This office action is in response to application filed 10/08/2024 in which the claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/02/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4, 14, 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites: The method of claim 3, comprising: generating the first QR code…..
and generating the second QR code based on a second, unique, one-time key, wherein the second stored data comprises the first, second unique, one-time key. Similar limitations are present in claims 14, 19.
Specification: Para [0047] recites to improve security, the method 500 may then return to Step 506, where the HMS 402 generates a new unique key, appends it to the previously generated JSON string, and generates a new one-time use QR code string and QR code image, in Step 506. Examiner interprets the new unique key as the second, unique, one-time key and hence second stored data comprises only second unique, one-time key and not first, second unique, one-time key as claimed in claims 4, 14, 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22-23, 25, 27, 29 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,167,174 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is anticipated by the conflicting patented claim 1 as shown in the table below. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim.
Instant application:18/909,825
Patent No.: US 12,167,174 B2
1. A method for allowing entry of a person through a door, comprising: providing a first QR code image for unlocking the
door to a smart device of the person for storage on the smart device, the first QR code image being based on first stored data; reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device; unlocking a lock of a door in response to the read data matching the first stored data; and providing a new QR code image for unlocking the door to the smart device in response to unlocking the door based on the first QR code image, for storage on the smart device, the new QR code image being based, at least in part, on second stored data different from the first stored data.
22. A method for allowing a guest to enter a room of a hotel, comprising: generating a QR code by a first processing device of a hotel management system based on a unique, one-time key; generating a QR code image including the QR code, by the first processing device; providing the QR code image to a smart device of the guest for storage on the smart device; reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device by a QR code reader or scanning device; comparing data in the read QR code image to stored data; unlocking a lock of the door if the data matches the stored data including the unique, one-time key; and if the door has been unlocked, providing a new QR code image to the smart device for storage on the smart device of the guest.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device by a QR code reader or scanning device.
27. The method of claim 22, wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera and reading the QR code image comprises: detecting a presence in front of the door by a proximity sensor; and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence by the proximity sensor.
4. The method of claim 3, comprising: generating the first QR code based on a first, unique, one-time key, wherein the first stored data comprises the first, unique, one-time key; and generating the second QR code based on a second, unique, one-time key, wherein the second stored data comprises the first, second unique, one-time key.
23. The method of claim 22, further comprising: generating the unique, one-time key by the first processing device; storing the unique key by the first processing device, in storage of the hotel management system; and providing the QR code image to the smart device by the first processing device, via a network.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera and reading the QR code image comprises: detecting a presence in front of the door; and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence.
27. The method of claim 22, wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera and reading the QR code image comprises: detecting a presence in front of the door by a proximity sensor; and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence by the proximity sensor.
9. The method of claim 4, comprising generating the QR code by a processing device of a hotel management system of a hotel.
22. A method for allowing a guest to enter a room of a hotel, comprising: generating a QR code by a first processing device of a hotel management system based on a unique,…..(CON)
10. The method of claim 9, wherein: the first stored data and the second stored data each further comprise at least one item of personal identifying information of the person and/or information related to the hotel.
29. The method of claim 28, wherein the at least one item of personal identifying information of the guest is a name of the guest, an address of the guest, and/or a phone number of the guest, and comparing comprises: comparing the unique key and the at least one data item to the stored data
11. The method of claim 9, further comprising providing the first QR code image to the smart device in response to a request to check-in to the hotel made via an App on the smart device by the person.
25. The method of claim 23, further comprising providing the QR code image to the smart device in response to a request to check-in to the hotel made via an App on the smart device by the guest.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specification para[0020] recites when the guest approaches the assigned room, the guest displays the QR code on the smart device to the door lock.. The door lock system is configured to decode the QR code image using computer vision, for example, and to compare data in the decoded QR code image to the data provided by the HMS when the guest checked in. If the decoded QR code image matches the data received from the HMS, the door is unlocked, and the guest may enter the room. Since the QR code image includes multiple pieces of information, all of which much match, the door lock in this example performs a multi-factor authentication process that improves the guest’s security. To further improve security, the HMS may generate a new QR code image and send it to the guest’s smart device and the door lock of the guest’s room each time the guest leaves the room, daily, periodically, when requested by the guest, and/or at other times.
para [0021] recites In another example of this embodiment, the door lock system sends the data in the QR code image to the HMS or to the cloud, which compares it to the data in the QR code image generated by the HMS. The data in the QR code image may be in the form of a QR code string, for example. If the data matches, the HMS instructs the door lock system to open the door. In this example, the HMS need not send the QR code string or data in the QR code string to the door lock system for performing the comparison.
para [0049] recites Instead of locally verifying the QR code image on the guest’s smart device 410 by the door lock system 100, 302, the door lock system may send the data in the read QR code to the HMS 402 or to the cloud 426 for verification, via the network 412. The HMS 402 or processing in the cloud 426 would then compare the received data to the information in the JSON string or the QR code string generated by the HMS 402 or to the information stored in the database(s) 406, as in Steps 516 and 518. If there is a match, then the HMS 402 would send a message to the CPU/GPU 202 of the door lock system 100, 302 to cause the door lock system to open, as in Step 520, via the network 412.
