Double Patenting
Claim [ 1-20 ] provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim [ 1-20 ] of copending Application No. [ 18909879 ] (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application: 18909879
Co-pending Application: 18909877
1. An apparatus comprising:
a plurality of transmitters and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
identify a plurality of wireless channels corresponding to the plurality of transmitters for transmitting respective data streams;
determine, based at least on a difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels, respective target code rates for the plurality of wireless channels, wherein the respective target code rates are different from each other and different from a base code rate of a low density parity check (LDPC) code; and
encode, by an LDPC encoder using the LDPC code with the base code rate, the respective data streams to generate respective encoded data streams at the respective target code rates; and wherein the plurality of transmitters are configured to transmit the respective encoded data streams via respective wireless channels.
1. An apparatus comprising:
a transmitter and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
identify a plurality of resource units (RUs) used for transmitting respective data streams within one or more wireless channels;
determine, based at least on a difference in signal quality between transmissions across the plurality of RUs, respective target code rates for the plurality of RUs, wherein the respective target code rates are different from each other and different from a base code rate of a low density parity check (LDPC) code; and
encode, by an LDPC encoder using the LDPC code with the base code rate, the respective data streams to generate respective encoded data streams at the respective target code rates; and
wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit the respective encoded data streams using the plurality of respective RUs.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels is the difference in signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) between the plurality of wireless channels.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the difference in signal quality between the plurality of RUs is a difference in signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) between the transmissions across the plurality of RUs.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a data stream; determine, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream; based at least on the different traffic types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, split, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a data stream; determine, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream; based at least on the different data types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, split, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select, based at least on the respective target code rates and the base code rate, respective sizes of information bits for encoding for the plurality of wireless channels.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select, based at least on the respective target code rates and the base code rate, respective sizes of information bits for the plurality of RUs.
5. The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: based at least on the respective sizes of information bits, split, by a physical (PHY) layer, a data stream into the respective data streams; and add, by the PHY layer, respective data to the respective data streams according to the selected respective sizes of information bits
5. The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: based at least on the respective sizes of information bits, split, by a physical (PHY) layer, a data stream into the respective data streams; and add, by the PHY layer, respective data to the respective data streams according to the selected respective sizes of information bits
6. The apparatus of claim 4, wherein in encoding the respective data streams, the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a base size of information bits corresponding to the base code rate; generate, from each respective data stream, a second set of information bits to include a first set of information bits corresponding to the selected respective size of information bits and one or more bits to increase a size of the second set of information to correspond to the base size of information bits; encode, by the LDPC encoder using the base code rate, the second set of information bits to generate parity data; and generate the respective encoded data stream by concatenating the second set of information bits and the parity data.
6. The apparatus of claim 4, wherein in encoding the respective data streams, the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a base size of information bits corresponding to the base code rate; generate, from each respective data stream, a second set of information bits to include a first set of information bits corresponding to the selected respective size of information bits and one or more bits to increase a size of the second set of information to correspond to the base size of information bits; encode, by the LDPC encoder using the base code rate, the second set of information bits to generate parity data; and generate the respective encoded data stream by concatenating the second set of information bits and the parity data.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to encode the respective data streams serially or in parallel.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to encode the respective data streams serially or in parallel.
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to multiplex the respective encoded data streams to perform a stream-wise modulation.
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to multiplex the respective encoded data streams to perform a stream-wise modulation.
9. A method comprising: identifying, by one or more processors, a plurality of wireless channels corresponding to a plurality of transmitters for transmitting respective data streams; determining, by the one or more processors based at least on a difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels, respective target code rates for the plurality of wireless channels, wherein the respective target code rates are different from each other and different from a base code rate of a low density parity check (LDPC) code; encoding, by an LDPC encoder using the LDPC code with the base code rate, the respective data streams to generate respective encoded data streams at the respective target code rates; and transmitting, by the plurality of transmitters, the respective encoded data streams via respective wireless channels.
