DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing dated 10/9/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/9/2024. These drawings are not acceptable.
The drawings are objected to because the figures (see figure 5 and figure 6) lack appropriate cross-hatching.
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(h) (3) are required in this application because “hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object...”, see MPEP 608.02, IX, drawing symbols chart . Applicant is advised that the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 contains the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a largest-diameter coil resting against and an interior surface of the solenoid coil” in lines 1-2. It appears that this limitation should be “a largest-diameter coil resting against an interior surface of the solenoid coil”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0042619 A1) in view of Seid et al. (US 6321767).
Regarding claim 1, the Bailey et al. reference discloses a valve assembly (102) comprising:
a plurality of ports including an inlet port (106), an outlet port (108), and an exhaust port (116);
a solenoid coil (114; see also paragraph [0027]) configured as a housing having a cavity (considered the opening through the center of the solenoid coil 114) therein;
an armature (300) slidably accommodated in the cavity of the solenoid coil (see figure 3);
a magnet (308) fixedly disposed within the solenoid coil, wherein the magnet applies a magnetic force on the armature in a distal direction (see paragraph [0041]);
a spring (322) applying a biasing force on the armature in a proximal direction (in the direction toward the proximal end);
a retainer (318) mounted at the exhaust port (see at least figure 3); and
wherein as a signal having a particular polarity energizes the solenoid coil, a solenoid force is applied to the armature in the proximal direction, wherein a combination of the biasing force of the spring and the solenoid force overcome the magnetic force, causing the armature to move axially in the proximal direction to a particular position, thereby blocking fluid flow from the inlet port to the outlet port, while allowing fluid flow from the outlet port (see at least paragraph [0085]), through the retainer (to the external environment).
The Bailey et al. reference does not disclose a seal mounted to the retainer at the exhaust port and wherein the seal is expanded allowing fluid to flow around the seal to be vented to an external environment.
However, the Seid et al. reference teaches a control valve assembly having a solenoid operated armature (51) having an inlet (SP), an outlet (L) and an exhaust port (EP) wherein the exhaust port includes a retainer (30a) with a seal (30b) mounted to the retainer (via the spring 30c) such that the seal (30b) is expanded (it is considered that the movement of the seal 30b away from the port 30d constitutes expanded or moving the seal such that the expansion increases the distance of the seal 30b from the chamber 26) allowing fluid to flow around the seal to be vented to an external environment (col. 3, lines 12-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the retainer of the Bailey et al. reference with a seal as taught by the Seid et al. reference in order to provide additional control through the retainer in the exhaust port.
In regards to claim 7, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses a proximal pole piece (Bailey et al.: 302) having a channel (Bailey et al.: 310) therein; and a distal pole piece (Bailey et al.: 304) having a respective channel (Bailey et al.: 314) therein, wherein the proximal pole piece and the distal pole piece are fixedly disposed within the solenoid coil (Bailey et al.: see figure 3), wherein the magnet (Bailey et al.: 308) is interposed between the proximal pole piece and the distal pole piece, and wherein the magnet is ring-shaped (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0040]) and includes a hole (Bailey et al.: 312) that is aligned with the channel and the respective channel (Bailey et al.: see figure 3).
In regards to claim 8, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein the hole of the magnet, the channel of the proximal pole piece, and the respective channel of the distal pole piece form a fluid passage (Bailey et al.: see figure 3 for the fluid passage including the channel 310, the hole 312 and the respective channel 314) that fluidly couples an airgap (Bailey et al.: 306) formed between the armature and the proximal pole piece to a gap (Bailey et al.: 316) that separates the distal pole piece from the retainer disposed at the exhaust port.
In regards to claim 10, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein the armature comprises one or more slots that allow fluid flow from the outlet port to the airgap (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0069]).
In regards to claim 11, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein the magnet is axially-magnetized such that a north pole of the magnet is oriented in the distal direction toward the distal pole piece (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0040]).