Hence Para[0020] teaches of the compare data in the decoded QR code image to the data provided by the HMS when the guest checked in at the door lock system. Para[0021], [0049] teaches of comparison in HMS or cloud which compares it to the data in the QR code image generated by the HMS 402 or to the cloud 426 for verification
Thus the support in speciation is compare the received data to the stored data in either door lock system or HMS, however claims 8, 17-18 recites limitations/subject matter “ send the first stored data and the second stored data to the door lock system; and the second processing device is configured to: receive first data from the read first QR code image; compare the first read data to the first stored data; receive second read data from the read second QR code image; compare the second read data to the second stored data; and cause the door lock system to unlock a lock of a door in response to the read first data and read second data matching the first stored data and the second stored data, respectively”. Hence these limitations/subject matter in claims 8, 17-18 are not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (KR 20220012148 A) (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a method for allowing entry of a person through a door (Para[0008] teaches the access control method for allowing entry of a door by selecting only a user with a valid authority), comprising: providing a first QR code image for unlocking the door to a smart device of the person for storage on the smart device (Para[0013] teaches it is possible to provide the right to open the door by selecting only users who have QR code ID or authentication data. Para[0023] teaches [0023] teaches The safety lock device 100 includes a camera module, and can photograph the outside through the camera module. In particular, the safety lock device 100 may recognize a password by scanning a barcode, for example, a two-dimensional barcode, a three-dimensional barcode, etc. through the camera module. [0024] teaches Since the safety lock device 100 is a device for allowing the entrance of the door by selecting only users with valid authority, the door can be opened only when the password recognized through the camera module is valid. Para[0038] teaches the password for opening the safety lock 100 corresponding to the terminal ID is QR code ID and authentication data. Here, the QR code ID is a password generated in the form of a QR code, the authentication data is an electronic file including a password, and the password is generated by the safety lock device 100 and stored in the access management server 200. Para[0044] teaches User terminal 300 is PC (personal computer), smart phone (smart phone), tablet (tablet) PC, mobile internet device (mobile internet device (MID), Para[0055] teaches to store the security code as valid information, the user terminal 300 may receive and store the password for reading the security code from the user (S150)) the first QR code image being based on first stored data (Para[0064] teaches When it is determined that the terminal authentication information is valid as a result of analyzing the terminal authentication information, the access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216).Para[0065] [The user terminal 300 may display the received QR code ID to open the door through the display module. For example, when a user executes an application, the user terminal 300 may display a QR code ID through the display module (S220). And, the user terminal 300 may store the authentication data in the authentication data storage device (S222)); reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device (Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)); unlocking a lock of a door in response to the read data matching the first stored data (Para[0023]-[0024] teaches the safety lock device 100 includes a camera module, and can photograph the outside through the camera module. In particular, the safety lock device 100 may recognize a password by scanning a barcode. Since the safety lock device 100 is a device for allowing the entrance of the door by selecting only users with valid authority, the door can be opened only when the password recognized through the camera module is valid); and providing a new QR code image for unlocking the door to the smart device in response to unlocking the door based on the first QR code image, for storage on the smart device, the new QR code image being based, at least in part, on second stored data different from the first stored data (Para[0021] teaches the safety lock device 100 may generate a new password every time a valid password is input by a specific user and the door is opened and provide it to the access management server 200, Para[0022] teaches For example, when the user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password. Para [0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224). Para[0067] teaches If the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228). Para[0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used. Thus, it can be provided to the access management server 200 through a wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to a safety lock (S230). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising reading the stored QR code image displayed by the smart device by a QR code reader or scanning device (para[0042] teaches the user terminal 300 includes a display module, and can display the QR code ID provided from the access management server 200 through the display module. Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)).
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a first QR code by a processing device (Para[0058] & FIG. 3, teaches the safety locking device 100 may generate a first password for opening the door and provide it to the access management server 200 (S200), and the access management server 200 may use the first password. You can save your password. At this time, if there is an already stored password, the access management server 200 may replace the first password with a new password and store it. Para[0064] teaches When it is determined that the terminal authentication information is valid as a result of analyzing the terminal authentication information, the access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216)); generating the first QR code image based on the generated QR code, by the processing device (Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)); generating a second QR code by the processing device (Para [0067] teaches if the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228)); and generating the second QR code image based on the generated QR code, by the processing device (Para[0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used, para[0075] teaches the second password generated by the safety lock device 100 may be provided to the access management server 200 through the wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to the safety lock device).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses the method of claim 3, comprising: generating the first QR code based on a first, unique, one-time key, wherein the first stored data comprises the first, unique, one-time key (Para[0022] teaches user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password); and generating the second QR code based on a second, unique, one-time key, wherein the second stored data comprises the first, second unique, one-time key (Para[0074] teaches the safety lock device 100 is a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have valid authority to enter and exit because the authentication data and QR code ID used once are continuously used. can be generated and provided to the access management server 200 (S330). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses the method of claim 4, wherein: generating the first QR code based on the first, unique, one-time key and at least one item of personal identifying information of the person, the first stored data further comprising the at least one item of personal identifying information of the person (Para[0037] teaches A security code can be issued to all users who are authenticated based on the personal authentication information provided by, the right to open the safety lock 100 after determining whether the user's gender or a specific group belongs to the user's gender or a specific group by comparing the terminal ID and the security code at the time of later opening the safety lock 100 may be given, para[0046] teaches [0046] [The identity authentication server 400 may generate identity authentication information by analyzing the user information provided from the access management server 200. For example, if the user information includes a name, phone number, gender, and date of birth, the stored The user can be authenticated by comparing with the user information, and personal authentication information including the authentication result can be provided to the access management server 200); and generating the second QR code based on the second, unique, one-time key and the at least one item of personal identifying information of the person, the second stored data further comprising the at least one item of personal identifying information of the person (Para[0052] teaches the identity authentication server 400 may receive user information from the access management server 200 and authenticate the selected user information (S120). The self-authentication server 400 compares the name, gender, date of birth, phone number, etc. included in the user information with pre-stored user information to authenticate as a valid user, and transmits the personal authentication information including the authenticated information to the access management server It can be provided to (200) (S130). Para[0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used. Thus, it can be provided to the access management server 200 through a wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to a safety lock (S230). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the processing device is part of the management system, and the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system, the method comprising: receiving first data from the read first QR code image by the processing device, via a network; comparing the first data to the first stored data, by the processing device (Para[0067] teaches If the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228), Para[0073] teaches if the generated first password and the read first password match, the safety locking device 100 may determine that the read first password is valid based on the authentication data, and after opening the door, the second password A password can be generated (S320)); receiving second data from the read second QR code image by the processing device, via the network; and comparing the second data to the second stored data, by the processing device (Para[0063] teaches the access management server 200 may determine the validity of the security code based on the received terminal authentication information (S214). That is, the access management server 200 may compare the security code issued to the user terminal 300 with the security code included in the terminal authentication information to review the validity. Para[0075] teaches [0075] [The second password generated by the safety lock device 100 may be provided to the access management server 200 through the wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to the safety lock device.).