9. A method comprising: identifying, by one or more processors, a plurality of resource units (RUs) used for transmitting respective data streams within one or more wireless channels; determining, by the one or more processors based at least on a difference in signal quality between transmissions across the plurality of RUs, respective target code rates for the plurality of RUs, wherein the respective target code rates are different from each other and different from a base code rate of a low density parity check (LDPC) code; encoding, by an LDPC encoder using the LDPC code with the base code rate, the respective data streams to generate respective encoded data streams at the respective target code rates; and transmitting, by a transmitter, the respective encoded data streams using respective RUs.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels is a difference in signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) between the plurality of wireless channels.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the difference in signal quality between the plurality of RUs is a difference in signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) between the transmissions across the plurality of RUs.
11. The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving a data stream; determining, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream; based at least on the different traffic types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, splitting, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams.
11. The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving a data stream; determining, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream; based at least on the different data types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, splitting, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams.
12. The method of claim 9, further comprising: selecting, based at least on the respective target code rates and the base code rate, respective sizes of information bits for encoding for the plurality of wireless channels.
12. The method of claim 9, further comprising: selecting, based at least on the respective target code rates and the base code rate, respective sizes of information bits for the plurality of RUs.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising: based at least on the respective sizes of information bits, splitting, by a physical (PHY) layer, a data stream into the respective data streams; and adding, by the PHY layer, respective data to the respective data streams according to the selected respective sizes of information bits.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising: based at least on the respective sizes of information bits, splitting, by a physical (PHY) layer, a data stream into the respective data streams; and adding, by the PHY layer, respective data to the respective data streams according to the selected respective sizes of information bits.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein encoding the respective data streams comprises: determining a base size of information bits corresponding to the base code rate; generating, from each respective data stream, a second set of information bits to include a first set of information bits corresponding to the selected respective size of information bits and one or more bits to increase a size of the second set of information to correspond to the base size of information bits; encoding, by the LDPC encoder using the base code rate, the second set of information bits to generate parity data; and generating the respective encoded data stream by concatenating the second set of information bits and the parity data.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein encoding the respective data streams comprises: determining a base size of information bits corresponding to the base code rate; generating, from each respective data stream, a second set of information bits to include a first set of information bits corresponding to the selected respective size of information bits and one or more bits to increase a size of the second set of information to correspond to the base size of information bits; encoding, by the LDPC encoder using the base code rate, the second set of information bits to generate parity data; and generating the respective encoded data stream by concatenating the second set of information bits and the parity data.
15. The method of claim 9, wherein encoding the respective data streams comprises: encoding the respective data streams serially or in parallel.
15. The method of claim 9, wherein encoding the respective data streams comprises: encoding the respective data streams serially or in parallel.
16. The method of claim 9, further comprising: multiplexing the respective encoded data streams to perform a stream-wise modulation.
16. The apparatus of claim 9, further comprising: multiplexing the respective encoded data streams to perform a stream-wise modulation.
17. An apparatus comprising: a plurality of transmitters and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify a plurality of wireless channels corresponding to the plurality of transmitters for transmitting respective data streams; determine, based on the difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels, respective numbers of bits for the plurality of wireless channels, wherein the respective numbers of bits are different from each other; and modulate, using the respective numbers of bits, the respective data streams to generate respective modulated data streams; and wherein the plurality of transmitters are configured to transmit the respective encoded data streams via respective wireless channels.
17. An apparatus comprising: a transmitter and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify a plurality of resource units (RUs) used for transmitting respective data streams within one or more wireless channels; determine, based at least on a difference in signal quality between transmissions across the plurality of RUs, respective numbers of bits for the plurality of RUs, wherein the respective numbers of bits are different from each other; and modulate, using the respective numbers of bits, the respective data streams to generate respective modulated data streams, wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit the respective modulated data streams using respective RUs.
18. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels is a difference in signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) between the plurality of wireless channels.
18. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the difference in signal quality between the plurality of RUs is a difference in signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) between the transmissions across the plurality of RUs.
19. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein in modulating the respective data streams, the one or more processors are configured to perform, for each wireless channel, a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) using the respective number of bits as a number of bits per symbol.
19. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein in modulating the respective data streams, the one or more processors are configured to perform, for each RU, a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) using the respective number of bits as a number of bits per symbol.
20. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive a data stream; determine, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream; based at least on the different traffic types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, split, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams.
20. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive a data stream; determine, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream; based at least on the different data types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, split, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams.
Obviousness statement: Claims 1-20 of the co-pending application teach all the claims [1-20] of the instant applications, except for the wireless channel, which in view of US Pub No. 20030043928, Ling et al., teaches that the operating frequency band is partitioned into a number of “frequency subchannels” each of which is a wireless channel, which is a resource unit (The techniques described herein are applicable for multiple parallel transmission channels supported by MIMO, OFDM, or any other communication scheme (e.g., a CDMA scheme) capable of supporting multiple parallel transmission channels. [Ling PP 0133]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system by using resource units, in order to improve encoding/decoding process of a communications system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) [ 1-2, 4-10, 12-19 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Ling et al. (Pub No. US 20030043928), hereinafter "Ling", in view of Andersson et al. (Pub No. US 20230179230), hereinafter "Andersson"].
As per claim 1, Ling significantly teaches an apparatus comprising: a plurality of transmitters (The data may be transmitted from multiple antennas and/or on multiple frequency subchannels [Ling PP 0041]) and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify a plurality of wireless channels corresponding to the plurality of transmitters for transmitting respective data streams (the operating frequency band is effectively partitioned into a number of “frequency subchannels”, or frequency bins. [Ling PP 0005], Each frequency subchannel/spatial subchannel may also be referred to as a “transmission channel”. [Ling PP 0026]);
determine, based at least on a difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels, respective target code rates for the plurality of wireless channels (the number of information bits that may be transmitted for each modulation symbol is dependent on the SNR [Ling PP 0089], the coding rate for each transmission channel is dependent on the information bit rate and the modulation scheme selected for the channel. [Ling PP 0009]),
wherein the plurality of transmitters are configured to transmit the respective encoded data streams via respective wireless channels (The modulation symbols for all transmission channels are then provided to a MIMO processor 120 . [Ling PP 0027], transmitted via an associated antenna 124. [Ling PP 0028]).
Ling does not explicitly teach “wherein the respective target code rates are different from each other and different from a base code rate of a low density parity check (LDPC) code; and encode, by an LDPC encoder using the LDPC code with the base code rate, the respective data streams to generate respective encoded data streams at the respective target code rates”
However, Andersson, in an analogous art teaches wherein the respective target code rates are different from each other and different from a base code rate of a low density parity check (LDPC) code (LDPC codes for 802.11n are specified with 12 mother codes (3 different block lengths and 4 different rates). PCMs for all other block lengths and code rates needed are specified through rate matching mechanisms (including shortening, puncturing, and/or repetition) applied to one of the 12 mother codes. [Andersson PP 0010], Together, puncturing, shortening, and repetition change the number of coded bits from n to ntx. After rate matching is applied, the native code size (k, n) defined by the PCM is modified to an actual code size (ktx, ntx). [Andersson PP 0014]); and
encode, by an LDPC encoder using the LDPC code with the base code rate, the respective data streams to generate respective encoded data streams at the respective target code rates (the first node generates a codeword vector by encoding the set of information bits with a low-density parity-check code, wherein the codeword vector is composed of systematic bits and parity bits. [Andersson PP 0088], The code rate (R) of PCM 5 is defined as the number of information bits k divided by the number of coded bits n, R=k/n [Andersson PP 0005], After rate matching is applied, the native code size (k, n) defined by the PCM is modified to an actual code size (ktx, ntx). [Andersson PP 0014])
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling to incorporate Andersson’s teaching of generating different code rates, in order to improve leakage detection and testing reliability (in certain embodiments the circular buffer-based rate matching methods may be designed such that an arbitrary (Ktx, Ntx) can be provided using a single procedure. [Andersson PP 0028]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Ling’s invention.
As per claim 2, Ling significantly teaches wherein the difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels is the difference in signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) between the plurality of wireless channels (the number of information bits per modulation symbol supported by each transmission channel is determined based on its SNR. [Ling PP 0092]).
As per claim 4, Ling does not explicitly teach “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select, based at least on the respective target code rates and the base code rate, respective sizes of information bits for encoding for the plurality of wireless channels.”
