DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 13, and 16-20 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the locking mechanism 110 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dippold et al. (WO 2024220989 A2), hereafter referred to as “Dippold”, in view of Baxter et al. (US 20250120363 A1), hereafter referred to as “Baxter”.
Regarding claim 1, Dippold teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-15) comprising:
a bowl base (102) comprised of an interior cavity (fig. 1);
a lid (122, 808; figs. 1 and 8) connected to the bowl base via a hinge (page 7, lines 32-34; fig. 8), the lid being automatically transitional between an open state (fig. 1) and a closed state (page 7, line 22-line 25 and page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19);
a locking mechanism for securing the lid to the bowl base in the closed state (page 7, lines 34-36);
a motion sensor configured to detect the movement of a pet near the pet bowl device (page 2, line 34-page 3, line 6 and page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19); and
a microcontroller (902) configured to receive a signal from the motion sensor and, in response to detecting the movement of the pet, to activate the hinge to transition the lid from the closed state to the open state (page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19); but does not explicitly teach that the locking mechanism is an electronic locking mechanism, and wherein the motion sensor is an ultrasonic sensor.
As shown above, Dippold teaches that the opening and closing of the lid is programmable (page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold, such that the locking mechanism is also electronic, in order to selectively control when the lid is locked without the need of user intervention.
Baxter teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-25) including an ultrasonic motion sensor (paragraph [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold, such that the motion sensor is an ultrasonic motion sensor, in order to improve the detection of pets by allows the device to detect both moving and stationary objects.
Regarding claim 5, Dippold in view of Baxter teaches the pet bowl device of claim 1, and further teaches an actuator connected to the hinge (page 7, lines 32-34), wherein the microcontroller is configured to activate the actuator to open the lid upon detecting movement of the pet (page 2, line 34-page 3, line 6 and page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19, page 7, lines 32-34 and page 8, lines 12-21).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dippold in view of Baxter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sweeny (US 2157682 A), hereafter referred to as “Sweeny.”
Regarding claim 2, Dippold as modified by Baxter teaches the pet bowl device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the hinge is comprised of a spring-assisted hinge.
Sweeny teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-2) including a spring-assisted hinge (15; col 2, lines 13-18 and claim 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold in view of Baxter such that the hinge is a spring-assisted hinge, as taught by Sweeny, in order to improve the closure of the lid to improve freshness of the food.
Claims 7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dippold.
Regarding claim 7, Dippold teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-15) comprising:
a bowl base (102) comprised of a microwaveable material (page 7, line 7-9, e.g., teaching ceramic), the bowl base comprised of an interior cavity (fig. 1);
a lid (122, 808; figs. 1 and 8) connected to the bowl base via a motorized hinge (page 7, lines 32-34 teaching a hinge, shown in fig. 8, with element 810), the lid being automatically
transitional between an open state (fig. 1) and a closed state (fig. 1; page 7, line 22-line 25 and page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19);
a speaker (1006) configured to play a sound at a programmable feeding time (page 12, lines 27-29, page 7, lines 22-25, and page 9, line 8);
a locking mechanism for securing the lid to the bowl base in the closed state (page 7, lines 34-36); and
a microcontroller (902) configured to receive a signal from a motion sensor and to control the motorized hinge to automatically open and close the lid based on the proximity of a pet (page 8, lines 12-21 and page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19), but does not explicitly teach that the locking mechanism is an electronic locking mechanism.
As shown above, Dippold teaches that the opening and closing of the lid is programmable (page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold, such that the locking mechanism is also electronic, in order to selectively control when the lid is locked without the need of user intervention.
Regarding claim 9, Dippold teaches the pet bowl device of claim 7, and further teaches that the lid (122) is comprised of a transparent material allowing a visual access to the interior cavity (page 12, lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 10, Dippold teaches the pet bowl device of claim 7, and further teaches wherein the motorized hinge (page 7, lines 32-34 teaching a hinge, shown in fig. 8, with element 810) is activated by an actuator in response to a signal from the microcontroller (page 7, lines 32-34 and page 8, lines 12-21).
Regarding claim 11, Dippold teaches the pet bowl device of claim 7, and further teaches a weight sensor (812) disposed in the interior cavity to measure an amount of food or an amount of water positioned within the interior cavity (page 2, line 27-33 and page 9, lines 26-39).
Claims 13-14, 16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dippold in view of Baxter and Burke (US 20220354087 A1), hereafter referred to as “Burke”.
Regarding claim 13, Dippold teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-15) comprising:
a bowl base (102) comprised of an interior cavity (fig. 1) and a non-slip bottom surface (page 11, lines 23-25);
a transparent lid (122, 808; figs. 1 and 8; page 12, lines 37-39 teaching a transparent lid) connected to the bowl base via a motorized hinge (page 7, lines 32-34 teaching a hinge, shown in fig. 8, with element 810);
a motion sensor configured to detect the movement of a pet near the pet bowl device (page 2, line 34-page 3, line 6 and page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19);
a microcontroller (902) configured to receive a signal from a motion sensor and to control the motorized hinge to automatically open and close the lid (page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19); and
a programmable timer configured to automatically open the transparent lid based on a pre-set schedule (page 7, lines 22-25 and page 11, lines 32-39); and
wherein the non-slip bottom surface is comprised of a rubber (page 11, lines 23-25), but does not explicitly teach that the motion sensor is an ultrasonic sensor, and that the rubber is a recessed textured rubber.
