DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 25, 26 , 28, 29 objected to because of the following informalities:
The preamble of the claims says, “The display apparatus of one of claim…” examiner believes applicant meant to say “The display apparatus of claim…” and will be interpreted as such.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sunghee Park (US 20220190096 A1) hereinafter referred to as Park
Regarding Claim 27 Park teaches
A display apparatus comprising: (Fig 9, 10)
a substrate (111) provided with a plurality of pixels (EA) each having a plurality of sub-pixels (Fig 9);
a non-light emission area (area of BM) provided to be disposed between the plurality of sub-pixels, on the substrate (Fig 9);
a plurality of wirings (SL2) disposed in (at least partially disposed in) the non-light emission area (area of BM); and
a pixel power line (VDDL and a common power line (VSSL) spaced apart from the pixel power line(Fig 9 and 10), both disposed in the non-light emission area,
wherein the pixel power line and the common power line overlap a gap between the plurality of wirings. (see diagram)
Regarding Claim 28 Park teaches
The display apparatus of one of claim 27,
wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a pixel electrode (122 Fig 10) disposed over the plurality of wirings, and wherein the pixel power line and the common power line are disposed between the pixel electrode and the plurality of wirings in a thickness direction of the display apparatus.(Fig 10)
Regarding Claim 29 Park teaches
The display apparatus of one of claim 27,
wherein the pixel power line and the common power line further overlap a gap between the plurality of wirings and the pixel electrode.
(see diagram)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17, 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, further in view of Yunseok Han (US 20220165831 A1) Hereinafter referred to as Han.
Regarding Claim 1 Park teaches
A display apparatus (Fig 9) comprising:
a substrate (111 Fig 10) provided with a plurality of pixels, each pixel of the plurality of pixels having a plurality of sub-pixels (emission areas EA…Fig 9);
a non-light emission area (area of BM Fig 9) on the substrate, the non-light emission area being between the plurality of sub-pixels;
a plurality of wirings (SL2 on area of BM Fig 9) on the non-light emission area; and
Although Park does teach
a plurality of light blocking members (BM) partially overlapping at least a portion of the plurality of wirings.(Fig 9)
Park is not relied upon to teach the previous limitation since Examiner prefers to map analogous feature as close as possible for ease and clarification of the record. Note though this rejection is a 103 the term light blocking members is broad.
Han teaches a light blocking member more similar to the instant application and therefore is relied upon to teach
a plurality of light blocking members (BML Fig 5) partially overlapping at least a portion of the plurality of wirings.(PTL)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such that the light blocking members are partially overlapping at least a portion of a plurality of wirings, as described in Han because the modification allows for the prevention of external light traveling between wiring lines from diffracting and effecting the display area, thusly creating a better image quality (Han Para [0083][0144] [0108])
Regarding Claim 2 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of light blocking members overlaps a gap between the plurality of wirings. (Han Fig 5) (see diagram)
Regarding Claim 3 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 1,
Park further teaches
wherein each of the plurality of pixels further has a transmissive area (Ta1 and or Ta2 Fig 9 and Fig 3), and wherein the non-light emission area (area of BM Fig 9) is provided to be further disposed between the transmissive area and the plurality of sub-pixels.(Fig 9 and Fig 3)
Regarding Claim 4 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 3,
wherein the plurality of light blocking members are over at least a portion of the plurality of the wirings. (Han Fig 5)
Regarding Claim 5 Park in view
of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 3,
Park further teaches
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprise:
a first sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel spaced apart in a first direction (see diagram) , and
a second sub-pixel spaced apart from the first sub-pixel in a second direction (see diagram) and
a fourth sub-pixel spaced apart from the third sub-pixel in the second direction, (see diagram)
Park is not relied upon to teach
the light blocking members
Han further teaches the light blocking members surrounding the light emitting areas around the transmissive areas (Fig 4b). therefore, when applied to the sub-pixels taught in Park Hans can be relied upon to teach
wherein the plurality of the light blocking members (BML) comprise:
a first blocking member (a subset of BML ) disposed to extend from the first sub-pixel to the third sub-pixel, and
a second blocking member (a subset of BML ) disposed to extend from the second sub-pixel to the fourth sub-pixel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such that the light blocking members extend from the specified pixels, as described in Han because the modification allows for the prevention of external light traveling between wiring lines, near the sub-pixels, from diffracting and effecting the display area. Thusly creating a better image quality (Han Para [0083][0144])
Regarding Claim 6 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 5,
wherein each of the first light blocking member (Han, a subset of BML Fig 4b) and the second light blocking member (Han, a subset of BML ) is provided in a quadrangle shape. (wherein the subset of BML is to be a four-sided closed shape)
Regarding Claim 7 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 5,
wherein the first light blocking member is provided to surround a light emission area of each of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel (Han Fig 4b), and wherein the second light blocking member is provided to surround a light emission area of each of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel. (since Han Fig 4b shows that the BML layer follows around the outside of the transmissive are for image clarity one may conclude the first and second light blocking layers of park in view of Han to look something like the diagram provided. Han Para [0083][0144][0109])