However, Andersson, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select, based at least on the respective target code rates and the base code rate, respective sizes of information bits for encoding for the plurality of wireless channels (After rate matching is applied, the native code size (k, n) defined by the PCM is modified to an actual code size (ktx, ntx). Hence, for a set of ktx information bits, ntx coded bits are produced for transmission. Correspondingly, the actual code rate is calculated based on Rtx=ktx/ntx. [Andersson PP 0014], The code rate (R) of PCM 5 is defined as the number of information bits k divided by the number of coded bits n, R=k/n [Andersson PP 0005], Shortening reduces the size of the information block from k to ktx. [Andersson PP 0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling to incorporate Andersson’s teaching of generating different code rates, in order to improve leakage detection and testing reliability (in certain embodiments the circular buffer-based rate matching methods may be designed such that an arbitrary (Ktx, Ntx) can be provided using a single procedure. [Andersson PP 0028]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Ling’s invention.
As per claim 5, Ling significantly teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: based at least on the respective sizes of information bits, split, by a physical (PHY) layer, a data stream into the respective data streams (The aggregate input data, which includes all information bits to be transmitted by system 110 y , is provided to a demultiplexer 710 . Demultiplexer 710 demultiplexes the input data into a number of (K) channel data streams, B1 through Bk . [Ling PP 0130], Each channel data stream may correspond to … or a traffic data transmission. [Ling PP 0130], the number of information bits per modulation symbol supported by each transmission channel is determined based on its SNR [Ling PP 0092]); and add, by the PHY layer, respective data to the respective data streams according to the selected respective sizes of information bits (the Ni information bits and the Pi parity and tail bits for each transmission channel of segment i are mapped to a modulation symbol for the transmission channel. [Ling PP 0100], Each non-binary symbol includes a group of interleaved and unpunctured coded bits [Ling PP 0012], The specific number of coded bits in each non-binary symbol is dependent on the channel's modulation scheme. [Ling PP 0012]).
As per claim 6, Ling does not explicitly teach “wherein in encoding the respective data streams, the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a base size of information bits corresponding to the base code rate; generate, from each respective data stream, a second set of information bits to include a first set of information bits corresponding to the selected respective size of information bits and one or more bits to increase a size of the second set of information to correspond to the base size of information bits; encode, by the LDPC encoder using the base code rate, the second set of information bits to generate parity data; and generate the respective encoded data stream by concatenating the second set of information bits and the parity data.”
However, Andersson, in an analogous art, teaches wherein in encoding the respective data streams, the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a base size of information bits corresponding to the base code rate (The code rate (R) of PCM 5 is defined as the number of information bits k divided by the number of coded bits n, R=k/n [Andersson PP 0005], Given a dedicated LDPC code of code size (k, n) [Andersson PP 0015]);
generate, from each respective data stream, a second set of information bits to include a first set of information bits corresponding to the selected respective size of information bits and one or more bits to increase a size of the second set of information to correspond to the base size of information bits (generating an information vector from the set of information bits may comprise attaching (k−ktx) dummy bits to the set of ktx information bits to make an information vector U of k bits. The dummy bits are usually assigned a known value of “0”. The attachment of dummy bits to information bits may also be referred to as shortening of the code. [Andersson PP 0062]);
encode, by the LDPC encoder using the base code rate, the second set of information bits to generate parity data (The first node generates a codeword vector by encoding the set of information bits with an LDPC code, wherein the codeword vector is composed of systematic bits and parity bits. [Andersson PP 0046], the first node encodes information vector U with the PCM H. The encoding generates a codeword vector C of n bits. [Andersson PP 0064]); and
generate the respective encoded data stream by concatenating the second set of information bits and the parity data (systematic encoding is used so that the codeword vector C is composed of two sets of bits: [systematic bits; parity bits]. [Andersson PP 0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling to incorporate Andersson’s teaching of generating different code rates, in order to improve leakage detection and testing reliability (in certain embodiments the circular buffer-based rate matching methods may be designed such that an arbitrary (Ktx, Ntx) can be provided using a single procedure. [Andersson PP 0028]). Applying these teachings would
As per claim 7, Ling significantly teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to encode the respective data streams serially or in parallel (the information bits to be transmitted in each time slot for all segments, which may be computed as … are encoded with a particular encoder [Ling PP 0099-100], Each segment includes Ki transmission channels … Ni information bits and the Pi parity and tail bits for each transmission channel of segment i [Ling PP 0098-100]).
