DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
In the response filed on August 28, 2026, the Applicant amended claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, and 15-19. Claims 1-20 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
v Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of amended claims 1, 16, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) (as well as each of the respective dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. §103) have been considered, but are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection.
Examine notes that Applicant’s argument that “Urishihara does not disclose at least the following limitation…’initiating a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region based on...” appears to have a typo or omission, as the amended limitation is “automatically initiating a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region based on...”. This is significant, as the Examiner maintains that Urishihara does anticipate “initiating a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region based on...”. Urishihara discloses a plurality of selectable game levels (game areas 404A-404F in Fig 6, see also Fig 7 & [0085]-[0088] & [0068]). Each of these game levels comprises/is also a game region of the map ([0081], [0085], [0089]-[0090]) where one or more quests are encountered before existing the game region ([0081]-[0082]). Each region comprises a displayed scene corresponding to the region/level (Fig 8, [0092], [0052]) where one or more waves of monsters may be encountered and battled (Fig 7, [0060], [0090]-[0095]). This is consistent with Applicant’s claims, which there may be level controls corresponding to a plurality of game levels (i.e., selectable game levels), where each level may be a single game region of a game map, and where each game region may comprise a single virtual scene and a single battle wave. Urishihara suggests that to progress from one game region (e.g., corresponding to a first game level, e.g., 404F in Fig 6) to an adjacent second game region (e.g., corresponding to a second game level, e.g., 404E in Fig 6) the player must first clear/conquer the first game region to unlock the second game region ([0087], [0091]). A game region is considered cleared/conquered based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, such as capturing a predetermined number of monsters ([0091], [0087]). Urishihara explains that capturing and conquering/defeating a monster are equivalent ([0042]). A person having ordinary skill in the would have understood that reducing an enemy character’s hit points to 0 such that they “disappear” constitutes defeating/conquering (i.e., capturing) an enemy character ([0071]). As such, Urishihara suggests an embodiment where capturing a monster (e.g., reducing the hit points of a monster in a battle wave from 404F in Fig 7 to be not greater than a reference value (e.g., zero)) in a first game region would clear/conquer the first game region and enable the player to progress from the first game region (e.g., corresponding to a first game level, e.g., 404F in Fig 6) to an adjacent second game region (e.g., corresponding to a second game level, e.g., 404E in Fig 6). Per Urishihara, this may require the player to select the now unlocked game level that comprises the second game region ([0087], [0091], [0068]). However, this selection and subsequent initiation of the adjacent second game region (e.g., corresponding to a second game level, e.g., 404E in Fig 6) is still based at least in part on the determination that the hit point of the monster in the battle wave in the first region to be not greater than a reference value (e.g., zero) – e.g., because this is the condition that caused the minster to be captured/defeated/conquered and that caused the first region/area to be cleared/conquered which caused the second region to be unlocked and selectable such that the player can progress to this region and be presented with the virtual scene corresponding to the second region of the second area. As such, Urishihara does disclose initiating the second virtual scene corresponding to the second game region (e.g., the game region corresponding to the next game level/area) based at least in part on this condition.
