This action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/30/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 8, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in line 18, “said inductor current” appears that it should read as “said inductor-current”, because of consistency with the term “inductor-current” recited in line 12;
in line 21, “said start of said longer phase” appears that it should read as “a start of said longer phase”, because of lack of antecedent basis;
in line 25, “generates drive signal” appears that it should read as “generates a drive signal”.
Regarding claim 7, in line 2, “said second delay block” appears that it should read as “a second delay block”, because of lack of antecedent basis;
in line 3, “said delay block” appears that it should read as “each delay block”, because of lack of antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 8, in line 21, “said inductor current” appears that it should read as “said inductor-current”, because of consistency with the term “inductor-current” recited in line 14;
in line 24, “said start of said longer phase” appears that it should read as “a start of said longer phase”, because of lack of antecedent basis;
in line 29, “generates drive signal” appears that it should read as “generates a drive signal”.
Regarding claim 14, in line 2, “said second delay block” appears that it should read as “a second delay block”, because of lack of antecedent basis;
in line 3, “said delay block” appears that it should read as “each delay block”, because of lack of antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 1, the limitation “said inductor current being in a transient state in a first duration after transition from said shorter phase to said longer phase”, added by the amendment filed on 07/30/2026, is not described in the specification as originally filed. The specification describes the blanking duration as being introduced to allow transients in the current-sense (CS) block to settle (see [0057] of the instant specification “Typically, a blanking duration is introduced between the end of the shorter phase and the immediately following longer phase to allow transients in the CS block to settle.”), and explains that, during the blanking duration, the outputs of amplifier 650 of the current-sense block have not yet settled because the bandwidth of the amplifier is finite (see [0115] of the instant specification “As noted above, blanking duration is an interval in which amplifier 650 is ON (starting from, the start of T-blank), but whose outputs are not yet settled and correctly reflecting the input. This occurs due to the bandwidth (BW) of differential amplifier 650 being finite.”). Thus, the specification describes a transient state of the current-sense block during the first duration, not a transient state of the inductor current flowing through the inductor, and the specification does not otherwise describe the inductor current as being in a transient state. Applicant's remarks do not identify where the specification supports this limitation.
Regarding claim 8, the same limitation is recited and is not described in the specification as originally filed, for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-7 and 17 of claim 1 and dependent claims 9-16 of claim 8 inherit the deficiencies of claims 1 and 8 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Examiner's Note: The specification describes the first duration as an interval in which transients in the current-sense block settle (see [0057] and [0115] of the instant specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0223065 A1, hereinafter “Su”) in view of Wu et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2022/0045605 A1, hereinafter “Wu”), Chawla (US Patent Application Publication US 2019/0379331 A1), and Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2014/0253061 A1, hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 of Su) a power stage of a switching converter (buck converter, see [0027] of Su) comprising: a high-side switch (high-side switch transistor HS) and a low-side switch (low-side switch transistor LS) respectively operated by a first drive signal and a second drive signal (gate signals TG and BG), said first drive signal and said second drive signal to be respectively ON to drive respective currents through an inductor (L) in a high-side phase (on-time of HS) and a low-side phase (on-time of LS) (see [0027] and [0030] of Su); and a current-sense block (inductor current reconstruction circuit including an inductor current sampling circuit and an inductor current generator circuit, see [0028] of Su) to generate a sensed-current signal (sampled voltage Vcs) representing an instantaneous magnitude of inductor-current (IL) flowing through said inductor (see [0029] of Su, and [0030] of Su “More specifically, during the on-time of the low-side switch transistor LS, the inductor L, the low-side switch transistor LS and the output capacitor Co may form a freewheeling circuit, and the inductor current IL is the same as the current flowing through the low-side switch transistor LS.”) in a longer phase of said high-side phase and said low-side phase, with the other one of said high-side phase and said low-side phase being a shorter phase, wherein a duration of said longer phase is greater than or equal to a duration of said shorter phase (Vcs being tracked during whichever on-time is longer, and the inductor current being simulated during the other, shorter on-time, see [0040] and [0052] of Su, and [0019] of Su “With the adjusted inductor current generator circuit, the reconstruction circuit can simulate a reconstructed signal capable of precisely characterizing the inductor current IL, during the other on-time which is shorter.”), said inductor current being in a transient state in a first duration (blanking interval t1) after transition from said shorter phase (on-time of HS) to said longer phase (on-time of LS) (see [0041] of Su “Specifically, the blanking interval t1 is set because there is significant jitter and instantaneous noise in the low-side switch transistor LS immediately after it is turned on, which can greatly affect detection accuracy.”, and [0056] of Su “As noted above, the current through the low-side switch transistor LS is equal to the inductor current.”).
Su does not disclose a gate driver to generate said first drive signal and said second drive signal based on a control signal received from a phase controller, wherein said control signal is received with a first logic level in a first interval and with a second logic level in a second interval; and wherein said current-sense block generates a first pulse starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase and with pulse-width equaling said first duration.
However, Wu teaches (see Fig. 4, Fig. 5, and Fig. 7 of Wu) a gate driver (driver 422) to generate said first drive signal and said second drive signal (driver outputs to the gates of high-side FET Q1 and low-side FET Q2) based on a control signal (PWM signal) received from a phase controller (power controller 410), wherein said control signal is received with a first logic level in a first interval and with a second logic level in a second interval (high state and low state of the PWM signal) (see [0024] of Wu “Driver 422 represents logic or a circuit configured to receive a PWM signal from power controller 410, and to translate the PWM signal into a driver output to the gate of a high-side FET (Q1) and a driver output to the gate of a low-side FET (Q2) to maintain the load voltage (VLoad) at an output of power stage 420.” and “In a particular embodiment, the PWM signal is pulse width modulated and driver 422 utilizes a high state of the PWM signal to drive the gate of the high-side FET (Q1), and utilizes a low state of the PWM signal to drive the gate of the low-side FET (Q2).”); and wherein said current-sense block (Imon logic 424) generates a first pulse (blanking time TBlank) starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase (assertion of the low-side gate driver signal) and with pulse-width equaling said first duration (see [0025] of Wu “Here, the dashed line is the inductor current (IL), which is the target Imon signal that is sought to be reconstructed, and the solid line is low-side FET current sense signal, as blanked by the blanking time (TBlank).”, and [0029] of Wu “A blanking time for low-side FET current detection after a low-side gate driver signal is asserted (TBlank) is set and a sense time after the blanking time (TSense) is set, and a ratio of the blanking time to the sense time (k) is determined in block 702.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power stage of Su to comprise a gate driver to generate said first drive signal and said second drive signal based on a control signal received from a phase controller, wherein said control signal is received with a first logic level in a first interval and with a second logic level in a second interval; and wherein said current-sense block generates a first pulse starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase and with pulse-width equaling said first duration, as taught by Wu, because it can help maintain the load voltage at the output of the power stage by translating the pulse-width modulation signal received from the power controller into the drive outputs to the gates of the high-side and low-side switches, and can help time the blanking interval from the assertion of the low-side gate driver signal, so that the low-side current measurement is disregarded while it is too noisy immediately after the low-side switch is turned on (see [0019], [0024], and [0029] of Wu).