In regards to claim 12, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses a manifold (Bailey et al.: 104), wherein the manifold includes the inlet port (Bailey et al.: 106) and the outlet port (Bailey et al.: 108), wherein the solenoid coil (Bailey et al.: 114) is coupled to the manifold, and wherein the solenoid coil includes the exhaust port (Bailey et al.: 116).
In regards to claim 13, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein the armature (Bailey et al.: 300) comprises a seal element (Bailey et al.: 606) within a proximal end of the armature, wherein the seal element is made of a flexible material such that when the armature is in the particular position, the seal element is compressed against an interior surface of the manifold and seals a channel that is fluidly coupled to the inlet port (Bailey et al.: see claim 3).
In regards to claim 14, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein the spring (Bailey et al.: 322) is a conical spring (Bailey et al.: see figure 3) having a largest-diameter coil resting against [and] an interior surface of the solenoid coil and a smallest-diameter coil resting against a flange formed at a proximal end of the armature (Bailey et al.: see claim 5).
In regards to claim 15, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein when the armature is in the particular position, the magnetic force of the magnet is smaller than the biasing force, and the armature remains in the particular position upon removal of the signal (Bailey et al.: see at least claim 1, lines 23-26).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein fluid expanding the seal and flowing around the seal to be vented to the external environment prevents ingestion of a foreign substance (it is considered that the solid material of the seal and the orientation of the seal as a check valve as taught by the Seid et al. reference would block substances from moving from the external environment into the control valve).
In regards to claim 17, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein the signal is a first signal, the particular polarity is a first polarity, the particular position is a first position, wherein as a second signal having a second polarity, opposite the first polarity, energizes the solenoid coil, a respective solenoid force is applied to the armature in the distal direction, wherein a combination of the magnetic force and the respective solenoid force overcome the biasing force of the spring, causing the armature to move axially in the distal direction to a second position, thereby allowing fluid flow from the inlet port to the outlet port, while blocking fluid flow from the outlet port to the exhaust port (Bailey et al.: see at least claim 7).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein the seal is secured to the retainer, preventing ingestion of a foreign substance (it is considered that the solid material of the seal and the orientation of the seal as a check valve as taught by the Seid et al. reference would block substances from moving from the external environment into the control valve).
In regards to claim 19, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses wherein when the armature is in the second position, the magnetic force of the magnet is greater than the biasing force of the spring, and the armature remains in the second position upon removal of the second signal (Bailey et al.: see at least claim 7, lines 20-24).
In regards to claim 20, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Seid et al. reference discloses a proximal pole piece (Bailey et al.: 302) having a channel (Bailey et al.: 310) therein; and
a distal pole piece (Bailey et al.: 304) having a respective channel (Bailey et al.: 314) therein, wherein the proximal pole piece and the distal pole piece are fixedly disposed within the solenoid coil (Bailey et al.: see at least figure 3), wherein the magnet (Bailey et al.: 308) is interposed between the proximal pole piece and the distal pole piece, wherein the magnet is ring-shaped (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0040]) and includes a hole (Bailey et al.: 312) that is aligned with the channel and the respective channel (Bailey et al.: see figure 3), wherein the hole of the magnet, the channel of the proximal pole piece, and the respective channel of the distal pole piece form a fluid passage (Bailey et al.: see figure 3 for the fluid passage including the channel 310, the hole 312 and the respective channel 314) that fluidly couples an airgap (Bailey et al.: 306) formed between the armature and the proximal pole piece to a gap (Bailey et al.: 316) that separates the distal pole piece from the retainer disposed at the exhaust port, wherein the armature comprises a seal element (Bailey et al.: 344) within a distal end of the armature, wherein the seal element is made of a flexible material (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0060]) such that when the armature is in the second position, the seal element is compressed against the proximal pole piece and seals the channel of the proximal pole piece, thereby blocking the fluid passage (Bailey et al.: see at least paragraph [0060]).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0042619 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (US 6,619,324).