Regarding claim 12, Jang discloses a system for allowing entry of a person through a door (Para[0008] teaches the access control method for allowing entry of a door by selecting only a user with a valid authority), the system comprising: a QR code reader or scanning device proximate the door (para[0042] teaches the user terminal 300 includes a display module, and can display the QR code ID provided from the access management server 200 through the display module. Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)).; a door lock system attached to the door (Para[0019] teaches Safety locking device 100 is a device that is attached to the outside of a door or building to receive a password to control the opening and closing of the door); at least one processing device configured to: provide a first QR code image to a smart device of the person for storage on the smart device Para[0013] teaches it is possible to provide the right to open the door by selecting only users who have QR code ID or authentication data. Para[0023] teaches [0023] teaches The safety lock device 100 includes a camera module, and can photograph the outside through the camera module. In particular, the safety lock device 100 may recognize a password by scanning a barcode, for example, a two-dimensional barcode, a three-dimensional barcode, etc. through the camera module. [0024] teaches Since the safety lock device 100 is a device for allowing the entrance of the door by selecting only users with valid authority, the door can be opened only when the password recognized through the camera module is valid. Para[0038] teaches the password for opening the safety lock 100 corresponding to the terminal ID is QR code ID and authentication data. Here, the QR code ID is a password generated in the form of a QR code, the authentication data is an electronic file including a password, and the password is generated by the safety lock device 100 and stored in the access management server 200. Para[0044] teaches User terminal 300 is PC (personal computer), smart phone (smart phone), tablet (tablet) PC, mobile internet device (mobile internet device (MID), Para[0055] teaches to store the security code as valid information, the user terminal 300 may receive and store the password for reading the security code from the user (S150)), the QR code image being based on first stored data Para[0064] teaches When it is determined that the terminal authentication information is valid as a result of analyzing the terminal authentication information, the access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216).Para[0065] [The user terminal 300 may display the received QR code ID to open the door through the display module. For example, when a user executes an application, the user terminal 300 may display a QR code ID through the display module (S220). And, the user terminal 300 may store the authentication data in the authentication data storage device (S222)); receive first read data from the QR code reader or scanning device (Para[0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224)): compare the first read data with the first stored data; cause the door lock system to unlock the door in response to the first read data matching the first stored data Para [0067] teaches if the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228)); and provide a second QR code image to the smart device for unlocking the door in response to unlocking the door based on the first QR code image, for storage on the smart device, the new QR code image being based, at least in part, on second stored data different from the first stored data (Para[0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used, para[0075] teaches the second password generated by the safety lock device 100 may be provided to the access management server 200 through the wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to the safety lock device).
Regarding claim 13, Jang discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the at least one processing device is further configured to: generate a first QR code; generate the first QR code image based on the generated QR code Para[0064] teaches When it is determined that the terminal authentication information is valid as a result of analyzing the terminal authentication information, the access management server 200 generates a QR code ID and authentication data composed of the first password generated by the safety locking device 100 to the user terminal 300 It can be provided to (S214, S216).Para[0065] [The user terminal 300 may display the received QR code ID to open the door through the display module. For example, when a user executes an application, the user terminal 300 may display a QR code ID through the display module (S220). And, the user terminal 300 may store the authentication data in the authentication data storage device (S222)); generate a second QR code by the processing device; and generate the second QR code image based on the generated QR code (Para[0021] teaches the safety lock device 100 may generate a new password every time a valid password is input by a specific user and the door is opened and provide it to the access management server 200, Para[0022] teaches For example, when the user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password. Para [0066] teaches the safety lock 100 can scan the QR code ID displayed by the user terminal 300 through the camera module, and read the first password by recognizing the QR code ID (S224). Para[0067] teaches If the generated first password and the first password read through the QR code ID match, the safety lock 100 may determine that the first password included in the QR code ID is valid, and in this case, the door After opening the can be generated a second password (S226, S228). Para [0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used. Thus, it can be provided to the access management server 200 through a wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to a safety lock (S230). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Regarding claim 14, Jang discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the at least one processing device is configured to: generate the first QR code based on a first, unique, one-time key, wherein the first stored data comprises the first, unique, one-time key (Para[0022] teaches user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password); and generate the second QR code based on a second, unique, one-time key, wherein the second stored data comprises the first, second unique, one-time key (Para[0074] teaches the safety lock device 100 is a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have valid authority to enter and exit because the authentication data and QR code ID used once are continuously used. can be generated and provided to the access management server 200 (S330). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Regarding claim 15, Jang discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the at least one processing device is configured to: generate the first QR code based on the first, unique, one-time key and at least one item of personal identifying information of the person, wherein the first stored data further comprises the at least one item of personal identifying information Para[0037] teaches A security code can be issued to all users who are authenticated based on the personal authentication information provided by, the right to open the safety lock 100 after determining whether the user's gender or a specific group belongs to the user's gender or a specific group by comparing the terminal ID and the security code at the time of later opening the safety lock 100 may be given, para[0046] teaches [0046] [The identity authentication server 400 may generate identity authentication information by analyzing the user information provided from the access management server 200. For example, if the user information includes a name, phone number, gender, and date of birth, the stored The user can be authenticated by comparing with the user information, and personal authentication information including the authentication result can be provided to the access management server 200); and generate the second QR code based on the second, unique, one-time key and the at least one item of personal identifying information, the second stored data further comprising the at least one item of personal identifying information (Para[0052] teaches the identity authentication server 400 may receive user information from the access management server 200 and authenticate the selected user information (S120). The self-authentication server 400 compares the name, gender, date of birth, phone number, etc. included in the user information with pre-stored user information to authenticate as a valid user, and transmits the personal authentication information including the authenticated information to the access management server It can be provided to (200) (S130). Para[0068] teaches the safety lock device 100 generates a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have a valid authority from entering and leaving the QR code ID card issued once is continuously used. Thus, it can be provided to the access management server 200 through a wireless network of the user terminal or a wired/wireless communication network connected to a safety lock (S230). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ang et al. (KR 20220012148 A) (machine translation attached) in view of Eyring et al. (US 2016/0180620 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera and reading the QR code image comprises (Para[0023] teaches the safety lock device 100 includes a camera module, and can photograph the outside through the camera module. In particular, the safety lock device 100 may recognize a password by scanning a barcode, for example, a two-dimensional barcode, a three-dimensional barcode, etc. through the camera module); the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence (Para[0024] teaches since the safety lock device 100 is a device for allowing the entrance of the door by selecting only users with valid authority, the door can be opened only when the password recognized through the camera module is valid).
