DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0015344 by Mohamadi.
Regarding claim 1, Mohamadi discloses a method, comprising: causing a far-field [see at least paragraphs 0003 and 0025-0028; beam forming is a far-field system] wireless power receiver [see at least Figure 1, (150)] electrically connected to an energy storage [see at least Figure 1, (180)] powering an electrical load [see at least Figure 1, (190)] to be positioned such that the far-field wireless power receiver receives a far-field wireless power signal [see at least Figure 1, (111)] from a far-field wireless power transmitter [see at least Figure 1, (110)] to enable the energy storage to be charged thereby and power the electrical load [see at least paragraph 0020].
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0054961 by Metcalf et al. (Metcalf hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Metcalf discloses a method, comprising: causing a far-field [see at least paragraph 0006, “energy signals comprise a laser beam”] wireless power receiver [see at least Figure 4, (30)] electrically connected to an energy storage [see at least Figure 4, (120)] powering an electrical load [see at least Abstract, “is further adapted distribute the stored energy to electrical loads”] to be positioned such that the far-field wireless power receiver receives a far-field wireless power signal [see at least Figure 4, (22)] from a far-field wireless power transmitter [see at least Figure 4, (20)] to enable the energy storage to be charged thereby and power the electrical load [see at least paragraph 0035].
Regarding claim 6, Metcalf discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the far-field wireless power receiver is installed in a table or a desk [see at least Figure 4, (32); paragraph 0027].
Regarding claim 7, Metcalf discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the electrical load includes a near-field wireless power transmitter [see at least Figure 4, (130)] enabled to near-field charge a device [see at least Figure 4, (40); paragraph 0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0015344 by Mohamadi in view of US 2016/0087687 by Kesler et al. (Kesler hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are hosted by a door. However, Kesler discloses receiver devices [see at least Figure 146, (14606)] including display devices [see at least paragraph 1191] attached to a refrigerator door [see at least Figure 146, (14503)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices hosted by a door without having to add electrical wires to the door. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Regarding claim 3, Mohamadi in view of Kesler teaches the method of claim 2.
Kesler discloses wherein the door is of a refrigerator [see at least Figure 146, (14503)] in a supermarket [the location of the refrigerator is not a patentable distinction], wherein the electrical load includes a display [see at least Figure 146, (14606); paragraph 1191].
Regarding claim 4, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi discloses wherein the far-field wireless power receiver [see at least Figure 1, (150)], the energy storage [see at least Figure 1, (180)], and the electrical load [see at least Figure 1, (190)].
Mohamadi fails to disclose are hosted by a light fixture, wherein the light fixture includes a light source, wherein the electrical load includes the light source. However, Kesler discloses wirelessly powering a light fixture with light source [see at least Figure 77, (7704); paragraph 0746].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power lighting devices without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Regarding claim 8, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power receiver is hosted by a wheel of a vehicle, wherein the vehicle hosts the far-field wireless power transmitter, wherein the electrical load is a pressure sensor. However, Kesler discloses powering pressure sensors on the wheels of a vehicle [see at least paragraph 0626].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices on a vehicle wheel to measure tire pressure without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing a driver to know the tire pressure for safety reasons.
Regarding claim 9, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power transmitter is hosted by a housing plugged into an electrical socket installed in a wall of a bathroom, wherein the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are positioned within the bathroom. However, Kesler discloses a transmitter integrated into and plugged into an electrical outlet [see at least Figure 78; paragraphs 0750 and 0752].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to plug a transmitter into an electrical socket in order to power the system. Thus, allowing the system to wirelessly power other devices.
Further, Kesler discloses placing the devices into a bathroom [see at least paragraph 1125].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to locate and power devices in a bathroom without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Regarding claim 10, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are hosted by a wall clock. However, Kesler discloses the receiver is a clock [see at least paragraph 0331].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Regarding claim 18, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power transmitter is mounted on a track or a rail above the far-field wireless power receiver. However, Kesler discloses mounting the transmitter above the receiver [see at least paragraph 0035, “a first resonator connected to the wired electricity grid could be placed on the ceiling”] and tracks/rails [see at least paragraph 0855, “or automated tracks”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to place the transmitter above the receiver in order to place the transmitter in a location that does not interfere with the general space. Thus, simplifying installation and leaving extra space for movement/placement of other things such as furniture.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0015344 by Mohamadi in view of US 2017/0293579 by Sako et al. (Sako hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi fails to disclose wherein the electrical load includes a water sensor and a networking unit, wherein the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are hosted by a housing. However, Sako discloses portable electronic apparatuses [see at least Abstract; paragraph 0121; this implies a housing] which can have a water flow sensor [see at least Figure 12, (1216); paragraph 0112] and communication circuitry [see at least Figure 12, (1205)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices for measuring and communicating water flow without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0015344 by Mohamadi in view of US 2016/0001136 by King et al. (King hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are hosted by a sporting ball, wherein the electrical load includes a sensor and a wireless networking unit. However, King discloses a sports ball [see at least Figure 1A, (100)] with electronics within [see a least Figure 1A, (120)] including motion sensors [see at least paragraph 0042] and communication circuitry [see at least paragraph 0047].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices without having to remove internal components. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0015344 by Mohamadi in view of US 2016/0161985 by Zhang.