Regarding claim 1, the Bailey et al. reference discloses a valve assembly (102) comprising:
a plurality of ports including an inlet port (106), an outlet port (108), and an exhaust port (116);
a solenoid coil (114; see also paragraph [0027]) configured as a housing having a cavity (considered the opening through the center of the solenoid coil 114) therein;
an armature (300) slidably accommodated in the cavity of the solenoid coil (see figure 3);
a magnet (308) fixedly disposed within the solenoid coil, wherein the magnet applies a magnetic force on the armature in a distal direction (see paragraph [0041]);
a spring (322) applying a biasing force on the armature in a proximal direction (in the direction toward the proximal end);
a retainer (318) mounted at the exhaust port (see at least figure 3); and
wherein as a signal having a particular polarity energizes the solenoid coil, a solenoid force is applied to the armature in the proximal direction, wherein a combination of the biasing force of the spring and the solenoid force overcome the magnetic force, causing the armature to move axially in the proximal direction to a particular position, thereby blocking fluid flow from the inlet port to the outlet port, while allowing fluid flow from the outlet port (see at least paragraph [0085]), through the retainer (to the external environment).
The Bailey et al. reference does not disclose a seal mounted to the retainer at the exhaust port and wherein the seal is expanded allowing fluid to flow around the seal to be vented to an external environment.
However, the Yamada et al. reference teaches a non-return valve having a retainer (5) wherein a seal (6) is mounted to the retainer so that, when fluid pressure increases within the chamber (5a), the seal (6) is expanded to permit a fluid flow through the ports (5b) and, when fluid pressure of the chamber (5a) decreases, the seal (6) seals the ports (5b) to prevent a fluid flow through the valve (see at least col. 19, lines 12-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to design the retainer of the Bailey et al. reference as the retainer having a seal as taught by the Yamada et al. reference in order to provide additional control through the retainer in the exhaust port.
In regards to claim 2, the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the retainer comprises:
a groove (Yamada et al.: 5d) in which the seal is mounted (Yamada et al.: see figure 2A);
a longitudinal channel (Yamada et al.: see “longitudinal channel” in the annotated figure 2A below) that is fluidly coupled to the outlet port (Bailey et al.: 108) when the solenoid coil (Bailey et al.: 114) is energized by the signal (Bailey et al.: it is considered that when the armature is moved to the particular position in the proximal direction by the signal, the outlet port 106 is in communication with the exhaust port 116; further, it is considered that the retainer 318 of the Bailey et al. reference has been replaced by the retainer with a seal as taught by the Yamada et al. reference, and, therefore, the longitudinal channel of the retainer as taught by the Yamada et al. reference is fluidly coupled to the outlet port);
one or more radial holes (Yamada et al.: 5b) fluidly coupling the longitudinal channel to the groove (Yamada et al.: 5d; see figure 2A and figure 2B), wherein fluid flows from the outlet port through the longitudinal channel, then through the one or more radial holes, expanding the seal and flowing around the seal radially outward to the external environment (Yamada et al.: see at least col 19, lines 12-28 for the operation of the retainer and the seal to permit or prevent a fluid flow through the longitudinal channel, through the one or more radial holes 5b, into the channel 5d and around the seal 6).
In regards to claim 3, the Yamada et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the retainer comprises:
a proximal flange portion (Yamada et al.: see “proximal flange portion” in the annotated figure 2A above); and
a distal flange portion (Yamada et al.: see “distal flange portion” in the annotated figure 2A above) exposed to the external environment, wherein the proximal flange portion is axially spaced from the distal flange portion (Yamada et al.: the groove 5d and the seal 6 are located within the space between the proximal flange portion and the distal flange portion), and wherein the groove (Yamada et al.: 5d) in which the seal (Yamada et al.: 6) is mounted is formed between the proximal flange portion and the distal flange portion (Yamada et al.: see figure 2A) such that the seal is axially retained between the proximal flange portion and the distal flange portion (Yamada et al.: see col. 18, lines 44-59).