Baxter teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-25) including an ultrasonic motion sensor (paragraph [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold, such that the motion sensor is an ultrasonic motion sensor, in order to improve the detection of pets by allows the device to detect both moving and stationary objects.
Burke teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-5C) including a recessed textured rubber (paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold in view of Baxter, such that the rubber is a recessed textured rubber, as taught by Burke, in order to increase the static or sliding coefficient of friction of the base and the surface that the base is resting on (paragraph [0030] of Burke).
Regarding claim 14, Dippold in view of Baxter and Burke teaches the pet bowl device of claim 13, and further teaches that the non-slip bottom surface is comprised of a rubber (page 11, lines 23-25 of Dippold).
Regarding claim 16, Dippold in view of Baxter and Burke teaches the pet bowl device of claim 13, and further teaches that the pet bowl device comprises a camera (912).
Regarding claim 18, Dippold in view of Baxter and Burke teaches the pet bowl device of claim 16, and further teaches that the camera (912) is configured to recognize a pet (page 2, lines 34-40).
Regarding claim 20, Dippold in view of Baxter and Burke teaches the pet bowl device of claim 13, and further teaches wherein the bowl base (102) is comprised of a round shape (page 7, line 12-13).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dippold in view of Baxter as applied to claim 1, and further in view of McVeigh (GB 2451804 A), hereafter referred to as “McVeigh.”
Regarding claim 6, Dippold teaches the pet bowl device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the microcontroller is configured to keep the lid open for a predetermined time after the pet departs from proximity to the device.
McVeigh teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-5) including a microcontroller is configured to keep a lid open for a predetermined time after the pet departs from proximity to the device (page 4, lines 9-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold such that the microcontroller is configured to keep the lid open for a predetermined time after the pet departs from proximity to the device, as taught by McVeigh, in order to ensure that the lid does not hit the pet.
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dippold, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Gonet (US 20060032451 A1), hereafter referred to as “Gonet.”
Regarding claim 8, Dippold teaches the pet bowl device of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the microwaveable material is comprised of a non-toxic plastic.
Gonet teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-3) including a microwaveable material (paragraph [0023]) comprised of a non-toxic plastic (paragraph [0023] teaching polypropylene).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold such that the microwavable material includes a non-toxic plastic, as taught by Gonet, in order to improve the portability, mitigate cracking of the bowl base, and to ensure food-safe materials for the pet.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dippold in view of Baxter and Burke as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of McVeigh.
Regarding claim 17, Dippold in view of Baxter and Burke teaches the pet bowl device of claim 13, but does not explicitly teach wherein the microcontroller activates the motorized hinge after detecting movement continuously for a predetermined time.
McVeigh teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-5) including a microcontroller activating a hinge to close a lid after detecting a lack of movement continuously for a predetermined time (page 4, lines 9-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold such that the microcontroller activates the motorized hinge after detecting movement continuously for a predetermined time, as suggested by McVeigh, in order to mitigate premature opening of the lid when the animal briefly passes.
Regarding claim 19, Dippold in view of Baxter and Burke teaches the pet bowl device of claim 13, but does not explicitly teach wherein the microcontroller is configured to close the lid automatically after a predetermined period of inactivity detected by the motion sensor.
McVeigh teaches a pet bowl device (figs. 1-5) including a microcontroller configured to close a lid automatically after a predetermined period of inactivity detected by the motion sensor (page 4, lines 9-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold such that the microcontroller is configured to close the lid automatically after a predetermined period of inactivity detected by the motion sensor, as taught by McVeigh, in order to ensure that the lid does not hit the pet.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues, on page 6, that Dippold does not teach an electronic locking mechanism. As shown in the rejection above, Dippold teaches that the opening and closing of the lid is programmable (page 9, line 35-page 10, line 19). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dippold, such that the locking mechanism is also electronic, in order to selectively control when the lid is locked without the need of user intervention.
Applicant argues, on page 7, that Dippold does not teach that the motion sensor is an ultrasonic sensor. As shown in the rejection above, Baxter is relied upon for the above limitation.
Applicant argues, on page 7, that Dippold does not teach “a speaker configured to play a sound at a programmable feeding time”, stating that Dipoold’s speaker 1006 is merely used to make noises when food is warmed and that can be programmed with a user’s voice.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. While Dippold states that the speaker 1006 can be utilized to make noises when the food is warmed (page 12, lines 27-29), Dippold states that the step of warming food is a part of feeding, which includes time-based operation, and that feeding occurs once warming is complete (page 7, lines 22-25 and page 9, line 8).
Applicant argues that Dippold and Burke do not teach a recessed textured rubber surface.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Burke at paragraph [0030] explicitly teaches a textured surface with, e.g., ridges, grooves, bumps, diamonds or pyramids, which teaches a recessed surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/MARISA V CONLON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643