With respect to the new requirement for this initiating to be performed automatically, Examiner understands this to require the initiation of the second virtual scene to be done without human involvement (e.g., without manual selection of the now unlocked next adjacent region/area in Fig 6). Examiner is persuaded that Urishihara does not disclose this automatic transition/initiation (i.e., agrees with Applicant’s argument that “In Urushihara…there is no automatic transition to a new game region”). However, prior art reference Washington shows that such automatic transition was known, and is a matter of design choice. See updated rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
v Claims 1, 2, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urushihara et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2014/0357339, December 4, 14 - hereinafter "Urushihara”) in view of Washington et al.(U.S. PG Pub No. 2016/0171835 June 16, 2016 - hereinafter "Washington”)
With respect to claims 1, 16, and 19, Urushihara teaches a game interaction method, performed by a terminal device; one or more non-transitory computer readable media comprising computer readable instructions which, when executed, configure a data processing system to perform the method; and system, comprising:
a processor; and ([0004], [0008])
memory storing computer readable instructions which, when executed, configure the system to perform: ([0004], [0008])
establishing a virtual game environment wherein a plurality of level controls are configured for display on a target page, wherein each level control corresponds to a different one game level, wherein each game level comprises at least one game region, wherein each game region comprises at least one battle wave, and wherein each game region consists of a partial region of a game map; (Figs 6 and 7 shows virtual game environment with plurality of level controls on a target page (408, 404E, 404C, etc) each corresponding to a different game level which is a different region (i.e., partial region of game map) on the map and each region has at least one battle wave (e.g., set of one or more enemies/monsters to defeat within the game level, see also [0060] & [0085]-[0088] & [0090]-[0091] & )
receiving first user input for a first level control of the plurality of level controls; (Fig 6 & [0068] & [0081] & [0085]-[0088] user selects one of the levels)
responsive to the first user input, displaying a first virtual scene corresponding to a first game region, wherein said first virtual scene comprises a first virtual object, wherein the first game region is a game region that a target object corresponding to the first virtual object has challenged but not passed through in a plurality of candidate game regions, and wherein a candidate game region of the plurality of candidate game regions is a game region of a game level corresponding to the first level control; (Fig 8 & [0060] “ the server device 10 creates a battle screen taking into account user information, information on an enemy character that a user has encountered, etc., and displays the battle screen on the screen of a user terminal” - system generates a virtual scene corresponding to a first event/sub-region in selected level/region (which is a level/region the player has not yet passed/completed) in which is displayed the player character (first virtual object) and this region is one of the plurality of candidate regions (which are game regions) of the selected level/region, [0091] “The game world of the game of the present embodiment has a plurality of stages, and furthermore, one stage includes a plurality of game areas. Not all of the game areas are selectable from the start, and the number of selectable game areas gradually increases according to the progress of the game by the player. …when the player clears the area 404F the area 404E appears, and when the player clears the area 404E the area 404C appears. Here, the area 404D is a hidden area and is configured not to be able to be selected only by clearing the area 404E. To release the area 404D, a predetermined condition needs to be satisfied. In the present embodiment, the condition is that the number of types of captured monsters is greater than or equal to a predetermined number. For example, if the number of all types of monsters present in a certain stage is 10, then when the player has succeeded in capturing 8 or more types of monsters, the area 404D is released”, [0094] “The avatar image 420 is the image of a character operated by the user in the game.”)
displaying, in the first virtual scene, a second virtual object corresponding to each battle wave of the first game region; and (Fig 8 & [0060]-[0063] “The events include an encounter event with an enemy character…When an encounter event with an enemy character is selected, the event lottery unit 16 selects one of enemy characters present in the game area…When an encounter event is selected by lot by the event lottery unit 16, the command accepting unit 18 accepts from the user a command indicating action taken on an encountered enemy character. The commands include an attack command, a capture command, a getaway command, and a special skill command. The attack command is a command for attacking the encountered enemy character and reducing the hit points of the enemy character. The hit points are an integer value indicating hit points. When the attack command is accepted, the command accepting unit 18 allows the game processing unit 20 to perform an attack process. Damage that can be done to a monster in the attack process is determined by the power of a friend character. The power includes, for example, attack strength, defense strength, HP, and speed, and some or all of them may affect the damage done to the enemy character”, [0090] “The second screen display example 320 further includes monster images 411. The monster images 411 are the images of monsters present in the stage shown in the entire map”, [0095] “monster image 424 is the image of an encountered enemy character. The capture difficulty level 426 indicates the capture difficult level of the enemy character. The larger the number of solid stars, the higher the difficulty level. The enemy monster status meter 428 is a meter indicating the hit points of the enemy character. The monster message 430 is a message from the encountered enemy character.”)
