DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/16/2026 is being entered. Claims 1-3, 5-17, and 19-22 are pending. Claims 1-3, 5-17, and 19-20 are amended. Claims 21-22 are new. Claims 4 and 18 are cancelled. The amendment overcomes the objections to the claims, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection, and the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection. However, after further consideration and search, claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claim 6 is objected to for a spelling error. Therefore, responsive to this amendment, this rejection has been made final, as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: the word camera is misspelled as “camara”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the second position" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 13, 15-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0222835 A1) hereinafter Maloney in view of Overesch et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0373687 A1) hereinafter Overesch.
Regarding claim 1, Maloney discloses a vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle body having a passenger compartment including two seats in a front row, the two seats in the front row being spaced apart in a cross-car direction extending between a left side and a right side of the vehicle, and multiple seats in one or more rows spaced from the front row in a fore-aft direction extending between a front and a rear of the vehicle [see Figure 2 below - depicts two seats in a front row (20A and 20B) in a cross-car direction, and multiple seats in multiple rows (22A, 22B, 24A, 24B) in a fore-aft direction];
Figure 2 of Maloney
a console located in the passenger compartment, at least part of the console being a movable portion that is movable from a first position in which the movable portion is received between the two seats in the front row and a second position in which the movable portion is spaced in the fore-aft direction from the two seats in the front row [see Paragraph 0053 - discusses a center console that is located between the first row of seating and is movable from a first position (see Figure 2 above) to a second position (see Figure 3 below) in a fore-aft direction, the center console moves on rails that form tracks (movable portion), the tracks are between the two seats in the front row]; and
Figure 3 of Maloney
a control system associated with the console and having a processor and programming executable by the processor [see Paragraph 0064 - discusses a controller that controls operation of the center console, the controller includes a processor, see Paragraph 0065 - discusses that the controller receives inputs from a microphone (see Paragraph 0054 - discusses that the controller receives spoken input commands from the microphone, the input commands are used to control the center console],
Overesch discloses wherein a control system includes a first video device and a first audio device [see Paragraph 0064 and 0068 - discusses a mobile device including a camera and a speaker located in a rear passenger seat], see Paragraph 0036 - discusses interface input (touchscreens) of the mobile device hardware, see Figure 1 - the mobile device 20 is located on the rear passenger seat] by which the first video device and the first audio device are controllable and the programming is arranged so that the control system can provide voice-responsive use of the one or both of the first video device and the first audio device [see Paragraphs 0036 – discusses a communication request using the interface input to establish two way communication (see Paragraphs 0064-0068 – discusses two way communication using speakers and video (camera fed video feed))]
Figure 1 of Overesch
Overesch suggests that having a conversation within a vehicle can present limitations. Road noise can often drown out voices and sounds, leading to requests to repeat statements. Most vehicles contain at least two seats that are not positioned to face each other, forcing one of the passengers to turn around or look over his/her shoulder to hear. The operator, driver, captain, etc. traditionally and currently must give operating the vehicle a high degree of attention, presenting an even further challenge to communicating during vehicle travel. [see Paragraph 0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to include a first video device and a first audio device (mobile device components) and programming arranged so that the control system can provide voice-responsive use of the first video device and the first audio device as taught by Overesch in order to allow a passenger in the front seat to communicate with a passenger in the rear without turning around or looking over their shoulder [Overesch, see Paragraph 0002].
Further, Maloney fails to disclose that the first video device and the first audio device are both located on the movable portion, and the movable portion includes a user interface.
Maloney and Overesch discloses the claimed invention except for that the first video device and the first audio device are both located on the movable portion (center console), and the movable portion includes a user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success to rearrange the first video device, the first audio device, and the user interface of the rear row passenger seat as taught by Overesch onto the movable portion (center console) as taught by Maloney, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Additionally, the rearranging of parts the first video device, the first audio device, and the user interface of the rear row passenger seat as taught by Overesch onto the movable portion as taught by Maloney would allow two way communication from the front row and rear row when the movable portion is in the first position or second position because the two way communication request is initiated based on a natural language statement, such as “I want to talk to Kevin” [Overesch, see Paragraph 0064]. Therefore, if Kevin is in the front row and the movable portion is in the second position and someone in the rear row wants to talk to Kevin, then the two way communication will be established when the movable portion is in the second position once the user speaks the natural language statement. Conversely, when Kevin is in the rear row and the movable portion is in the first position and someone in the front row wants to talk to Kevin, then the two way communication will be established when the movable portion is in the first position once the user speaks the natural language statement. Therefore, voice responsive use is established “when the movable portion is in the first position and the second position”.