Jang does not explicitly disclose detecting a presence in front of the door; and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence. However Eyring discloses detecting a presence in front of the door (para[0064] teaches an image capture, such as a camera, may be located proximate an entry to a residence and may detect motion occurring within a pre-determined distance from the image capture device); and turning on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence (para[0107] teaches the card reader may include a camera capable of detecting and transmitting the short-term entry code to the redemption module 510. The redemption module 510 may review the limited access parameters contained within the short-term entry code and determine if the parameters are satisfied. para[0155] teaches system 1100 may include a doorbell camera 1105 which may be an example of one or more aspects of a card reader 155 described with reference to FIG. 1. The doorbell camera 1105 may include aspects of the card reader but be further equipped with the ability to detect more than just a card proximate an entry to a home, Para[0160] teaches The sensing unit 1205 may comprise a proximity card reader, smart card reader, Wiegand card, Magnetic strip, barcode, photo ID reader, access control card reader, some combination thereof, or the like. The sensing unit 1205 may additionally comprise a camera unit. In some embodiments, a motion sensor 1220 may be proximate the sensing unit 1205. Activation of the motion sensor 1220 may activate the sensing unit 1205, microphone 1215, and/or speaker 1210). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method for reading a card or other elements through a reader located proximate a residence in security and/or automation system of Eyring in order to provide a system that enables fraud alert, thus resulting transmission of a message to a user of a potential fraud proximate a residence and alerting the user that a heightened security state is established by an automation system
Regarding claim 16, Jang discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the QR code reader or scanning device is a camera, the system further comprising; the camera to read the QR code image. Jang does not explicitly disclose a proximity sensor to detect a presence in front of the door wherein the at least one processing device is configured to turn on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence by the proximity sensor. However Eyring discloses a proximity sensor to detect a presence in front of the door (para[0064] teaches an image capture, such as a camera, may be located proximate an entry to a residence and may detect motion occurring within a pre-determined distance from the image capture device): wherein the at least one processing device is configured to turn on the camera to read the QR code image based on the detection of the presence by the proximity sensor (para[0107] teaches the card reader may include a camera capable of detecting and transmitting the short-term entry code to the redemption module 510. The redemption module 510 may review the limited access parameters contained within the short-term entry code and determine if the parameters are satisfied. para[0155] teaches system 1100 may include a doorbell camera 1105 which may be an example of one or more aspects of a card reader 155 described with reference to FIG. 1. The doorbell camera 1105 may include aspects of the card reader but be further equipped with the ability to detect more than just a card proximate an entry to a home, Para[0160] teaches The sensing unit 1205 may comprise a proximity card reader, smart card reader, Wiegand card, Magnetic strip, barcode, photo ID reader, access control card reader, some combination thereof, or the like. The sensing unit 1205 may additionally comprise a camera unit. In some embodiments, a motion sensor 1220 may be proximate the sensing unit 1205. Activation of the motion sensor 1220 may activate the sensing unit 1205, microphone 1215, and/or speaker 1210). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method for reading a card or other elements through a reader located proximate a residence in security and/or automation system of Eyring in order to provide a system that enables fraud alert, thus resulting transmission of a message to a user of a potential fraud proximate a residence and alerting the user that a heightened security state is established by an automation system
Claims 8-11, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. ( KR 20220012148 A ) (machine translation attached) in view of Scoggins et al. (US 2015/0199863 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jang discloses the method of claim 4, Jang does not explicitly disclose wherein a first processing device is part of the management system, and a second processing device is part of a door lock system associated with a respective door, the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system, the method comprising: generating the first QR code, the first QR code image, the second QR code, and the second QR code image, by the first processing device; sending the first stored data and the second stored data to the door lock system; receiving first data from the read first QR code image by the second processing device; comparing the first data to the first stored data, by the second processing device; receiving second data from the read second QR code image by the processing device; comparing the second read data to the second stored data, by the second processing device; and unlocking a lock of a door in response to the read first data and read second data matching the first stored data and the second stored data, respectively, by the door lock system.
