DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on 04/22/2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because the currently amended claims do not provide correct text markings, such as correctly underlining the added text or correctly striking-through deleted text.
For example, previously amended claim 20 recited “the method comprising: stimulating for a first time interval followed by a first delay interval, a first limb of a body located on a first side of a median plane and a top side of a transverse plane, while stimulating a second limb located on a second, opposite side of the median plane and a bottom, opposite side of the transverse plane” while currently amended claim 20 recites, “the method comprising: generating control signals to activate a first effector positioned a first limb ”.
Below is an example of correct text markings for amended claim 20:
“the method comprising: generating control signals to activate a first effector positioned a first limb first side of a transverse plane, while simultaneously activating a second effector positioned on a second limb located on a second, opposite side of the median plane and a second opposite side of the transverse plane”.
Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
In order to advance prosecution, the examiner has identified the changes above. The Applicant is requested to identify any missed markings in the next reply. The examiner notes that future amendments without proper markings may result in a non-responsive amendment being issued.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/22/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive or are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues, “…The amended claims are distinguishable on four independent grounds: First, Ólaighin requires a walking patient; the present invention treats a stationary patient with no gait cycle and no motion-dependent triggering.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a stationary patient with no gait cycle) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues, “Ólaighin’s timing is entirely dependent on real-time gait detection; the present invention uses a fixed, predetermined switching interval not responsive to any patient data.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ólaighin teaches wherein vibratory stimulation is delivered in a fixed predetermined pattern that does not adapt, adjust, or modify based on any physiological feedback, biofeedback, or real-time data collected from the patient ([0277-0278]: fixed timed bilateral cueing is provided; [0030]: cuing can be on fixed timing such as a user’s average gait cycle that has been pre-recorded and stored in a memory so that the stimulation is fixed and does not respond to feedback).
Applicant argues, “Ólaighin’s cross-lateral stimulation arises incidentally from walking biomechanics; the present invention deliberately employs contralateral hand-foot pairing as the core therapeutic mechanism.”
Examiner respectfully states that the claims, under broadest reasonable interpretation, do not exclude Ólaighin’s cross-lateral stimulation arising from walking biomechanics, since Ólaighin teaches that a patient’s average gait cycle may be recorded and used to provide a fixed stimulation.
Applicant argues, “Fourth, the therapeutic purpose is entirely different: Ólaighin treats freezing of gait; the present invention corrects neurological disorganization - a condition unrelated to gait. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to modify Ólaighin 's gait-reactive system into a fixed-pattern stationary device for neurological disorganization correction.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, there is nothing in the claims which exclude the therapeutic purpose of Ólaighin. Further, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation, “neurological disorganization correction” is interpreted as a breakdown in a patient’s nervous system, for instance, a patient having poor coordination. This is taught by Ólaighin, which focuses on using cueing to prevent gait dysfunction [0044, 0046] so a patient can walk [0043].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In re claim 1, the limitations, “wherein the vibratory stimulation is delivered in a fixed predetermined pattern that does not adapt, adjust, or modify based on any physiological feedback, biofeedback, or real-time data collected from the patient” introduce new matter that is not supported by the specification.
For instance, Applicant’s specification disclose “the method also includes dynamically adjusting synchronization of the stimulation pulses across the limbs based on timing signals generated by a software-controlled algorithm. The method also includes calibrating the synchronization of the stimulation pulses across the limbs by monitoring and recalculating a distribution of neural activity based on real-time patient data.” [0010].
Additionally, although Applicant’s specification discloses “the stimulation pulses are delivered in predetermined waveform patterns selected from sinusoidal, square, or triangular” [0012], they also disclose, “…a waveform type being dynamically selected by a control system based on system-specific feedback and patient-specific neural response profiles” [0012].
In other words, although the specification discloses predetermined waveform patterns, the specification fails to explicitly disclose wherein the vibratory stimulation is delivered in a fixed predetermined pattern that does not adapt, adjust, or modify based on any physiological feedback, biofeedback, or real-time data collected from the patient.
In re claim 10, see in re claim 1 above.
In re claim 20, see in re claim 1 above.
Dependent claims inherit the same deficiencies.
Claims 1-7, 10-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 1, the limitation, “the brain” lacks antecedent basis.
In re claim 10, see in re claim 1 above.
