DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of the amendment to independent claim 1, a new reference of Tomizawa (US Pub. 2009/0167657 A1) is applied to a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurumisawa (US Pub. 2005/0264587 A1) in view of Tomizawa (US Pub. 2009/0167657 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Kurumisawa teaches a display panel (Fig.8, a display panel 14) comprising a plurality of pixel units (Fig.2C, the display panel comprises a plurality of black-and-white pixels), wherein each of the plurality of pixel units consists of two sub-pixels (Fig.2C, each of black-and-white pixel consists of two sub-pixels), and colors of the two sub-pixels of each of the at least one pixel unit are in a complementary color relationship (Fig.2C, para. [0010 and 0057], Kurumisawa discloses a pixel arrangement comprising a plurality of black-and-white pixels. A first black-and-white pixel comprises a red (R) sub-pixel and a cyan © sub-pixel. A second black-and-white pixel comprises a green (G) sub-pixel and a magenta (M) sub-pixel. A third black-and-white pixel comprises a blue (B) sub-pixel and a yellow (YL) sub-pixel).
(Fig.2C of Kurumisawa reproduced)
Kurumisawa does not teach an area ratio of the two sub-pixels in each of the plurality of pixel units is larger than 1:1 and less than or equal to 3:1.
Tomizawa teaches an area ratio of the two complementary-color sub-pixels is larger than 1:1 and less than or equal to 3:1 (Fig. 24, para. [0207], a ratio of area of yellow, cyan, and magenta sub-pixels to that of red, green, and blue sub-pixels may be 1:3. In other words, an area ratio of red, green, and blue sub-pixels to that of cyan, magenta, and yellow sub-pixels may be 3 to 1).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Kurumisawa to including the teaching of Tomizawa of providing a display panel having an area ratio of red, green, and blue sub-pixels to that of cyan, magenta, and yellow sub-pixels being 3:1. The motivation would have been in order to reduce a size of a pixel unit while maintaining light emission efficiency (i.e., a luminance of cyan is greater than red, a luminance of yellow is greater than blue, and a luminance of magenta is greater than green).
Regarding claim 2; Kurumisawa in view of Tomizawa teaches the display panel of claim 1 as discussed above. Kurumisawa further teaches each of the plurality of pixel units is configured to produce a white point when the two sub-pixels are together set to a first state (Fig.3, para. [0056], when all gray-scale values of R and C are set to 0, white is displayed).
Regarding claim 3; Kurumisawa in view of Tomizawa teaches the display panel of claim 2 as discussed above. Kurumisawa further teaches each of the plurality of pixel units is configured to produce a black point when the two sub-pixels are together set to a second state (Fig.3, para. [0056], when all gray-scale values of R and C are set to 256, black is displayed).
Regarding claim 4; Kurumisawa in view of Tomizawa teaches the display panel of claim 3 as discussed above. Kurumisawa further teaches each of the plurality of pixel units is configured to produce a color point associated with one of the two sub-pixels when the one of the two sub-pixels is set to the first state and the other one of the two sub-pixels is set to the second state (It is understood that a complementary color (e.g., cyan) is a mixture of two primary colors (e.g., blue and green). Therefore, in a black-and-white pixel, a color image would be generated when grayscales of two sub-pixels are different. For example, if grayscale of red is 256 and grayscale of cyan is zero; then the first black-and-white pixel would display a red color).
Regarding claim 5; Kurumisawa in view of Tomizawa teaches the display panel of claim 1 as discussed above. Kurumisawa further teaches each of the plurality of pixel units is independently driven (para. [0010], three black-and-white pixels perform independently black-and-white display).
Regarding claim 6; Kurumisawa in view of Tomizawa teaches the display panel of claim 1 as discussed above. Kurumisawa further teaches each of the plurality of pixel units has a centrally-symmetric shape (see Fig.2C, each black-and-white pixel has a rectangular shape).