However Scoggins discloses wherein a first processing device is part of the management system (Para[0093] & Fig. 7 teaches the guest 724 can initiate communication, through the user device 114 to initiate the acquisition of security credentials, this includes initiating a check-in with the property, through the application program interface 720. The request is forwarded to the guest interface service 734 of the relevant property of interest and/or for which the guest has a reservation. The guest is authenticated and security credentials are generated through the security credentials server 716, which in turn forward the security credentials to the guest interface service 734. In some implementations, the guest interface service forwards the security credentials along with corresponding access and/or authentication information to the credentials distribution service 916, while further sending a notification through the application program interface 720 the guest's user device 114. For example, in some implementations, the application program interface 720 generates a push notification that the security credentials are available through the credentials distribution service 916), and a second processing device is part of a door lock system associated with a respective door (Para[0094] & Fig. 9 teaches in response, the user device 114 can communicate a request to the credentials distribution service 916 for the security credentials to the lock 112. In some instances, the request can be automatically initiated by the user device 114, while in other instances the guest has to initiate the request. The request typically includes authentication information and/or a series of communications between the user device and the credentials distribution service authenticating the user device and/or the user, which may require the guest 724 to enter information, such as a password, confirmation, or the like). The credentials distribution service 916 then distributes the credentials to the user device 114, which is used by the user device in unlocking the door lock system 112), the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system, the method comprising (para[0107]-[0108] teaches FIG. 11 shows a simplified exemplary process 1110 of illustrating communications between components of a key distribution system (e.g., one or more of key distribution systems 110, 710 and/or 910 of FIGS. 1, 7 and 9, respectively) in distributing security credentials to a user device 114, in accordance with some embodiments. A guest initiates the acquisition of security credentials that can be utilized through the guest's user device 114. For example, in step 1112, the APP on the user device 114 obtains relevant reservation information maintained on the user device and/or readily accessible (e.g., from the reservation service 730): generating the first QR code, the first QR code image (Para[0101] teaches in step 1034 the security credentials server 716 (sometimes referred to as a key server) is activated, such as through an eKey request from the property management server, to generate relevant electronic security credentials., in some implementations, such communications are implemented through a network access layer 912. Again, in some embodiments, the security credentials server is located at the property. In step 1036, the security credentials server issues the security credentials. Further, the security credentials are typically incorporated within a communication packet to enhance security of the security credentials. Further protection schemes may be applied such as but not limited to encryption. In step 1040, the guest interface service 734 routes the security credentials to the credentials distribution service 916, which holds the security credentials safe until requested by the guest.), the second QR code, and the second QR code image, by the first processing device (para[0102] teaches the notification may include additional information such as authentication criteria, encryption keys, passwords or codes, and/or other such information to allow the user device to acquire the security credentials from the credentials distribution service 916. In step 1044, an eKey retrieval is activated, typically through a user selecting an option displayed through the user interface of the APP on the user device 114. This retrieval process typically includes direct communication between the user device 114 and the credentials distribution service 916, such as through the Internet, a cellular communication, or other such communication. Again, the communication may include encryption keys, authentication criteria, passwords and/or other such security measures); sending the first stored data and the second stored data to the door lock system ; receiving first data from the read first QR code image by the second processing device (para[0110] & Fig. 12 teaches process 1210 of illustrating communications between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112, In step 1212, a guest initiates an unlocking of the door. In step 1214, the user device (e.g., through the APP) initiates an unlock process or sequence. This can include a verification of the communication connection between the user device and the door lock system (e.g., verifying BLE enabled connection). In step 1216, a communication is established between the APP and the receiver 218 and/or broker of the door lock system (e.g., initiating a hand shake process between the user device and the target broker of the target lock system);); comparing the first data to the first stored data, by the second processing device (Para[0111]-[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches in step 1218, the broker receives the connection request. In step 1220, confirms the communication connection (e.g., confirming the hand shake) and challenges the user device to authenticate itself. In step 1222, the user device, typically through the APP, responds to the challenge and secures the connection. In step 1224, the device authentication fails when the user device cannot be authenticated. Alternatively, when authenticated, a secure connection is established between the receiver 218 and the user device 114 in step 1226. In step 1228, the user device communicates the security credentials to the broker, which may extract relevant information and forward the security credentials to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220, or may simply forward the communications allowing the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 to obtain the security credentials. Para[0112] In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication); receiving second data from the read second QR code image by the processing device (Para[0065] teaches step 612, the user device 114 receives an instruction to communicate one or more security credentials to a door lock system 112 that is configured to unlock a lock of the door lock system on a door to a guest room that is reserved for the user if the one or more security credentials are verified); comparing the second read data to the second stored data, by the second processing device (Para[0111]-[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches in step 1218, the broker receives the connection request. In step 1220, confirms the communication connection (e.g., confirming the hand shake) and challenges the user device to authenticate itself. In step 1222, the user device, typically through the APP, responds to the challenge and secures the connection. In step 1224, the device authentication fails when the user device cannot be authenticated. Alternatively, when authenticated, a secure connection is established between the receiver 218 and the user device 114 in step 1226. In step 1228, the user device communicates the security credentials to the broker, which may extract relevant information and forward the security credentials to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220, or may simply forward the communications allowing the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 to obtain the security credentials. Para[0112] In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication).); and unlocking a lock of a door in response to the read first data and read second data matching the first stored data and the second stored data, respectively, by the door lock system (para[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication)).). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method in which the security credential is acquired that is intended to be validated by a door lock system of door to the identified guest room. The first security credentials are caused to be communicated over network, to a portable consumer electronic user device associated with user to be stored on the user device, such that user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room of Scoggins in order to provide a system in which user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room, the guests are provided with the capability to use their user devices to unlock doors and the incidence of key cards being lost by guests is reduced and the resulting additional activities on both the guest and the property staff to create and/or obtain replacement can be avoided.
Regarding claim 9, Jang discloses the method of claim 4, Jang does not explicitly disclose comprising generating the QR code by a processing device of a hotel management system of a hotel . However Scoggins discloses comprising generating the QR code by a processing device of a hotel management system of a hotel (Para[0050] FIG. 4 teaches process 410 of issuing and/or distributing security credentials or other such electronic keys (E-Key) to a portable user device 114, para[0062] & Fig. 5 teaches 510 of acquiring one or more security credentials or other such electronic keys (E-Key) through a user device 114 that will allow a user to gain access to a guest room). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method in which the security credential is acquired that is intended to be validated by a door lock system of door to the identified guest room. The first security credentials are caused to be communicated over network, to a portable consumer electronic user device associated with user to be stored on the user device, such that user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room of Scoggins in order to provide a system in which user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room, the guests are provided with the capability to use their user devices to unlock doors and the incidence of key cards being lost by guests is reduced and the resulting additional activities on both the guest and the property staff to create and/or obtain replacement can be avoided.
Regarding claim 10, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the method of claim 9, Jang further discloses wherein: the first stored data and the second stored data each further comprise at least one item of personal identifying information of the person (para[0046] teaches the identity authentication server 400 may generate identity authentication information by analyzing the user information provided from the access management server 200. For example, if the user information includes a name, phone number, gender, and date of birth, the stored The user can be authenticated by comparing with the user information, and personal authentication information including the authentication result can be provided to the access management server 200) .