As per claim 8, Ling significantly teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to multiplex the respective encoded data streams (Demultiplexer 710 demultiplexes the input data into a number of (K) channel data streams, B1 through Bk. [Ling PP 0130], The modulation symbol stream from each encoder/channel interleaver/puncturer/symbol mapping element 712 may be transmitted on one or more frequency subchannels [Ling PP 0132]) to perform a stream-wise modulation (For each transmission channel, symbol mapping element 118 groups a set of unpunctured coded bits to form a non-binary symbol for that transmission channel. The non-binary symbol is then mapped to a modulation symbol [Ling PP 0027]).
As per claim 9, Ling significantly teaches a method comprising: identifying, by one or more processors, a plurality of wireless channels corresponding to a plurality of transmitters for transmitting respective data streams (the operating frequency band is effectively partitioned into a number of “frequency subchannels”, or frequency bins. [Ling PP 0005], Each frequency subchannel/spatial subchannel may also be referred to as a “transmission channel”. [Ling PP 0026]); determining, by the one or more processors based at least on a difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels, respective target code rates for the plurality of wireless channels (the number of information bits that may be transmitted for each modulation symbol is dependent on the SNR [Ling PP 0089], the coding rate for each transmission channel is dependent on the information bit rate and the modulation scheme selected for the channel. [Ling PP 0009]), and transmitting, by the plurality of transmitters, the respective encoded data streams via respective wireless channels (The modulation symbols for all transmission channels are then provided to a MIMO processor 120 . [Ling PP 0027], transmitted via an associated antenna 124. [Ling PP 0028]).
Ling does not explicitly teach “wherein the respective target code rates are different from each other and different from a base code rate of a low density parity check (LDPC) code; encoding, by an LDPC encoder using the LDPC code with the base code rate, the respective data streams to generate respective encoded data streams at the respective target code rates”
However, Andersson, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the respective target code rates are different from each other and different from a base code rate of a low density parity check (LDPC) code (LDPC codes for 802.11n are specified with 12 mother codes (3 different block lengths and 4 different rates). PCMs for all other block lengths and code rates needed are specified through rate matching mechanisms (including shortening, puncturing, and/or repetition) applied to one of the 12 mother codes. [Andersson PP 0010], Together, puncturing, shortening, and repetition change the number of coded bits from n to ntx. After rate matching is applied, the native code size (k, n) defined by the PCM is modified to an actual code size (ktx, ntx). [Andersson PP 0014]);
encoding, by an LDPC encoder using the LDPC code with the base code rate, the respective data streams to generate respective encoded data streams at the respective target code rates (the first node generates a codeword vector by encoding the set of information bits with a low-density parity-check code, wherein the codeword vector is composed of systematic bits and parity bits. [Andersson PP 0088], The code rate (R) of PCM 5 is defined as the number of information bits k divided by the number of coded bits n, R=k/n [Andersson PP 0005], After rate matching is applied, the native code size (k, n) defined by the PCM is modified to an actual code size (ktx, ntx). [Andersson PP 0014])
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling to incorporate Andersson’s teaching of generating different code rates, in order to improve leakage detection and testing reliability (in certain embodiments the circular buffer-based rate matching methods may be designed such that an arbitrary (Ktx, Ntx) can be provided using a single procedure. [Andersson PP 0028]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Ling’s invention.
As per claim 10, Ling significantly teaches wherein the difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels is a difference in signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) between the plurality of wireless channels (the number of information bits per modulation symbol supported by each transmission channel is determined based on its SNR. [Ling PP 0092]).
As per claim 12, Ling does not explicitly teach “further comprising: selecting, based at least on the respective target code rates and the base code rate, respective sizes of information bits for encoding for the plurality of wireless channels.”