Regarding claim 2, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 1. Maloney further discloses an actuator coupled to the movable portion to move the movable portion within the passenger compartment [see Paragraph 0053 - discusses the center console has an actuator with a center console motor, and the center console moves on rails that form tracks (movable portion)].
Regarding claim 3, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 2. Maloney further discloses wherein the control system is associated with the actuator to permit control of the actuator via the control system [see Paragraph 0065 - discusses that the controller generates control signals for the center console motor].
Regarding claim 5, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 1. Overesch further discloses a second video device and a second audio device, wherein the second video device and the second audio device are arranged for use by a passenger in the front row [see Paragraph 0068 - discusses two-way video communication between passengers using speakers (second audio device) and a camera (second video device) fed display - the first passenger in the front row initiates communication with the second passenger in a rear row].
Overesch suggests that having a conversation within a vehicle can present limitations. Road noise can often drown out voices and sounds, leading to requests to repeat statements. Most vehicles contain at least two seats that are not positioned to face each other, forcing one of the passengers to turn around or look over his/her shoulder to hear. The operator, driver, captain, etc. traditionally and currently must give operating the vehicle a high degree of attention, presenting an even further challenge to communicating during vehicle travel. [see Paragraph 0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to include a second video device and a second audio device, wherein the second video device and the second audio device are arranged for use by a passenger in the front row as taught by Overesch in order to allow a passenger in the front seat to communicate with a passenger in the rear without turning around or looking over their shoulder [Overesch, see Paragraph 0002].
Regarding claim 6, Maloney and Overesch discloses the invention with respect to claim 5. Overesch further discloses wherein the first video device is a first camara [see Paragraph 0068 - discusses the mobile device includes a camera] and see Paragraph 0068 - discusses the mobile device includes a display], wherein the second video device is a second camera arranged to show a person in the front row and the second video device is communicated with the display so that an image from the second camera can be provided on the display [see Figure 1 below - depicts the second mobile device 20 in the front row, see Paragraph 0068 - discusses two way video communication using the cameras (second camera) and displays, the passenger in the rear row will see the passenger in the front row on the display].
Figure 1 of Overesch
Maloney and Overesch discloses the claimed invention except for that the display is located on the movable portion (center console). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success to rearrange the display as taught by Overesch onto the movable portion (center console) as taught by Maloney, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 5. Overesch further discloses wherein the first audio device and the second audio device include both an audio input and an audio output to permit two-way audible communication between the first audio device and the second audio device [see Paragraph 0068 - discusses two-way communication link between the first passenger and the target passenger(s) by establishing a two-way communication link between a first microphone 16 and first speaker 18 (e.g., microphone(s) or speaker(s) included with or provided in proximity to a first seat assembly 11 associated with the first passenger) and target microphone(s) 16 and target speaker(s) 18 (e.g., microphone(s) or speaker(s) included with or provided in proximity to a target seat assembly(ies) 11 associated with the target passenger(s))].
Overesch suggests that having a conversation within a vehicle can present limitations. Road noise can often drown out voices and sounds, leading to requests to repeat statements. Most vehicles contain at least two seats that are not positioned to face each other, forcing one of the passengers to turn around or look over his/her shoulder to hear. The operator, driver, captain, etc. traditionally and currently must give operating the vehicle a high degree of attention, presenting an even further challenge to communicating during vehicle travel. [see Paragraph 0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to include both an audio input and an audio output for the first audio device and the second audio device include to permit two-way audible communication between the first audio device and the second audio device as taught by Overesch in order to allow a passenger in the front seat to communicate with a passenger in the rear without turning around or looking over their shoulder [Overesch, see Paragraph 0002].
Regarding claim 8, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 7. Overesch further discloses wherein the first video device and the second video device include both a video input and a video output to permit two-way visible communication between the first video device and the second video device [see Paragraph 0068 – discusses two way video communication using cameras and displays].
Regarding claim 13, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 1. Overesch further discloses a vehicle system, and a control system that is communicated with the vehicle system and the programming is arranged to enable voice-activated control of the vehicle system via the control system by way of the first audio device [see Paragraph 0068 - discusses a vehicle system (video device) is in communication with a control module, and see Paragraphs 0064-0068 - discusses a passenger enables voice activated control of two way video communication to speak with other passengers, the first audio device is spoken into using a natural language statement to a target passenger].
