmit packets, based on a predetermined STS index. The fourth UWB device (responder 3) allocated firstly to a ranging slot index (slot 2) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 3”, and the fifth UWB device (responder 4) allocated secondly to the ranging slot index (slot 2) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 4”)
*According to the Applicant’s specification, para. 32 and 67, the first index, second index, and the third index are defined as different values of a CryptoStsIndex. The CryptoStsIndex is defined as corresponding ranging slots in ranging rounds will have the same StsIndex referred to as CryptoStsIndex. For example, the CryptoStsIndex of the first ranging slot is the same in each ranging round, the CryptoStsIndex of the second ranging slot is the same in each ranging round)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine Reddy et al.’s wireless communication involving security enhancements for positioning based on ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging modified with Lee et al.’s ultra-wideband (UWB) device for transmitting/receiving multiple packets and a method for operating the same.
Motivation for such an implementation would enable an STS to a ciphered sequence for increasing the integrity and accuracy of ranging measurement timestamps and the STS is generated from a ranging session key. (See Lee et al., para. 70)
Referring to the rejection of claim 5, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses wherein the first index and second index are associated with a first ranging slot and a second ranging slot, wherein the first ranging slot precedes the second ranging slot in the ranging round. (See Reddy et al., para. 90 and Fig. 5, i.e., each ranging block, item 502 comprises multiple ranging rounds, item 504 and each ranging round comprises ranging slots, item 506. The first and second ranging slots are disclosed and the first ranging slot precedes the second ranging slot)
Referring to the rejection of claim 6, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses wherein the first encrypted message is an ultra-wideband (UWB) message, (See Reddy et al., para. 107-108, i.e., the transmitting device, item 1102 embeds encoded information that is associated with generating an STS of a ranging message, item 1106 wherein the ranging message is associated with a UWB ranging session) wherein the first device is a UWB-enabled tag device, (See Reddy et al., para. 103 and Fig. 10, a first device A, item 1002 is a UWB tag device) wherein the second device is an UWB-enabled anchor device. (See Reddy et al., para. 103 and Fig. 10, i.e., a second device, item 1004 is a UWB anchor device) and wherein the first index, second index, and third index are different values of a cryptoStsIndex (See Lee et al., para. 308-312, i.e., the first STS, the second STS index, and the third STS index are configured by using different STS index codes which are used only between specific UWB devices).
*According to the Applicant’s specification, para. 32 and 67, the first index, second index, and the third index are defined as different values of a CryptoStsIndex. The CryptoStsIndex is defined as corresponding ranging slots in ranging rounds will have the same StsIndex referred to as CryptoStsIndex. For example, the CryptoStsIndex of the first ranging slot is the same in each ranging round, the CryptoStsIndex of the second ranging slot is the same in each ranging round)
The rationale for combining Reddy et al. in view of Lee et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 7, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses wherein the steps of claim 1 occur within 100 microseconds. (See Reddy et al., para. 125, i.e., if a receiving device, item 1104 is unable to buffer the ranging message or an STS block, item 1110, other STS packet configuration formats are configured for the transmitting device and the receiving device. For example, to fully buffer an STS block of 64 microseconds duration at a sampling rate of 998.4 MHz at a receiving device may specify a memory of approximately 118,272 bytes)
Referring to the rejection of claim 8, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform: (See Reddy et al., para. 157, i.e., The cellular baseband processor, item 1424 and the application processor, item 1406 include a computer-readable medium and each computer-readable medium may be non-transitory is disclosed)
receiving a first encrypted message from a device; (See Reddy et al., para. 107, i.e., a transmitting device, item 1102 receives a first encoded message from a receiving device, item 1104)
decrypting the first encrypted message based on a first index yielding a first decrypted message and determining that the first decrypted message was decrypted unsuccessfully; (See Reddy et al., para. 110-111, i.e., As the configuration parameters may be known to all devices that receive the configuration parameters, a malicious device that receives the configuration parameters may generate fake or harmful ranging messages based on the configuration parameters to tamper with the UWB ranging session. The transmitting device 1102 embed unique information associated with generating the STS in the payload section of a ranging message (e.g., the original plaintext that is received by all device via configuration parameters) to create a new plaintext. A device that does not have this unique information (e.g., a device is unable to decode it from the payload) would generate the STS based on the original plaintext, whereas a device that has this unique information would generate the STS based on the new plaintext. Thus, a receiving device may be able to identify whether a ranging message is authentic based on whether the STS in the ranging message is generated using the new plaintext)