Su does not disclose wherein said gate driver receives said first pulse and generates a delayed pulse starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase and with pulse-width equaling a sum of said first duration and a second duration.
However, Chawla teaches (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4, and Fig. 5 of Chawla) wherein said gate driver (pulse blanking circuit 110 providing its output pulses to driver 112, which drives the gates of power transistors M1-M4, see [0016] and [0025] of Chawla, and [0017] of Chawla “The driver 112 asserts control signal to each of the gates of M1-M4 to individually turn on and off each respective transistor.”) receives said first pulse (pulse 520, received by falling edge delay circuit 410 from AND gate 404) and generates a delayed pulse (output pulse 540 generated by falling edge delay circuit 410) starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase (rising edge 541 of pulse 540 being coincident with rising edge 521 of pulse 520) and with pulse-width equaling a sum of said first duration (width W2 of pulse 520, see [0028] of Chawla) and a second duration (period of time equal to T1) (see [0026] of Chawla “Delay 412 and logic gate 414 form a falling edge delay circuit 410.”, and [0029] of Chawla “The falling edge delay circuit 410 performs the function of receiving pulse 520 from the AND gate 404 and generating an output pulse 540 whose rising edge 541 is coincident with the rising edge 521 of pulse 520 and whose falling 542 occurs past the falling edge 522 of pulse 520 by a period of time equal to T1.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power stage of Su wherein said gate driver receives said first pulse and generates a delayed pulse starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase and with pulse-width equaling a sum of said first duration and a second duration, as taught by Chawla, because it can help generate, directly from the first pulse, a pulse whose leading edge stays coincident with that of the first pulse while its trailing edge is extended by a defined delay (see [0029] of Chawla), so that the delayed pulse outlasts the blanking interval by the second duration and thereby provides a sensing window, immediately following the blanking interval, in which the inductor current can be sensed after the switching noise has subsided (see [0041] of Su, and [0025] and [0029] of Wu).
Su does not disclose wherein said gate driver generates drive signal for the switch being driven with said longer phase, said drive signal being with said first logic level for a duration of at least said pulse-width of said delayed pulse.
However, Yang teaches (see Fig. 3 of Yang) wherein said gate driver (gate driver circuit 76, see [0031] of Yang) generates drive signal (switching signal 44, see [0024] of Yang) for the switch being driven with said longer phase (high side switching element 40, whose current is sensed by first current comparator 50 during its on-time, see [0025] of Yang), said drive signal being with said first logic level (on) for a duration of at least said pulse-width of said delayed pulse (pulse-width of minimum on-time pulse Min_on) (see [0034] of Yang “The Min-on signal is arranged to ensure that high side switching element 40 is turned on for a minimum amount of time during each switching cycle (unless the converter is in skip mode).” and “In this way, the Min-on pulse prevents a reset signal from being applied to the RESET input of SR latch 70 until the Min_on pulse falls.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power stage of Su wherein said gate driver generates drive signal for the switch being driven with said longer phase, said drive signal being with said first logic level for a duration of at least said pulse-width of said delayed pulse, as taught by Yang, because it can help keep the switch whose current is sensed turned on for at least a minimum on-time, which prevents noise generated by its off-to-on transition from corrupting the sensing of the inductor current (see [0034] of Yang “As noted above, this “minimum on-time” (also known as “blanking time”) is employed to prevent noise generated by an ‘off’ to ‘on’ transition of high side switching element 40 from corrupting the sensing of the inductor current.”), the switch thereby remaining on through both the blanking interval and the sensing window defined by the delayed pulse.
Regarding claim 2, Su discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 of Su) wherein said low-side phase is said longer phase (see [0040] of Su, and [0052] of Su “In this embodiment, for applications with a small duty cycle, the on-time of the high-side switch transistor HS may be so short as not to allow detection of the current through the high-side switch transistor HS, while the on-time of the low-side switch transistor LS may be sufficiently long.”).
Su does not disclose wherein said sum represents a desired minimum duration for which said low-side switch is to be ON in said low-side phase.
However, Wu teaches (see Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 of Wu) wherein said sum (blanking time TBlank plus sense time TSense) represents a desired minimum duration (time through which low-side FET Q2 must stay turned on so that the additional sense point ISense2 can be detected at the end of the sense time TSense) for which said low-side switch (low-side FET Q2) is to be ON in said low-side phase (low-side on time TL-On) (see [0025] of Wu “In the illustrated example, the additional sense point (ISense2) is detected at a sense time (TSense) after the blanking time (TBlank).”, and Abstract of Wu “In estimating the first low-side current level, the power stage detects a second low-side current level at a second time while the low-side switch is turned on, the second time being after the first time, and detects a third low-side current level at a third time while the low-side switch is turned on, wherein the third time is after the second time.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power stage of Su wherein said sum represents a desired minimum duration for which said low-side switch is to be ON in said low-side phase, as taught by Wu, because it can help ensure that the low-side switch is still turned on when the low-side current is detected at the end of the sense time that follows the blanking time, so that the current sensed after the switching noise has subsided can be used to estimate the inductor current accurately (see [0019] and [0025] of Wu).