Overesch suggests that having a conversation within a vehicle can present limitations. Road noise can often drown out voices and sounds, leading to requests to repeat statements. Most vehicles contain at least two seats that are not positioned to face each other, forcing one of the passengers to turn around or look over his/her shoulder to hear. The operator, driver, captain, etc. traditionally and currently must give operating the vehicle a high degree of attention, presenting an even further challenge to communicating during vehicle travel. [see Paragraph 0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to include a vehicle system, and a control system that is communicated with the vehicle system and the programming is arranged to enable voice-activated control of the vehicle system via the control system as taught by Overesch in order to allow a passenger in the front seat to communicate with a passenger in the rear without turning around or looking over their shoulder [Overesch, see Paragraph 0002].
Regarding claim 15, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 1. Overesch further discloses wherein the control system provides a virtual assistant interface that is usable by a vehicle occupant through voice commands detectable by the first audio device when the movable portion is in the second position [see Paragraphs 0064-0068 – discusses hailing a target passenger to talk to by using a natural language statement through a microphone] when the movable portion is in the second position [the rearranging of parts the first video device, the first audio device, and the user interface of the rear row passenger seat as taught by Overesch onto the movable portion as taught by Maloney would allow two way communication from the front row and rear row when the movable portion is in the first position or second position because the two way communication request is initiated based on a natural language statement, such as “I want to talk to Kevin” [Overesch, see Paragraph 0064]. Therefore, if Kevin is in the front row and the movable portion is in the second position and someone in the rear row wants to talk to Kevin (via first audio device), then the two way communication will be established when the movable portion is in the second position. Conversely, when Kevin is in the rear row and the movable portion is in the first position and someone in the front row wants to talk to Kevin, then the two way communication will be established when the movable portion is in the first position. Therefore, voice responsive use is established “when the movable portion is in the first position and the second position” with the obvious combination of Maloney and Overesch].
Regarding claim 16, Maloney discloses a vehicle control system, comprising:
a console located in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, at least part of the console being a movable portion that is movable within the passenger compartment [see Paragraph 0053 - discusses a center console that is located between the first row of seating and is movable from a first position (see Figure 2 below) to a second position (see Figure 3 below) in a fore-aft direction];
Figure 2 of Maloney
Figure 3 of Maloney
a control system associated with the console and having a processor and programming executable by the processor, the control system includes a microphone see Paragraph 0064 - discusses a controller that controls operation of the center console, the controller includes a processor, see Paragraph 0065 - discusses that the controller receives inputs from a microphone (see Paragraph 0054 - discusses that the controller receives spoken input commands from the microphone, the input commands are used to control the center console];
Rangarajan discloses a communications unit that is communicated with the control system, the communications unit arranged to receive information at the vehicle [see Paragraph 0051 - Upon the remote server 314 determining the identified voice command 210, the voice command controller 128 of the vehicle 100 receives the identified voice command 210 from the remote server 314 via the communication module 304 and performs a vehicle function based on the identified voice command 210] and to transmit information from the vehicle [see Paragraph 0049 - The communication module 304 enables the vehicle 100 to utilize cloud computing for speech recognition of voice commands. For example, the voice command controller 128 of the vehicle 100 collets the audio signal 114 and the user history 208 and communicates the audio signal 114 and the user history 208 to the remote server 314 via the communication module 304]; and
a backend portion of a cloud-based system, wherein the backend portion includes a processor and memory with programming [see Paragraph 0040 - In the illustrated example, the voice command controller 128 on-board the vehicle 100 utilizes the first speech recognition engine 202, the second speech recognition engine 204, and the habits engine 206 stored in memory (e.g., memory 312 of FIG. 3) on-board the vehicle 100. In other examples, the vehicle 100 utilizes cloud computing to reduce the amount of on-board memory utilized for speech recognition. For example, the voice command controller 128 of the vehicle 100 communicates the audio signal 114 and the user history 208 to a remote server (e.g., a remote server 314 of FIG. 3) to enable a controller of the remote server (e.g., a voice command controller 318 of FIG. 3) to utilize the first speech recognition engine 202, the second speech recognition engine 204, and the habits engine 206 that is stored in memory (e.g., memory 320 of FIG. 3) at the remote server. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle 100 utilizes a combination of on-board computing and cloud computing to identify the voice command 118 within the audio signal 114. For example, one or more of the engines (e.g., the second speech recognition engine 204 and the habits engine 206) is stored in memory on-board the vehicle 100 and one or more of the engines (e.g., the first speech recognition engine 202) is stored in memory at a remote server.],
Rangarajan suggests that cloud computing reduces the amount of onboard memory utilized for speech recognition [see Paragraph 0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to include a communications unit that is communicated with the control system, the communications unit arranged to receive information at the vehicle and to transmit information from the vehicle, a backend portion of a cloud-based system, wherein the backend portion includes a processor and memory with programming as taught by Rangarajan in order to reduce the amount of onboard memory utilized for speech recognition [Rangarajan, see Paragraph 0040].