In re claim 20, see in re claim 1 above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims inherit the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 7, 10, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ólaighin et al (US 2022/0118256) in view of Daly et al. (US 4,408,608).
In re claim 1, Ólaighin discloses a method for providing brain therapy [0001] to maintain neural synchronization through timed and controlled vibrational stimulation pulses ([0365]: electrical and mechanical stimulation may be applied; [0028-0029]), the method comprising:
stimulating a first limb of a body ([0312]: detection of arm swing for instance a left arm) located on a first side of a median plane ([0312]: left arm will be on a first side of a median plane) and a first side of a transverse plane ([0309]: left arm is located on a first side of a transverse plane), while stimulating a second limb ([0313-0313]: right leg) located on a second, opposite side of the median plane and a second, opposite side of the transverse plane ([0312-0313]: stimulation delivered to the arm will result in simultaneous delivery of stimulus to a contralateral leg, which would be on the opposite side of the median and transverse plane of the left arm i.e. to the right leg);
subsequently stimulating a third limb located on the second side of the median plane and the first side of the transverse plane ([0311-0313]: the right arm will be stimulated next; [0277-0278]), while stimulating a fourth limb located on the first side of the median plane and the second side of the transverse plane ([0312-0313]: stimulation delivered to the right arm will result in simultaneous delivery of stimulus to a contralateral leg i.e. to the left leg; [0027, 0268]);
repeating the stimulating of the first and second limbs and the subsequent stimulating of the third and fourth limbs in an alternating cycle for a predetermined treatment duration ([0277-0278]: for a fixed timed bilaterial cueing, alternating stimulation to the left and right sides of the patient is provided);
wherein the median plane is defined as a vertical plane that divides the body into left and right halves (see above where the first side of the median plane consist of the left halves (left arm and leg) and the second side of the median plane consist of the right halves (right arm and leg)), and
the transverse plane is defined as a horizontal plane that divides the body into upper and lower parts (see above where the first side of the transverse plane consist of the lower part (legs) and the second side of the transverse plane consist of the upper sides (arms));
wherein the vibratory stimulation pulses are delivered ([0084]: stimulation may be through mechanical vibration) via effectors ([0186]: mechanical vibration provided using a system of vibration motors) at
a predetermined frequency ([0186]: inherent that the vibration motors would vibrate at a predetermined frequency; [0054]: stimulation parameter includes frequency) and
a predetermined switching interval ([0055]: stimulation parameter includes at which site cueing is activated; [0277-0278]: cueing delivered alternatively to cueing sites which means there is a predetermined switching interval for the fixed timed bilateral cueing);
wherein
the first limb and the second limb are contralateral to each other across both the median plane and the transverse plane ([0312-0313]: the left arm and right leg are contralateral to each other across both the median plane and the transverse plane) and
the third limb and the fourth limb are contralateral to each other across both the median plane and the transverse plane ([0312-0313]: the right arm and left leg are contralateral to each other across both the median plane and the transverse plane)
such that the alternating stimulation engages both hemispheres of the brain through contralateral sensory pathways to correct neurological disorganization ([0277-0278]: stimulating both sides of the patient’s body would stimulate both hemispheres and correct neurological disorganization so the patient can initiate or maintain walking); and
wherein the vibratory stimulation is delivered in a fixed predetermined pattern that does not adapt, adjust, or modify based on any physiological feedback, biofeedback, or real-time data collected from the patient ([0277-0278]: fixed timed bilateral cueing is provided; [0030]: cuing can be on fixed timing such as a user’s average gait cycle that has been pre-recorded and stored in a memory so that the stimulation is fixed and does not respond to feedback).
Ólaighin fails to explicitly disclose the switching interval being sufficiently rapid that the patient does not consciously perceive the alternating pattern of stimulation.
Daly teaches a tissue-stimulating prosthesis (Col. 1, lines 5-10) and teaches a switching interval (Col. 19, lines 55 – Col. 20, lines 7: stimulating may be provided in a sequential sequence with only one site being stimulated at a single instant of time) being sufficiently rapid that a patient does not consciously perceive an alternating pattern of stimulation (Col. 19, lines 55 – Col. 20, lines 7: stimulations between each stie may be switched fast enough that the stimulations would be perceived as being “simultaneous” and would not be perceived).
