DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, Ln. 13 recites “the stored treatment program” which should read “the stored treatment program information” following after Ln. 8
Claim 24 is missing a status identifier. At present the claim is clearly “New” but future amendments should include a correct status identifier for the claim.
Claim 31, Ln. 2-3 recites “receive treatment program information” which should read “receive the treatment program information” following after claim 21
Claim 36, Ln. 3 recites “a second aerosolizer” which should read “the second aerosolizer” following after claim 35
Claim 36, Ln. 5-6 recites “the stored treatment program” which should read “the stored treatment program information” following after claim 21
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “A delivery system for providing an aerosol mixture” in Ln. 1 which deems the claim indefinite. The claim recites a function without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function because the disclosed invention requires the use of multiple aerosolizer drivers to activate multiple aerosolizers in order to form an aerosol mixture. An apparatus claim is improper when it attempts to define the apparatus by what it does rather than what it is (see MPEP 2173.05(g)). It is thus indefinite whether the delivery system of claim 21 must be able to provide an aerosol mixture or not. The claim should either be amended to add further structure which would be used to form an aerosol mixture or delete reference to an aerosol mixture. For the purposes of examination the claim will not be interpreted as requiring an aerosol mixture because of the lack of structure to perform that function in the claim (e.g. there is no control of more than one aerosolizer).
Claim 35 recites the limitation “the aerosolizers” in Ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear whether the claim is intending to positively recite the first and second aerosolizers. Further, it is unclear whether either of the first and second aerosolizers is intended as referring to the aerosolizer of claim 21. As claim 34 has already recited first and second aerosolizer drivers it appears the claim is attempting to positively recite the aerosolizer of claim 21 as well as a second aerosolizer. This interpretation will be applied to the below examination and should be made clear in amending the claim.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 12, 14 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,576,223 in view of Moloney et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0378107). Patent claim 1 includes the structures recited by instant claim 21 but is silent as to controlling the aerosolizer driver to provide a first aerosol generation signal for an aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a first droplet size, and a second aerosol generation signal for the aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a second, different droplet size, wherein the droplet sizes are based at least in part on the stored treatment program.
Moloney teaches an aerosol delivery device (Fig. 1) which provides a first aerosol generation signal for an aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a first droplet size (Fig. 7 #s710; ¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087), and a second aerosol generation signal for the aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a second, different droplet size (Fig. 7 #s730; ¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087), wherein the droplet sizes are based at least in part on the stored treatment program (Fig. 7; ¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087). Moloney teaches creating different droplet sizes from a singular aerosolizer as providing the benefit of targeting smaller particles to the lungs during early inhalation but then larger particles to the mouth during later inhalation (¶¶0057-0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have incorporated in patent claim 1 controlling the aerosolizer driver to provide a first aerosol generation signal for an aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a first droplet size, and a second aerosol generation signal for the aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a second, different droplet size, wherein the droplet sizes are based at least in part on the stored treatment program in order to provide the benefit of targeting smaller particles to the lungs during early inhalation but then larger particles to the mouth during later inhalation in view of Moloney. A further mapping of dependent claims is as follows:
Instant claim 22 as obvious in view of Moloney – one of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized that particles targeted for lung deposition are commonly provided in sizes of not more than 1 micron
Instant claim 23 as obvious in view of Moloney – one of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized that particles targeted for mouth deposition are commonly provided in sizes of more than 5 microns
Instant claim 24 as obvious in view of Moloney – one of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized that particles targeted for mouth deposition are commonly provided in sizes of not more than 10 microns
Instant claim 25 as obvious in view of Moloney (¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087 – distinction between early and late inhalation periods)
Instant claim 26 as obvious in view of Moloney (¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087)
Instant claim 27 as obvious in view of Moloney (¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087)
Instant claim 28 vs. patent claim 1
Instant claim 29 as obvious in view of patent claim 1 – one of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized a temperature sensor as one form of flow sensor (e.g. a hot wire anemometer)
Instant claim 30 vs. patent claim 1
Instant claim 31 vs. patent claim 14
Instant claim 32 vs. patent claim 12
Instant claim 33 vs. patent claim 12
Instant claim 34 vs. patent claim 1
Instant claim 35 vs. patent claim 12
Instant claim 36 as obvious in view of Moloney when applying the same teachings of Moloney discussed above in regard to instant claim 21 to the second aerosolizer of instant claim 36
Instant claim 37 vs. patent claim 20
Instant claim 38 vs. patent claim 19
Instant claim 39 vs. limitations in patent claim 18
Instant claim 40 vs. patent claim 19
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,695 in view of Moloney et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0378107). Patent claim 1 includes the structures recited by instant claim 21 but is silent as to controlling the aerosolizer driver to provide a first aerosol generation signal for an aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a first droplet size, and a second aerosol generation signal for the aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a second, different droplet size, wherein the droplet sizes are based at least in part on the stored treatment program.
