This office action is in response to amendment filed 07/21/2026 in which the claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Objections to claims 4, 14, 19 are withdrawn based on the corrected amendment filed 07/21/2026.
Double Patenting
The Examiner asserts that the claims are not patentably distinct over U.S. Patent No. US 12,167,174 and Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 9-11 stand rejected on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting of claims 22-23, 25, 27, 29 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,167,174 B2 in view of Scoggins et al. (US 2015/0199863 A1), as described in detail below.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22-23, 25, 27, 29 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,167,174 B2 in view of Scoggins et al. (US 2015/0199863 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is obvious over the conflicting patented claim 1 as shown in the table below. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is the addition of the limitation “at least in part, the second stored data comprising at least one item of information relating to the person”. However Scoggins discloses in Para[0070] to provide a user interface displayed on the user device 114 (e.g., through the mobile application) that distinguishes between rooms (e.g., will have a clear indication of the room number), and distinct credentials will be associated with each room. Further, in many implementations, a credential (or a single set of credentials intended to be used together) and/or the mobile application using the credential can open one room at the time. The visual display may be configured to show a visual display of the room number at the time of transmitting the credential, a credential (or set of credentials) automatically expires, such as when a guest checks out, on the day of the guest is scheduled to depart, or the like. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patented since user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room, the guests are provided with the capability to use their user devices to unlock doors and the incidence of key cards being lost by guests is reduced and the resulting additional activities on both the guest and the property staff to create and/or obtain replacement can be avoided.
Instant application:18/909,825
Patent No.: US 12,167,174 B2
1. A method for allowing entry of a person through a door, comprising: providing a first QR code image for unlocking the
door to a smart device of the person for storage on the smart device, the first QR code image being based on first stored data; reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device; unlocking a lock of a door in response to the read data matching the first stored data; and providing a second QR code image for unlocking the door to the smart device in response to unlocking the door based on the first QR code image, for storage on the smart device, the second QR code image being based, at least in part, on second stored data different from the first stored data, at least in part, the second stored data comprising at least one item of information relating to the person.
22. A method for allowing a guest to enter a room of a hotel, comprising: generating a QR code by a first processing device of a hotel management system based on a unique, one-time key; generating a QR code image including the QR code, by the first processing device; providing the QR code image to a smart device of the guest for storage on the smart device; reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device by a QR code reader or scanning device; comparing data in the read QR code image to stored data; unlocking a lock of the door if the data matches the stored data including the unique, one-time key; and if the door has been unlocked, providing a new QR code image to the smart device for storage on the smart device of the guest.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device by a QR code reader or scanning device.
27. The method of claim 22, wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera and reading the QR code image comprises: detecting a presence in front of the door by a proximity sensor; and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence by the proximity sensor.
4. The method of claim 3, comprising: generating the first QR code based on a first, unique, one-time key, wherein the first stored data comprises the first, unique, one-time key; and generating the second QR code based on a second, unique, one-time key, wherein the second stored data comprises the second unique, one-time key.
23. The method of claim 22, further comprising: generating the unique, one-time key by the first processing device; storing the unique key by the first processing device, in storage of the hotel management system; and providing the QR code image to the smart device by the first processing device, via a network.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera and reading the QR code image comprises: detecting a presence in front of the door; and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence.
27. The method of claim 22, wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera and reading the QR code image comprises: detecting a presence in front of the door by a proximity sensor; and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence by the proximity sensor.
9. The method of claim 4, comprising generating the QR code by a processing device of a hotel management system of a hotel.
22. A method for allowing a guest to enter a room of a hotel, comprising: generating a QR code by a first processing device of a hotel management system based on a unique,…..(CON)
10. The method of claim 9, wherein: the first stored data and the second stored data each further the at least one item of information relating to the person comprises at least one item of personal identifying information of the person and/or information related to the hotel.
29. The method of claim 28, wherein the at least one item of personal identifying information of the guest is a name of the guest, an address of the guest, and/or a phone number of the guest, and comparing comprises: comparing the unique key and the at least one data item to the stored data
11. The method of claim 9, further comprising providing the first QR code image to the smart device in response to a request to check-in to the hotel made via an App on the smart device by the person.
25. The method of claim 23, further comprising providing the QR code image to the smart device in response to a request to check-in to the hotel made via an App on the smart device by the guest.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 17, and 18 previously rejected under 35 USC 112(a) as allegedly failing to comply with the written description requirement is now withdrawn based on the amendment filed 07/21/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see pages 11-15, filed 07/21/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims to independent claims 1, 12 have been fully considered and amended independent claims 1, 12 are moot in view of new grounds of rejection by relying on the teachings of Scoggins et al. (US 2015/0199863 A1). (prior art previously relied for claims 8-11, 17-20).
Arguments filed to claims 5, 15 and claims 8-11 and 17-20 with respect have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As described in detail below,
Applicant argues for example, amended claims 5 and 15, which recite that the first QR code comprises at least one item of information related to the person, are not anticipated or rendered obvious by Jang because Jang does not teach or suggest to include such information in the first QR code, as claimed.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and clarifies that as cited in Jang et al. in para[0038]-[0039] that the password for opening the safety lock 100 corresponding to the terminal ID is QR code ID and authentication data. The access management server 200 may provide the generated QR code ID and authentication data to the user terminal 300 having a valid authority. Para[0043] teaches If the safety lock device 100 cannot recognize the QR code ID, the user terminal 300 may transmit the authentication data provided from the access management server 200 to the safety lock device 100. The authentication data transmitted by the user terminal 300 may be transmitted to a specific safety locking device 100. Para[0046] teaches the identity authentication server 400 may generate identity authentication information by analyzing the user information provided from the access management server 200. For example, if the user information includes a name, phone number, gender, and date of birth, the stored The user can be authenticated by comparing with the user information, and personal authentication information including the authentication result can be provided to the access management server 200.para[0064] teaches access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216). Para [0071] teaches Referring to FIG. 4 , the user terminal 300 may transmit the received authentication data to open the door to a plurality of safety locks randomly or to a specific safety lock through the short-distance communication module (S300). Para [0072] teaches the safety lock device 100 may read the first password by recognizing the authentication data received through the short-distance communication module (S310).] Para [0073] teaches if the generated first password and the read first password match, the safety locking device 100 may determine that the read first password is valid based on the authentication data.
Thus Jang does teach limitation in amended claim 5, 15 ”first QR code comprises at least one item of information related to the person”.
Applicant argues that Claims 8-11 and 17-20 stand rejected under 35 USC 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Jang in light of Scoggins et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2015/0199863) ("Scoggins").
Claims 8-11, and 17-20, which are dependent on claims 1 and 12, respectfully, are allowable for being dependent on allowable claims, as discussed above, and on their own merits.