Overesch discloses a control system includes programming to permit voice-responsive control of one or more vehicle systems via a microphone [see Paragraph 0068 - discusses a vehicle system (video device) is in communication with a control module, and see Paragraphs 0064-0068 - discusses a passenger enables voice activated control of two way communication to speak with other passengers using a microphone and speaker] and wherein the control system includes one or both of a first video device and a speaker, and the programming is arranged so that the control system can provide voice-responsive use of the first video device [see Paragraphs 0064-0068 – discusses two way video communication link in addition to the two way voice communication that is initiated based on natural language statement],
Overesch suggests that having a conversation within a vehicle can present limitations. Road noise can often drown out voices and sounds, leading to requests to repeat statements. Most vehicles contain at least two seats that are not positioned to face each other, forcing one of the passengers to turn around or look over his/her shoulder to hear. The operator, driver, captain, etc. traditionally and currently must give operating the vehicle a high degree of attention, presenting an even further challenge to communicating during vehicle travel. [see Paragraph 0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to include programming to permit voice-responsive control of one or more vehicle systems as taught by Overesch in order to allow a passenger in the front seat to communicate with a passenger in the rear without turning around or looking over their shoulder [Overesch, see Paragraph 0002].
Further, Maloney fails to disclose that the microphone, the first video device, and the speaker are located on the movable portion.
Maloney and Overesch discloses the claimed invention except for that the microphone, the first video device, and the speaker are located on the movable portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success to rearrange the microphone, the first video device, and the speaker of the rear row passenger seat as taught by Overesch onto the movable portion (center console) as taught by Maloney, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 17, Maloney, Rangarajan, and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 16. Maloney further discloses an actuator coupled to the movable portion to move the movable portion within the passenger compartment, and wherein the control system is associated with the actuator to permit control of the actuator via the control system [see Paragraph 0053 - discusses the center console has an actuator with a center console motor, and the center console moves on rails that form tracks (movable portion)].
Regarding claim 19, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 18. Overesch further discloses a second video device and a second audio device, wherein the second video device and the second audio device are arranged for use by a passenger in a front row of seats [see Paragraph 0068 - discusses two-way video communication between passengers using speakers (second audio device) and a camera (second video device) fed display - the first passenger in the front row initiates communication with the second passenger in a rear row].
Overesch suggests that having a conversation within a vehicle can present limitations. Road noise can often drown out voices and sounds, leading to requests to repeat statements. Most vehicles contain at least two seats that are not positioned to face each other, forcing one of the passengers to turn around or look over his/her shoulder to hear. The operator, driver, captain, etc. traditionally and currently must give operating the vehicle a high degree of attention, presenting an even further challenge to communicating during vehicle travel. [see Paragraph 0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to include a second video device and a second audio device, wherein the second video device and the second audio device are arranged for use by a passenger in the front row as taught by Overesch in order to allow a passenger in the front seat to communicate with a passenger in the rear without turning around or looking over their shoulder [Overesch, see Paragraph 0002].
Regarding claim 20, Maloney and Overesch discloses the invention with respect to claim 19. Overesch further discloses see Paragraphs 0064-0068 – discusses two way video communication using mobile devices that includes cameras and displays], and wherein the first video device is a camera that is communicated with a display arranged to be viewed by the passenger in the front row [see Paragraphs 0064-0068 – discusses that the mobile device includes a camera and that the display is a camera fed to the display in the front row].
Overesch suggests that having a conversation within a vehicle can present limitations. Road noise can often drown out voices and sounds, leading to requests to repeat statements. Most vehicles contain at least two seats that are not positioned to face each other, forcing one of the passengers to turn around or look over his/her shoulder to hear. The operator, driver, captain, etc. traditionally and currently must give operating the vehicle a high degree of attention, presenting an even further challenge to communicating during vehicle travel. [see Paragraph 0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to include a camera communicated with a display and wherein the first video device is a camera that is communicated with a display arranged to be viewed by the passenger in the front row as taught by Overesch in order to allow a passenger in the front seat to communicate with a passenger in the rear without turning around or looking over their shoulder [Overesch, see Paragraph 0002].