Regarding Claim 8 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 5,
Han further teaches
wherein each of the first light blocking member and the second light blocking member is provided in (is made of) metal. (Han Para [0125] [0142])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park in view of Han such that the light blocking member is made of metal, as described in Han because the modification allows for the receiving of a constant voltage and the stabilization of the TFT’s electrical characteristics (Han [0125])
Regarding Claim 9 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 5,
Park further teaches
wherein the plurality of wirings (SL2 Fig 9) comprise a pixel power line (VDDL) and a common power line (VSSL) spaced apart from the pixel power line, both extending in the first direction (Fig 9), wherein the first light blocking member partially overlaps the pixel power line, and wherein the second light blocking member partially overlaps the common power line.(see diagram of Fig 9 above)
Regarding Claim 10 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 9,
The modification previously presented of Park in view of Han further teaches
wherein the second blocking member is spaced apart from the first light blocking member (Han, when drawing up the subset of BML, make the line have a shape conformed to the shape and arrangement of the pixels [0109][0163]),
wherein the first light blocking member is electrically connected to the pixel power line (Park VDDL Fig 9 and Han Para [0108] also see diagrams above first presented in the rejection of claim 7), and
wherein the second light blocking member is electrically connected to the common power line. (Park VSSL Fig 9 and Han Para [0108])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park in view of Han such that the light blocking member is electrically connected to these VDD and VSS structures, as described in Han because the modification allows for the receiving of a constant voltage and the stabilization of the TFT’s electrical characteristics (Han [0125])
Regarding Claim 11 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 9,
Park further teaches
wherein the pixel power line (VDDL) is disposed in the non-light emission area (area of BM) on a left side of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel, and
wherein the common power line is disposed in the non-light emission area on a right side of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel.(See diagram)
Regarding Claim 12 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 9,
Park further teaches
Wherein (Fig 3, 8, 9, 10) the transmissive area (TA) is disposed adjacent to each of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel (Fig 3), wherein the fourth sub-pixel comprises a color filter(CF), and
wherein the common power line (VSSL) protrudes a first distance (any distance positive or zero) from the color filter to the transmissive area. (Fig 9 depending on with emission are you look at we have different distances)
Regarding Claim 13 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 9,
Park further teaches
wherein the plurality of wirings further comprise a reference line (REFL Fig 9, 10) disposed between the pixel power line (VDDL) and the common power line (VSSL), and
wherein the first light blocking member is spaced apart from the second light blocking member over the reference line. (See diagram)
Regarding Claim 14 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 13,
wherein the first light blocking member and the second light blocking member are symmetrical with respect to the reference line. ( when creating the quadrangle shape of the first
and second light blocking member make each the same size on either side of the REFL, any left over BML layer will be regarded as a separate portion it would look something like the diagram)
Regarding Claim 15 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 5,
wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels (EA) comprises a first light emission area (subset of each EA) and a second light emission area
(subset of each EA) spaced apart from each other in the first direction (see diagram), and
wherein the first light blocking member or the second light blocking member is disposed between the first light emission area and the second emission area. (see diagram)
Regarding claim 16 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 15, further comprising:
Park further teaches
a bank (125 Para[0128]) disposed (around the edge of the TA and therefore would be) between the first light emission area and the second light emission area,
Since Han has been previously relied upon to teach the light blocking members Han further teaches
wherein a width of the first light blocking member or the second light blocking member between the first light emission area and the second emission area is either equal to or wider than a width of the bank. (Han Para [0144] [0109] teaches that the shape of the light blocking member is a result effective variable that determines picture quality )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park in view of Han such that the light blocking members are of a bigger dimension in comparison to the bank and to change the shape of the light blocking members as described in Han because the modification allows for the light blocking members to block more light than the bank layer and therefore result in a better image. (Han Para [0144] [0109])
Regarding Claim 17 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 15, further comprising:
Park further teaches
a black matrix (BM) disposed between the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein the black matrix is not disposed between the first emission area and the second emission area. (the BM is not disposed between at least a portion of the area between the first and second emission areas fig 9, 10 and see diagrams above)
Regarding Claim 20 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 1,
Park further teaches
wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a pixel electrode (120 and/or 121, 122) disposed over the plurality of wirings (Fig 10), and
Han previously taught