decrypting the first encrypted message based on the second index yielding a second decrypted message, wherein second decrypted message includes first data and determining that the second decrypted message was decrypted successfully; (See Reddy et al., para. 171-172, 174, 182-183, i.e., the second wireless device receive a configuration message from the first wireless device that includes the first information and an indication to switch to a ranging message format that includes the payload section, such as described in connection with FIG. 11. The second wireless device receive a ranging message from a first wireless device that includes a first secure sequence and a payload section. The second wireless device buffer the first secure sequence prior to generating the second secure sequence and decode the payload section for the first information. The second wireless device generate a second secure sequence based on information embedded in the payload section of the ranging message and verify the ranging message based on whether the first secure sequence correlates the second secure sequence, (i.e., the receiving device verify the encoded ranging message based on whether the STS, item 1110 correlates to the STS, item 1114. The verification of the ranging message may be performed by the UWB ranging component of the apparatus)
However, Reddy et al. fail to explicitly disclose updating, at the first device, the first index to a second index and updating, at the first device, the second index to a third index.
Lee et al. discloses an ultra-wideband (UWB) device for transmitting/receiving multiple packets and a method for operating the same.
Lee et al. discloses updating the first index to a second index; (See Lee et al., para. 375-376 and Fig. 16A-B, i.e., an identical ranging slot index (slot 1) may be allocated to the second UWB device (responder 1) and the third UWB device (responder 2), a first address (address of responder 1) may be allocated to the second UWB device (responder 1), and a second address (address of responder 2) may be allocated to the third UWB device (responder 2). The second UWB device (responder 1) and the third UWB device (responder 2) allocated to an identical ranging slot index (slot 1) may transmit packets, based on a predetermined STS index. The second UWB device (responder 1) allocated firstly to a ranging slot index (slot 1) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 1”, and the third UWB device (responder 2) allocated secondly to the ranging slot index (slot 1) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 2”)
Lee et al. discloses and updating the second index to a third index. (See Lee et al., para. 377-378 and Fig. 16A-B, i.e., An identical ranging slot index (slot 2) may be allocated to the fourth UWB device (responder 3) and the fifth UWB device (responder 4), a third address (address of responder 3) may be allocated to the fourth UWB device (responder 3), and a fourth address (address of responder 4) may be allocated to the fifth UWB device (responder 4). The fourth UWB device (responder 3) and the fifth UWB device (responder 4) allocated to an identical ranging slot index (slot 2) may transmit packets, based on a predetermined STS index. The fourth UWB device (responder 3) allocated firstly to a ranging slot index (slot 2) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 3”, and the fifth UWB device (responder 4) allocated secondly to the ranging slot index (slot 2) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 4”)
*According to the Applicant’s specification, para. 32 and 67, the first index, second index, and the third index are defined as different values of a CryptoStsIndex. The CryptoStsIndex is defined as corresponding ranging slots in ranging rounds will have the same StsIndex referred to as CryptoStsIndex. For example, the CryptoStsIndex of the first ranging slot is the same in each ranging round, the CryptoStsIndex of the second ranging slot is the same in each ranging round)
The rationale for combining Reddy et al. in view of Lee et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 12, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses wherein the first index and second index are associated with a first ranging slot and a second ranging slot, wherein the first ranging slot precedes the second ranging slot in the ranging round. (See Reddy et al., para. 90 and Fig. 5, i.e., each ranging block, item 502 comprises multiple ranging rounds, item 504 and each ranging round comprises ranging slots, item 506. The first and second ranging slots are disclosed and the first ranging slot precedes the second ranging slot)
Referring to the rejection of claim 13, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses wherein the first encrypted message is an ultra-wideband (UWB) message, (See Reddy et al., para. 107-108, i.e., the transmitting device, item 1102 embeds encoded information that is associated with generating an STS of a ranging message, item 1106 wherein the ranging message is associated with a UWB ranging session), wherein a third device comprising the non-transitory machine-readable medium is a UWB-enabled tag device, (See Lee et al., para. 320 and 322, i.e., the controller, item 1330 controls the third UWB tag device and comprises a memory, item 1320 which includes a storage medium), wherein the device is a UWB-enabled anchor device. (See Lee et al., para. 95, i.e., the electronic devices may be a UWB tag or UWB anchor device), and wherein the first index, second index, and third index are different values of a cryptoStsIndex (See Lee et al., para. 308-312, i.e., the first STS, the second STS index, and the third STS index are configured by using different STS index codes which are used only between specific UWB devices).
