DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baik et al. (US 2025/0176415) .
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding independent claim 1, Baik et al. (‘415) teaches in figure 2 and the corresponding text, an organic light emitting diode display device, comprising: a substrate (100) including a first sub-pixel (SP1), a second sub-pixel (SP2), and a third sub-pixel (SP3); a first insulating layer (150) on the substrate; a first reflective electrode (311) on the first insulating layer in the first sub-pixel; a second insulating layer (200) covering the first reflective electrode and on the first insulating layer; a second reflective electrode (323) on the second insulating layer in the second sub-pixel; a third insulating layer (250) covering the second reflective electrode and on the second insulating layer; a third reflective electrode (335) on the third insulating layer in the third sub-pixel; and at least one corrugation formation layer (160, paragraph 0068) under at least one of the first reflective electrode, the second reflective electrode, and the third reflective electrode, the at least one corrugation formation layer having a corrugated surface.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Baik et al. (‘415) teaches a first anode electrode (317) on the third insulating layer in the first sub-pixel; a second anode electrode (327) on the third insulating layer in the second sub-pixel; a third anode electrode (337) on the third reflective electrode in the third sub-pixel; a light emitting layer (350) on the first anode electrode, the second anode electrode, and the third anode electrode; and a cathode electrode (370) on the light emitting layer, wherein each of a lower surface and an upper surface of the light emitting layer has corrugation, and wherein each of a lower surface and an upper surface of the cathode electrode has corrugation ( up and down steps).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Baik et al. (‘415) teaches the at least one corrugation formation layer comprises a corrugation formation layer between the first insulating layer and the first reflective electrode (see paragraph 0068).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Baik et al. (‘415) teaches in figures 16-17 a head mounted display device, comprising: a left-eye eyepiece (21); a right-eye eyepiece (22); a left-eye display device configured to provide a first image to the left-eye eyepiece, wherein the left-eye display device is the organic light emitting diode display device of claim 1; and a right-eye display device configured to provide a second image to the right-eye eyepiece, wherein the right-eye eyepiece is the organic light emitting diode display device of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 6-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2025/0204202 teaches the state of the art for an organic display device.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875