Moloney teaches an aerosol delivery device (Fig. 1) which provides a first aerosol generation signal for an aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a first droplet size (Fig. 7 #s710; ¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087), and a second aerosol generation signal for the aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a second, different droplet size (Fig. 7 #s730; ¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087), wherein the droplet sizes are based at least in part on the stored treatment program (Fig. 7; ¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087). Moloney teaches creating different droplet sizes from a singular aerosolizer as providing the benefit of targeting smaller particles to the lungs during early inhalation but then larger particles to the mouth during later inhalation (¶¶0057-0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have incorporated in patent claim 1 controlling the aerosolizer driver to provide a first aerosol generation signal for an aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a first droplet size, and a second aerosol generation signal for the aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a second, different droplet size, wherein the droplet sizes are based at least in part on the stored treatment program in order to provide the benefit of targeting smaller particles to the lungs during early inhalation but then larger particles to the mouth during later inhalation in view of Moloney. A further mapping of dependent claims is as follows:
Instant claim 22 as obvious in view of Moloney – one of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized that particles targeted for lung deposition are commonly provided in sizes of not more than 1 micron
Instant claim 23 as obvious in view of Moloney – one of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized that particles targeted for mouth deposition are commonly provided in sizes of more than 5 microns
Instant claim 24 as obvious in view of Moloney – one of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized that particles targeted for mouth deposition are commonly provided in sizes of not more than 10 microns
Instant claim 25 as obvious in view of Moloney (¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087 – distinction between early and late inhalation periods)
Instant claim 26 as obvious in view of Moloney (¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087)
Instant claim 27 as obvious in view of Moloney (¶¶0082, 0084, 0086-0087)
Instant claim 28 vs. patent claim 1
Instant claim 29 vs. patent claim 12
Instant claim 30 vs. patent claim 1
Instant claim 31 vs. patent claim 8
Instant claim 32 vs. patent claim 2
Instant claim 33 as obvious in view of Moloney (¶0023 – vibrational or mechanical as obvious design choice alternatives for aerosol generation)
Instant claim 34 vs. patent claim 1
Instant claim 35 vs. patent claim 2
Instant claim 36 as obvious in view of Moloney when applying the same teachings of Moloney discussed above in regard to instant claim 21 to the second aerosolizer of instant claim 36
Instant claim 37 vs. patent claim 1
Instant claim 38 vs. patent claim 5 – containers of patent claim 5 all part of the pod of patent claim 2
Instant claim 39 vs. limitations in patent claim 4
Instant claim 40 vs. patent claim 5 – containers of patent claim 5 all part of the pod of patent claim 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-28, 30 and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wensley et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0213065).
