Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 06/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended. Claims 11-12 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-10 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3-5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Chen (US 20220198175 A1; Chen’175) in view of Chen (US 20200043400 A1; Chen’400) and further in view of Baek (US 20220190061 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen’175 (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7-9) discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate (substrate 110) comprising a surface (surface 111);
a first insulating layer (insulating layer B1) disposed on the surface (surface 111) of the substrate (substrate 110), wherein the first insulating layer (insulating layer B1) comprises a first hole (hole H13);
a second insulating layer (insulating layer I7) disposed on the surface (surface 111) of the substrate (substrate 110) and the first insulating laver (insulating layer B1), wherein the second insulating laver (insulating layer I7) comprises a second hole (a hole for pad P1) and a third hole (a hole for pad P2), and the second hole (a hole for pad P1) and the third hole (a hole for pad P1) are separated;
a first active element (transistor T1 a; [0051]) disposed on the surface (surface 111) of the substrate (substrate 110);
a second active element (transistor T2; [0036]) disposed on the surface (surface 111) of the substrate (substrate 110);
a photosensor (optical sensor 120A; [0048] and [0052]) disposed in the first hole (hole H13) of the first insulating layer (insulating layer B1) and electrically connected to the first active element (transistor T1 a; [0051]);
a light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A; [0048]) and electrically connected to the second active element (transistor T2; [0036]);
a first connecting element (pad P1; [0062]) electrically connected to and overlapped with the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A), wherein the first connecting element (pad P1) is disposed in the second hole (hole for pad P1) of the second insulating layer (insulating layer I7); and
a second connecting element (pad P2; [0062]) electrically connected to and overlapped with the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A), wherein the second connecting element (pad P2) is disposed in the third hole (hole for pad P2) of the second insulating layer (insulating layer I7), wherein the first connecting element (pad P1) and the second connecting element (pad P2) are structurally separated along a direction parallel to the surface (surface 111) of the substrate (substrate 110).
Chen’175 discloses a light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A; [0048]) disposed on the second insulating layer (insulating layer I7), but does not disclose a third insulating layer and the light-emitting unit disposed in a hole (fourth hole) of the third insulating layer. However, Chen’400 (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses a light-emitting unit (light-emitting element LD) and a third insulating layer (insulating layer OC) comprising a fourth hole (hole for to accommodate the light-emitting element LD), and the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element LD) disposed in the fourth hole of the third insulating layer (insulating layer OC), wherein the third insulating layer (insulating layer OC) disposed on the surface of the substrate (substrate 110) and the second insulating layer (insulating layer 160). In addition, Chen’400 (e.g., Fig. 1) also discloses a first connecting element (first pad BP) and a second connecting element (second pad BP) disposed in a second hole and a third hole of the second insulating layer (insulating layer 160) and electrically connected to and overlapped with the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element LD). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Chen’400 to the electronic device of Chen’175. The combination/motivation would be to provide a cover layer to protect the light-emitting element.
Chen’175 (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7-9) discloses a substrate (substrate 110) comprising a surface (surface 111); and a first insulating layer disposed on the surface of the substrate (since the insulating layer B1 is directly disposed and resting on the bottom surface 111 of the substrate 110, the insulating layer B1 can be described as being on the surface 111 of the substrate 110). As pointed out by the applicant in the Remark, the difference of Chen’175 and the claimed invention is that the optical sensing element 120A and the light-emitting element 130A are not disposed on the same side of the surface 111 of the substrate 110. The examiner further cites Baek as a reference. Baek (e.g., Figs. 7 and 9) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by Chen’175, comprising: a light-emitting unit (light-emitting unit LD) and a photosensor (optical sensor PD), comprising:
a substrate (substrate BL) comprising a surface (surface BS);
a first insulating layer (insulating layer INS1) disposed on the surface (surface BS) of the substrate (substrate BL), wherein the first insulating layer (insulating layer INS1) comprises a first hole (hole H1), and a photosensor (optical sensor PD) disposed in the first hole (hole H) of the first insulating layer (insulating layer INS1).