initiating a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region based on determining a hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than a reference value, wherein the second game region is a game region adjacent to the first game region and after the first game region in the plurality of candidate game regions, and the second virtual scene is configured for the target object to control the first virtual object to perform interaction with a virtual object corresponding to each battle wave comprised in the second game region ([0071] “ performs a process on the enemy character, based on a command accepted by the command accepting unit 18. When the command accepted from the user is an attack command, the game processing unit 20 reduces the hit points of the enemy character according to attack action, and stores the reduced hit points in the server memory 26 in association with the user. When the hit points of the enemy character reach 0, the game processing unit 20 causes the enemy character to disappear.”, [0109]-[0111] “the mission clear determination, the event lottery unit 16 determines whether a mission is cleared, i.e., whether the player has reached the goal point of the quest…encounter with a monster” [0087] “route 408 is newly created based on the conditions set for each area, e.g., the number of conquered areas, the number of captured monsters, etc.”, [0091] “The game world of the game of the present embodiment has a plurality of stages, and furthermore, one stage includes a plurality of game areas. Not all of the game areas are selectable from the start, and the number of selectable game areas gradually increases according to the progress of the game by the player…when the player clears the area 404F the area 404E appears, and when the player clears the area 404E the area 404C appears. Here, the area 404D is a hidden area and is configured not to be able to be selected only by clearing the area 404E. To release the area 404D, a predetermined condition needs to be satisfied. In the present embodiment, the condition is that the number of types of captured monsters is greater than or equal to a predetermined number. For example, if the number of all types of monsters present in a certain stage is 10, then when the player has succeeded in capturing 8 or more types of monsters, the area 404D is released” - Urishihara suggests that to progress from one game region (e.g., corresponding to a first game level, e.g., 404F in Fig 6) to an adjacent second game region (e.g., corresponding to a second game level, e.g., 404E in Fig 6) the player must first clear/conquer the first game region to unlock the second game region ([0087], [0091]). A game region is considered cleared/conquered based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, such as capturing a predetermined number of monsters ([0091], [0087]). Urishihara explains that capturing and conquering/defeating a monster are equivalent ([0042]). Examiner understands that reducing an enemy character’s hit points to 0 such that they disappear constitutes defeating/conquering (i.e., capturing) an enemy character ([0071]). As such, Urishihara suggests an embodiment where capturing a monster (e.g., reducing the hit points of a monster in a battle wave from 404F in Fig 7 to be not greater than a reference value (e.g., zero)) in a first game region would clear/conquer the first game region and enable the player to progress from the first game region (e.g., corresponding to a first game level, e.g., 404F in Fig 6) to a adjacent second game region (e.g., corresponding to a second game level, e.g., 404E in Fig 6). Per Urishihara, this may require the player to select the now unlocked game level that comprises the second game region ([0087], [0091])
Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
automatically initiating a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region
However, Washington discloses plurality of game levels/scenes where a player must defeat one or more waves of enemies to conquer/clear a level/scene ([0081]-[0082], [0107]-[0108], [0069]). Washington further suggests that the player may have to select the next level/scene that is unlocked after the first level/scene is conquer/clear or that the player may automatically move to the next level/scene in the world map and therefore where a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region is automatically initiated ([0267], [0255], [0273], see also [0306]-[0307]).
Washington suggests it is advantageous to automatically initiating a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region, because doing so can avoid the need for player input (increase player convenience) and/or promote stimulation ([0255], [0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, media, and system of Urushihara to automatically initiate the second virtual scene corresponding to the second game region, as taught by Washington, because doing so can avoid the need for player input (increase player convenience) and/or promote stimulation. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to automatically initiate the second virtual scene corresponding to the second game region and to incorporate this automatic transition into the method/media/system of Urushihara since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (i.e., require player selection to transition to next unlocked region/area or automatically transition the player to next unlocked region/area) to the recognized need (transition the player to next unlocked region/area) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (the costs and benefits and player reaction to each option was known).