For example, amended claims 10 and 19 recite that "the at least one item of information relating to the person comprises at least one item of personal identifying information of the person and/or information related to the hotel."
The Examiner acknowledges that Jang does not disclose providing "information related to the hotel," but asserts that this is taught in Paragraph 57 Scoggins.
As noted by the Examiner, Paragraph 57 states that: "A guest often has a profile and the guest is validated using their unique user identifier (e.g., number, user name, or the like, or combinations of such) and typically a password." Like Jang, Scoggins uses personal identifying information of the person to validate or authenticate the person. Scoggins does not, however, teach or suggest to provide information related to the hotel in a QR code used to enable entry into a hotel room, as claimed.
Examiner respectfully diagress and clarifies that Scoggins in para[0069]-[0070] teaches user device 114 and/or a mobile application operating on the user device stores information regarding one or more reservations associated with the corresponding guest (e.g., each reservation is uniquely identified and filed in the mobile application). Further, each reservation will have a unique room number assigned (assuming a room has been assigned; however, in many instances a reservation may not have a room assigned for a reservation associated with a future date), and each room number will have its own key credentials. [0070] Further, some embodiments provide a user interface displayed on the user device 114 (e.g., through the mobile application) that distinguishes between rooms (e.g., will have a clear indication of the room number), and distinct credentials will be associated with each room. Further, in many implementations, a credential (or a single set of credentials intended to be used together) and/or the mobile application using the credential can open one room at the time. The visual display may be configured to show a visual display of the room number at the time of transmitting the credential. Para[0106] teaches . Further security measures may be included, such as a guest entering in a password, a room number, additional or alternative encryption, additional or alternative credentials or other such security measures, or combinations of such measures.
Thus Scoggins teaches to provide information related to the hotel in a QR code used to enable entry into a hotel room, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ang et al. (KR 20220012148 A) (machine translation attached) in view of Scoggins et al. (US 2015/0199863 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a method for allowing entry of a person through a door (Para[0008] teaches the access control method for allowing entry of a door by selecting only a user with a valid authority), comprising: providing a first QR code image for unlocking the door to a smart device of the person for storage on the smart device (Para[0013] teaches it is possible to provide the right to open the door by selecting only users who have QR code ID or authentication data. Para[0023] teaches [0023] teaches The safety lock device 100 includes a camera module, and can photograph the outside through the camera module. In particular, the safety lock device 100 may recognize a password by scanning a barcode, for example, a two-dimensional barcode, a three-dimensional barcode, etc. through the camera module. [0024] teaches Since the safety lock device 100 is a device for allowing the entrance of the door by selecting only users with valid authority, the door can be opened only when the password recognized through the camera module is valid. Para[0038] teaches the password for opening the safety lock 100 corresponding to the terminal ID is QR code ID and authentication data. Here, the QR code ID is a password generated in the form of a QR code, the authentication data is an electronic file including a password, and the password is generated by the safety lock device 100 and stored in the access management server 200. Para[0044] teaches User terminal 300 is PC (personal computer), smart phone (smart phone), tablet (tablet) PC, mobile internet device (mobile internet device (MID), Para[0055] teaches to store the security code as valid information, the user terminal 300 may receive and store the password for reading the security code from the user (S150)) the first QR code image being based on first stored data (Para[0064] teaches When it is determined that the terminal authentication information is valid as a result of analyzing the terminal authentication information, the access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216).Para[0065] [The user terminal 300 may display the received QR code ID to open the door through the display module. For example, when a user executes an application, the user terminal 300 may display a QR code ID through the display module (S220). And, the user terminal 300 may store the authentication data in the authentication data storage device (S222)); reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device (Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)); unlocking a lock of a door in response to the read data matching the first stored data (Para[0023]-[0024] teaches the safety lock device 100 includes a camera module, and can photograph the outside through the camera module. In particular, the safety lock device 100 may recognize a password by scanning a barcode. Since the safety lock device 100 is a device for allowing the entrance of the door by selecting only users with valid authority, the door can be opened only when the password recognized through the camera module is valid); and providing a second QR code image for unlocking the door to the smart device in response to unlocking the door based on the first QR code image, for storage on the smart device, the second QR code image being based, at least in part, on second stored data different from the first stored data (Para[0021] teaches the safety lock device 100 may generate a new password every time a valid password is input by a specific user and the door is opened and provide it to the access management server 200, Para[0022] teaches For example, when the user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password. Para [0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224). Para[0067] teaches If the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228). Para[0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used. Thus, it can be provided to the access management server 200 through a wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to a safety lock (S230). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password),
Jang does not explicitly disclose at least in part, the second stored data comprising at least one item of information relating to the person. However Scoggins discloses at least in part, the second stored data comprising at least one item of information relating to the person (Para[0070] teaches provide a user interface displayed on the user device 114 (e.g., through the mobile application) that distinguishes between rooms (e.g., will have a clear indication of the room number), and distinct credentials will be associated with each room. Further, in many implementations, a credential (or a single set of credentials intended to be used together) and/or the mobile application using the credential can open one room at the time. The visual display may be configured to show a visual display of the room number at the time of transmitting the credential, a credential (or set of credentials) automatically expires, such as when a guest checks out, on the day of the guest is scheduled to depart, or the like. Additionally or alternatively, some embodiments distribute (e.g., via a cellular communication) one or more push notifications that are sent to the mobile user device 114 to cause the user device to delete the credential and/or cause the credential to expire. This push notification can be implemented, for example, when the credentials have to be refreshed (in a scenario of room changes), upon check out, or the like. Further, the old credentials will automatically be removed and/or expire in response to the refresh). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method in which the security credential is acquired that is intended to be validated by a door lock system of door to the identified guest room. The first security credentials are caused to be communicated over network, to a portable consumer electronic user device associated with user to be stored on the user device, such that user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room of Scoggins in order to provide a system in which user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room, the guests are provided with the capability to use their user devices to unlock doors and the incidence of key cards being lost by guests is reduced and the resulting additional activities on both the guest and the property staff to create and/or obtain replacement can be avoided.
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device by a QR code reader or scanning device (para[0042] teaches the user terminal 300 includes a display module, and can display the QR code ID provided from the access management server 200 through the display module. Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)).