Regarding claim 8, Su discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 of Su) a voltage regulator module (VRM) (buck switched-mode power supply supplying load RL, see [0027] of Su) comprising: a power stage (power circuit of the switched-mode power supply, implemented as a buck circuit, see [0027] of Su) comprising: a high-side switch (high-side switch transistor HS) and a low-side switch (low-side switch transistor LS) respectively operated by a first drive signal and a second drive signal (gate signals TG and BG), said first drive signal and said second drive signal to be respectively ON to drive respective currents through an inductor (L) in a high-side phase (on-time of HS) and a low-side phase (on-time of LS) (see [0027] and [0030] of Su); and a current-sense block (inductor current reconstruction circuit including an inductor current sampling circuit and an inductor current generator circuit, see [0028] of Su) to generate a sensed-current signal (sampled voltage Vcs) representing an instantaneous magnitude of inductor-current (IL) flowing through said inductor (see [0029] of Su, and [0030] of Su “More specifically, during the on-time of the low-side switch transistor LS, the inductor L, the low-side switch transistor LS and the output capacitor Co may form a freewheeling circuit, and the inductor current IL is the same as the current flowing through the low-side switch transistor LS.”) in a longer phase of said high-side phase and said low-side phase, with the other one of said high-side phase and said low-side phase being a shorter phase, wherein a duration of said longer phase is greater than or equal to a duration of said shorter phase (Vcs being tracked during whichever on-time is longer, and the inductor current being simulated during the other, shorter on-time, see [0040] and [0052] of Su, and [0019] of Su “With the adjusted inductor current generator circuit, the reconstruction circuit can simulate a reconstructed signal capable of precisely characterizing the inductor current IL, during the other on-time which is shorter.”), said inductor current being in a transient state in a first duration (blanking interval t1) after transition from said shorter phase (on-time of HS) to said longer phase (on-time of LS) (see [0041] of Su “Specifically, the blanking interval t1 is set because there is significant jitter and instantaneous noise in the low-side switch transistor LS immediately after it is turned on, which can greatly affect detection accuracy.”, and [0056] of Su “As noted above, the current through the low-side switch transistor LS is equal to the inductor current.”).
Su does not disclose a phase controller to generate a regulated supply voltage on a first supply node based on an input voltage received at an input node; a gate driver to generate said first drive signal and said second drive signal based on a control signal received from said phase controller, wherein said control signal is received with a first logic level in a first interval and with a second logic level in a second interval; and wherein said current-sense block generates a first pulse starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase and with pulse-width equaling said first duration.
However, Wu teaches (see Fig. 4, Fig. 5, and Fig. 7 of Wu) a phase controller (power controller 410) to generate a regulated supply voltage (load voltage VLoad) on a first supply node (output node at load voltage VLoad) based on an input voltage (supply voltage VSS) received at an input node (node receiving supply voltage VSS) (see [0023] of Wu “Power system 400 represents a power supply system for an information handling system that is configured to receive power at a supply voltage (VSS), and to regulate power to a load at a load voltage (VLoad).” and “As such, power controller 410 operates to receive current monitor signals (Imon) from power stage 420, and to provide pulse-width modulation (PWM) signals to the power stages.”); a gate driver (driver 422) to generate said first drive signal and said second drive signal (driver outputs to the gates of high-side FET Q1 and low-side FET Q2) based on a control signal (PWM signal) received from said phase controller, wherein said control signal is received with a first logic level in a first interval and with a second logic level in a second interval (high state and low state of the PWM signal) (see [0024] of Wu “Driver 422 represents logic or a circuit configured to receive a PWM signal from power controller 410, and to translate the PWM signal into a driver output to the gate of a high-side FET (Q1) and a driver output to the gate of a low-side FET (Q2) to maintain the load voltage (VLoad) at an output of power stage 420.” and “In a particular embodiment, the PWM signal is pulse width modulated and driver 422 utilizes a high state of the PWM signal to drive the gate of the high-side FET (Q1), and utilizes a low state of the PWM signal to drive the gate of the low-side FET (Q2).”); and wherein said current-sense block (Imon logic 424) generates a first pulse (blanking time TBlank) starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase (assertion of the low-side gate driver signal) and with pulse-width equaling said first duration (see [0025] of Wu “Here, the dashed line is the inductor current (IL), which is the target Imon signal that is sought to be reconstructed, and the solid line is low-side FET current sense signal, as blanked by the blanking time (TBlank).”, and [0029] of Wu “A blanking time for low-side FET current detection after a low-side gate driver signal is asserted (TBlank) is set and a sense time after the blanking time (TSense) is set, and a ratio of the blanking time to the sense time (k) is determined in block 702.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the VRM of Su to comprise a phase controller to generate a regulated supply voltage on a first supply node based on an input voltage received at an input node; a gate driver to generate said first drive signal and said second drive signal based on a control signal received from said phase controller, wherein said control signal is received with a first logic level in a first interval and with a second logic level in a second interval; and wherein said current-sense block generates a first pulse starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase and with pulse-width equaling said first duration, as taught by Wu, because it can help regulate the load voltage with a power controller that commands the power stage through pulse-width modulation signals, and can help time the blanking interval from the assertion of the low-side gate driver signal, so that the low-side current measurement is disregarded while it is too noisy immediately after the low-side switch is turned on (see [0019], [0023]-[0024], and [0029] of Wu).
Su does not disclose wherein said gate driver receives said first pulse and generates a delayed pulse starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase and with pulse-width equaling a sum of said first duration and a second duration.
However, Chawla teaches (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4, and Fig. 5 of Chawla) wherein said gate driver (pulse blanking circuit 110 providing its output pulses to driver 112, which drives the gates of power transistors M1-M4, see [0016] and [0025] of Chawla, and [0017] of Chawla “The driver 112 asserts control signal to each of the gates of M1-M4 to individually turn on and off each respective transistor.”) receives said first pulse (pulse 520, received by falling edge delay circuit 410 from AND gate 404) and generates a delayed pulse (output pulse 540 generated by falling edge delay circuit 410) starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase (rising edge 541 of pulse 540 being coincident with rising edge 521 of pulse 520) and with pulse-width equaling a sum of said first duration (width W2 of pulse 520, see [0028] of Chawla) and a second duration (period of time equal to T1) (see [0026] of Chawla “Delay 412 and logic gate 414 form a falling edge delay circuit 410.”, and [0029] of Chawla “The falling edge delay circuit 410 performs the function of receiving pulse 520 from the AND gate 404 and generating an output pulse 540 whose rising edge 541 is coincident with the rising edge 521 of pulse 520 and whose falling 542 occurs past the falling edge 522 of pulse 520 by a period of time equal to T1.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the VRM of Su wherein said gate driver receives said first pulse and generates a delayed pulse starting synchronous with said start of said longer phase and with pulse-width equaling a sum of said first duration and a second duration, as taught by Chawla, because it can help generate, directly from the first pulse, a pulse whose leading edge stays coincident with that of the first pulse while its trailing edge is extended by a defined delay (see [0029] of Chawla), so that the delayed pulse outlasts the blanking interval by the second duration and thereby provides a sensing window, immediately following the blanking interval, in which the inductor current can be sensed after the switching noise has subsided (see [0041] of Su, and [0025] and [0029] of Wu).