With respect to claim 2, Urushihara teaches the method of claim 1;
wherein one or more battle regions comprises a plurality of battle waves, and the method further comprising: for each battle region comprising a plurality of battle waves, starting with a second battle wave in each of said battle regions, displaying the second virtual object corresponding to a respective battle wave based on a second virtual object corresponding to a previous battle wave satisfying a display requirement, until a second virtual object corresponding to a last battle wave is displayed in the first virtual scene; ([0122] “may allow a plurality of monsters to appear. When the user attempts to capture a plurality of monsters, he/she may succeed in capturing the plurality of monsters.”, [0095] “monster image 424 is the image of an encountered enemy character. The capture difficulty level 426 indicates the capture difficult level of the enemy character. The larger the number of solid stars, the higher the difficulty level. The enemy monster status meter 428 is a meter indicating the hit points of the enemy character. The monster message 430 is a message from the encountered enemy character.”, [0091] “when the player clears the area 404F the area 404E appears, and when the player clears the area 404E the area 404C appears. Here, the area 404D is a hidden area and is configured not to be able to be selected only by clearing the area 404E. To release the area 404D, a predetermined condition needs to be satisfied. In the present embodiment, the condition is that the number of types of captured monsters is greater than or equal to a predetermined number.”)
wherein the display requirement comprises a display duration of the second virtual object corresponding to said battle wave being greater than a first duration threshold, or a hit point value of the second virtual object corresponding to said battle wave is not greater than a predetermined value ([0071] “performs a process on the enemy character, based on a command accepted by the command accepting unit 18. When the command accepted from the user is an attack command, the game processing unit 20 reduces the hit points of the enemy character according to attack action, and stores the reduced hit points in the server memory 26 in association with the user. When the hit points of the enemy character reach 0, the game processing unit 20 causes the enemy character to disappear.”, [0019] “At this time, the game processing unit 20 may perform control such that the friend player having received the information on the finding of a monster can encounter, under the condition of within a predetermined period of time”)
With respect to claim 17, Urushihara teaches the computer readable media of claim 16;
wherein one or more battle regions comprises a plurality of battle waves, and the instructions, when executed, further configure the data processing system to perform: for each battle region comprising a plurality of battle waves, starting with a second battle wave in each of said battle regions, displaying the second virtual object corresponding to a respetive battle wave based on a second virtual object corresponding to a previous battle wave satisfying a predetermined condition, until a second virtual object corresponding to a last battle wave is displayed in the first virtual scene ([0122] “may allow a plurality of monsters to appear. When the user attempts to capture a plurality of monsters, he/she may succeed in capturing the plurality of monsters.”, [0095] “monster image 424 is the image of an encountered enemy character. The capture difficulty level 426 indicates the capture difficult level of the enemy character. The larger the number of solid stars, the higher the difficulty level. The enemy monster status meter 428 is a meter indicating the hit points of the enemy character. The monster message 430 is a message from the encountered enemy character.”, [0091] “when the player clears the area 404F the area 404E appears, and when the player clears the area 404E the area 404C appears. Here, the area 404D is a hidden area and is configured not to be able to be selected only by clearing the area 404E. To release the area 404D, a predetermined condition needs to be satisfied. In the present embodiment, the condition is that the number of types of captured monsters is greater than or equal to a predetermined number.”)
With respect to claim 18, Urushihara teaches the computer readable media of claim 17;
wherein the predetermined condition comprises a display duration of the second virtual object being greater than a first duration threshold, or a hit point value of the second virtual object is not greater than a predetermined value ([0071] “performs a process on the enemy character, based on a command accepted by the command accepting unit 18. When the command accepted from the user is an attack command, the game processing unit 20 reduces the hit points of the enemy character according to attack action, and stores the reduced hit points in the server memory 26 in association with the user. When the hit points of the enemy character reach 0, the game processing unit 20 causes the enemy character to disappear.”, [0019] “At this time, the game processing unit 20 may perform control such that the friend player having received the information on the finding of a monster can encounter, under the condition of within a predetermined period of time”)
With respect to claim 20, Urushihara teaches the system of claim 19;
wherein one or more battle regions comprises a plurality of battle waves, and the instructions, when executed, further configure the system to perform: for each battle region comprising a plurality of battle waves, starting with the 2nd battle wave in each of said battle regions, displaying the second virtual object corresponding to said battle wave based on a second virtual object corresponding to a previous battle wave satisfying a predetermined condition, until a second virtual object corresponding to a last battle wave is displayed in the first virtual scene, ([0122] “may allow a plurality of monsters to appear. When the user attempts to capture a plurality of monsters, he/she may succeed in capturing the plurality of monsters.”, [0095] “monster image 424 is the image of an encountered enemy character. The capture difficulty level 426 indicates the capture difficult level of the enemy character. The larger the number of solid stars, the higher the difficulty level. The enemy monster status meter 428 is a meter indicating the hit points of the enemy character. The monster message 430 is a message from the encountered enemy character.”, [0091] “when the player clears the area 404F the area 404E appears, and when the player clears the area 404E the area 404C appears. Here, the area 404D is a hidden area and is configured not to be able to be selected only by clearing the area 404E. To release the area 404D, a predetermined condition needs to be satisfied. In the present embodiment, the condition is that the number of types of captured monsters is greater than or equal to a predetermined number.”)