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a first QR code by a processing device (Para[0058] & FIG. 3, teaches the safety locking device 100 may generate a first password for opening the door and provide it to the access management server 200 (S200), and the access management server 200 may use the first password. You can save your password. At this time, if there is an already stored password, the access management server 200 may replace the first password with a new password and store it. Para[0064] teaches When it is determined that the terminal authentication information is valid as a result of analyzing the terminal authentication information, the access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216)); generating the first QR code image based on the generated QR code, by the processing device (Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)); generating a second QR code by the processing device (Para [0067] teaches if the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228)); and generating the second QR code image based on the generated QR code, by the processing device (Para[0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used, para[0075] teaches the second password generated by the safety lock device 100 may be provided to the access management server 200 through the wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to the safety lock device).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses the method of claim 3, comprising: generating the first QR code based on a first, unique, one-time key, wherein the first stored data comprises the first, unique, one-time key (Para[0022] teaches user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password); and generating the second QR code based on a second, unique, one-time key, wherein the second stored data comprises the second unique, one-time key (Para[0074] teaches the safety lock device 100 is a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have valid authority to enter and exit because the authentication data and QR code ID used once are continuously used. can be generated and provided to the access management server 200 (S330). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses the method of claim 4, wherein: generating the first QR code based on the first, unique, one-time key and at least one item of information relating to the person, the first stored data further comprising the at least one item of information relating to the person (para[0038]-[0039] teaches password for opening the safety lock 100 corresponding to the terminal ID is QR code ID and authentication data. The access management server 200 may provide the generated QR code ID and authentication data to the user terminal 300 having a valid authority. Para[0043] teaches If the safety lock device 100 cannot recognize the QR code ID, the user terminal 300 may transmit the authentication data provided from the access management server 200 to the safety lock device 100. The authentication data transmitted by the user terminal 300 may be transmitted to a specific safety locking device 100. Para[0046] teaches the identity authentication server 400 may generate identity authentication information by analyzing the user information provided from the access management server 200. For example, if the user information includes a name, phone number, gender, and date of birth, the stored The user can be authenticated by comparing with the user information, and personal authentication information including the authentication result can be provided to the access management server 200.para[0064] teaches access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216). Para [0071] teaches Referring to FIG. 4 , the user terminal 300 may transmit the received authentication data to open the door to a plurality of safety locks randomly or to a specific safety lock through the short-distance communication module (S300). Para [0072] teaches the safety lock device 100 may read the first password by recognizing the authentication data received through the short-distance communication module (S310).] Para [0073] teaches if the generated first password and the read first password match, the safety locking device 100 may determine that the read first password is valid based on the authentication data).
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the processing device is part of the management system, and the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system, the method comprising: receiving first data from the read first QR code image by the processing device, via a network; comparing the first data to the first stored data, by the processing device (Para[0067] teaches If the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228), Para[0073] teaches if the generated first password and the read first password match, the safety locking device 100 may determine that the read first password is valid based on the authentication data, and after opening the door, the second password A password can be generated (S320)); receiving second data from the read second QR code image by the processing device, via the network; and comparing the second data to the second stored data, by the processing device (Para[0063] teaches the access management server 200 may determine the validity of the security code based on the received terminal authentication information (S214). That is, the access management server 200 may compare the security code issued to the user terminal 300 with the security code included in the terminal authentication information to review the validity. Para[0075] teaches [0075] [The second password generated by the safety lock device 100 may be provided to the access management server 200 through the wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to the safety lock device.).
Regarding claim 8, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the method of claim 4, Scoggins further discloses wherein a first processing device is part of the management system (Para[0093] & Fig. 7 teaches the guest 724 can initiate communication, through the user device 114 to initiate the acquisition of security credentials, this includes initiating a check-in with the property, through the application program interface 720. The request is forwarded to the guest interface service 734 of the relevant property of interest and/or for which the guest has a reservation. The guest is authenticated and security credentials are generated through the security credentials server 716, which in turn forward the security credentials to the guest interface service 734. In some implementations, the guest interface service forwards the security credentials along with corresponding access and/or authentication information to the credentials distribution service 916, while further sending a notification through the application program interface 720 the guest's user device 114. For example, in some implementations, the application program interface 720 generates a push notification that the security credentials are available through the credentials distribution service 916), and a second processing device is part of a door lock system associated with a respective door (Para[0094] & Fig. 9 teaches in response, the user device 114 can communicate a request to the credentials distribution service 916 for the security credentials to the lock 112. In some instances, the request can be automatically initiated by the user device 114, while in other instances the guest has to initiate the request. The request typically includes authentication information and/or a series of communications between the user device and the credentials distribution service authenticating the user device and/or the user, which may require the guest 724 to enter information, such as a password, confirmation, or the like). The credentials distribution service 916 then distributes the credentials to the user device 114, which is used by the user device in unlocking the door lock system 112), and the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system, the method comprising (para[0107]-[0108] teaches FIG. 11 shows a simplified exemplary process 1110 of illustrating communications between components of a key distribution system (e.g., one or more of key distribution systems 110, 710 and/or 910 of FIGS. 1, 7 and 9, respectively) in distributing security credentials to a user device 114, in accordance with some embodiments. A guest initiates the acquisition of security credentials that can be utilized through the guest's user device 114. For example, in step 1112, the APP on the user device 114 obtains relevant reservation information maintained on the user device and/or readily accessible (e.g., from the reservation service 730): generating the first QR code, the first QR code image (Para[0101] teaches in step 1034 the security credentials server 716 (sometimes referred to as a key server) is activated, such as through an eKey request from the property management server, to generate relevant electronic security credentials., in some implementations, such communications are implemented through a network access layer 912. Again, in some embodiments, the security credentials server is located at the property. In step 1036, the security credentials server issues the security credentials. Further, the security credentials are typically incorporated within a communication packet to enhance security of the security credentials. Further protection schemes may be applied such as but not limited to encryption. In step 1040, the guest interface service 734 routes the security credentials to the credentials distribution service 916, which holds the security credentials safe until requested by the guest.), the second QR code, and the second QR code image, by the first processing device (para[0102] teaches the notification may include additional information such as authentication criteria, encryption keys, passwords or codes, and/or other such information to allow the user device to acquire the security credentials from the credentials distribution service 916. In step 1044, an eKey retrieval is activated, typically through a user selecting an option displayed through the user interface of the APP on the user device 114. This retrieval process typically includes direct communication between the user device 114 and the credentials distribution service 916, such as through the Internet, a cellular communication, or other such communication. Again, the communication may include encryption keys, authentication criteria, passwords and/or other such security measures); sending the first stored data and the second stored data to the door lock system option to open the door lock system. In some embodiments, the door lock system 112 includes a wireless communication receiver (e.g., Bluetooth radio) that communicates with the user device. Further, the door lock