*According to the Applicant’s specification, para. 32 and 67, the first index, second index, and the third index are defined as different values of a CryptoStsIndex. The CryptoStsIndex is defined as corresponding ranging slots in ranging rounds will have the same StsIndex referred to as CryptoStsIndex. For example, the CryptoStsIndex of the first ranging slot is the same in each ranging round, the CryptoStsIndex of the second ranging slot is the same in each ranging round)
The rationale for combining Reddy et al. in view of Lee et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 14, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions within 100 microseconds. (See Reddy et al., para. 125, i.e., if a receiving device, item 1104 is unable to buffer the ranging message or an STS block, item 1110, other STS packet configuration formats are configured for the transmitting device and the receiving device. For example, to fully buffer an STS block of 64 microseconds duration at a sampling rate of 998.4 MHz at a receiving device may specify a memory of approximately 118,272 bytes)
Referring to the rejection of claim 15, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses a device, comprising: (See Reddy et al., para. 157, i.e., apparatus device, item 1404 is disclosed)
a transceiver; (See Reddy et al., para. 157, i.e., cellular RF transceiver, item 1422 is disclosed)
a non-transitory memory storing instructions; (See Reddy et al., para. 157, i.e., The cellular baseband processor, item 1424 and the application processor, item 1406 include a computer-readable medium and each computer-readable medium may be non-transitory is disclosed)
and one or more hardware processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the device to perform operations comprising: (See Reddy et al., para. 157, i.e., cellular baseband processor, item 1424 and an application processor, item 1406 is disclosed)
receiving a first encrypted message from a second device; (See Reddy et al., para. 107, i.e., a transmitting device, item 1102 receives a first encoded message from a receiving device, item 1104)
decrypting the first encrypted message based on a first index yielding a first decrypted message and determining that the first decrypted message was decrypted unsuccessfully; (See Reddy et al., para. 110-111, i.e., As the configuration parameters may be known to all devices that receive the configuration parameters, a malicious device that receives the configuration parameters may generate fake or harmful ranging messages based on the configuration parameters to tamper with the UWB ranging session. The transmitting device 1102 embed unique information associated with generating the STS in the payload section of a ranging message (e.g., the original plaintext that is received by all device via configuration parameters) to create a new plaintext. A device that does not have this unique information (e.g., a device is unable to decode it from the payload) would generate the STS based on the original plaintext, whereas a device that has this unique information would generate the STS based on the new plaintext. Thus, a receiving device may be able to identify whether a ranging message is authentic based on whether the STS in the ranging message is generated using the new plaintext)
decrypting the first encrypted message based on the second index yielding a second decrypted message, wherein second decrypted message includes first data and determining that the second decrypted message was decrypted successfully; (See Reddy et al., para. 171-172, 174, 182-183, i.e., the second wireless device receive a configuration message from the first wireless device that includes the first information and an indication to switch to a ranging message format that includes the payload section, such as described in connection with FIG. 11. The second wireless device receive a ranging message from a first wireless device that includes a first secure sequence and a payload section. The second wireless device buffer the first secure sequence prior to generating the second secure sequence and decode the payload section for the first information. The second wireless device generate a second secure sequence based on information embedded in the payload section of the ranging message and verify the ranging message based on whether the first secure sequence correlates the second secure sequence, (i.e., the receiving device verify the encoded ranging message based on whether the STS, item 1110 correlates to the STS, item 1114. The verification of the ranging message may be performed by the UWB ranging component of the apparatus)
However, Reddy et al. fail to explicitly disclose updating, at the first device, the first index to a second index and updating, at the first device, the second index to a third index.