Jang does not explicitly disclose and/or information related to the hotel. However Scoggins discloses and/or information related to the hotel (para[0057] teaches a guest often has a profile and the guest is validated using their unique user identifier (e.g., number, user name, or the like, or combinations of such) and typically a password. In some implementation, the log-in is achieved through a mobile application activated on the user device 114. Once authenticated the guest can access and/or retrieve relevant information (e.g., reservation information). Additional business validations may be done in an attempt to further ensure that the guest and the reservation are eligible to receive and use the one or more security credentials through the user device. For example, in some implementations a hotel service and/or server accessed over the Internet confirms the guest identification through a log-in process and confirms the user is authorized for remote check-in (e.g., through the guest's user device 114, computer or other such device) and/or to use the security credentials through the user device (e.g., use electronic key credentials). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Jang in view of Scoggins discloses the method of claim 9 , Scoggins further comprising providing the first QR code image to the smart device in response to a request to check-in to the hotel made via an App on the smart device by the person (Para[0057] teaches a hotel service and/or server accessed over the Internet confirms the guest identification through a log-in process and confirms the user is authorized for remote check-in (e.g., through the guest's user device 114, computer or other such device) and/or to use the security credentials through the user device (e.g., use electronic key credentials) para[0064] teaches mobile application displays on the user device a check-in interface and the option to initiate the retrieval of the one or more security credentials may be displayed as an option to acquire an electronic key as part of the check-in interface and/or a check-in process implemented through the mobile application). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 9.
Regarding claim 17, Jang discloses the system of claim 14, Jang does not explicitly disclose wherein: a first of the at least one processing devices is part of a management system, the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system; and a second of the at least one processing devices is part of the door lock system; the second processing device is configured to: send first data from the read first QR code image, to the management system, via a network; and unlock the door under the control of the first processing device; and the first processing device is configured to: receive the first data from the second processing device; compare the received first data to the first stored data; receive second read data from the read second QR code image; compare the second data to the second stored data, by the processing device; and instruct the second processing device to unlock the door based on the first comparison and the second comparison, respectively, via the network.
However Scoggins discloses wherein: a first of the at least one processing devices is part of a management system, the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system (Para[0093] & Fig. 7 teaches the guest 724 can initiate communication, through the user device 114 to initiate the acquisition of security credentials, this includes initiating a check-in with the property, through the application program interface 720. The request is forwarded to the guest interface service 734 of the relevant property of interest and/or for which the guest has a reservation. The guest is authenticated and security credentials are generated through the security credentials server 716, which in turn forward the security credentials to the guest interface service 734. In some implementations, the guest interface service forwards the security credentials along with corresponding access and/or authentication information to the credentials distribution service 916, while further sending a notification through the application program interface 720 the guest's user device 114. For example, in some implementations, the application program interface 720 generates a push notification that the security credentials are available through the credentials distribution service 916t); and a second of the at least one processing devices is part of the door lock system (Para[0094] & Fig. 9 teaches in response, the user device 114 can communicate a request to the credentials distribution service 916 for the security credentials to the lock 112. In some instances, the request can be automatically initiated by the user device 114, while in other instances the guest has to initiate the request. The request typically includes authentication information and/or a series of communications between the user device and the credentials distribution service authenticating the user device and/or the user, which may require the guest 724 to enter information, such as a password, confirmation, or the like). The credentials distribution service 916 then distributes the credentials to the user device 114, which is used by the user device in unlocking the door lock system 112); the second processing device is configured to: send first data from the read first QR code image, to the management system, via a network (Para[0101] teaches in step 1034 the security credentials server 716 (sometimes referred to as a key server) is activated, such as through an eKey request from the property management server, to generate relevant electronic security credentials., in some implementations, such communications are implemented through a network access layer 912. Again, in some embodiments, the security credentials server is located at the property. In step 1036, the security credentials server issues the security credentials. Further, the security credentials are typically incorporated within a communication packet to enhance security of the security credentials. Further protection schemes may be applied such as but not limited to encryption. In step 1040, the guest interface service 734 routes the security credentials to the credentials distribution service 916, which holds the security credentials safe until requested by the guest); and unlock the door under the control of the first processing device; and the first processing device is configured to: receive the first data from the second processing device (Para[0103] teaches APP applies additional security procedures to the stored security credentials. In step 1048, the guest 724 can then use the security credentials in unlocking the door lock system 112, which are typically packaged into a wireless communication packet with added security and/or authentication. For example, the guest may use the same APP or a different APP and select an option to open the door lock system. In some embodiments, the door lock system 112 includes a wireless communication receiver (e.g., Bluetooth radio) that communicates with the user device. Further, the door lock system may include a communications broker that receives the communication packet and can confirm the security and extract the security credentials to be forwarded to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220. Still further, in some implementations there is one or more communication exchanges between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112); compare the received first data to the first stored data; receive second read data from the read second QR code image (para[0110] & Fig. 12 teaches process 1210 of illustrating communications between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112, In step 1212, a guest initiates an unlocking of the door. In step 1214, the user device (e.g., through the APP) initiates an unlock process or sequence. This can include a verification of the communication connection between the user device and the door lock system (e.g., verifying BLE enabled connection). In step 1216, a communication is established between the APP and the receiver 218 and/or broker of the door lock system (e.g., initiating a hand shake process between the user device and the target broker of the target lock system); compare the second data to the second stored data, by the processing device (Para[0111]-[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches in step 1218, the broker receives the connection request. In step 1220, confirms the communication connection (e.g., confirming the hand shake) and challenges the user device to authenticate itself. In step 1222, the user device, typically through the APP, responds to the challenge and secures the connection. In step 1224, the device authentication fails when the user device cannot be authenticated. Alternatively, when authenticated, a secure connection is established between the receiver 218 and the user device 114 in step 1226. In step 1228, the user device communicates the security credentials to the broker, which may extract relevant information and forward the security credentials to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220, or may simply forward the communications allowing the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 to obtain the security credentials. Para[0112] In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication); and instruct the second processing device to unlock the door based on the first comparison and the second comparison, respectively, via the network (para[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method in which the security credential is acquired that is intended to be validated by a door lock system of door to the identified guest room. The first security credentials are caused to be communicated over network, to a portable consumer electronic user device associated with user to be stored on the user device, such that user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room of Scoggins in order to provide a system in which user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room, the guests are provided with the capability to use their user devices to unlock doors and the incidence of key cards being lost by guests is reduced and the resulting additional activities on both the guest and the property staff to create and/or obtain replacement can be avoided.