system may include a communications broker that receives the communication packet and can confirm the security and extract the security credentials to be forwarded to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220. Still further, in some implementations there is one or more communication exchanges between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112); receiving first data from the read first QR code image by the second processing device (para[0110] & Fig. 12 teaches process 1210 of illustrating communications between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112, In step 1212, a guest initiates an unlocking of the door. In step 1214, the user device (e.g., through the APP) initiates an unlock process or sequence. This can include a verification of the communication connection between the user device and the door lock system (e.g., verifying BLE enabled connection). In step 1216, a communication is established between the APP and the receiver 218 and/or broker of the door lock system (e.g., initiating a hand shake process between the user device and the target broker of the target lock system); comparing the first data to the first stored data, by the second processing device (Para[0111]-[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches in step 1218, the broker receives the connection request. In step 1220, confirms the communication connection (e.g., confirming the hand shake) and challenges the user device to authenticate itself. In step 1222, the user device, typically through the APP, responds to the challenge and secures the connection. In step 1224, the device authentication fails when the user device cannot be authenticated. Alternatively, when authenticated, a secure connection is established between the receiver 218 and the user device 114 in step 1226. In step 1228, the user device communicates the security credentials to the broker, which may extract relevant information and forward the security credentials to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220, or may simply forward the communications allowing the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 to obtain the security credentials. Para[0112] In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication); receiving second data from the read second QR code image by the processing device (Para[0065] teaches step 612, the user device 114 receives an instruction to communicate one or more security credentials to a door lock system 112 that is configured to unlock a lock of the door lock system on a door to a guest room that is reserved for the user if the one or more security credentials are verified); comparing the second read data to the second stored data, by the second processing device (Para[0111]-[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches in step 1218, the broker receives the connection request. In step 1220, confirms the communication connection (e.g., confirming the hand shake) and challenges the user device to authenticate itself. In step 1222, the user device, typically through the APP, responds to the challenge and secures the connection. In step 1224, the device authentication fails when the user device cannot be authenticated. Alternatively, when authenticated, a secure connection is established between the receiver 218 and the user device 114 in step 1226. In step 1228, the user device communicates the security credentials to the broker, which may extract relevant information and forward the security credentials to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220, or may simply forward the communications allowing the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 to obtain the security credentials. Para[0112] In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication); unlocking the lock of the door in response to the read first data matching the first stored data, by the door lock system; and unlocking the lock of the door in response to the read second data matching the first stored data. (para[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication)). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the method of claim 4, Scoggins further discloses, comprising generating the QR code by a processing device of a hotel management system of a hotel (Para[0050] FIG. 4 teaches process 410 of issuing and/or distributing security credentials or other such electronic keys (E-Key) to a portable user device 114, para[0062] & Fig. 5 teaches 510 of acquiring one or more security credentials or other such electronic keys (E-Key) through a user device 114 that will allow a user to gain access to a guest room). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the method of claim 9, Jang further discloses wherein: the first stored data each further the at least one item of information relating to the person comprises at least one item of personal identifying information of the person (para[0038]-[0039] that the password for opening the safety lock 100 corresponding to the terminal ID is QR code ID and authentication data. The access management server 200 may provide the generated QR code ID and authentication data to the user terminal 300 having a valid authority. Para[0043] teaches If the safety lock device 100 cannot recognize the QR code ID, the user terminal 300 may transmit the authentication data provided from the access management server 200 to the safety lock device 100. The authentication data transmitted by the user terminal 300 may be transmitted to a specific safety locking device 100. Para[0046] teaches the identity authentication server 400 may generate identity authentication information by analyzing the user information provided from the access management server 200. For example, if the user information includes a name, phone number, gender, and date of birth, the stored The user can be authenticated by comparing with the user information, and personal authentication information including the authentication result can be provided to the access management server 200.para[0064] teaches access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216). Para [0071] teaches Referring to FIG. 4 , the user terminal 300 may transmit the received authentication data to open the door to a plurality of safety locks randomly or to a specific safety lock through the short-distance communication module (S300). Para [0072] teaches the safety lock device 100 may read the first password by recognizing the authentication data received through the short-distance communication module (S310).] Para [0073] teaches if the generated first password and the read first password match, the safety locking device 100 may determine that the read first password is valid based on the authentication data).
Jang does not explicitly disclose and the second stored data each further the at least one item of information relating to the person comprises at least one item of personal identifying information of the person and/or information related to the hotel. However Scoggins discloses second stored data each further the at least one item of information relating to the person comprises at least one item of personal identifying information of the person and/or information related to the hotel (para[0057] teaches a guest often has a profile and the guest is validated using their unique user identifier (e.g., number, user name, or the like, or combinations of such) and typically a password. In some implementation, the log-in is achieved through a mobile application activated on the user device 114. Once authenticated the guest can access and/or retrieve relevant information (e.g., reservation information). Additional business validations may be done in an attempt to further ensure that the guest and the reservation are eligible to receive and use the one or more security credentials through the user device. For example, in some implementations a hotel service and/or server accessed over the Internet confirms the guest identification through a log-in process and confirms the user is authorized for remote check-in (e.g., through the guest's user device 114, computer or other such device) and/or to use the security credentials through the user device (e.g., use electronic key credentials, para[0069]-[0070] teaches user device 114 and/or a mobile application operating on the user device stores information regarding one or more reservations associated with the corresponding guest (e.g., each reservation is uniquely identified and filed in the mobile application). Further, each reservation will have a unique room number assigned (assuming a room has been assigned; however, in many instances a reservation may not have a room assigned for a reservation associated with a future date), and each room number will have its own key credentials. [0070] Further, some embodiments provide a user interface displayed on the user device 114 (e.g., through the mobile application) that distinguishes between rooms (e.g., will have a clear indication of the room number), and distinct credentials will be associated with each room. Further, in many implementations, a credential (or a single set of credentials intended to be used together) and/or the mobile application using the credential can open one room at the time. The visual display may be configured to show a visual display of the room number at the time of transmitting the credential. Para[0106] teaches . Further security measures may be included, such as a guest entering in a password, a room number, additional or alternative encryption, additional or alternative credentials or other such security measures, or combinations of such measures. ). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the method of claim 9 , Scoggins further comprising providing the first QR code image to the smart device in response to a request to check-in to the hotel made via an App on the smart device by the person (Para[0057] teaches a hotel service and/or server accessed over the Internet confirms the guest identification through a log-in process and confirms the user is authorized for remote check-in (e.g., through the guest's user device 114, computer or other such device) and/or to use the security credentials through the user device (e.g., use electronic key credentials) para[0064] teaches mobile application displays on the user device a check-in interface and the option to initiate the retrieval of the one or more security credentials may be displayed as an option to acquire an electronic key as part of the check-in interface and/or a check-in process implemented through the mobile application). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Jang discloses a system for allowing entry of a person through a door (Para[0008] teaches the access control method for allowing entry of a door by selecting only a user with a valid authority), the system comprising: a QR code reader or scanning device proximate the door (para[0042] teaches the user terminal 300 includes a display module, and can display the QR code ID provided from the access management server 200 through the display module. Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)).; a door lock system attached to the door (Para[0019] teaches Safety locking device 100 is a device that is attached to the outside of a door or building to receive a password to control the opening and closing of the door); at least one processing device configured to: provide a first QR code image to a smart device of the person for storage on the smart device Para[0013] teaches it is possible to provide the right to open the door by selecting only users who have QR code ID or authentication data. Para[0023] teaches [0023] teaches The safety lock device 100 includes a camera module, and can photograph the outside through the camera module. In particular, the safety lock device 100 may recognize a password by scanning a barcode, for example, a two-dimensional barcode, a three-dimensional barcode, etc. through the camera module. [0024] teaches Since the safety lock device 100 is a device for allowing the entrance of the door by selecting only users with valid authority, the door can be opened only when the password recognized through the camera module is valid. Para[0038] teaches the password for opening the safety lock 100 corresponding to the terminal ID is QR code ID and authentication data. Here, the QR code ID is a password generated in the form of a QR code, the authentication data is an electronic file including a password, and the password is generated by the safety lock device 100 and stored in the access management server 200. Para[0044] teaches User terminal 300 is PC (personal computer), smart phone (smart phone), tablet (tablet) PC, mobile internet device (mobile internet device (MID), Para[0055] teaches to store the security code as valid information, the user terminal 300 may receive and store the password for reading the security code from the user (S150)), the QR code image being based on first stored data Para[0064] teaches When it is determined that the terminal authentication information is valid as a result of analyzing the terminal authentication information, the access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216).Para[0065] [The user terminal 300 may display the received QR code ID to open the door through the display module. For example, when a user executes an application, the user terminal 300 may display a QR code ID through the display module (S220). And, the user terminal 300 may store the authentication data in the authentication data storage device (S222)); receive first read data from the QR code reader or scanning device (Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)): compare the first read data with the first stored data; cause the door lock system to unlock the door in response to the first read data matching the first stored data Para [0067] teaches if the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228)); and provide a second QR code image to the smart device for unlocking the door in response to unlocking the door based on the first QR code image, for storage on the smart device, the second QR code image second stored data different from the first stored data (Para[0022] teaches For example, when the user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password. P), the second QR code image being the second stored data being different from the first stored data (para[0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used, para[0075] teaches the second password generated by the safety lock device 100 may be provided to the access management server 200 through the wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to the safety lock device,
Jang does not explicitly disclose at least in part, the second stored data comprising at least one item of information relating to the person. However Scoggins discloses at least in part, the second stored data comprising at least one item of information relating to the person (Para[0070] teaches provide a user interface displayed on the user device 114 (e.g., through the mobile application) that distinguishes between rooms (e.g., will have a clear indication of the room number), and distinct credentials will be associated with each room. Further, in many implementations, a credential (or a single set of credentials intended to be used together) and/or the mobile application using the credential can open one room at the time. The visual display may be configured to show a visual display of the room number at the time of transmitting the credential, a credential (or set of credentials) automatically expires, such as when a guest checks out, on the day of the guest is scheduled to depart, or the like. Additionally or alternatively, some embodiments distribute (e.g., via a cellular communication) one or more push notifications that are sent to the mobile user device 114 to cause the user device to delete the credential and/or cause the credential to expire. This push notification can be implemented, for example, when the credentials have to be refreshed (in a scenario of room changes), upon check out, or the like. Further, the old credentials will automatically be removed and/or expire in response to the refresh). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method in which the security credential is acquired that is intended to be validated by a door lock system of door to the identified guest room. The first security credentials are caused to be communicated over network, to a portable consumer electronic user device associated with user to be stored on the user device, such that user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room of Scoggins in order to provide a system in which user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room, the guests are provided with the capability to use their user devices to unlock doors and the incidence of key cards being lost by guests is reduced and the resulting additional activities on both the guest and the property staff to create and/or obtain replacement can be avoided.
Regarding claim 13, Jang discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the at least one processing device is further configured to: generate a first QR code; generate the first QR code image based on the generated QR code Para[0064] teaches When it is determined that the terminal authentication information is valid as a result of analyzing the terminal authentication information, the access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216).Para[0065] [The user terminal 300 may display the received QR code ID to open the door through the display module. For example, when a user executes an application, the user terminal 300 may display a QR code ID through the display module (S220). And, the user terminal 300 may store the authentication data in the authentication data storage device (S222)); generate a second QR code by the processing device; and generate the second QR code image based on the generated QR code (Para[0021] teaches the safety lock device 100 may generate a new password every time a valid password is input by a specific user and the door is opened and provide it to the access management server 200, Para[0022] teaches For example, when the user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password. Para [0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224). Para[0067] teaches If the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228). Para [0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used. Thus, it can be provided to the access management server 200 through a wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to a safety lock (S230). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Regarding claim 14, Jang discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the at least one processing device is configured to: generate the first QR code based on a first, unique, one-time key, wherein the first stored data comprises the first, unique, one-time key (Para[0022] teaches user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password); and generate the second QR code based on a second, unique, one-time key, wherein the second stored data comprises the first, second unique, one-time key (Para[0074] teaches the safety lock device 100 is a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have valid authority to enter and exit because the authentication data and QR code ID used once are continuously used. can be generated and provided to the access management server 200 (S330). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Regarding claim 15, Jang discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the at least one processing device is configured to: generate the first QR code based on the first, unique, one-time key and at least one item of personal identifying information of the person, wherein the first stored data further comprises the at least one item of information relating to the person (para[0038]-[0039] teaches password for opening the safety lock 100 corresponding to the terminal ID is QR code ID and authentication data. The access management server 200 may provide the generated QR code ID and authentication data to the user terminal 300 having a valid authority. Para[0043] teaches If the safety lock device 100 cannot recognize the QR code ID, the user terminal 300 may transmit the authentication data provided from the access management server 200 to the safety lock device 100. The authentication data transmitted by the user terminal 300 may be transmitted to a specific safety locking device 100. Para[0046] teaches the identity authentication server 400 may generate identity authentication information by analyzing the user information provided from the access management server 200. For example, if the user information includes a name, phone number, gender, and date of birth, the stored The user can be authenticated by comparing with the user information, and personal authentication information including the authentication result can be provided to the access management server 200.para[0064] teaches access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216). Para [0071] teaches Referring to FIG. 4 , the user terminal 300 may transmit the received authentication data to open the door to a plurality of safety locks randomly or to a specific safety lock through the short-distance communication module (S300). Para [0072] teaches the safety lock device 100 may read the first password by recognizing the authentication data received through the short-distance communication module (S310).] Para [0073] teaches if the generated first password and the read first password match, the safety locking device 100 may determine that the read first password is valid based on the authentication data).