Maloney and Overesch discloses the claimed invention except for that the display is located on the movable portion (center console). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success to rearrange the display as taught by Overesch onto the movable portion (center console) as taught by Maloney, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 21, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 16. Overesch further discloses wherein the control system provides a virtual assistant interface that is usable by a vehicle occupant through voice commands detectable by the microphone [see Paragraphs 0064-0068 – discusses hailing a target passenger to talk to by using a natural language statement through a microphone] when the movable portion is in the second position [the rearranging of parts the first video device, the first audio device, and the user interface of the rear row passenger seat as taught by Overesch onto the movable portion as taught by Maloney would allow two way communication from the front row and rear row when the movable portion is in the first position or second position because the two way communication request is initiated based on a natural language statement, such as “I want to talk to Kevin” [Overesch, see Paragraph 0064]. Therefore, if Kevin is in the front row and the movable portion is in the second position and someone in the rear row wants to talk to Kevin (via the microphone on the movable portion), then the two way communication will be established when the movable portion is in the second position once the user speaks the natural language statement], and the virtual assistant controls the voice-responsive control of the one or more vehicle systems [see Paragraphs 0064-0068 – discusses that the communication is enabled when there is a natural language statement and the target passenger is notified using a display or speaker].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney in view of Rangarajan et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0027452 A1) hereinafter Rangarajan in view of Overesch in view of Bhambare et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0217311 A1) hereinafter Bhambare.
Regarding claim 9, Maloney and Overesch discloses the invention with respect to claim 1.
However, the combination of Maloney and Overesch fails to disclose a communication device communicated with the control system and arranged to permit wireless communication between the vehicle and a remote source, wherein the wireless communication is controllable via the user interface of the movable portion.
Rangarajan discloses a communication device communicated with a control system and arranged to permit wireless communication between a vehicle and a remote source [see Figure 3 below – depicts a communication module that is connected with a control system 302, and wirelessly communicates with a remote source 316 (cloud)]
Figure 3 of Rangarajan
Rangarajan suggests that cloud computing reduces the amount of onboard memory utilized for speech recognition [see Paragraph 0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to include a communication device communicated with a control system and arranged to permit wireless communication between a vehicle and a remote source as taught by Rangarajan in order to reduce the amount of onboard memory utilized for speech recognition [Rangarajan, see Paragraph 0040].
Bhambare discloses wherein the wireless communication is controllable via the user interface [see Paragraph 0061 – discusses controlling wi-fi connectivity, Bluetooth connectivity via a user interface of the vehicle].
Bhambare suggests that by allowing wireless communication, that over the air software updates can be performed [see Paragraphs 0060-0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the user interface as taught by Overesch to be control the wireless communication as taught by Bhambare in order for over the air software updates to be performed to keep the vehicle system up to date [Bhambare, see Paragraphs 0060-0061].
Regarding claim 10, Maloney, Overesch, and Rangarajan disclose the invention with respect to claim 9. Rangarajan further discloses wherein a control system is connectable with the internet via see Paragraph 0046 - discusses that the communication module uses the internet and the communication module connects with a mobile device, see Paragraph 0020 – discusses that the mobile device interacts with vehicle functions]
Rangarajan suggests that a remote device (mobile device) enables an operator to interact with vehicle features and functions [see Paragraph 0020].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the control system as taught by Maloney to be connectable with the internet via a remote device that is coupled to the control system as taught by Rangarajan in order to enable an operator to interact with vehicle features and functions [Rangarajan, see Paragraph 0020].
Bhambare discloses wherein the internet is accessible via the user interface [see Paragraph 0061 – discusses connecting to the internet using Wi-Fi].
Bhambare suggests that by allowing wireless communication to the Internet, that over the air software updates can be performed [see Paragraphs 0060-0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the user interface as taught by Overesch to access the internet as taught by Bhambare in order for over the air software updates to be performed to keep the vehicle system up to date [Bhambare, see Paragraphs 0060-0061].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney in view of Overesch in view of Brooks et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0234550 A1) hereinafter Brooks.
Regarding claim 11, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 1.
However, the combination of Maloney and Overesch fails to disclose a container that is selectively connectable with the movable portion of the console for movement with the movable portion of the console.
Brooks discloses a container that is selectively connectable with a movable portion of a console for movement with the movable portion of the console [see Paragraphs 0023 and 0029 – discusses a container 22 that is on a movable portion 17 and moves with a console 21, and see Figure 1 and 2 below – depicts ].
