Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0077995 (“Artemenko” or “A”) in view of US 2007/0001918 (“Ebling” or “E”) and US 2017/0040705 (“Matitsine” or “M”).
2: A teaches a communication terminal (that associated with the device of fig 1), comprising: a lens set comprising a lens (1) and a feed element (the 4s); a transmit and receive circuit (2) coupled to the feed of each lens set (as shown).
However, A fails to teach an array of lens sets tiled to fill an array aperture of the communication terminal and fails to teach a support on which the array of lens sets and transmit and receive circuit are positioned, and fails to teach a transmit and receive circuit configured to control the feed to transmit and receive satellite communication signals, wherein the transmit and receive circuit is further configured to simultaneously process the transmit and receive satellite communication signals of different lens sets of the array of lens sets, and fails to teach that the system would include a support on which the array of lens sets and transmit and receive circuit are positioned.
Nevertheless, M teaches an array of lens sets (e.g., fig 7). In addition, E teaches that fed lens elements may be tiled on a support (fig 7). Thus, it would have been obvious to provide an array of A’s lens antennas positioned on a support together with the associated transmit and receive circuits. The motivation would have been to provide for a narrower beam by providing a phased array of A’s lens antennas.
Once this modification is made, it would be the case that the transmit/receive circuit would necessarily process transmit and receive signals of the different lens set simultaneously. This is how a phased array operates.
In addition, once this modification is made, the system would include a support on which the array of lens sets and transmit and receive circuit are positioned.
However, A fails to teach that its system is a satellite communication terminal. Nevertheless, A teaches that its antenna operates at frequencies that are common for satellite communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to employ A’s system as a satellite communication terminal. The motivation would have been to take advantage of A’s beam steering to allow for satellite tracking.
3: The modified device discussed in regard to claim 2 would be such that the support is substantially circular (a support like that of fig 7 of E would be used).
4: A teaches that each lens set of the array of lens sets comprises a plurality of feed elements (each has a set of the 4, as shown in figs 2 and 3).
5: A fails to teach a cover attached to the support.
However, radome covers were old and well-known.
Thus, it would have been obvious to cover A’s modified system with a radome in order to protect the system from outside elements.
6: A fails to teach that at least some of the lens sets of the array of lens sets contact each other.
However, M teaches arrays of lens sets that contact each other (figs 2, 7).
Thus, it would have been obvious to provide that at least some of the lens sets of the array of lens sets contact each other.
The motivation would have been to reduce the area required for the array.
7: A fails to teach that the transmit and receive circuit comprises a transmit digital signal processor and a receive digital signal processor.
However, digital signal processors for transmitting and receiving were old and well-known.
Thus, it would have been obvious to provide that the transmit and receive circuit comprises a transmit digital signal processor and a receive digital signal processor.
The motivation would have been to allow for the use of ubiquitous, well-understood beam-forming technology.
Conclusion
/GRAHAM P SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845