Regarding claim 10; Kurumisawa in view of Tomizawa teaches the display panel of claim 1 as discussed above. Kurumisawa further teaches the plurality of pixel units comprise at least two different types of pixel units, which are different from one another at least in the colors of the respective sub-pixels (see Fig.2C, there are three types of black-and-white pixels: R-C, G-M, and B-YL).
Regarding claim 21; Kurumisawa in view of Tomizawa teaches a display device comprising: a display panel comprising a plurality of pixel units (Kurumisawa, an LCD display panel 14, Fig.4), wherein each of the plurality of pixel units consists of two sub-pixels, and colors of the two sub-pixels of each of the at least one pixel unit are in a complementary color relationship, wherein an area ratio of the two sub-pixels in each of the plurality of pixel units is larger than 1:1, and less than or equal to 3:1; a memory configured to store a software program (Kurumisawa, a program memory 31, Fig.9); and a processor (Kurumisawa, a CPU 30, Fig.9) configured to execute the software program (Kurumisawa, para. [0079]) and to operate the display panel (similar to the analysis of claim 1 above).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurumisawa (US Pub. 2005/0264587 A1) in view of Tomizawa (US Pub. 2009/0167657 A1) as applied to claim 6 above; further in view of Jang et al. (US Pub. 2020/0374493 A1).
Regarding claim 7; Kurumisawa in view of Tomizawa teaches the display panel of claim 6 as discussed above. Kurumisawa does not teach each of the plurality of pixel units is square-shaped.
Jang teaches each of the plurality of pixel units is square-shaped (Fig.5, each of pixel units (e.g., 551a and 551b) is a square shaped).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Kurumisawa to include the pixel arrangement of Jang of providing a pixel unit comprising two complementary color sub-pixels arranged in horizontal direction such that the pixel unit is a square shape. Accordingly, in the display device of Kurumisawa as modified by Jang, the sub-pixels (e.g., R and C colors) in each black-and-white pixel would be arranged in a horizontal direction. The motivation would have been in order to improve color quality and sharpness; and to obtain a preferred design.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurumisawa (US Pub. 2005/0264587 A1) in view of Tomizawa (US Pub. 2009/0167657 A1) as applied to claim 1 above; further in view of Kim (US Pub. 2022/0158139 A1).
Regarding claim 9; Kurumisawa in view of Tomizawa teaches the display panel of claim 1 as discussed above. Kurumisawa does not teach the area ratio of the two sub-pixels in each of the plurality of pixel units is determined as a function of at least one of reflectance, transmittance, color filter spectrum, color particle spectrum, emission efficiency, power consumption, or life time.
Kim taches the area ratio of the two sub-pixels in each of the plurality of pixel units is determined as a function of at least one of reflectance, transmittance, color filter spectrum, color particle spectrum, emission efficiency, power consumption, or life time (para. [0170 and 0308], a size of each of subpixels SP1 to SP4 may be set based on a resolution, emission efficiency, or image quality. In other words, ratios of size of sub-pixels would be determined based on emission efficiency).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Kurumisawa to include the teaching of Kim of providing sub-pixels in a pixel unit having sizes of emission areas to be based on emission efficiency. Accordingly, the display system of Kurumisawa as modified by Kim would render a pixel unit comprising two complementary color sub-pixels having sizes of emission areas based on emission efficiency. In other words, a ratio of two complementary color sub-pixels would be based on the emission efficiency. The motivation would have been in order to improve the emission efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 11-16 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art fails to teach “the plurality of pixel units comprise a plurality of first pixel units and a plurality of second pixel units that are alternately arranged at least in a horizontal direction, wherein two sub-pixels in each of the first pixel units are vertically-adjacent sub-pixels and have a first pair of colors in a complementary color relationship, and wherein two sub-pixels in each of the second pixel units are horizontally-adjacent sub-pixels and have a second pair of colors in a complementary color relationship, the second pair of colors being different from the first pair of colors” as recited in claims 11, 20, and 22.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/NGUYEN H TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623