Su does not disclose wherein said gate driver generates drive signal for the switch being driven with said longer phase, said drive signal being with said first logic level for a duration of at least said pulse-width of said delayed pulse.
However, Yang teaches (see Fig. 3 of Yang) wherein said gate driver (gate driver circuit 76, see [0031] of Yang) generates drive signal (switching signal 44, see [0024] of Yang) for the switch being driven with said longer phase (high side switching element 40, whose current is sensed by first current comparator 50 during its on-time, see [0025] of Yang), said drive signal being with said first logic level (on) for a duration of at least said pulse-width of said delayed pulse (pulse-width of minimum on-time pulse Min_on) (see [0034] of Yang “The Min-on signal is arranged to ensure that high side switching element 40 is turned on for a minimum amount of time during each switching cycle (unless the converter is in skip mode).” and “In this way, the Min-on pulse prevents a reset signal from being applied to the RESET input of SR latch 70 until the Min_on pulse falls.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the VRM of Su wherein said gate driver generates drive signal for the switch being driven with said longer phase, said drive signal being with said first logic level for a duration of at least said pulse-width of said delayed pulse, as taught by Yang, because it can help keep the switch whose current is sensed turned on for at least a minimum on-time, which prevents noise generated by its off-to-on transition from corrupting the sensing of the inductor current (see [0034] of Yang “As noted above, this “minimum on-time” (also known as “blanking time”) is employed to prevent noise generated by an ‘off’ to ‘on’ transition of high side switching element 40 from corrupting the sensing of the inductor current.”), the switch thereby remaining on through both the blanking interval and the sensing window defined by the delayed pulse.
Regarding claim 9, Su discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 of Su) wherein said low-side phase is said longer phase (see [0040] of Su, and [0052] of Su “In this embodiment, for applications with a small duty cycle, the on-time of the high-side switch transistor HS may be so short as not to allow detection of the current through the high-side switch transistor HS, while the on-time of the low-side switch transistor LS may be sufficiently long.”).
Su does not disclose wherein said sum represents a desired minimum duration for which said low-side switch is to be ON in said low-side phase.
However, Wu teaches (see Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 of Wu) wherein said sum (blanking time TBlank plus sense time TSense) represents a desired minimum duration (time through which low-side FET Q2 must stay turned on so that the additional sense point ISense2 can be detected at the end of the sense time TSense) for which said low-side switch (low-side FET Q2) is to be ON in said low-side phase (low-side on time TL-On) (see [0025] of Wu “In the illustrated example, the additional sense point (ISense2) is detected at a sense time (TSense) after the blanking time (TBlank).”, and Abstract of Wu “In estimating the first low-side current level, the power stage detects a second low-side current level at a second time while the low-side switch is turned on, the second time being after the first time, and detects a third low-side current level at a third time while the low-side switch is turned on, wherein the third time is after the second time.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the VRM of Su wherein said sum represents a desired minimum duration for which said low-side switch is to be ON in said low-side phase, as taught by Wu, because it can help ensure that the low-side switch is still turned on when the low-side current is detected at the end of the sense time that follows the blanking time, so that the current sensed after the switching noise has subsided can be used to estimate the inductor current accurately (see [0019] and [0025] of Wu).
Regarding claim 15, Su does not disclose further comprising a plurality of power stages, including said power stage.
However, Wu teaches (see Fig. 4 of Wu) further comprising a plurality of power stages (two power stages 420), including said power stage (power stage 420) (see [0023] of Wu “FIG. 4 illustrates an embodiment of a power system 400 similar to power system 100 and including a power controller 410, and one or more power stage, here illustrated as two power stages 420.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the VRM of Su to further comprise a plurality of power stages, including said power stage, as taught by Wu, because it can help supply loads such as processors, whose current demands are increasing, from multiple power stages that are commanded by the same power controller (see [0015], [0018], and [0023] of Wu).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Wu, Chawla, Yang, and Chen et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2009/0015069 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 3, Su discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 of Su) wherein said current-sense block comprises: a current-measuring block (inductor current sampling circuit and inductor current generator circuit) to measure said instantaneous magnitude of inductor-current flowing through said inductor in durations of said low-side phase (tracking the sampled voltage Vcs during the on-time of LS) and to emulate said inductor-current in durations of said high-side phase (generating the simulated reconstructed signal during the on-time of HS) (see [0049] of Su, and [0031] of Su “In this embodiment, the inductor current generator circuit is configured to track the sampled voltage Vcs in the on-time of the low-side switch transistor LS and generate the reconstructed signal varying at the same slope as the sampled voltage Vcs and the simulated reconstructed signal during the on-time of the high-side switch transistor HS.”).
Su does not disclose wherein said current-sense block comprises: a first delay block to receive said control signal and to generate a delayed control signal by delaying high-to-low transitions of said control signal by said first duration; an XOR gate to receive said control signal and said delayed control signal, and to generate said first pulse.
However, Chen teaches (see Fig. 5, Fig. 7, and Fig. 8 of Chen) wherein said current-sense block (current sensor 416 of channel 406 and shutter circuit 404, which may block all the current sensors of all the channels, see [0020] and [0024] of Chen) comprises: a first delay block (RC delay circuit 700 of edge detector 604) to receive said control signal (pulse-width modulation signal PWM1 of channel 406) and to generate a delayed control signal (signal PWM1') by delaying high-to-low transitions (falling edges) of said control signal by said first duration (delay of RC delay circuit 700); an XOR gate (exclusive-OR gate 702) to receive said control signal and said delayed control signal, and to generate said first pulse (edge signal Se) (see [0023] of Chen, and [0024] of Chen “FIG. 8 shows one preferred embodiment of the edge detector 604 of FIG. 7, in which an RC delay circuit 700 delays the pulse-width modulation signal PWM1 and thereby produces a signal PWM1', and an exclusive-OR (XOR) gate 702 generates the signal Se according the signals PWM1 and PWM1'.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power stage of Su wherein said current-sense block comprises: a first delay block to receive said control signal and to generate a delayed control signal by delaying high-to-low transitions of said control signal by said first duration; an XOR gate to receive said control signal and said delayed control signal, and to generate said first pulse, as taught by Chen, with the delay of the first delay block equal to said first duration so that the edge signal itself serves as the first pulse, because it can help generate the blanking pulse directly from the control signal with a simple delay element and an exclusive-OR gate, so that the blanking pulse is inherently aligned with the switching transition that produces the noise (see [0023]-[0024] of Chen).