However, Andersson, in an analogous art, teaches further comprising: selecting, based at least on the respective target code rates and the base code rate, respective sizes of information bits for encoding for the plurality of wireless channels. (After rate matching is applied, the native code size (k, n) defined by the PCM is modified to an actual code size (ktx, ntx). Hence, for a set of ktx information bits, ntx coded bits are produced for transmission. Correspondingly, the actual code rate is calculated based on Rtx=ktx/ntx. [Andersson PP 0014], The code rate (R) of PCM 5 is defined as the number of information bits k divided by the number of coded bits n, R=k/n [Andersson PP 0005], Shortening reduces the size of the information block from k to ktx. [Andersson PP 0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling to incorporate Andersson’s teaching of generating different code rates, in order to improve leakage detection and testing reliability (in certain embodiments the circular buffer-based rate matching methods may be designed such that an arbitrary (Ktx, Ntx) can be provided using a single procedure. [Andersson PP 0028]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Ling’s invention.
As per claim 13, Ling significantly teaches based at least on the respective sizes of information bits, splitting, by a physical (PHY) layer, a data stream into the respective data streams (The aggregate input data, which includes all information bits to be transmitted by system 110 y , is provided to a demultiplexer 710 . Demultiplexer 710 demultiplexes the input data into a number of (K) channel data streams, B1 through Bk . [Ling PP 0130], Each channel data stream may correspond to … or a traffic data transmission. [Ling PP 0130], the number of information bits per modulation symbol supported by each transmission channel is determined based on its SNR [Ling PP 0092]); and adding, by the PHY layer, respective data to the respective data streams according to the selected respective sizes of information bits (the Ni information bits and the Pi parity and tail bits for each transmission channel of segment i are mapped to a modulation symbol for the transmission channel. [Ling PP 0100], Each non-binary symbol includes a group of interleaved and unpunctured coded bits [Ling PP 0012], The specific number of coded bits in each non-binary symbol is dependent on the channel's modulation scheme. [Ling PP 0012]).
As per claim 14, Ling does not explicitly teach “wherein encoding the respective data streams comprises: determining a base size of information bits corresponding to the base code rate; generating, from each respective data stream, a second set of information bits to include a first set of information bits corresponding to the selected respective size of information bits and one or more bits to increase a size of the second set of information to correspond to the base size of information bits; encoding, by the LDPC encoder using the base code rate, the second set of information bits to generate parity data; and generating the respective encoded data stream by concatenating the second set of information bits and the parity data.”
However, Andersson, in an analogous art, teaches wherein encoding the respective data streams comprises: determining a base size of information bits corresponding to the base code rate (The code rate (R) of PCM 5 is defined as the number of information bits k divided by the number of coded bits n, R=k/n [Andersson PP 0005], Given a dedicated LDPC code of code size (k, n) [Andersson PP 0015]); generating, from each respective data stream, a second set of information bits to include a first set of information bits corresponding to the selected respective size of information bits and one or more bits to increase a size of the second set of information to correspond to the base size of information bits (generating an information vector from the set of information bits may comprise attaching (k−ktx) dummy bits to the set of ktx information bits to make an information vector U of k bits. The dummy bits are usually assigned a known value of “0”. The attachment of dummy bits to information bits may also be referred to as shortening of the code. [Andersson PP 0062]); encoding, by the LDPC encoder using the base code rate, the second set of information bits to generate parity data (The first node generates a codeword vector by encoding the set of information bits with an LDPC code, wherein the codeword vector is composed of systematic bits and parity bits. [Andersson PP 0046], the first node encodes information vector U with the PCM H. The encoding generates a codeword vector C of n bits. [Andersson PP 0064]); and generating the respective encoded data stream by concatenating the second set of information bits and the parity data (systematic encoding is used so that the codeword vector C is composed of two sets of bits: [systematic bits; parity bits]. [Andersson PP 0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling to incorporate Andersson’s teaching of generating different code rates, in order to improve leakage detection and testing reliability (in certain embodiments the circular buffer-based rate matching methods may be designed such that an arbitrary (Ktx, Ntx) can be provided using a single procedure. [Andersson PP 0028]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Ling’s invention.