Regarding claim 13, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are hosted by a foot or a leg of an animal, wherein the electrical load includes a sensor and a wireless networking unit. However, Zhang discloses a wrist-worn device [see at least Figure 1, (110)] with sensors [see at least Figure 2, (210)] and communication [see at least Figure 2, (204)]. Note: using the device on an animal is merely intended use. The device is capable of being placed on an animal.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices without having to remove internal components. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing for waterproofing the device.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0015344 by Mohamadi in view of US 2016/0359380 by Zeine et al. (Zeine hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Mohamadi discloses the method of claim 1.
Mohamadi fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power receiver is hosted by a window sash, a window molding, a window frame, a window sill, a window head, a window jamb, a window jambliner, a window casing, a window apron, or a window stool. However, Zeine discloses powering smart window blinds [see at least paragraph 0065].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0054961 by Metcalf et al. (Metcalf hereinafter) in view of US 2016/0359380 by Zeine et al. (Zeine hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Metcalf discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the far-field wireless power signal includes a light wave [see at least paragraph 0006, “energy signals comprise a laser beam”].
Metcalf fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are hosted by a window blind or a window shade. However, Zeine discloses powering smart window blinds [see at least paragraph 0065].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0054961 by Metcalf et al. (Metcalf hereinafter) in view of US 2016/0087687 by Kesler et al. (Kesler hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14, Metcalf discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the far-field wireless power signal includes a light wave [see at least paragraph 0006, “energy signals comprise a laser beam”].
Metcalf fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are hosted by a sign, wherein the electrical load includes an electronic ink display and a wireless networking unit, wherein the sign is positioned within a retail store. However, Kesler discloses signs [see at least paragraph 0577, “advertisement sign”] and powering displays including e-ink [see at least paragraph 0570]. Note: using the device in a retail store is merely intended use.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Regarding claim 15, Metcalf discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the far-field wireless power signal includes a light wave [see at least paragraph 0006, “energy signals comprise a laser beam”].
Metcalf fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are hosted by a shelf in a supermarket, wherein the electrical load includes a display, wherein the far- field wireless power transmitter positioned within the supermarket sends the far-field wireless power signal down to or from above the far-field wireless power receiver. However, Kesler discloses placing devices on shelves [see at least paragraph 0837, “situated on a shelf or table”; paragraph 1060, “shelf”], devices with displays [see at least paragraph 0570] and placing transmitter in a ceiling [see at least paragraph 0035, “a first resonator connected to the wired electricity grid could be placed on the ceiling”]. Note: using the device in a supermarket is merely intended use.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Regarding claim 16, Metcalf discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the far-field wireless power signal includes a light wave [see at least paragraph 0006, “energy signals comprise a laser beam”].
Metcalf fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power transmitter, the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are positioned within a bathroom, wherein the far-field wireless power transmitter sends the far-field wireless power signal down to or from above the far-field wireless power receiver. However, Kesler discloses the use in a bathroom [see at least paragraph 1125] and mounting in a ceiling [see at least paragraph 0035, “a first resonator connected to the wired electricity grid could be placed on the ceiling”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Regarding claim 17, Metcalf in view of Kesler teaches the method of claim 16.
Kesler discloses wherein the electrical load includes (a) a near-field wireless power transmitter enabled to near-field charge a device positioned within the bathroom or (b) a fixture within the bathroom [see at least Figure 78; paragraphs 0750 and 0752; paragraph 1125].
Regarding claim 19, Metcalf discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the far-field wireless power signal includes a light wave [see at least paragraph 0006, “energy signals comprise a laser beam”].
Metcalf fails to disclose wherein the far-field wireless power transmitter, the far-field wireless power receiver, the energy storage, and the electrical load are hosted within a housing, wherein the electrical load includes a display, wherein the housing is mounted on a wall in a corridor in an office building, wherein the far-field wireless power transmitter sends the far-field wireless power signal down to or from above the far-field wireless power receiver. However, Kesler discloses housings [see at least paragraph 0492], displays [see at least paragraph 0570], mounting on walls [see at least paragraph 0332] and mounting transmitters in ceilings [see at least paragraph 0035, “a first resonator connected to the wired electricity grid could be placed on the ceiling”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power devices without having to add electrical wires. Thus, simplifying installation and allowing freedom of device placement.
Conclusion
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849