Regarding claim 10, Su discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 of Su) wherein said current-sense block comprises: a current-measuring block (inductor current sampling circuit and inductor current generator circuit) to measure said instantaneous magnitude of inductor-current flowing through said inductor in durations of said low-side phase (tracking the sampled voltage Vcs during the on-time of LS) and to emulate said inductor-current in durations of said high-side phase (generating the simulated reconstructed signal during the on-time of HS) (see [0049] of Su, and [0031] of Su “In this embodiment, the inductor current generator circuit is configured to track the sampled voltage Vcs in the on-time of the low-side switch transistor LS and generate the reconstructed signal varying at the same slope as the sampled voltage Vcs and the simulated reconstructed signal during the on-time of the high-side switch transistor HS.”).
Su does not disclose wherein said current-sense block comprises: a first delay block to receive said control signal and to generate a delayed control signal by delaying high-to-low transitions of said control signal by said first duration; an XOR gate to receive said control signal and said delayed control signal, and to generate said first pulse.
However, Chen teaches (see Fig. 5, Fig. 7, and Fig. 8 of Chen) wherein said current-sense block (current sensor 416 of channel 406 and shutter circuit 404, which may block all the current sensors of all the channels, see [0020] and [0024] of Chen) comprises: a first delay block (RC delay circuit 700 of edge detector 604) to receive said control signal (pulse-width modulation signal PWM1 of channel 406) and to generate a delayed control signal (signal PWM1') by delaying high-to-low transitions (falling edges) of said control signal by said first duration (delay of RC delay circuit 700); an XOR gate (exclusive-OR gate 702) to receive said control signal and said delayed control signal, and to generate said first pulse (edge signal Se) (see [0023] of Chen, and [0024] of Chen “FIG. 8 shows one preferred embodiment of the edge detector 604 of FIG. 7, in which an RC delay circuit 700 delays the pulse-width modulation signal PWM1 and thereby produces a signal PWM1', and an exclusive-OR (XOR) gate 702 generates the signal Se according the signals PWM1 and PWM1'.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the VRM of Su wherein said current-sense block comprises: a first delay block to receive said control signal and to generate a delayed control signal by delaying high-to-low transitions of said control signal by said first duration; an XOR gate to receive said control signal and said delayed control signal, and to generate said first pulse, as taught by Chen, with the delay of the first delay block equal to said first duration so that the edge signal itself serves as the first pulse, because it can help generate the blanking pulse directly from the control signal with a simple delay element and an exclusive-OR gate, so that the blanking pulse is inherently aligned with the switching transition that produces the noise (see [0023]-[0024] of Chen).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Wu, Chawla, Yang, Chen, and Huang et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0387913 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 4, Su does not disclose wherein said gate driver comprises: a second delay block to receive said first pulse and to delay ending edges of said first pulse by said second duration to generate ending edges of said delayed pulse.
However, Chawla teaches (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4, and Fig. 5 of Chawla) wherein said gate driver (pulse blanking circuit 110 providing its output pulses to driver 112, see [0025] of Chawla) comprises: a second delay block (falling edge delay circuit 410 formed by delay element 412 and OR gate 414) to receive said first pulse (pulse 520 on signal 405) and to delay ending edges (falling edge 522) of said first pulse by said second duration (T1) to generate ending edges (falling edge 542) of said delayed pulse (output pulse 540) (see [0029] of Chawla “The falling edge delay circuit 410 performs the function of receiving pulse 520 from the AND gate 404 and generating an output pulse 540 whose rising edge 541 is coincident with the rising edge 521 of pulse 520 and whose falling 542 occurs past the falling edge 522 of pulse 520 by a period of time equal to T1.”, “The delay element 412 of the falling edge delay circuit 410 receives pulse 520 on signal 405 from the AND gate 404 and generates a signal 413 to the OR gate 414 that includes a pulse 530 that is delayed version of pulse 520.”, and “OR gate 414 OR’s together signals 405 and 413 to produce pulse 540 as shown.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power stage of Su wherein said gate driver comprises: a second delay block to receive said first pulse and to delay ending edges of said first pulse by said second duration to generate ending edges of said delayed pulse, as taught by Chawla, because it can help extend only the trailing edge of the first pulse while leaving its leading edge unchanged, so that the delayed pulse remains aligned with the start of the longer phase, using only a delay element and a logic gate (see [0026] and [0029] of Chawla).
Su does not disclose wherein said gate driver comprises an OR gate to receive said delayed pulse and a complement of said control signal, and to generate said drive signal for said low-side switch.
However, Huang teaches (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 of Huang) wherein said gate driver (minimum on-time circuit together with logic OR circuit OR1, which outputs the drive signal to the gate of transistor switch Q1, see [0048] of Huang “In response, the logic OR circuit OR1 outputs the drive signal (“gate on”) to the gate of the transistor switch Q1.”) comprises an OR gate (logic OR circuit OR1) to receive said delayed pulse (pulse signal “min on pulse”) and a complement of said control signal (control signal “gate on input”, which is at a high level to command transistor switch Q1 on), and to generate said drive signal (drive signal “gate on”) for said low-side switch (transistor switch Q1, the switch whose current is detected, see [0049] of Huang) (see [0043] of Huang “The control signal and a pulse signal (“min on pulse”) output from the minimum on-time circuit of this embodiment (which is either a first pulse signal (“min on 1”) or a second pulse signal (“min on 2”)), are provided to an “OR” operation in a logic OR circuit OR1, and a drive signal (“gate on”) is output for turning on or off the transistor switch Q1.” and “When either or both of the control signal (“gate on input”) and the pulse signal (“min on pulse”) is at a high level “1”, the drive signal (“gate on”) is at a high level “1” and turns on the transistor switch Q1.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power stage of Su wherein said gate driver comprises an OR gate to receive said delayed pulse and a complement of said control signal, and to generate said drive signal for said low-side switch, as taught by Huang, the complement of said control signal being the command that turns said low-side switch on (see [0024] of Wu), because it can help hold the drive signal at the on level whenever either the switch is commanded on or the minimum on-time pulse is still asserted, thereby extending the on-time as needed to ensure successful current detection (see [0046] of Huang “In this way, when there is a need to detect a current through the transistor switch Q1 within the minimum on-time of the transistor switch Q1, the minimum on-time can be extended to ensure success of the current detection by an associated current detection circuit.”).