Regarding claim 18, Jang discloses the system of claim 14, Jang does not explicitly disclose wherein: a first processing device is part of a management system and the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system; and a second processing device is part of the door lock system associated with a respective door; the first processing device being configured to: generate the first QR code, the first QR code image, the second QR code, and the second QR code image; send the first stored data and the second stored data to the door lock system; and the second processing device is configured to: receive first data from the read first QR code image; compare the first read data to the first stored data; receive second read data from the read second QR code image; compare the second read data to the second stored data; and cause the door lock system to unlock a lock of a door in response to the read first data and read second data matching the first stored data and the second stored data, respectively. However Scoggins discloses wherein: a first processing device is part of a management system and the first stored data and the second stored data are stored by a management system (Para[0093] & Fig. 7 teaches the guest 724 can initiate communication, through the user device 114 to initiate the acquisition of security credentials, this includes initiating a check-in with the property, through the application program interface 720. The request is forwarded to the guest interface service 734 of the relevant property of interest and/or for which the guest has a reservation. The guest is authenticated and security credentials are generated through the security credentials server 716, which in turn forward the security credentials to the guest interface service 734. In some implementations, the guest interface service forwards the security credentials along with corresponding access and/or authentication information to the credentials distribution service 916, while further sending a notification through the application program interface 720 the guest's user device 114. For example, in some implementations, the application program interface 720 generates a push notification that the security credentials are available through the credentials distribution service 916); and a second processing device is part of the door lock system associated with a respective door (Para[0094] & Fig. 9 teaches in response, the user device 114 can communicate a request to the credentials distribution service 916 for the security credentials to the lock 112. In some instances, the request can be automatically initiated by the user device 114, while in other instances the guest has to initiate the request. The request typically includes authentication information and/or a series of communications between the user device and the credentials distribution service authenticating the user device and/or the user, which may require the guest 724 to enter information, such as a password, confirmation, or the like). The credentials distribution service 916 then distributes the credentials to the user device 114, which is used by the user device in unlocking the door lock system 112); the first processing device being configured to (para[0107]-[018] teaches FIG. 11 shows a simplified exemplary process 1110 of illustrating communications between components of a key distribution system (e.g., one or more of key distribution systems 110, 710 and/or 910 of FIGS. 1, 7 and 9, respectively) in distributing security credentials to a user device 114, in accordance with some embodiments. A guest initiates the acquisition of security credentials that can be utilized through the guest's user device 114. For example, in step 1112, the APP on the user device 114 obtains relevant reservation information maintained on the user device and/or readily accessible (e.g., from the reservation service 730): generate the first QR code, the first QR code image (Para[0101] teaches in step 1034 the security credentials server 716 (sometimes referred to as a key server) is activated, such as through an eKey request from the property management server, to generate relevant electronic security credentials., in some implementations, such communications are implemented through a network access layer 912. Again, in some embodiments, the security credentials server is located at the property. In step 1036, the security credentials server issues the security credentials. Further, the security credentials are typically incorporated within a communication packet to enhance security of the security credentials. Further protection schemes may be applied such as but not limited to encryption. In step 1040, the guest interface service 734 routes the security credentials to the credentials distribution service 916, which holds the security credentials safe until requested by the guest.), the second QR code, and the second QR code image (para[0102] teaches the notification may include additional information such as authentication criteria, encryption keys, passwords or codes, and/or other such information to allow the user device to acquire the security credentials from the credentials distribution service 916. In step 1044, an eKey retrieval is activated, typically through a user selecting an option displayed through the user interface of the APP on the user device 114. This retrieval process typically includes direct communication between the user device 114 and the credentials distribution service 916, such as through the Internet, a cellular communication, or other such communication. Again, the communication may include encryption keys, authentication criteria, passwords and/or other such security measures); send the first stored data and the second stored data to the door lock system (Para[0103] teaches APP applies additional security procedures to the stored security credentials. In step 1048, the guest 724 can then use the security credentials in unlocking the door lock system 112, which are typically packaged into a wireless communication packet with added security and/or authentication. For example, the guest may use the same APP or a different APP and select an option to open the door lock system. In some embodiments, the door lock system 112 includes a wireless communication receiver (e.g., Bluetooth radio) that communicates with the user device. Further, the door lock system may include a communications broker that receives the communication packet and can confirm the security and extract the security credentials to be forwarded to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220. Still further, in some implementations there is one or more communication exchanges between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112); and the second processing device is configured to: receive first data from the read first QR code image (para[0110] & Fig. 12 teaches process 1210 of illustrating communications between the user device 114 and the door lock system 112, In step 1212, a guest initiates an unlocking of the door. In step 1214, the user device (e.g., through the APP) initiates an unlock process or sequence. This can include a verification of the communication connection between the user device and the door lock system (e.g., verifying BLE enabled connection). In step 1216, a communication is established between the APP and the receiver 218 and/or broker of the door lock system (e.g., initiating a hand shake process between the user device and the target broker of the target lock system); compare the first read data to the first stored data ; receive second read data from the read second QR code image; compare the second read data to the second stored data (Para[0111]-[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches in step 1218, the broker receives the connection request. In step 1220, confirms the communication connection (e.g., confirming the hand shake) and challenges the user device to authenticate itself. In step 1222, the user device, typically through the APP, responds to the challenge and secures the connection. In step 1224, the device authentication fails when the user device cannot be authenticated. Alternatively, when authenticated, a secure connection is established between the receiver 218 and the user device 114 in step 1226. In step 1228, the user device communicates the security credentials to the broker, which may extract relevant information and forward the security credentials to the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220, or may simply forward the communications allowing the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 to obtain the security credentials. Para[0112] In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication); and cause the door lock system to unlock a lock of a door in response to the read first data and read second data matching the first stored data and the second stored data, respectively (para[0112] & Fig. 12 teaches In step 1232, the lock controller 212 and/or credentials evaluator 220 evaluates the security credentials. In step 1234 it is determined whether the security credentials are valid. When invalid the lock is not triggered to unlock. In some instances an indication is provided (e.g., visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication) that the lock was not unlocked. Alternatively, in step 1236 the lock is triggered to unlock when the security credentials are validated, which may also include an indication that the lock was unlocked (e.g., a different visual, audio, or other such indication or combination of such indication)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method in which the security credential is acquired that is intended to be validated by a door lock system of door to the identified guest room. The first security credentials are caused to be communicated over network, to a portable consumer electronic user device associated with user to be stored on the user device, such that user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room of Scoggins in order to provide a system in which user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room, the guests are provided with the capability to use their user devices to unlock doors and the incidence of key cards being lost by guests is reduced and the resulting additional activities on both the guest and the property staff to create and/or obtain replacement can be avoided.