As per claim 15, Ling significantly teaches wherein encoding the respective data streams comprises: encoding the respective data streams serially or in parallel (the information bits to be transmitted in each time slot for all segments, which may be computed as … are encoded with a particular encoder [Ling PP 0099-100], Each segment includes Ki transmission channels … Ni information bits and the Pi parity and tail bits for each transmission channel of segment i [Ling PP 0098-100]).
As per claim 16, Ling significantly teaches multiplexing the respective encoded data streams (Demultiplexer 710 demultiplexes the input data into a number of (K) channel data streams, B1 through Bk. [Ling PP 0130], The modulation symbol stream from each encoder/channel interleaver/puncturer/symbol mapping element 712 may be transmitted on one or more frequency subchannels [Ling PP 0132]) to perform a stream-wise modulation (For each transmission channel, symbol mapping element 118 groups a set of unpunctured coded bits to form a non-binary symbol for that transmission channel. The non-binary symbol is then mapped to a modulation symbol [Ling PP 0027]).
As per claim 17, Ling significantly teaches an apparatus comprising: a plurality of transmitters and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify a plurality of wireless channels corresponding to the plurality of transmitters for transmitting respective data streams (the operating frequency band is effectively partitioned into a number of “frequency subchannels”, or frequency bins. [Ling PP 0005], Each frequency subchannel/spatial subchannel may also be referred to as a “transmission channel”. [Ling PP 0026]);
determine, based on the difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels, respective numbers of bits for the plurality of wireless channels (the number of information bits that may be transmitted for each modulation symbol is dependent on the SNR [Ling PP 0089], the coding rate for each transmission channel is dependent on the information bit rate and the modulation scheme selected for the channel. [Ling PP 0009])
and modulate, using the respective numbers of bits, the respective data streams to generate respective modulated data streams (Each non-binary symbol includes a group of interleaved and unpunctured coded bits … The specific number of coded bits in each non-binary symbol is dependent on the channel's modulation scheme. [Ling PP 0012], The non-binary symbol is then mapped to a modulation symbol [Ling PP 0027]);
wherein the plurality of transmitters are configured to transmit the respective encoded data streams via respective wireless channels (The modulation symbols for all transmission channels are then provided to a MIMO processor 120 . [Ling PP 0027], transmitted via an associated antenna 124. [Ling PP 0028]).
Ling does not explicitly teach “wherein the respective numbers of bits are different from each other”
However, Andersson, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the respective numbers of bits are different from each other (puncturing, shortening, and repetition change the number of coded bits from n to ntx. After rate matching is applied, the native code size (k, n) defined by the PCM is modified to an actual code size (ktx, ntx). [Andersson PP 0014])
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling to incorporate Andersson’s teaching of generating different code rates, in order to improve leakage detection and testing reliability (in certain embodiments the circular buffer-based rate matching methods may be designed such that an arbitrary (Ktx, Ntx) can be provided using a single procedure. [Andersson PP 0028]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Ling’s invention.
As per claim 18, Ling significantly teaches wherein the difference in signal quality between the plurality of wireless channels is a difference in signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) between the plurality of wireless channels (the number of information bits per modulation symbol supported by each transmission channel is determined based on its SNR. [Ling PP 0092]).
As per claim 19, Ling significantly teaches wherein in modulating the respective data streams, the one or more processors are configured to perform, for each wireless channel, a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) using the respective number of bits as a number of bits per symbol (a high-order modulation scheme (e.g., QPSK, QAM, and so on), the coded bits are grouped into non-binary symbols that are then used to modulate the subcarriers [Ling PP 0005], The specific number of coded bits in each non-binary symbol is dependent on the channel's modulation scheme. [Ling PP 0012]).
Claim(s) [ 3, 11, 20 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Ling, in view of Andersson, in further view of Han et al. (Pub No. EP 3461209, IDS), hereinafter "Han"].
As per claim 3, Ling significantly teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a data stream (The aggregate input data, which includes all information bits to be transmitted by system 110 y , is provided to a demultiplexer 710 [Ling PP 0130])
Ling in view Andersson does not explicitly teach “determine, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream; based at least on the different traffic types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, split, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams.”