Regarding claim 11, Su does not disclose wherein said gate driver comprises: a second delay block to receive said first pulse and to delay ending edges of said first pulse by said second duration to generate ending edges of said delayed pulse.
However, Chawla teaches (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4, and Fig. 5 of Chawla) wherein said gate driver (pulse blanking circuit 110 providing its output pulses to driver 112, see [0025] of Chawla) comprises: a second delay block (falling edge delay circuit 410 formed by delay element 412 and OR gate 414) to receive said first pulse (pulse 520 on signal 405) and to delay ending edges (falling edge 522) of said first pulse by said second duration (T1) to generate ending edges (falling edge 542) of said delayed pulse (output pulse 540) (see [0029] of Chawla “The falling edge delay circuit 410 performs the function of receiving pulse 520 from the AND gate 404 and generating an output pulse 540 whose rising edge 541 is coincident with the rising edge 521 of pulse 520 and whose falling 542 occurs past the falling edge 522 of pulse 520 by a period of time equal to T1.”, “The delay element 412 of the falling edge delay circuit 410 receives pulse 520 on signal 405 from the AND gate 404 and generates a signal 413 to the OR gate 414 that includes a pulse 530 that is delayed version of pulse 520.”, and “OR gate 414 OR’s together signals 405 and 413 to produce pulse 540 as shown.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the VRM of Su wherein said gate driver comprises: a second delay block to receive said first pulse and to delay ending edges of said first pulse by said second duration to generate ending edges of said delayed pulse, as taught by Chawla, because it can help extend only the trailing edge of the first pulse while leaving its leading edge unchanged, so that the delayed pulse remains aligned with the start of the longer phase, using only a delay element and a logic gate (see [0026] and [0029] of Chawla).
Su does not disclose wherein said gate driver comprises an OR gate to receive said delayed pulse and a complement of said control signal, and to generate said drive signal for said low-side switch.
However, Huang teaches (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 of Huang) wherein said gate driver (minimum on-time circuit together with logic OR circuit OR1, which outputs the drive signal to the gate of transistor switch Q1, see [0048] of Huang “In response, the logic OR circuit OR1 outputs the drive signal (“gate on”) to the gate of the transistor switch Q1.”) comprises an OR gate (logic OR circuit OR1) to receive said delayed pulse (pulse signal “min on pulse”) and a complement of said control signal (control signal “gate on input”, which is at a high level to command transistor switch Q1 on), and to generate said drive signal (drive signal “gate on”) for said low-side switch (transistor switch Q1, the switch whose current is detected, see [0049] of Huang) (see [0043] of Huang “The control signal and a pulse signal (“min on pulse”) output from the minimum on-time circuit of this embodiment (which is either a first pulse signal (“min on 1”) or a second pulse signal (“min on 2”)), are provided to an “OR” operation in a logic OR circuit OR1, and a drive signal (“gate on”) is output for turning on or off the transistor switch Q1.” and “When either or both of the control signal (“gate on input”) and the pulse signal (“min on pulse”) is at a high level “1”, the drive signal (“gate on”) is at a high level “1” and turns on the transistor switch Q1.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the VRM of Su wherein said gate driver comprises an OR gate to receive said delayed pulse and a complement of said control signal, and to generate said drive signal for said low-side switch, as taught by Huang, the complement of said control signal being the command that turns said low-side switch on (see [0024] of Wu), because it can help hold the drive signal at the on level whenever either the switch is commanded on or the minimum on-time pulse is still asserted, thereby extending the on-time as needed to ensure successful current detection (see [0046] of Huang “In this way, when there is a need to detect a current through the transistor switch Q1 within the minimum on-time of the transistor switch Q1, the minimum on-time can be extended to ensure success of the current detection by an associated current detection circuit.”).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Wu, Chawla, Yang, and Huang.
Regarding claim 16, Su does not disclose wherein if said control signal transitions to a logic level that commands a turn-OFF of the switch being driven with said longer phase prior to an expiration of said pulse-width corresponding to said delayed pulse, said gate driver maintains the corresponding drive signal at said first logic level to override said control signal until said pulse-width of said delayed pulse expires.
However, Huang teaches (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4 of Huang) wherein if said control signal (control signal “gate on input”) transitions to a logic level (low level) that commands a turn-OFF of the switch being driven with said longer phase (transistor switch Q1, through which a current is detected within its minimum on-time, see [0049] of Huang) prior to an expiration of said pulse-width corresponding to said delayed pulse (the pulse width of the control signal being less than or equal to the pulse width of the pulse signal “min on pulse”), said gate driver (minimum on-time circuit together with logic OR circuit OR1, which outputs the drive signal to the gate of transistor switch Q1, see [0048] of Huang) maintains the corresponding drive signal (drive signal “gate on” output from logic OR circuit OR1) at said first logic level (high level) to override said control signal until said pulse-width of said delayed pulse expires (the pulse width of the drive signal being equal to the pulse width of the pulse signal “min on pulse”) (see [0043] of Huang “When either or both of the control signal (“gate on input”) and the pulse signal (“min on pulse”) is at a high level “1”, the drive signal (“gate on”) is at a high level “1” and turns on the transistor switch Q1.”, [0049] of Huang “Under the certain condition, the control signal (“gate on input”) generally has a pulse width less than or equal to the pulse width of the first pulse signal (“min on 1”), and the drive signal (“gate on”) output from the logic OR circuit OR1 has a pulse width equal to the pulse width of the first pulse signal (“min on 1”).”, and [0057] of Huang “As a result, a pulse width of the drive signal (“gate on”) output from the logic OR circuit OR1 is equal to a pulse width of the pulse signal (“min on pulse”) output from the selection module U4.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the VRM of Su wherein if said control signal transitions to a logic level that commands a turn-OFF of the switch being driven with said longer phase prior to an expiration of said pulse-width corresponding to said delayed pulse, said gate driver maintains the corresponding drive signal at said first logic level to override said control signal until said pulse-width of said delayed pulse expires, as taught by Huang, because it can help give the current detection circuit sufficient time to complete the current detection within the on-time of the switch even when the control signal commands a shorter on-time (see [0052] of Huang “As such, the current detection circuit is given sufficient time to successfully detect a current (“Isense”) through the transistor switch Q1 exceeding the predetermined current Iref within a turn-on time of the transistor switch Q1 (i.e., succeed in current detection within the extended minimum on-time of the transistor switch Q1).”).