Regarding claim 17, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the system of claim 14, Scoggins further discloses wherein: a first of the at least one processing devices is part of a management system, the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system (Para[0093] & Fig. 7 teaches the guest 724 can initiate communication, through the user device 114 to initiate the acquisition of security credentials, this includes initiating a check-in with the property, through the application program interface 720. The request is forwarded to the guest interface service 734 of the relevant property of interest and/or for which the guest has a reservation. The guest is authenticated and security credentials are generated through the security credentials server 716, which in turn forward the security credentials to the guest interface service 734. In some implementations, the guest interface service forwards the security credentials along with corresponding access and/or authentication information to the credentials distribution service 916, while further sending a notification through the application program interface 720 the guest's user device 114. For example, in some implementations, the application program interface 720 generates a push notification that the security credentials are available through the credentials distribution service 916t); and a second of the at least one processing devices is part of the door lock system (Para[0094] & Fig. 9 teaches in response, the user device 114 can communicate a request to the credentials distribution service 916 for the security credentials to the lock 112. In some instances, the request can be automatically initiated by the user device 114, while in other instances the guest has to initiate the request. The request typically includes authentication information and/or a series of communications between the user device and the credentials distribution service authenticating the user device and/or the user, which may require the guest 724 to enter information, such as a password, confirmation, or the like). The credentials distribution service 916 then distributes the credentials to the user device 114, which is used by the user device in unlocking the door lock system 112); the second processing device is configured to: send first data from the read first QR code image, to the management system, via a network (Para[0101] teaches in step 1034 the security credentials server 716 (sometimes referred to as a key server) is activated, such as through an eKey request from the property management server, to generate relevant electronic security credentials., in some implementations, such communications are implemented through a network access layer 912. Again, in some embodiments, the security credentials server is located at the property. In step 1036, the security credentials server issues the security credentials. Further, the security credentials are typically incorporated within a communication packet to enhance security of the security credentials. Further protection schemes may be applied such as but not limited to encryption. In step 1040, the guest interface service 734 routes the security credentials to the credentials distribution service 916, which holds the security credentials safe until requested by the guest); and unlock the door under the control of the first processing device; and the first processing device is configured to: receive the first data from the second processing device (Para[0103] teaches APP applies additional security procedures to the stored security credentials. In step 1048, the guest 724 can then use the security credentials in unlocking the door lock system 112, which are typically packaged into a wireless communication packet with added security and/or authentication. For example, the guest may use the same APP or a different APP and select an option to open the door lock system. In some embodiments, the door lock system 112 includes a wireless communication receiver (e.g., Bluetooth radio) that communicates with the user device. Further, the door lock system may include a communications broker that receives the communication packet and can confirm the security and extract the security credentials to be forwarded to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220. Still further, in some implementations there is one or more communication exchanges between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112); compare the received first data to the first stored data; instruct the second processing device to unlock the door based on the first comparison, via the network (para[0110]-[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches process 1210 of illustrating communications between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112, In step 1212, a guest initiates an unlocking of the door, Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication); receive second read data from the read second QR code image (para[0110] & Fig. 12 teaches In step 1214, the user device (e.g., through the APP) initiates an unlock process or sequence. This can include a verification of the communication connection between the user device and the door lock system (e.g., verifying BLE enabled connection). In step 1216, a communication is established between the APP and the receiver 218 and/or broker of the door lock system (e.g., initiating a hand shake process between the user device and the target broker of the target lock system); compare the second data to the second stored data, by the processing device (Para[0111]-[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches in step 1218, the broker receives the connection request. In step 1220, confirms the communication connection (e.g., confirming the hand shake) and challenges the user device to authenticate itself. In step 1222, the user device, typically through the APP, responds to the challenge and secures the connection. In step 1224, the device authentication fails when the user device cannot be authenticated. Alternatively, when authenticated, a secure connection is established between the receiver 218 and the user device 114 in step 1226. In step 1228, the user device communicates the security credentials to the broker, which may extract relevant information and forward the security credentials to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220, or may simply forward the communications allowing the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 to obtain the security credentials. Para[0112] In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication); and instruct the second processing device to unlock the door based on the second comparison, via the network (para[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication)). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 12.
Regarding claim 18, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the system of claim 14, Scoggins further discloses wherein: a first processing device is part of a management system and the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system (Para[0093] & Fig. 7 teaches the guest 724 can initiate communication, through the user device 114 to initiate the acquisition of security credentials, this includes initiating a check-in with the property, through the application program interface 720. The request is forwarded to the guest interface service 734 of the relevant property of interest and/or for which the guest has a reservation. The guest is authenticated and security credentials are generated through the security credentials server 716, which in turn forward the security credentials to the guest interface service 734. In some implementations, the guest interface service forwards the security credentials along with corresponding access and/or authentication information to the credentials distribution service 916, while further sending a notification through the application program interface 720 the guest's user device 114. For example, in some implementations, the application program interface 720 generates a push notification that the security credentials are available through the credentials distribution service 916); and a second processing device is part of the door lock system associated with a respective door (Para[0094] & Fig. 9 teaches in response, the user device 114 can communicate a request to the credentials distribution service 916 for the security credentials to the lock 112. In some instances, the request can be automatically initiated by the user device 114, while in other instances the guest has to initiate the request. The request typically includes authentication information and/or a series of communications between the user device and the credentials distribution service authenticating the user device and/or the user, which may require the guest 724 to enter information, such as a password, confirmation, or the like). The credentials distribution service 916 then distributes the credentials to the user device 114, which is used by the user device in unlocking the door lock system 112); the first processing device being configured to (para[0107]-[018] teaches FIG. 11 shows a simplified exemplary process 1110 of illustrating communications between components of a key distribution system (e.g., one or more of key distribution systems 110, 710 and/or 910 of FIGS. 1, 7 and 9, respectively) in distributing security credentials to a user device 114, in accordance with some embodiments. A guest initiates the acquisition of security credentials that can be utilized through the guest's user device 114. For example, in step 1112, the APP on the user device 114 obtains relevant reservation information maintained on the user device and/or readily accessible (e.g., from the reservation service 730): generate the first QR code, the first QR code image (Para[0101] teaches in step 1034 the security credentials server 716 (sometimes referred to as a key server) is activated, such as through an eKey request from the property management server, to generate relevant electronic security credentials., in some implementations, such communications are implemented through a network access layer 912. Again, in some embodiments, the security credentials server is located at the property. In step 1036, the security credentials server issues the security credentials. Further, the security credentials are typically incorporated within a communication packet to enhance security of the security credentials. Further protection schemes may be applied such as