In regards to claim 4, the Yamada et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the proximal flange portion and the distal flange portion are generally cylindrical in shape (Yamada et al.: see figure 1 and figure 2B for the proximal flange portion and the distal flange portion be generally cylindrical in shape), and wherein the proximal flange portion has a larger diameter compared to the distal flange portion (Yamada et al.: see figure 2A and figure 2B for the proximal flange portion having a larger diameter compared to the distal flange portion).
In regards to claim 5, the Yamada et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the proximal flange portion has a conical cavity (Yamada et al.: see “conical cavity” in the annotated figure 2A above) that directs fluid received via the outlet port to the longitudinal channel (Yamada et al.: see figure 2A).
In regards to claim 6, the Yamada et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the longitudinal channel is a blind channel (Yamada et al.: see “blind channel” in the annotate figure 2A above) that extends only partially within the distal flange portion (Yamada et al.: see figure 2A).
In regards to claim 7, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses a proximal pole piece (Bailey et al.: 302) having a channel (Bailey et al.: 310) therein; and a distal pole piece (Bailey et al.: 304) having a respective channel (Bailey et al.: 314) therein, wherein the proximal pole piece and the distal pole piece are fixedly disposed within the solenoid coil (Bailey et al.: see figure 3), wherein the magnet (Bailey et al.: 308) is interposed between the proximal pole piece and the distal pole piece, and wherein the magnet is ring-shaped (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0040]) and includes a hole (Bailey et al.: 312) that is aligned with the channel and the respective channel (Bailey et al.: see figure 3).
In regards to claim 8, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the hole of the magnet, the channel of the proximal pole piece, and the respective channel of the distal pole piece form a fluid passage (Bailey et al.: see figure 3 for the fluid passage including the channel 310, the hole 312 and the respective channel 314) that fluidly couples an airgap (Bailey et al.: 306) formed between the armature and the proximal pole piece to a gap (Bailey et al.: 316) that separates the distal pole piece from the retainer disposed at the exhaust port.
In regards to claim 9, the Yamada et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the retainer comprises:
a groove (Yamada et al.: 5d) in which the seal is mounted (Yamada et al.: see figure 2A);
a longitudinal channel (Yamada et al.: see “longitudinal channel” in the annotated figure 2A above);
a conical cavity (Yamada et al.: see “conical cavity” in the annotated figure 2A above) that directs fluid received via the outlet port to the longitudinal channel (Yamada et al.: see figure 2A)
one or more radial holes (Yamada et al.: 5b) fluidly coupling the longitudinal channel to the groove (Yamada et al.: 5d; see figure 2A and figure 2B), wherein fluid flows from the outlet port through the longitudinal channel, then through the one or more radial holes, expanding the seal and flowing around the seal radially outward to the external environment (Yamada et al.: see at least col 19, lines 12-28 for the operation of the retainer and the seal to permit or prevent a fluid flow through the longitudinal channel, through the one or more radial holes 5b, into the channel 5d and around the seal 6).
In regards to claim 10, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the armature comprises one or more slots that allow fluid flow from the outlet port to the airgap (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0069]).
In regards to claim 11, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the magnet is axially-magnetized such that a north pole of the magnet is oriented in the distal direction toward the distal pole piece (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0040]).
In regards to claim 12, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses a manifold (Bailey et al.: 104), wherein the manifold includes the inlet port (Bailey et al.: 106) and the outlet port (Bailey et al.: 108), wherein the solenoid coil (Bailey et al.: 114) is coupled to the manifold, and wherein the solenoid coil includes the exhaust port (Bailey et al.: 116).
In regards to claim 13, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the armature (Bailey et al.: 300) comprises a seal element (Bailey et al.: 606) within a proximal end of the armature, wherein the seal element is made of a flexible material such that when the armature is in the particular position, the seal element is compressed against an interior surface of the manifold and seals a channel that is fluidly coupled to the inlet port (Bailey et al.: see claim 3).