Daly further teaches that alternating the stimulations fast enough would allow them to be perceived as “simultaneous stimulations” so a user wouldn’t be able to perceive the individual stimulations (Col. 19, lines 55 – Col. 20, lines 7).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the method for providing brain therapy taught by Ólaighin, to provide the switching interval being sufficiently rapid that the patient does not consciously perceive the alternating pattern of stimulation, as taught by Daly, because alternating the stimulations fast enough would allow them to be perceived as “simultaneous stimulations” so a user wouldn’t be able to perceive them individually.
In re claim 7, regarding the limitation, “wherein
the first limb is a hand and
the second limb is a contralateral foot and
the third limb is the other hand and
the fourth limb is the other contralateral foot”,
see in re claim 1 above.
In re claim 10, regarding the limitation, “a system for providing brain therapy to correct neurological disorganization through cross-lateral kinetic stimulation, the system comprising:
a first effector configured to stimulate a first limb located on a first side of a median plane and a first side of transverse plane;
a second effector configured to stimulate a second limb located on a second, opposite side of the median plane and a second, opposite side of the transverse plane;
a third effector configured to stimulate a third limb located on the second side of the median plane and the first side of the transverse plane;
a fourth effector configured to stimulate a fourth limb located on the first side of the median plane and the second side of the transverse plane;
a programmable controller operatively connected to the first, second, third, and fourth effectors, the controller configured to: (a} activate the first and second effectors simultaneously; (b) subsequently deactivate the first and second effectors and activate the third and fourth effectors simultaneously: and (c) repeat steps (a) and (b) in an alternating cycle for a predetermined treatment duration;
wherein each effector comprises a vibratory actuator operating at a predetermined frequency and switching
interval, the switching interval being sufficiently rapid that a patient does not consciously perceive the alternating pattern of stimulation;
wherein
the first limb and the second limb are contralateral to each other across both the median plane and the transverse plane and
the third limb and the fourth limb are contralateral to each other across both the median plane and the transverse plane such that the alternating stimulation engages both hemispheres of the brain through contralateral sensory pathways to correct neurological disorganization; and
wherein the controller executes a fixed predetermined activation pattern and is not configured to adapt adjust or modify said pattern based on any
physiological feedback,
biofeedback, or
real-time data collected from the patient”,
see in re claim 1 above.
In re claim 13, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ólaighin unless otherwise stated) the controller stores a plurality of treatment protocols of different durations selectable via a selector switch ([0044]: controller may be programmed to activate cueing based on fixed timings which is interpreted as different durations and they would have to be selected via a selector switch; [0329-0331]: fixed timing cueing may be provided and cueing rhythm may be set; [0372]: manual input from a button may be used to change stimulation parameters).
In re claim 14, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ólaighin unless otherwise stated) wherein the controller activates the effectors wirelessly ([0083]: cueing actuator includes mechanical stimulation device to perform the mechanical vibration; [0103]: cueing actuator is wirelessly linked with the controller; [0101]: multiple cueing actuators may be used)
In re claim 20, regarding the limitations, “a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processor, cause a system to perform a method for providing brain therapy to correct neurological disorganization through cross-lateral kinetic stimulation, the method comprising:
generating control signals to activate a first effector positioned on a first limb located on a first side of a median plane and a first side of a transverse plane, while simultaneously activating a second effector positioned on a second limb located on a second, opposite side of the median plane and a second opposite side of the transverse plane;
subsequently generating control signals to activate a third effector positioned on a third limb located on the second side of the median plane and the second side of the transverse plane, while simultaneously activating a fourth effector positioned on a fourth limb located on the first side of the median plane and the second side of the transverse plane;
wherein the median plane is defined as a vertical plane that divides the body into left and right halves, and the transverse plane is defined as a horizontal plane that divides the body into upper and lower parts;
repeating the activating o! the first and second effectors and the subsequent activating of the third and fourth effectors in an alternating cycle for a predetermined treatment duration;
wherein the control signals cause the effectors to deliver vibratory stimulation at a predetermined frequency and switching interval the switching interval being sufficiently rapid that a patient does not consciously perceive the alternating pattern of stimulation;
wherein the first limb and the second limb are contralateral to each other across both the median plane and the transverse plane and the third limb and the fourth limb are contralateral to each other across both the median plane and the transverse plane, such that the alternating stimulation engages both hemispheres of the brain through contralateral sensory pathways to correct neurological disorganization; and
wherein the instructions cause the system to execute a fixed predetermined stimulation pattern that does not adapt, adjust, or modify based on any
physiological feedback,
biofeedback, or
real-time data collected from the patient” ,
see the proposed combination yielded in re claim 1 above.