Regarding claim 21, Wensley discloses a delivery system (Figs. 1-2; ¶0037) for providing an aerosol aerosols provided as a controlled program), comprising: a delivery device (Fig. 1) including: an aerosolizer driver (Fig. 4 electrical interface between controller 46 and heater 70; ¶0046); and a controller circuit (Fig. 4 #46; ¶0046) comprising a hardware controller (Fig. 4 #46; ¶0046) electrically coupled to the aerosolizer driver, the hardware controller including a hardware processor (¶0058 – e.g. programmable controller) and a non-transitory computer readable medium (¶0058 – e.g. stores control program) in communication with the hardware controller, the computer readable medium configured to store treatment program information (¶¶0057-0059), and to store executable instructions that, when executed, configure the hardware controller to control the aerosolizer driver to provide a first aerosol generation signal for an aerosolizer (Fig. 4 #70; ¶¶0046, 0056) to generate an aerosol having a first droplet size (¶0057 – first aerosol for deep lung absorption during inhalation), and a second aerosol generation signal for the aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a second, different droplet size (¶0057 – second aerosol with smaller diameter for during exhalation), wherein the droplet sizes are based at least in part on the stored treatment program information (¶¶0057-0059). The claim is afforded an effective filing date of 16 Jul 2021 based at least upon its particular recitation of droplet size changing with a single aerosolizer.
Regarding claim 22, Wensley discloses the first droplet size is less than or equal to 1 micron (¶0057).
Regarding claim 23, Wensley discloses the second droplet size is greater than or equal to 5 microns (¶0057 – up to 5 microns).
Regarding claim 24, Wensley discloses the second droplet size is less than or equal to 10 microns (¶0057 – 1-5 microns).
Regarding claim 25, Wensley discloses the droplet sizes are based at least in part on a persona profile (¶0057 – inhalation vs. exhalation of the user).
Regarding claim 26, Wensley discloses the droplet sizes are based at least in part on a desired deposition location (¶0057 – deep lung vs. mouth).
Regarding claim 27, Wensley discloses the hardware controller is further configured to dynamically change the aerosol generation signals over a period of time (¶0057 – changes signals based on inhalation vs. exhalation of the user).
Regarding claim 28, Wensley discloses the delivery device further comprises a sensor (Fig. 3 #50; ¶0046), and wherein the droplet sizes are based at least in part on sensor information (¶¶0046, 0056-0057 – based on detection of inhalation vs. exhalation of the user).
Regarding claim 30, Wensley discloses the sensor comprises a flow sensor (¶¶0010-0011 and claim 19).
Regarding claim 32, Wensley discloses the delivery device further comprises the aerosolizer (Fig. 4 #70; ¶¶0046, 0056).
Regarding claim 33, Wensley discloses the aerosolizer is a mechanical aerosolizer (¶¶0046, 0056 – a heater is a mechanical structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wensley et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0213065) in view of Kessler et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0059446).
Regarding claim 29, Wensley fails to disclose the sensor comprises a temperature sensor.
Kessler teaches a vaporizer unit (e.g. Figs. 1-3) including a breath detection sensor (¶0044) and also including a temperature sensor (¶0045). Kessler teaches a temperature sensor as an additional sensor which is useful for measuring values related to the operating status of the device so that the device can be properly controlled for its aerosol delivery operation (¶0045).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Wensley the sensor comprises a temperature sensor in order to provide the benefit of using an additional sensor to that taught by Wensley for the purpose of further measuring values related to the operating status of the device so that the device can be properly controlled for its aerosol delivery operation in view of Kessler.
Regarding claim 31, Wensley fails to disclose the controller circuit further comprises a transceiver, and wherein the controller circuit is configured to receive the treatment program information using the transceiver.
It is initially noted that Wensley teaches its electronic controller can include a wireless communication device (¶0011). Kessler teaches a vaporizer unit (e.g. Figs. 1-3) including an electronic unit (Fig. 1 #14) which can receive settings from a user via Bluetooth connectivity (¶0038). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize Bluetooth as using two-way communication which requires a transceiver.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Wensley the controller circuit further comprises a transceiver, and wherein the controller circuit is configured to receive the treatment program information using the transceiver in order to provide the benefit of using Bluetooth as a common form of wireless signal transmission to allow the user to remote send settings to the delivery system in view of Kessler.