but not limited to encryption. In step 1040, the guest interface service 734 routes the security credentials to the credentials distribution service 916, which holds the security credentials safe until requested by the guest.), the second QR code, and the second QR code image (para[0102] teaches the notification may include additional information such as authentication criteria, encryption keys, passwords or codes, and/or other such information to allow the user device to acquire the security credentials from the credentials distribution service 916. In step 1044, an eKey retrieval is activated, typically through a user selecting an option displayed through the user interface of the APP on the user device 114. This retrieval process typically includes direct communication between the user device 114 and the credentials distribution service 916, such as through the Internet, a cellular communication, or other such communication. Again, the communication may include encryption keys, authentication criteria, passwords and/or other such security measures); send the first stored data and the second stored data to the door lock system (Para[0103] teaches APP applies additional security procedures to the stored security credentials. In step 1048, the guest 724 can then use the security credentials in unlocking the door lock system 112, which are typically packaged into a wireless communication packet with added security and/or authentication. For example, the guest may use the same APP or a different APP and select an option to open the door lock system. In some embodiments, the door lock system 112 includes a wireless communication receiver (e.g., Bluetooth radio) that communicates with the user device. Further, the door lock system may include a communications broker that receives the communication packet and can confirm the security and extract the security credentials to be forwarded to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220. Still further, in some implementations there is one or more communication exchanges between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112); and the second processing device is configured to: receive first data from the read first QR code image (para[0110] & Fig. 12 teaches process 1210 of illustrating communications between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112, In step 1212, a guest initiates an unlocking of the door. In step 1214, the user device (e.g., through the APP) initiates an unlock process or sequence. This can include a verification of the communication connection between the user device and the door lock system (e.g., verifying BLE enabled connection). In step 1216, a communication is established between the APP and the receiver 218 and/or broker of the door lock system (e.g., initiating a hand shake process between the user device and the target broker of the target lock system); compare the first read data to the first stored data cause the door lock system to unlock the lock of the door in response to the read first data matching the first stored data (Para[0111]-[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches in step 1218, the broker receives the connection request. In step 1220, confirms the communication connection (e.g., confirming the hand shake) and challenges the user device to authenticate itself. In step 1222, the user device, typically through the APP, responds to the challenge and secures the connection. In step 1224, the device authentication fails when the user device cannot be authenticated. Alternatively, when authenticated, a secure connection is established between the receiver 218 and the user device 114 in step 1226. In step 1228, the user device communicates the security credentials to the broker, which may extract relevant information and forward the security credentials to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220, or may simply forward the communications allowing the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 to obtain the security credentials, tentatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication); receive second read data from the read second QR code image; compare the second read data to the second stored data (Para[0112] In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication); and cause the door lock system to unlock the lock of the door in response to the read second data matching the second stored data (para[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication)). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 12.
Regarding claim 19, Jang discloses the system of claim 14, the one processing device being configured to: generate the first QR code based on a first, unique, one-time key and at least one item of information of related to the person (Para[0022] teaches user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password); wherein the first stored data comprises the first, unique, one-time key and the at least one item of information of related to the person para[0038]-[0039] that the password for opening the safety lock 100 corresponding to the terminal ID is QR code ID and authentication data. The access management server 200 may provide the generated QR code ID and authentication data to the user terminal 300 having a valid authority. Para[0043] teaches If the safety lock device 100 cannot recognize the QR code ID, the user terminal 300 may transmit the authentication data provided from the access management server 200 to the safety lock device 100. The authentication data transmitted by the user terminal 300 may be transmitted to a specific safety locking device 100. Para[0046] teaches the identity authentication server 400 may generate identity authentication information by analyzing the user information provided from the access management server 200. For example, if the user information includes a name, phone number, gender, and date of birth, the stored The user can be authenticated by comparing with the user information, and personal authentication information including the authentication result can be provided to the access management server 200.para[0064] teaches access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216). Para [0071] teaches Referring to FIG. 4 , the user terminal 300 may transmit the received authentication data to open the door to a plurality of safety locks randomly or to a specific safety lock through the short-distance communication module (S300). Para [0072] teaches the safety lock device 100 may read the first password by recognizing the authentication data received through the short-distance communication module (S310).] Para [0073] teaches if the generated first password and the read first password match, the safety locking device 100 may determine that the read first password is valid based on the authentication data); and generate the second QR code based on a second, unique, one-time key, wherein the second stored data comprises the second unique, one-time key (Para[0074] teaches the safety lock device 100 is a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have valid authority to enter and exit because the authentication data and QR code ID used once are continuously used. can be generated and provided to the access management server 200 (S330). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Jang does not explicitly disclose and generate the second QR code and at least one item of information of relating to the person; wherein the second stored data comprises at least one item of information relating to the person; wherein the at least one item of information related to the person comprises personal information of the person and/or information related to the hotel, However Scoggins disclose and generate the second QR code and at least one item of information of relating to the person; wherein the second stored data comprises at least one item of information relating to the person (para[0057] teaches a guest often has a profile and the guest is validated using their unique user identifier (e.g., number, user name, or the like, or combinations of such) and typically a password. In some implementation, the log-in is achieved through a mobile application activated on the user device 114. Once authenticated the guest can access and/or retrieve relevant information (e.g., reservation information). Additional business validations may be done in an attempt to further ensure that the guest and the reservation are eligible to receive and use the one or more security credentials through the user device. For example, in some implementations a hotel service and/or server accessed over the Internet confirms the guest identification through a log-in process and confirms the user is authorized for remote check-in (e.g., through the guest's user device 114, computer or other such device) and/or to use the security credentials through the user device (e.g., use electronic key credentials,.; ; wherein the at least one item of information related to the person comprises personal information of the person and/or information related to the hotel, (para[0069]-[0070] teaches user device 114 and/or a mobile application operating on the user device stores information regarding one or more reservations associated with the corresponding guest (e.g., each reservation is uniquely identified and filed in the mobile application). Further, each reservation will have a unique room number assigned (assuming a room has been assigned; however, in many instances a reservation may not have a room assigned for a reservation associated with a future date), and each room number will have its own key credentials. [0070] Further, some embodiments provide a user interface displayed on the user device 114 (e.g., through the mobile application) that distinguishes between rooms (e.g., will have a clear indication of the room number), and distinct credentials will be associated with each room. Further, in many implementations, a credential (or a single set of credentials intended to be used together) and/or the mobile application using the credential can open one room at the time. The visual display may be configured to show a visual display of the room number at the time of transmitting the credential. Para[0106] teaches . Further security measures may be included, such as a guest entering in a password, a room number, additional or alternative encryption, additional or alternative credentials or other such security measures, or combinations of such measures). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 12.