Claims 2-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ólaighin et al (US 2022/0118256) in view of Daly et al. (US 4,408,608) in view of Harper et al. (US 2016/0158097).
In re claim 2, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ólaighin unless otherwise stated) wherein each of the first and second limb pair and the third and fourth limb pair is activated for a predetermined duration ([0292-0293]: right and left sides are stimulated for a specific duration which would be predetermined; [0277-0278]: cuing is activated based on fixed timing) with deactivation of one pair occurring simultaneously with activation of the other pair such that no gap or overlap exists between successive stimulation cycles (see above, as taught by Daly, where the stimulation being rapid enough to be perceived as simultaneous stimulation is interpreted as no gap or overlap existing between successive stimulation cycles).
The proposed combination fails to yield wherein each of the first and second limb pair and the third and fourth limb pair is activated for a predetermined duration of between about 0.25 seconds and about 1.0 second with deactivation of one pair occurring simultaneously with activation of the other pair such that no gap or overlap exists between successive stimulation cycles.
Harper teaches providing vibrational stimulation to a subject [0006] for enhancing air intake [0006], and teaches wherein
pulse duration may vary between about 0.25 seconds and about 1.0 second [0044-0045],
a predetermined treatment duration is between about 1 minute and about 10 minutes [0046], and
effectors ([0006]: vibration motor on at least one limbs to provide vibrational motion is interpreted as an effector; [0038]: multiple vibrators may be positioned on one more limbs for neural stimulation) produce vibrations [0006, 0038] having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz [0043].
Harper further teaches that the pulse duration, treatment duration, and frequency may vary between various ranges [0043-0046] and therefore could be adjusted as needed.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the method for providing brain therapy yielded by the proposed combination, to provide pulse duration may vary between about 0.25 seconds and about 1.0 second, a predetermined treatment duration is between about 1 minute and about 10 minutes, and wherein the effectors produce vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz, as taught by Harper, because the pulse duration, treatment duration, and frequency may be adjusted as needed.
Additionally, at the time the instant application was filed it would be obvious to try to provide wherein each of the first and second limb pair and the third and fourth limb pair is activated for a predetermined duration of between about 0.25 seconds and about 1.0 second. Furthermore, when there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103. KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397, especially since the claimed predetermined duration is not disclosed as being crucial or unexpected.
Even if the proposed combination fails to yield “wherein each of the first and second limb pair and the third and fourth limb pair is activated for a predetermined duration of between about 0.25 seconds and about 1.0 second”, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide wherein each of the first and second limb pair and the third and fourth limb pair is activated for a predetermined duration of between about 0.25 seconds and about 1.0 second, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In re claim 3, regarding the limitations, “wherein the predetermined treatment duration is between about 1 minute and about 10 minutes”, see the proposed combination yielded in re claim 2 above.
Additionally, at the time the instant application was filed it would be obvious to try to provide wherein the predetermined treatment duration is between about 1 minute and about 10 minutes. Furthermore, when there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103. KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397, especially since the claimed predetermined treatment duration is not disclosed as being crucial or unexpected.
Even if the proposed combination fails to yield “wherein the predetermined treatment duration is between about 1 minute and about 10 minutes”, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide wherein the predetermined treatment duration is between about 1 minute and about 10 minutes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In re claim 4, regarding the limitations, “wherein the effectors produce vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz”, see the proposed combination yielded in re claim 2 above.
Additionally, at the time the instant application was filed it would be obvious to try to provide wherein the effectors produce vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz. Furthermore, when there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103. KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397, especially since the claimed frequency is not disclosed as being crucial or unexpected.
Even if the proposed combination fails to yield “wherein the effectors produce vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz”, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide wherein the effectors produce vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In re claim 12, regarding the limitation, “wherein the controller is configured to switch between activating the first and second effectors and activating the third and fourth effectors at intervals of between about 0.25 seconds and about 1.0 second”, see in re claim 1 above.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ólaighin et al (US 2022/0118256) in view of Daly et al. (US 4,408,608) in view of Moaddeb et al. (US 2019/0269914).