However, Han, in an analogous art, teaches determine, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream (The MAC layer performs scheduling and multiplexing on data of a plurality of logical channels LCHs to obtain a Media Access Control protocol data unit MAC PDU [Han PP 0180], QoS information of a flow 1 includes information such as QCI 1=6 and ARP 1=3 [Han PP 0195], The QCI indicates one or more of counters such as a priority, a delay, and a packet loss rate. [Han PP 0217]);
based at least on the different traffic types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, split, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams (Different flows are differentiated from each other [Han PP 0182], The PDCP entity of the UE groups data of the flow 1 and the flow 2 into two queues for queuing. [Han PP 0197], After performing possible segmentation or concatenation processing on the PDCP PDU, the RLC entity delivers the PDCP PDU to the MAC layer for multiplexing. [Han PP 0201]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling and Andersson to incorporate Han’s teaching of data flow, to improve separating and prioritizing different data flows (Embodiments of the present invention provide a method and device for QoS control, to implement flow-based basic QoS control. [Han PP 0007]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Ling in view of Andersson’s invention.
As per claim 11, Ling significantly teaches receiving a data stream (The aggregate input data, which includes all information bits to be transmitted by system 110 y , is provided to a demultiplexer 710 [Ling PP 0130])
Ling in view Andersson does not explicitly teach “determining, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream; based at least on the different traffic types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, splitting, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams.”
However, Han, in an analogous art, teaches determining, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream (The MAC layer performs scheduling and multiplexing on data of a plurality of logical channels LCHs to obtain a Media Access Control protocol data unit MAC PDU [Han PP 0180], QoS information of a flow 1 includes information such as QCI 1=6 and ARP 1=3 [Han PP 0195], The QCI indicates one or more of counters such as a priority, a delay, and a packet loss rate. [Han PP 0217]);
based at least on the different traffic types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, splitting, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams (Different flows are differentiated from each other [Han PP 0182], The PDCP entity of the UE groups data of the flow 1 and the flow 2 into two queues for queuing. [Han PP 0197], After performing possible segmentation or concatenation processing on the PDCP PDU, the RLC entity delivers the PDCP PDU to the MAC layer for multiplexing. [Han PP 0201]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling and Andersson to incorporate Han’s teaching of data flow, to improve separating and prioritizing different data flows (Embodiments of the present invention provide a method and device for QoS control, to implement flow-based basic QoS control. [Han PP 0007]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Ling in view of Andersson’s invention.
As per claim 20, Ling significantly teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive a data stream (The aggregate input data, which includes all information bits to be transmitted by system 110 y , is provided to a demultiplexer 710 [Ling PP 0130])
Ling in view Andersson does not explicitly teach “determine, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream; based at least on the different traffic types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, split, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams.”
However, Han, in an analogous art, teaches determine, by a medium access control (MAC) layer, (1) different traffic types of the data stream, (2) different levels of priority of the data stream or (3) different levels of quality of service (QoS) of the data stream (The MAC layer performs scheduling and multiplexing on data of a plurality of logical channels LCHs to obtain a Media Access Control protocol data unit MAC PDU [Han PP 0180], QoS information of a flow 1 includes information such as QCI 1=6 and ARP 1=3 [Han PP 0195], The QCI indicates one or more of counters such as a priority, a delay, and a packet loss rate. [Han PP 0217]);
based at least on the different traffic types, the different levels of priority or the different levels of QoS, split, by the MAC layer, the data stream into the respective data streams (Different flows are differentiated from each other [Han PP 0182], The PDCP entity of the UE groups data of the flow 1 and the flow 2 into two queues for queuing. [Han PP 0197], After performing possible segmentation or concatenation processing on the PDCP PDU, the RLC entity delivers the PDCP PDU to the MAC layer for multiplexing. [Han PP 0201]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless communication system disclosed by Ling and Andersson to incorporate Han’s teaching of data flow, to improve separating and prioritizing different data flows (Embodiments of the present invention provide a method and device for QoS control, to implement flow-based basic QoS control. [Han PP 0007]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Ling in view of Andersson’s invention.
Conclusion
/KAREEM FUAD ALHWAMDEH/Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112