In regards to claim 14, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the spring (Bailey et al.: 322) is a conical spring (Bailey et al.: see figure 3) having a largest-diameter coil resting against [and] an interior surface of the solenoid coil and a smallest-diameter coil resting against a flange formed at a proximal end of the armature (Bailey et al.: see claim 5).
In regards to claim 15, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein when the armature is in the particular position, the magnetic force of the magnet is smaller than the biasing force, and the armature remains in the particular position upon removal of the signal (Bailey et al.: see at least claim 1, lines 23-26).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein fluid expanding the seal and flowing around the seal to be vented to the external environment prevents ingestion of a foreign substance (it is considered that the seal 6 as taught by the Yamada et al. reference would block substances from moving from the external environment into the control valve).
In regards to claim 17, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the signal is a first signal, the particular polarity is a first polarity, the particular position is a first position, wherein as a second signal having a second polarity, opposite the first polarity, energizes the solenoid coil, a respective solenoid force is applied to the armature in the distal direction, wherein a combination of the magnetic force and the respective solenoid force overcome the biasing force of the spring, causing the armature to move axially in the distal direction to a second position, thereby allowing fluid flow from the inlet port to the outlet port, while blocking fluid flow from the outlet port to the exhaust port (Bailey et al.: see at least claim 7).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein the seal is secured to the retainer, preventing ingestion of a foreign substance (it is considered that the seal 6 as taught by the Yamada et al. reference would block substances from moving from the external environment into the control valve).
In regards to claim 19, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses wherein when the armature is in the second position, the magnetic force of the magnet is greater than the biasing force of the spring, and the armature remains in the second position upon removal of the second signal (Bailey et al.: see at least claim 7, lines 20-24).
In regards to claim 20, the Bailey et al. reference of the combination of the Bailey et al. reference and the Yamada et al. reference discloses a proximal pole piece (Bailey et al.: 302) having a channel (Bailey et al.: 310) therein; and
a distal pole piece (Bailey et al.: 304) having a respective channel (Bailey et al.: 314) therein, wherein the proximal pole piece and the distal pole piece are fixedly disposed within the solenoid coil (Bailey et al.: see at least figure 3), wherein the magnet (Bailey et al.: 308) is interposed between the proximal pole piece and the distal pole piece, wherein the magnet is ring-shaped (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0040]) and includes a hole (Bailey et al.: 312) that is aligned with the channel and the respective channel (Bailey et al.: see figure 3), wherein the hole of the magnet, the channel of the proximal pole piece, and the respective channel of the distal pole piece form a fluid passage (Bailey et al.: see figure 3 for the fluid passage including the channel 310, the hole 312 and the respective channel 314) that fluidly couples an airgap (Bailey et al.: 306) formed between the armature and the proximal pole piece to a gap (Bailey et al.: 316) that separates the distal pole piece from the retainer disposed at the exhaust port, wherein the armature comprises a seal element (Bailey et al.: 344) within a distal end of the armature, wherein the seal element is made of a flexible material (Bailey et al.: see paragraph [0060]) such that when the armature is in the second position, the seal element is compressed against the proximal pole piece and seals the channel of the proximal pole piece, thereby blocking the fluid passage (Bailey et al.: see at least paragraph [0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koenig et al. (US 11353135), Nasser et al. (US 11231123), Xin et al. (US 11220151), Ho (US 10655748), Hutchins et al. (US 10473228), Ye et al. (US 9982797), Shen et al. (US 9530552), Cross et al. (US 6425409), Gilmore et al. (US 5992461), Maranzano (US 5207245), Fisher (US 4538129) and Hargraves (US 4102526) disclose various control valve assemblies that include an inlet, an outlet and an exhaust port and wherein the control valve assembly includes an armature that is movable based on the operation of a solenoid.
Najmolhoda et al. (US 6581634), Leibfritz (US 3191626), Bereznai (US 8230884), Schembri et al. (US 7951474), Cornwell (US 7540304), Roffelson (US 6968863) and Short, III (US 4549565) disclose various valve assemblies having a seal member to seal an exhaust / vent port.
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/MICHAEL R REID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753