Regarding claim 20, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the method of claim 12, Scoggins discloses further comprising providing the first QR code image to the smart device in response to a request to check-in to the hotel made via an App on the smart device by the person (Para[0057] teaches a hotel service and/or server accessed over the Internet confirms the guest identification through a log-in process and confirms the user is authorized for remote check-in (e.g., through the guest's user device 114, computer or other such device) and/or to use the security credentials through the user device (e.g., use electronic key credentials) para[0064] teaches mobile application displays on the user device a check-in interface and the option to initiate the retrieval of the one or more security credentials may be displayed as an option to acquire an electronic key as part of the check-in interface and/or a check-in process implemented through the mobile application). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Scoggins further discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the information related to the person comprises information related to the hotel (para[0057] teaches some implementations a hotel service and/or server accessed over the Internet confirms the guest identification through a log-in process and confirms the user is authorized for remote check-in (e.g., through the guest's user device 114, computer or other such device) and/or to use the security credentials through the user device (e.g., use electronic key credentials). Still further, some embodiments authenticate the user device 114. For example, a guest logged into her/his account can register one or more user devices 114 so that the user device(s) is associated with the guest. Para[0069]-[0070] teaches user device 114 and/or a mobile application operating on the user device stores information regarding one or more reservations associated with the corresponding guest (e.g., each reservation is uniquely identified and filed in the mobile application). Further, each reservation will have a unique room number assigned (assuming a room has been assigned; however, in many instances a reservation may not have a room assigned for a reservation associated with a future date), and each room number will have its own key credentials. Further, some embodiments provide a user interface displayed on the user device 114 (e.g., through the mobile application) that distinguishes between rooms (e.g., will have a clear indication of the room number), and distinct credentials will be associated with each room. Further, in many implementations, a credential (or a single set of credentials intended to be used together) and/or the mobile application using the credential can open one room at the time. The visual display may be configured to show a visual display of the room number at the time of transmitting the credential). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 12.
Regarding claim 22, Scoggins further discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the information related to the person comprises information related to the hotel (para[0069]-[0070] teaches user device 114 and/or a mobile application operating on the user device stores information regarding one or more reservations associated with the corresponding guest (e.g., each reservation is uniquely identified and filed in the mobile application). Further, each reservation will have a unique room number assigned (assuming a room has been assigned; however, in many instances a reservation may not have a room assigned for a reservation associated with a future date), and each room number will have its own key credentials. Further, some embodiments provide a user interface displayed on the user device 114 (e.g., through the mobile application) that distinguishes between rooms (e.g., will have a clear indication of the room number), and distinct credentials will be associated with each room. Further, in many implementations, a credential (or a single set of credentials intended to be used together) and/or the mobile application using the credential can open one room at the time. The visual display may be configured to show a visual display of the room number at the time of transmitting the credential. Para[0106] teaches . Further security measures may be included, such as a guest entering in a password, a room number, additional or alternative encryption, additional or alternative credentials or other such security measures, or combinations of such measures). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1.
11. Claims 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ang et al. (KR 20220012148 A) (machine translation attached in view of Scoggins et al. (US 2015/0199863 A1) and Eyring et al. (US 2016/0180620 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the method of claim 1, Jang further discloses wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera and reading the QR code image comprises (Para[0023] teaches the safety lock device 100 includes a camera module, and can photograph the outside through the camera module. In particular, the safety lock device 100 may recognize a password by scanning a barcode, for example, a two-dimensional barcode, a three-dimensional barcode, etc. through the camera module); the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence (Para[0024] teaches since the safety lock device 100 is a device for allowing the entrance of the door by selecting only users with valid authority, the door can be opened only when the password recognized through the camera module is valid).
Jang in view of Scoggins does not explicitly disclose detecting a presence in front of the door; and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence. However Eyring discloses detecting a presence in front of the door (para[0064] teaches an image capture, such as a camera, may be located proximate an entry to a residence and may detect motion occurring within a pre-determined distance from the image capture device); and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence (para[0107] teaches the card reader may include a camera capable of detecting and transmitting the short-term entry code to the redemption module 510. The redemption module 510 may review the limited access parameters contained within the short-term entry code and determine if the parameters are satisfied. para[0155] teaches system 1100 may include a doorbell camera 1105 which may be an example of one or more aspects of a card reader 155 described with reference to FIG. 1. The doorbell camera 1105 may include aspects of the card reader but be further equipped with the ability to detect more than just a card proximate an entry to a home, Para[0160] teaches The sensing unit 1205 may comprise a proximity card reader, smart card reader, Wiegand card, Magnetic strip, barcode, photo ID reader, access control card reader, some combination thereof, or the like. The sensing unit 1205 may additionally comprise a camera unit. In some embodiments, a motion sensor 1220 may be proximate the sensing unit 1205. Activation of the motion sensor 1220 may activate the sensing unit 1205, microphone 1215, and/or speaker 1210). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang in view of Scoggins with the method for reading a card or other elements through a reader located proximate a residence in security and/or automation system of Eyring in order to provide a system that enables fraud alert, thus resulting transmission of a message to a user of a potential fraud proximate a residence and alerting the user that a heightened security state is established by an automation system
Regarding claim 16, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera, the system further comprising; the camera to read the QR code image. Jang does not explicitly disclose a proximity sensor to detect a presence in front of the door wherein the at least one processing device is configured to turn on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence by the proximity sensor. However Eyring discloses a proximity sensor to detect a presence in front of the door (para[0064] teaches an image capture, such as a camera, may be located proximate an entry to a residence and may detect motion occurring within a pre-determined distance from the image capture device): wherein the at least one processing device is configured to turn on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence by the proximity sensor (para[0107] teaches the card reader may include a camera capable of detecting and transmitting the short-term entry code to the redemption module 510. The redemption module 510 may review the limited access parameters contained within the short-term entry code and determine if the parameters are satisfied. para[0155] teaches system 1100 may include a doorbell camera 1105 which may be an example of one or more aspects of a card reader 155 described with reference to FIG. 1. The doorbell camera 1105 may include aspects of the card reader but be further equipped with the ability to detect more than just a card proximate an entry to a home, Para[0160] teaches The sensing unit 1205 may comprise a proximity card reader, smart card reader, Wiegand card, Magnetic strip, barcode, photo ID reader, access control card reader, some combination thereof, or the like. The sensing unit 1205 may additionally comprise a camera unit. In some embodiments, a motion sensor 1220 may be proximate the sensing unit 1205. Activation of the motion sensor 1220 may activate the sensing unit 1205, microphone 1215, and/or speaker 1210). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang in view of Scoggins with the method for reading a card or other elements through a reader located proximate a residence in security and/or automation system of Eyring in order to provide a system that enables fraud alert, thus resulting transmission of a message to a user of a potential fraud proximate a residence and alerting the user that a heightened security state is established by an automation system
Conclusion
12. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425