Lee et al. discloses an ultra-wideband (UWB) device for transmitting/receiving multiple packets and a method for operating the same.
Lee et al. discloses updating the first index to a second index; (See Lee et al., para. 375-376 and Fig. 16A-B, i.e., an identical ranging slot index (slot 1) may be allocated to the second UWB device (responder 1) and the third UWB device (responder 2), a first address (address of responder 1) may be allocated to the second UWB device (responder 1), and a second address (address of responder 2) may be allocated to the third UWB device (responder 2). The second UWB device (responder 1) and the third UWB device (responder 2) allocated to an identical ranging slot index (slot 1) may transmit packets, based on a predetermined STS index. The second UWB device (responder 1) allocated firstly to a ranging slot index (slot 1) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 1”, and the third UWB device (responder 2) allocated secondly to the ranging slot index (slot 1) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 2”)
Lee et al. discloses and updating the second index to a third index. (See Lee et al., para. 377-378 and Fig. 16A-B, i.e., An identical ranging slot index (slot 2) may be allocated to the fourth UWB device (responder 3) and the fifth UWB device (responder 4), a third address (address of responder 3) may be allocated to the fourth UWB device (responder 3), and a fourth address (address of responder 4) may be allocated to the fifth UWB device (responder 4). The fourth UWB device (responder 3) and the fifth UWB device (responder 4) allocated to an identical ranging slot index (slot 2) may transmit packets, based on a predetermined STS index. The fourth UWB device (responder 3) allocated firstly to a ranging slot index (slot 2) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 3”, and the fifth UWB device (responder 4) allocated secondly to the ranging slot index (slot 2) may transmit a packet based on “STS index 4”)
*According to the Applicant’s specification, para. 32 and 67, the first index, second index, and the third index are defined as different values of a CryptoStsIndex. The CryptoStsIndex is defined as corresponding ranging slots in ranging rounds will have the same StsIndex referred to as CryptoStsIndex. For example, the CryptoStsIndex of the first ranging slot is the same in each ranging round, the CryptoStsIndex of the second ranging slot is the same in each ranging round)
The rationale for combining Reddy et al. in view of Lee et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 19, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses wherein the first index and second index are associated with a first ranging slot and a second ranging slot, wherein the first ranging slot precedes the second ranging slot in the ranging round. (See Reddy et al., para. 90 and Fig. 5, i.e., each ranging block, item 502 comprises multiple ranging rounds, item 504 and each ranging round comprises ranging slots, item 506. The first and second ranging slots are disclosed and the first ranging slot precedes the second ranging slot)
Referring to the rejection of claim 20, (Reddy et al. modified by Lee et al.) discloses wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to execute the instructions within 100 microseconds. (See Reddy et al., para. 125, i.e., if a receiving device, item 1104 is unable to buffer the ranging message or an STS block, item 1110, other STS packet configuration formats are configured for the transmitting device and the receiving device. For example, to fully buffer an STS block of 64 microseconds duration at a sampling rate of 998.4 MHz at a receiving device may specify a memory of approximately 118,272 bytes)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 9-11, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
De Perthuis et al. (EP 3681046 B1) discloses methods and devices for deriving keys for coding the contents of data frames, which are to be transmitted in a keyless entry system during an ultra-wide band ranging session between a transceiver device coupled to a base structure to be opened and closed and/or to be locked and unlocked, and a mobile transceiver device associated with the structure-coupled transceiver device.
Yoon et al. (Pub No. 2023/0014199) discloses apparatus and method for generating a scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) in an ultra-wide band (UWB) communication system.
Cho et al. (Pub No. 2021/0176230) discloses a method and electronic device for performing ranging using an ultra-wide band (UWB) communication method and managing digital keys.
/COURTNEY D FIELDS/Examiner, Art Unit 2436 February 6, 2026
/FATOUMATA TRAORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436