Regarding claim 17, Su does not disclose wherein if said control signal transitions to a logic level that commands a turn-OFF of the switch being driven with said longer phase prior to an expiration of said pulse-width corresponding to said delayed pulse, said gate driver maintains the corresponding drive signal at said first logic level to override said control signal until said pulse-width of said delayed pulse expires.
However, Huang teaches (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4 of Huang) wherein if said control signal (control signal “gate on input”) transitions to a logic level (low level) that commands a turn-OFF of the switch being driven with said longer phase (transistor switch Q1, through which a current is detected within its minimum on-time, see [0049] of Huang) prior to an expiration of said pulse-width corresponding to said delayed pulse (the pulse width of the control signal being less than or equal to the pulse width of the pulse signal “min on pulse”), said gate driver (minimum on-time circuit together with logic OR circuit OR1, which outputs the drive signal to the gate of transistor switch Q1, see [0048] of Huang) maintains the corresponding drive signal (drive signal “gate on” output from logic OR circuit OR1) at said first logic level (high level) to override said control signal until said pulse-width of said delayed pulse expires (the pulse width of the drive signal being equal to the pulse width of the pulse signal “min on pulse”) (see [0043] of Huang “When either or both of the control signal (“gate on input”) and the pulse signal (“min on pulse”) is at a high level “1”, the drive signal (“gate on”) is at a high level “1” and turns on the transistor switch Q1.”, [0049] of Huang “Under the certain condition, the control signal (“gate on input”) generally has a pulse width less than or equal to the pulse width of the first pulse signal (“min on 1”), and the drive signal (“gate on”) output from the logic OR circuit OR1 has a pulse width equal to the pulse width of the first pulse signal (“min on 1”).”, and [0057] of Huang “As a result, a pulse width of the drive signal (“gate on”) output from the logic OR circuit OR1 is equal to a pulse width of the pulse signal (“min on pulse”) output from the selection module U4.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power stage of Su wherein if said control signal transitions to a logic level that commands a turn-OFF of the switch being driven with said longer phase prior to an expiration of said pulse-width corresponding to said delayed pulse, said gate driver maintains the corresponding drive signal at said first logic level to override said control signal until said pulse-width of said delayed pulse expires, as taught by Huang, because it can help give the current detection circuit sufficient time to complete the current detection within the on-time of the switch even when the control signal commands a shorter on-time (see [0052] of Huang “As such, the current detection circuit is given sufficient time to successfully detect a current (“Isense”) through the transistor switch Q1 exceeding the predetermined current Iref within a turn-on time of the transistor switch Q1 (i.e., succeed in current detection within the extended minimum on-time of the transistor switch Q1).”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 12-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “a first capacitor and a second capacitor; a first switch coupled to a first terminal in said pair of terminals, and operable to be closed for a duration corresponding to the interval from the end of a blanking phase of said low-side phase to the end of said low-side phase to charge said first capacitor; a second switch coupled to a second terminal in said pair of terminals, and operable to be also closed for a duration corresponding to the interval from the end of said blanking phase of said low-side phase to the end of said low-side phase to charge said second capacitor; a first inverter to receive said first pulse and to generate a first-inverted signal; and an AND gate to receive said second drive signal and said first-inverted signal and to generate an un-blank-output signal, wherein said un-blank-output signal is operable to control the opening and closing of said first switch and said second switch such that said sensed-current signal is blanked for said first duration and un-blanked upon end of said first duration.”. The closest prior art, Su, discloses switches K1, K2, and K3 that are set so that the sampled voltage Vcs is not tracked during the blanking interval t1 and is tracked during the detection interval t2 of the on-time of the low-side switch transistor LS (see [0041] and [0046]-[0047] of Su). However, Su, alone or in combination with the other cited prior art, does not disclose a first switch and a second switch that charge a first capacitor and a second capacitor from the pair of terminals of the amplifier under control of an un-blank-output signal that an AND gate generates from said second drive signal and the inverted first pulse.
Claims 6-7 would be allowable for the same reason due to their dependency on claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “a first capacitor and a second capacitor; a first switch coupled to a first terminal in said pair of terminals, and operable to be closed for a duration corresponding to the interval from the end of a blanking phase of said low-side phase to the end of said low-side phase to charge said first capacitor; a second switch coupled to a second terminal in said pair of terminals, and operable to be also closed for a duration corresponding to the interval from the end of said blanking phase of said low-side phase to the end of said low-side phase to charge said second capacitor; a first inverter to receive said first pulse and to generate a first-inverted signal; and an AND gate to receive said second drive signal and said first-inverted signal and to generate an un-blank-output signal, wherein said un-blank-output signal is operable to control the opening and closing of said first switch and said second switch such that said sensed-current signal is blanked for said first duration and un-blanked upon end of said first duration.”. The closest prior art, Su, discloses switches K1, K2, and K3 that are set so that the sampled voltage Vcs is not tracked during the blanking interval t1 and is tracked during the detection interval t2 of the on-time of the low-side switch transistor LS (see [0041] and [0046]-[0047] of Su). However, Su, alone or in combination with the other cited prior art, does not disclose a first switch and a second switch that charge a first capacitor and a second capacitor from the pair of terminals of the amplifier under control of an un-blank-output signal that an AND gate generates from said second drive signal and the inverted first pulse.
Claims 13-14 would be allowable for the same reason due to their dependency on claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments are addressed below in view of the rejections set forth above, which include new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Applicant argued that “By having such additional time (corresponding to the second duration), the inductor current may be accurately sensed (past the transient state) and the measured magnitude passed to the phase controller (which in turn further provides the control signal that determines the magnitude of the current provided by the power stage).” and that “Such a feature may be particularly important in multi-phase switching converters since the phase controller may continually and dynamically alter the durations of control signals to various power stages (for the goal of obtaining a desired output voltage), and power stages designed according to aspects of the present disclosure may ensure that the corresponding generated inductor currents are sensed reliably.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees that these benefits distinguish the claims over the prior art. Sensing the inductor current accurately after the transient state, by keeping the switch on beyond the blanking interval, is the very purpose expressed in the applied references: Su blanks the jitter and noise that follow the turn-on of the low-side switch and tracks the sampled voltage only in the subsequent detection interval (see [0041] of Su); Wu stores the low-side FET current at the end of a sense time that follows the blanking time (see [0025] and [0029] of Wu); and Yang keeps the sensed switch on for a minimum on-time so that switching noise does not corrupt the sensing of the inductor current (see [0034] of Yang). Further, passing the measured magnitude to the phase controller, and a phase controller that dynamically alters the durations of the control signals of multiple power stages, are not recited in the rejected claims. To the extent new claim 15 recites a plurality of power stages, Wu teaches a power controller 410 that commands two power stages 420 (see [0023] of Wu).