In re claim 5, the proposed combination fails to yield wherein the stimulation is further accompanied by light output from one or more LEDs associated with each effector.
Moaddeb a system for controlling blood pressure [0003] and comprising of vibration elements (fig. 9: vibration elements 136, 138) that provide stimulation [0049] to stimulate reduction of blood pressure [0049], wherein the stimulation is further accompanied by light output ([0074]: indicator lights 427 may include indicator of applied vibration) from one or more LEDs [0074] associated with each effector ([0074]: multiple LEDs may be used to indicate various applied stimulation and measurements).
Moaddeb further teaches that the light output may be used to indicate an active status of applied vibration [0074].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify each of the effectors of the method for providing brain therapy yielded by the proposed combination, to provide wherein the stimulation is further accompanied by light output from one or more LEDs associated with each effector, as taught by Moaddeb, because the light output may be used to indicate an active status of applied vibration.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ólaighin et al (US 2022/0118256) in view of Daly et al. (US 4,408,608) in view of Ziv (US 2018/0028809).
In re claim 6, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ólaighin unless otherwise stated)
wherein the stimulation pulses are delivered in predetermined waveform patterns [0207],
The proposed combination fails to yield
wherein the stimulation pulses are delivered in predetermined waveform patterns selected from sinusoidal, square, or triangular.
Ziv teaches a stimulation therapy system [0007-0008] that
provides
simultaneous stimulation to a first acupoint pair (fig. 7: 1710a and 1710b; [0271]) and
simultaneous stimulation to a second acupoint pair (1720a and 1720b; [0271]),
wherein stimulation pulses [0271] are delivered in predetermined waveform patterns selected from
sinusoidal [0090],
square [0090], or
triangular [0090].
Ziv further teaches that different stimulation algorithms and corresponding sets (which includes waveforms [0276]) can be determined for different respective stimulation session goals [0277]. Ziv additionally teaches that stimulation pulses can vary in waveform [0092], for instance first stimulation pulses may be sine waves [0092], while second stimulation pulses may be square waves [0092].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed t to modify the method for providing brain therapy yielded by the proposed combination, to provide wherein the stimulation pulses are delivered in predetermined waveform patterns selected from sinusoidal, square, or triangular, as taught by Ziv, because different stimulation algorithms and sets can be determined for different stimulation session goals, and because first stimulation pulses may be sine waves while second stimulation pulses may be square waves as needed.
In re claim 16, regarding the limitation, “the effectors are configured to deliver stimulation pulses in a predetermined waveform pattern selected from
sinusoidal square or
triangular”,
see in re claim 6 above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ólaighin et al (US 2022/0118256) in view of Daly et al. (US 4,408,608) in view of Rosenbluth et al. (US 2019/0001129).
In re claim 11, the proposed combination fails to yield wherein each vibratory actuator comprises an eccentric rotating mass or a linear resonant actuator producing vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz.
Rosenbluth teaches a peripheral stimulation device [0007] for treating tremor by stimulation of a peripheral nerve [0009], and teaches wherein each vibratory actuator ([0014]: first stimulus may be a vibrational actuator; [0051]: second stimulation actuator may comprise a vibrational actuator) comprises an eccentric rotating mass [0112] producing vibrations [0112] having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz ([0152]: vibratory stimulus may be any two of a listed parameters, such as 130Hz and 180Hz).
Rosenbluth further teaches that the vibration frequency may be within a desired range [0152] based on what is being excited [0152], and that a motor that causes the vibration may be from a rotational motion [0112].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed t to modify the method for providing brain therapy yielded by the proposed combination, to provide wherein each vibratory actuator comprises an eccentric rotating mass or a linear resonant actuator producing vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz, as taught by Rosenbluth, because the vibration frequency may be within a desired range based on what is being excited, and because a motor that causes the vibration may be from a rotational motion.
Additionally, at the time the instant application was filed it would be obvious to try to provide producing vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz. Furthermore, when there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103. KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397, especially since the claimed frequency is not disclosed as being crucial or unexpected.
Even if the proposed combination fails to yield “producing vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz”, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide wherein the vibratory actuator produces vibrations having a frequency of between 130 and 180 Hz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/RUMAISA RASHID BAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3796 /William J Levicky/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796