Figure 1 of Brooks
Figure 2 of Brooks
Brooks suggests that having a modular storage console (container 22 and container 21) allows for vehicle occupants to have greater access to storage [see Paragraph 0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the console as taught by Maloney to be selectively connectable with a movable portion of a console for movement with the movable portion of the console as taught by Brooks in order to allow for vehicle occupants to have greater access to storage [Brooks, see Paragraph 0005].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney in view of Overesch in view of Kakade et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0001693 A1) hereinafter Kakade in view of Austin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0185863 A1) hereinafter Austin.
Regarding claim 14, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 13. Overesch further discloses wherein the vehicle system includes an audio device [see Paragraph 0068 – discusses a speaker], a video device [see Paragraph 0068 - discusses two way video communication],
However, the combination of Maloney and Overesch fails to disclose a heating and cooling system.
Kakade discloses a heating and cooling system [see Paragraph 0003].
Kakade suggests including a heating and cooling system enhances a comfort level of an occupant in the vehicle [see Paragraph 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the vehicle system as taught by Maloney includes a heating and cooling system as taught by Kakade in order to enhance a comfort level of an occupant in the vehicle [Kakade, see Paragraph 0003].
Austin discloses wherein the heating and cooling system (HVAC) is voice activated [see Paragraph 0023].
Austin suggests that by having a voice activated HVAC system allows for occupants to have individualized temperature control for each occupant in each zone of the vehicle [see Paragraph 0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the vehicle system as taught by Maloney includes a voice activated heating and cooling system as taught by Austin in order to have individualized temperature control for each occupant in each zone of the vehicle [Austin, see Paragraph 0002].
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney in view of Overesch in view of Hahn et al. (DE 10 2020 001 084 A1) hereinafter Hahn.
Regarding claim 22, Maloney and Overesch disclose the invention with respect to claim 1.
However, the combination of Maloney and Overesch fails to disclose a robotic arm movably coupled to the movable portion and coupled to an actuator including one or more motors to drive the arm for movement relative to the movable portion.
Hahn discloses a robotic arm movably coupled to a movable portion and coupled to an actuator including one or more motors to drive the arm for movement relative to the movable portion [see Paragraph 0015 – discusses arranging the robot arm on the center consol of the vehicle, see Paragraph 0026 – discusses that the robot arm head pivots based on a control signal from an electronic computing device].
Hahn suggests that the robotic arm can perform tasks so that the driver of the vehicle is not distracted from a driving task, increase comfort for a vehicle occupant since tasks are handled by the robotic arm [see Paragraph 0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the movable portion as taught by Maloney to include a robotic arm movably coupled to a movable portion and coupled to an actuator including one or more motors to drive the arm for movement relative to the movable portion selectively connectable with a movable portion of a console for movement with the movable portion of the console as taught by Hahn in order to perform tasks so that the driver of a vehicle is not distracted from a driving task and increase comfort for a vehicle occupant since tasks are handled by the robotic arm [Hahn, see Paragraph 0011].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is allowed.
The following references have been identified as the most relevant prior art to the claimed invention(s):
Bursch (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0253012 A1) hereinafter Bursch is directed at a cargo compartment separated from the passenger compartment by a divider, and wherein the container is movable from the passenger compartment into the cargo compartment through an opening in the divider [see Figure 3A below – depicts a cargo compartment 24 that is separated from a passenger compartment 22 and a divider in between the cargo compartment 24 and the passenger compartment 22 with an opening 46].
Figure 3A of Bursch
However, Bursch fails to disclose, or make obvious, these features of:
“wherein the container is driven by an actuator that is communicated with and controllable by the control system.”
The Examiner further emphasizes the claims as a whole and hereby asserts that the totality of the evidence fails to set forth, either explicitly or implicitly, an appropriate rationale for further modification of the evidence at hand to arrive at the claimed invention. The combination of features as claimed would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as combining various references from the totality of the evidence to reach the combination of features as claimed would require a substantial reconstruction of Applicant’s claimed invention relying on improper hindsight bias. It is thereby asserted by the Examiner that, in light of the above and in further deliberation over all of the evidence at hand, that the claims are allowable as the evidence at hand does not anticipate the claims and does not render obvious any further modification of the references to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments appear to be directed solely to the amended subject matter, and are not persuasive, as noted supra in the rejections of that claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAYNE M. GILBERTSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665