Baek (e.g., Figs. 7 and 9) also discloses the electronic device comprising:
a third insulating layer (insulating layer TEF) disposed on the surface (surface BS) of the substrate (substrate BL) and the first insulating layer (insulating layer INS1), wherein the third insulating layer comprises a fourth hole (hole H4), and the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element LD) disposed in the fourth hole (hole H4) of the third insulating layer (insulating layer OC).
Therefore, Baek (e.g., Figs. 7 and 9) discloses both the optical sensing element PD and the light-emitting element LD are disposed on the same side of the surface of the substrate BL. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Baek to the display device of Chen’175 for a rearrangement of the optical sensor and the light-emitting element. Specifically, it is merely a design choice to arrange the optical sensing element PD and the light-emitting element LD on the same side or on the opposite side of the substrate, and such a rearrangement does not modify the operation of the device and involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Chen’175 does not disclose a light-impermeable layer and a color filter as claimed. However, Baek (e.g., Figs. 7 and 9) further discloses the display device comprising: a light-impermeable layer (layer BM) comprising a first opening (opening corresponding to EA) and a second opening (opening corresponding to SA), wherein the light-emitting unit is (light-emitting unit LD) at least partially overlapped with the first opening (opening EA), and the photosensor (optical sensor PD) is at least partially overlapped with the second opening (opening SA); and a color filter (color filter CF1) disposed in the first opening (opening EA) of the light-impermeable layer (layer BM). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the color filter as taught from Baek to the electronic device of Chen’175. The combination/motivation would be to provide a color filter to cut off unwanted emission light and to improve detection sensitivity.
Regarding claim 3, Chen’175 in view of Chen’400 and further in view of Baek discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Chen’175 (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7-9) discloses wherein the photosensor (optical sensor 120A) is not overlapped with the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A).
Regarding claim 4, Chen’175 in view of Chen’400 and further in view of Baek discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Chen’175 (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7-9) discloses the electronic device further comprising: a semiconductor structure (transistor T2; [0036]) electrically connected to the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A) through the first connecting element (pad P1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen’175 in view of Chen’400 and further in view of Baek discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Baek (e.g., Figs. 7 and 9) discloses wherein the color filter layer (color filter layer CF1) overlapped with at least a part of the light-emitting unit (light-emitting unit LD). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the color filter as taught from Baek to the electronic device of Chen’175 in view of Chen’400 for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 8, Chen’175 in view of Chen’400 and further in view of Baek discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Chen’175 (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7-9) discloses wherein the first connecting element (pad P1) is connected with a first end of the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A), and the second connecting element (pad P2) is connected with a second end of the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A).
Regarding claim 9, Chen’175 in view of Chen’400 and further in view of Baek discloses the electronic device of claim 8, Chen’175 (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7-9) discloses wherein the first end of the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A) is disposed opposite to the second end of the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 130A) along the direction parallel to the surface of the substrate (e.g., Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Chen’175 in view of Chen’400 and further in view of Baek discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Chen’175 (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7-9) discloses wherein the first connecting element (pad P1) and the second connecting element (pad P1) are disposed oppositely along the direction parallel to the surface of the substrate (e.g., Fig. 5), and the first connecting element (pad P1) and the second connecting element (pad P1) are not structurally contacted (e.g., Fig. 5).
5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Chen (US 20220198175 A1; Chen’175) in view of Chen (US 20200043400 A1; Chen’400) and Baek (US 20220190061 A1) and further in view of EMURA (US 20220173283 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Chen’175 in view of Chen’400 and further in view of Baek discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but does not disclose a wavelength conversion layer overlapped with at least a part of the light-emitting unit. However, EMURA (e.g., Figs. 1A and 3) discloses a light-emitting unit same as that disclosed by Chen’175 and Chen’400, further comprising: a wavelength conversion layer (wavelength conversion layer 30; [0032]) overlapped with at least a part of the light-emitting unit (light-emitting element 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from EMURA to the electronic device of Chen’175 in view of Chen’400 and Baek. The combination/motivation would be to provide an emission light with a desired color to improve detection sensitivity.
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding claim 1, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of Baek (US 20220190061 A1) has been used for new ground rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623