wherein the plurality of light blocking members (BML) is disposed between the pixel electrode (210) and the plurality of wirings (PTL) in a thickness direction of the display apparatus. (Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such that the light blocking members were between the electrode and the wiring lines, as described in Han because the modification allows for the light blocking layers to block the external light but not the light created from the pixel it is protecting (Han Para [0083][0144][0108])
Regarding Claim 21 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 20,
Park in view of Han previously taught
wherein the plurality of light blocking members partially overlaps (is disposed under but in the same horizontal plane as) the pixel electrode.(Han Fig 5)
Regarding Claim 22 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 20,
Park in view of Han previously taught
wherein the plurality of light blocking members overlaps a gap (Han Fig 5 and see diagram) between the plurality of wirings and a gap (the vertical gap that is required for the light blocking member to be disposed between the electrode and the wirings) between the plurality of wirings and the pixel electrode. (Han Fig 5)
Regarding Claim 23 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 5,
Park further teaches
wherein a part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a color filter (CF Para [0133]),
Park in view of Han previously taught the light blocking member overlapping the emission area and thusly previously taught
and wherein each of the first light blocking member and the second light blocking member partially overlaps the color filter. (see diagrams and Fig 9 of Park)
Regarding Claim 24 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 5, wherein
Park further teaches
each of the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig 10) comprises a pixel electrode (122) disposed over the plurality of wirings(SL2), and
wherein the display apparatus further comprises a bank (125) covering an edge of the pixel electrode(Fig 10),
Park in view of Han previously taught the placement of the light blocking members and therefore is relied upon to teach
wherein each of the first light blocking member and the second light blocking member further protrudes to the center portion of the pixel electrode than the bank. (Han Fig 5 shows the light blocking member BML under and protruding into the center portion of the pixel electrode 210 further than the bank (117) layers protrusion)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park in view of Han such that the light blocking layer is of a bigger dimension and therefore protrudes further than a bank layer into the pixel electrode, as described in Han because the modification allows for the light blocking layers to block the external light but not the light created from the pixel it is protecting since the light blocking layer is underneath the pixel electrode (Han Para [0083][0144][0108] Fig 5)
Regarding Claim 25 Park in view of Han teaches
the display apparatus of one of claim 5,
Park further teaches
wherein the substrate (111) comprises a non-display area (NDA, Pa area of Fig 1 and scan driver 205 fig 2) surrounding the plurality of pixels,
wherein the non-display area comprises a pad portion (Pa and 205 Para[0040][0037]) for driving the plurality of pixels (Para[0040]),
Han previously taught the physical and electrical placement of the light blocking layers.
wherein the first light blocking member is directly connected to the pad portion
(Park VSSL Fig 9 and Han Para [0108] taught connecting the light blocking layer electrically to the wiring lines. And Park taught the pad portions electrical connection to the wiring lines SL Park Fig 2. Therefore, the light blocking members are connected to the pad portions ), and
wherein the second light blocking member is directly connected to the pad portion
wherein each of the light blocking member and the second light blocking member is provided in (is made of) metal. (Han Para [0125] [0142])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park in view of Han such that the light blocking members are made of metal and electrically connected to the pad portion, as described in Han because the modification allows for the receiving of a constant voltage and the stabilization of the TFT’s electrical characteristics (Han [0125])
Regarding Claim 26 Park in view of Han teaches
The display apparatus of one of claim 25,
Park further teaches
wherein the transmissive area is disposed adjacent to each of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel, (Fig 3)
wherein the fourth sub-pixel comprises a color filter (CF Para[0133][0048]), and
wherein the second light blocking member protrudes a second distance from the color filter toward the transmissive area. (see diagram)
Claim(s)18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Han as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of JaeHee Park (US 20210399081 A1) Hereinafter referred to as Jae
Regarding Claim 18 Park in view Han teaches
The display apparatus of claim 17,
Park further teaches
wherein the second sub-pixel (EA22) is a white sub-pixel (Para [0048]teaches a white sub pixel and that any sub- pixel could be white),
Park in view of Han is not relied upon to teach
and wherein the black matrix is not disposed between the second sub-pixel and the transmissive area.
Jae teaches a similar white sub-pixel
and wherein the black matrix is not disposed between the second sub-pixel and the transmissive area. (Para [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park in view of Han such that the black matrix is not disposed between the second sub-pixel and the transmissive area, as described in Jae because the modification allows for the reduction of light loss from the white pixel caused by the excessive amount of black matrix material (Jae Para [0078])
Regarding Claim 19 Park in view of Han in view Jae teaches
The display apparatus of claim 18,
Park in view of Han further taught
wherein the black matrix partially overlaps each of the first light blocking member and/or the second light blocking member. (see diagrams above and Park fig 9, 10 )
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. LIANG; Yujiao (US-20210202621-A1), CHOI; Nak Cho (US-20220165984-A1), Kim; Binn (US-20220208886-A1), Kim; Binn (US-20250280677-A1).
/JAIME LYNN SPRENGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893