DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann USPA_20150306817_A1.
1. Regarding Claims 1, 6, 19, 24, 25, and 26, Lehmann discloses a method (see claims) for bonding objects together (Title) comprising a second object (corresponds to claimed first object) that has protrusions (paragraph 0029) and is made of a thermoplastic material (Abstract). Lehmann discloses that this second object can be combined with a first object (corresponds to claimed second object) (Abstract) by way of pressing (corresponds to claimed mechanical pressing force) and mechanical vibrations (corresponds to claimed mechanical excitation) (paragraphs 0020, 0021) which results in liquefying the thermoplastic material and it penetrates and flows into the first object (corresponds to claimed second object) and then allowing it to resolidify (Abstract) resulting in a positive-fit connection between the two objects (paragraph 0014). Lehmann discloses that said first object (corresponds to claimed second object) can have pores, cracks, and deformations (corresponds to claimed plurality of voids or openings) (abstract). It would inherently be expected for said protruding portions to penetrate into lower density (relative to its own material) of the first object (corresponds to claimed second object) when mechanical pressing is applied before the thermoplastic material flows. Although not all of the aforementioned has been disclosed in a single, exemplified embodiment, it would still be expected for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to try the different, limited embodiments out of a desire of optimization.
2. Regarding Claims 2, 3, 5, 21, Lehmann discloses using a first object (corresponds to claimed second object) that is made of functional layers free of any protrusions (paragraph 0115). Use of such components for automobiles such as leather or covering materials, is well known in the art, especially when Lehmann discloses using its invention in engineering, construction, building, material science, and medical technologies (paragraph 0002).
3. Regarding Claim 4, Lehmann discloses that said first object (corresponds to claimed second object) can be adapted in shape to the first object.
4. Regarding Claim 7, Lehmann discloses a stopping surface (paragraphs 0082, 0091, 0092, 0098)
5. Regarding Claims 8-10, Lehmann discloses such an arrangement with a sonotrode exerting the mechanical excitation (paragraphs 0066, 0067).
6. Regarding Claims 11, 12, Lehmann also discloses how compressive strength (energy) can be applied locally into the second object (corresponds to claimed first object) for liquefaction (paragraphs 0011, 0025, 0028, 0038, 0039, 0041, 0065, 0069, 0087, 0091, Claim 11) which would also affect the density as well.
7. Regarding Claim 13, such a density profile would inherently result as a result of said mechanical pressing when applied and the penetration of the object takes place.
8. Regarding Claim 14, Lehmann discloses having a first layer (corresponds to claimed top layer) that is pressed into the first object (corresponds to claimed second object) which would force the protrusion through said first layer (paragraph 0115).
9. Regarding Claim 15, Lehmann discloses a protruding feature thereof comprises a broadened portion and, proximally of the broadened feature, a neck portion with a radial extension that is smaller than a corresponding radial extension of the broadened portion at least in one direction. Although the claimed ratio is not stated, the Examiner respectfully submits that this would ultimately depend on end-user product specifications.
10. Regarding Claims 16, 17, 18, Lehmann discloses using the claimed oscillations for mechanical vibrations that are perpendicular to the surface (paragraph 0022).
11. Regarding Claim 20, Figure 4 reveals how the volume of the gaps is larger than the volume of the protrusions.
12. Regarding Claim 22, Lehmann discloses flat surfaces between protrusions (paragraph 0063).
13. Regarding Claim 23, Lehmann discloses how the object can be unaffected by the pressing (paragraph 0010).
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 June 9, 2026