Applicant argued that “However, the durations T_blank and T_sense described in paragraph [0025] of Wu represent window intervals during which the independent I_mon block (424) performs current detection; they do not dictate or influence the actual ON-time duration of the switch.” and that “Specifically, Wu's current monitor block does not generate a pulse that is transmitted to the gate driver (422) for the gate driver to construct a delayed pulse that governs the actual ON-time of the switch.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wu is not relied upon to teach that the blanking time or the sense time governs the on-time of the switch. Wu is relied upon to teach a gate driver (driver 422) that generates the drive signals of the high-side and low-side FETs based on the PWM signal received from power controller 410 (see [0024] of Wu), and a current-sense block (Imon logic 424) of the same power stage 420 that implements a blanking time TBlank, i.e., the claimed first pulse, beginning when the low-side gate driver signal is asserted (see [0024]-[0025] and [0029] of Wu). Wu further teaches that the low-side FET current is stored at the end of a sense time TSense that follows the blanking time (see [0025] and [0029] of Wu); Wu expressly requires that this later current level be detected while the low-side switch is turned on (see Abstract of Wu “In estimating the first low-side current level, the power stage detects a second low-side current level at a second time while the low-side switch is turned on, the second time being after the first time, and detects a third low-side current level at a third time while the low-side switch is turned on, wherein the third time is after the second time.”), so Wu itself establishes that the low-side FET must still be conducting at the end of TBlank plus TSense. The limitations that Applicant argues are missing from Wu, namely that the gate driver receives the first pulse and generates a delayed pulse, and that the drive signal remains at the first logic level for at least the pulse-width of the delayed pulse, are taught by Chawla (falling edge delay circuit 410 that receives pulse 520 and generates output pulse 540 whose rising edge is coincident with that of pulse 520 and whose falling edge occurs a period T1 after that of pulse 520, see [0029] of Chawla) and by Yang (Min_on pulse that prevents SR latch 70 from being reset, and thus the switch from being turned off, until the Min_on pulse falls, see [0034] of Yang), respectively. Wu's driver 422 driving the low-side FET in accordance with the PWM signal is the reason Wu is applied for the claimed gate driver that generates the drive signals based on a control signal received from a phase controller; it does not show that the combination fails to teach the claimed limitations.
Applicant argued that “Yang’s Min_on pulse is generated centrally by an oscillator (OSC 66) within the control loop, not by a current-sense block. Furthermore, Yang’s pulse represents a single, fixed blanking duration, entirely lacking any structural mechanism for a gate driver to receive a first pulse (generated by a current-sense block) and generate a delayed pulse equalling the sum of a first and second duration to govern the actual ON-time of the switch.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yang is not relied upon to teach that the first pulse is generated by a current-sense block, which is taught by Wu, or to teach the structure that generates the delayed pulse from the first pulse, which is taught by Chawla. Yang is relied upon to teach that the drive signal of the switch whose current is sensed is held at the on level for at least the pulse-width of a minimum on-time pulse, the Min_on pulse preventing a reset signal from being applied to the RESET input of SR latch 70 until the Min_on pulse falls, and that the minimum on-time is employed to prevent noise generated by the off-to-on transition from corrupting the sensing of the inductor current (see [0034] of Yang). Where Yang generates its Min_on pulse does not detract from this teaching; in the combination, the pulse that sets the minimum on-time is the delayed pulse that the gate driver generates from the first pulse, as taught by Chawla. Further, the claims do not require the first pulse or the delayed pulse to have a variable width, so the fixed duration of Yang's Min_on pulse does not distinguish the claims.
Applicant argued that “Su similarly lacks any disclosure of a current-sense block generating a first (blanking) pulse that is transmitted to a gate driver for the gate driver to construct a delayed pulse governing the ON-time duration.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Su is not relied upon for these limitations. As set forth in the rejection above, Su is relied upon for a current-sense block that senses the inductor current in the longer of the high-side phase and the low-side phase, and for the transient state of the current during the blanking interval t1 that follows the transition into the longer phase (see [0019], [0041], and [0052] of Su), while the first pulse, the delayed pulse, and the minimum on-time of the drive signal are taught by Wu, Chawla, and Yang, respectively.
Applicant argued, with respect to new claims 16 and 17, that “With respect to Wu, if the external PWM1 signal were to change states prematurely, Wu's driver (422) would immediately turn off the low-side switch in accordance with paragraphs [0023]-[0024], thereby cutting off any ongoing current sensing. Because Wu’s low-side ON-time is entirely independent of a calculated sum of T_blank + T_sense, and lacks any override capability by the gate driver, Wu fails to contemplate the above noted features of claim 17.” and that “Specifically, in Yang, the Min_on pulse merely blocks an SR latch reset path from a clock trigger; but it does not intercept an external, PWM turn-off command and override it using a time-summed delay window.”.
These arguments are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 16 and 17 does not rely on Wu for the claimed override. As set forth in the rejection above, Huang teaches a logic OR circuit OR1 that receives the control signal and the minimum on-time pulse and outputs the drive signal of the switch, such that, when the pulse width of the control signal is less than or equal to that of the minimum on-time pulse, the drive signal remains at the high level for the full pulse width of the minimum on-time pulse (see [0043], [0049], and [0057] of Huang); that is, the drive signal is maintained at the on level, overriding the turn-off command of the control signal, until the minimum on-time pulse expires. In the combination, the pulse that is ORed with the turn-on command of the switch is the delayed pulse that the gate driver generates from the first pulse, as taught by Chawla, so the override lasts for the full summed duration of the delayed pulse. With respect to Yang, the Examiner notes that Applicant's characterization is not accurate. In Yang, the periodic clock signal is applied to the SET input of the latch (see [0030] of Yang “Oscillator 66 also provides a periodic clock signal Clk_shot, which is applied to the SET input of latch 70.”), while the reset path that the Min_on pulse blocks carries the output 52 of current comparator 50 through AND gate 73 and OR gate 72 (see [0030] and [0034] of Yang), i.e., the turn-off command of the current-mode control loop. Yang's Min_on pulse therefore overrides a turn-off command until the Min_on pulse falls.
Because claims 1 and 8 remain rejected, the dependent claims are not allowable by virtue of their dependency from claims 1 and 8; the dependent claims are rejected or objected to as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838