Regarding claim 19, Jang discloses the system of claim 14, the one processing device being configured to: generate the first QR code based on a first, unique, one-time key and at least one item of personal identifying information of the person (Para[0022] teaches user provides a valid first password to open the door, the safety lock device 100 may generate a second password different from the first password and provide it to the access management server 200 . After that, the safety lock device 100 can open the door only by entering the second password, not the first password); wherein the first stored data comprises the first, unique, one-time key and the at least one item of personal identifying information of the person; and generate the second QR code based on a second, unique, one-time key and at least one item of personal identifying information of the person, wherein the second stored data comprises the first, second unique, one-time key and the at least one item of personal identifying information of the person (Para[0074] teaches the safety lock device 100 is a second password different from the first password at the moment the door is opened, in order to prevent a user who does not have valid authority to enter and exit because the authentication data and QR code ID used once are continuously used. can be generated and provided to the access management server 200 (S330). The access management server 200 may discard the previously stored first password and store the second password).
Jang does not expclity disclose wherein one of the at least one processing devices is part of a management system of a hotel; generate the first QR code and/or information related to the hotel; wherein the first stored data comprises and the at least one item of personal identifying information of the person and/or the information related to the hotel(Para[0033] teaches a guest (sometimes referred to as user) utilizes their user device 114 to acquire one or more security credentials. In some embodiments, the user device accesses a server 122 (such as a hotel server, third party server (e.g., contracted with by the hotel), or other such server or service to acquire the credentials) that acquire credentials from a credential server or service 116, and/or directs the user device 114 to the credential service. Para[0054] teaches an application or APP is implemented on the user device 114 that at least in part establishes the communication and/or secure communication between the user device and the security credentials service 116 and/or hotel, guest or other such server or service 122. This APP, in some implementations, is configured to provide authentication information to the security credentials service or vendor 116 as part of communication exchanges between the user device and/or APP and the security credentials service 116 in distributing the security credentials to the user device 114, Para[0078] teaches the mobile application on the user device 114 communicates with and/or through the application program interface 720 to allow the guest to perform a remote check-in or e-Checkin, where the guest can activate a reservation, check a floor plan of the relevant hotel, select a room of choice, other such features or combinations of such features.; and generate the second QR code based and at least one item of personal identifying information of the person and/or information related to the hotel, wherein the second stored data comprises and the at least one item of personal identifying information of the person and/or the information related to the hotel (para[0034] teaches a door lock system 112 is identified for the guest room reserved for, intended for and/or assigned to the guest. The credentials or corresponding credentials are communicated to the door lock system, which are evaluated in determining whether to unlock the door corresponding to the door locking system. In some embodiments, a property server 124, computer system, computer, other such system or combination of such systems and devices (which may be local to the property and in communication with the door lock systems at the property, or otherwise in communication with the door lock systems at the property) coordinates the identification of the door lock system 112, guest identification, user device identification and the like, and the distribution of the security credentials to the door lock system 112 and/or user device 114. Further, in some embodiments, the property server 124 generates and/or acquires the security credentials (e.g., from the credentials service 116 or activates a local system to generate or retrieve the one or more security credentials). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method in which the security credential is acquired that is intended to be validated by a door lock system of door to the identified guest room. The first security credentials are caused to be communicated over network, to a portable consumer electronic user device associated with user to be stored on the user device, such that user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room of Scoggins in order to provide a system in which user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room, the guests are provided with the capability to use their user devices to unlock doors and the incidence of key cards being lost by guests is reduced and the resulting additional activities on both the guest and the property staff to create and/or obtain replacement can be avoided.
Regarding claim 20, Jang discloses the method of claim 12, Jang does not explicitly disclose further comprising providing the first QR code image to the smart device in response to a request to check-in to the hotel made via an App on the smart device by the person. However Scoggins discloses further comprising providing the first QR code image to the smart device in response to a request to check-in to the hotel made via an App on the smart device by the person (Para[0057] teaches a hotel service and/or server accessed over the Internet confirms the guest identification through a log-in process and confirms the user is authorized for remote check-in (e.g., through the guest's user device 114, computer or other such device) and/or to use the security credentials through the user device (e.g., use electronic key credentials) para[0064] teaches mobile application displays on the user device a check-in interface and the option to initiate the retrieval of the one or more security credentials may be displayed as an option to acquire an electronic key as part of the check-in interface and/or a check-in process implemented through the mobile application). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to use the access management control method that selects only those who have valid authority and grants authority to open the door of Jang with the method in which the security credential is acquired that is intended to be validated by a door lock system of door to the identified guest room. The first security credentials are caused to be communicated over network, to a portable consumer electronic user device associated with user to be stored on the user device, such that user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room of Scoggins in order to provide a system in which user device is configured to wirelessly communicate security credential to door lock system to gain access to the guest room, the guests are provided with the capability to use their user devices to unlock doors and the incidence of key cards being lost by guests is reduced and the resulting additional activities on both the guest and the property staff to create and/or obtain replacement can be avoided.
Conclusion
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425