Claim(s) 34-38 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wensley et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0213065) in view of Dunfield et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0150489).
Regarding claim 34, Wensley fails to disclose the delivery device further comprises a second aerosolizer driver.
Dunfield teaches a medicament ejection apparatus (Fig. 1 #20; ¶0019) including separate aerosolizer drivers (Fig. 7 #132 for #154 as distinct from #132 for #156; ¶¶0049, 0053) for separate medicaments (Fig. 7 #154, 156; ¶0053). Dunfield teaches a second aerosolizer driver as providing the benefit of allowing use of two different medicaments for alternating use as part of a treatment plan for treatment of an addiction to an addictive substance (¶¶0053-0054, 0060, 0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Wensley the delivery device further comprises a second aerosolizer driver in order to provide the benefit of allowing use of two different medicaments for alternating use as part of a treatment plan for treatment of an addiction to an addictive substance in view of Dunfield.
Regarding claim 35, Wensley teaches the invention as modified above and Dunfield as incorporated therein further teaches the aerosolizers include a first aerosolizer (Dunfield – Fig. 7 #162) and a second aerosolizer (Dunfield – Fig. 7 #164).
Regarding claim 36, Wensley teaches the invention as modified above and Dunfield as incorporated therein further teaches the hardware controller is further configured to control the second aerosolizer driver to provide a third aerosol generation signal for the second aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a third droplet size (Fig. 7 droplets of medicament 156 from orifices 108), and a fourth aerosol generation signal for the second aerosolizer to generate an aerosol having a fourth, different droplet size (Fig. 7 droplets of medicament 156 from orifices 110), wherein the third and fourth droplet sizes are based at least in part on the stored treatment program (¶¶0044-0045 – ejection of droplets through orifices 108, 110 must be based on the stored treatment program).
Regarding claim 37, Wensley teaches the invention as modified above and Dunfield as incorporated therein further suggests as obvious the delivery device further comprises a third aerosolizer driver (¶0053 – while two specific medicament reservoirs are shown “[a]ny suitable number of medicament reservoirs may be included” which is obviously suggestive of a third medicament reservoir which will require a third aerosolizer driver).
Regarding claim 38, Wensley teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches a pod (Fig. 2 #60; ¶0038) structured to be removably couplable to the delivery device (¶0064 – reservoir may be replaceable), wherein the pod includes a container (Fig. 2 #60; ¶0038) for a substance used to create the aerosol. The pod of the instant claim does not need to be any more than the container for the substance.
Regarding claim 40, Wensley teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches a pod (Fig. 2 #60; ¶0038) structured to be removably couplable to the delivery device (¶0064 – reservoir may be replaceable). Dunfield as incorporated in the modified Wensley further suggests as obvious wherein the pod includes two or more containers (Dunfield – Fig. 7 shows a singular structure comprising medicament reservoirs 158, 160) each holding a substance used to create the aerosols.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 39 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The claim is additionally rejected based upon the above nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 39, neither Wensley nor Dunfield teaches or suggests the pod further comprises a mixing chamber comprising intake openings for fluid communication with the first aerosolizer and the second aerosolizer. There is no consideration in Wensley or Dunfield or a removable pad having a mixing chamber comprising intake openings for fluid communication with the first aerosolizer and the second aerosolizer.
The other prior art readable on claim 21 are the above cited Kessler (e.g. Fig. 5; ¶0063), Moloney et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0378107; e.g. Fig. 7; ¶0060) and Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2024/0108241; e.g. Figs. 6-7; ¶¶0026, 0151-0153). However, none of these further references would have rendered the requirements of the pod of the instant claim as prima facie obvious.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references.
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785