DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 09/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 11 is recited as being dependent upon claim 3, however Examiner believes Applicant intended for claim 11 to depend from claim 10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7, 10, 12-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 10 recite the limitation “the second transceiver” in the last line of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Claims 3 and 10 depend from claims 1 and 8 respectively, however the disclosure of a second transceiver is recited in claims 2 and 9 respectively.
Claim 4 is rejected at least for its dependence upon rejected claim 3.
Claims 5-7 and 12-14 suffer the same antecedent basis issues as claims 3 and 10 above. Namely, the recitation of features of the second transceiver where no prior antecedent basis is present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shabtay (US 2025/0172682, PCT Filed Mar 31, 2022).
Claim 1: Shabtay discloses A positioning apparatus (para 0039, 0077) comprising: a first transceiver transmitting and receiving a radio wave; and a signal processing circuitry receiving a signal from the transceiver (para 0213-0222), wherein the first transceiver includes a first transmitter including a plurality of transmitting antennas for transmitting radio waves and a first receiver including a plurality of receiving antennas for receiving reflected waves (para 0070, 0078).
Claim 2: Shabtay discloses a second transceiver (para 0200, 0201), wherein the second transceiver includes a second transmitter including a plurality of transmitting antennas for transmitting radio waves and a second receiver including a plurality of receiving antennas for receiving reflected waves from a target (para 0070, 0078), and the signal processing circuitry is connected to the first transceiver and the second transceiver (para 0213-0222)
Claim 3: Shabtay discloses a mixer that mixes a transmission signal and a reception signal to generate an intermediate frequency signal (para 0137, 0138), and synchronization signal generation circuitry that synchronizes signal processing in a frequency band of the intermediate frequency signal between the first transceiver and the second transceiver (para 0213-0222, 0254, 0255, 0265-0269)
Claim 4: Shabtay discloses an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) in the first transceiver, wherein the ADC converts the intermediate frequency signal to a digital signal and output to the signal processing circuitry (para 0117)
Claim 8: Shabtay discloses A positioning system comprising a vehicle (para 0039, 0077), a positioning apparatus including a first transceiver transmitting and receiving a radio wave and signal processing circuitry (para 0213-0222),, wherein the positioning apparatus is mounted to the vehicle (para 0039, 0077), the first transceiver includes a first transmitter including a plurality of transmitting antennas for transmitting radio waves and a first receiver including a plurality of receiving antennas for receiving reflected waves (para 0070, 0078).
Claim 9: Shabtay discloses a second transceiver (para 0200, 0201), wherein the second transceiver includes a second transmitter including a plurality of transmitting antennas for transmitting radio waves and a second receiver including a plurality of receiving antennas for receiving reflected waves from a target (para 0070, 0078), and the signal processing circuitry is connected to the first transceiver and the second transceiver (para 0213-0222)
Claim 10: Shabtay discloses a mixer that mixes a transmission signal and a reception signal to generate an intermediate frequency signal (para 0137, 0138), and synchronization signal generation circuitry that synchronizes signal processing in a frequency band of the intermediate frequency signal between the first transceiver and the second transceiver (para 0213-0222, 0254, 0255, 0265-0269)
Claim 11: Shabtay discloses an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) in the first transceiver, wherein the ADC converts the intermediate frequency signal to a digital signal and output to the signal processing circuitry (para 0117)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabtay (US 2025/0172682, PCT Filed Mar 31, 2022) as applied to claims 3 and 10 above, and further in view of Lim (US 10629998).
Claim 5: Shabtay does not specifically disclose in the first transceiver, a physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is different from a physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses a vehicular radar system having plural arrays of transmitting and receiving elements (cvol 1 lines 27-45, col 2 lines 19 – col 3 lines 5) wherein in a first antenna group, a physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is different from a physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver (fig 4, 8, 9, col 12 line 43 – col 13 line 32).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Lim in order to accommodate accurate short range and long range measurements for collision avoidance.
Claim 6: Shabtay does not specifically disclose the physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is smaller than the physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses a vehicular radar system having plural arrays of transmitting and receiving elements (cvol 1 lines 27-45, col 2 lines 19 – col 3 lines 5) wherein the physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is smaller than the physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver (fig 4, 8, 9, col 12 line 43 – col 13 line 32).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Lim in order to accommodate accurate short range and long range measurements for collision avoidance.
Claim 7: Shabtay does not specifically disclose the physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is larger than the physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses a vehicular radar system having plural arrays of transmitting and receiving elements (cvol 1 lines 27-45, col 2 lines 19 – col 3 lines 5) wherein the physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is larger than the physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver (fig 4, 8, 9, col 12 line 43 – col 13 line 32).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Lim in order to accommodate accurate short range and long range measurements for collision avoidance.
Claim 12: Shabtay does not specifically disclose in the first transceiver, a physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is different from a physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses a vehicular radar system having plural arrays of transmitting and receiving elements (cvol 1 lines 27-45, col 2 lines 19 – col 3 lines 5) wherein in a first antenna group, a physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is different from a physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver (fig 4, 8, 9, col 12 line 43 – col 13 line 32).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Lim in order to accommodate accurate short range and long range measurements for collision avoidance.
Claim 13: Shabtay does not specifically disclose the physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is smaller than the physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses a vehicular radar system having plural arrays of transmitting and receiving elements (cvol 1 lines 27-45, col 2 lines 19 – col 3 lines 5) wherein the physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is smaller than the physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver (fig 4, 8, 9, col 12 line 43 – col 13 line 32).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Lim in order to accommodate accurate short range and long range measurements for collision avoidance.
Claim 14: Shabtay does not specifically disclose the physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is larger than the physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses a vehicular radar system having plural arrays of transmitting and receiving elements (cvol 1 lines 27-45, col 2 lines 19 – col 3 lines 5) wherein the physical distance between the first transmitter and first receiver is larger than the physical distance between the second transmitter and second receiver (fig 4, 8, 9, col 12 line 43 – col 13 line 32).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Lim in order to accommodate accurate short range and long range measurements for collision avoidance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited prior art comprises embodiments of plural transceiver radar systems having synchronization.
Woodington (US 2004/0246170) discloses a vehicular radar system comprising plural transceivers
Guarin (US 2022/0196826) discloses a radar system having plural synchronized transceivers
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648