wherein the predetermined condition comprises a display duration of the second virtual object being greater than a first duration threshold, or a hit point value of the second virtual object is not greater than a predetermined value ([0071] “performs a process on the enemy character, based on a command accepted by the command accepting unit 18. When the command accepted from the user is an attack command, the game processing unit 20 reduces the hit points of the enemy character according to attack action, and stores the reduced hit points in the server memory 26 in association with the user. When the hit points of the enemy character reach 0, the game processing unit 20 causes the enemy character to disappear.”, [0019] “At this time, the game processing unit 20 may perform control such that the friend player having received the information on the finding of a monster can encounter, under the condition of within a predetermined period of time”)
v Claims 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urushihara in view of Washington, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “Let’s Play Dungeon Defenders – Awakened [ Early Access] – PC Gameplay Part 6 – Spectator Sentinels” (YouTube video published online at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVZA-46qhpk&list=PLVmM0UVcquYJvvBkz7gE7UVBR4jz9s5yu&index=10 on March 6, 2020 – hereinafter “Dungeon Defenders”)
With respect to claim 3, Urushihara and Washington teach the method of claim 1. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
wherein the displaying a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region based on a hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than a reference value comprises: displaying a servicing page based on the hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than the reference value, wherein the servicing page comprises a time value, the time value being a display countdown of the servicing page, and the time value changing over time; and canceling, based on the time value satisfying a numerical requirement, the displaying of the servicing page, and displaying the second virtual scene
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
wherein the displaying a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region based on a hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than a reference value comprises: displaying a servicing page based on the hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than the reference value, wherein the servicing page comprises a time value, the time value being a display countdown of the servicing page, and the time value changing over time; and canceling, based on the time value satisfying a numerical requirement, the displaying of the servicing page, and displaying the second virtual scene (discloses a game where waves of enemies come and once their hit points (e.g., a final enemy/boss – i.e., second virtual object) are zero (i.e., based on a hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than a reference value – see time stamps 36:33-36:38) a player can be provided with a servicing page (see 37:50-38:05) where they can upgrade/purchase various virtual items and which has a countdown clock (see upper righthand corner “time”) that countdowns until the next wave comes (i.e., changes over time) and when the clock reaches zero (i.e., satisfies a numerical requirement) the next battle wave begins at which point the servicing screen and second virtual scene is canceled (e.g., per transition in 27:26))
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the displaying a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region based on a hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than a reference value comprises: displaying a servicing page based on the hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than the reference value, a time value being displayed on the servicing page, the time value being a display countdown of the servicing page, and the time value changing over time; and canceling, based on the time value satisfying a numerical requirement, the displaying of the servicing page, and displaying the second virtual scene , because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated and because doing so can provide a sense of urgency which increases stimulation of the game (see time stamps above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include wherein the displaying a second virtual scene corresponding to a second game region based on a hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than a reference value comprises: displaying a servicing page based on the hit point of the second virtual object being not greater than the reference value, a time value being displayed on the servicing page, the time value being a display countdown of the servicing page, and the time value changing over time; and canceling, based on the time value satisfying a numerical requirement, the displaying of the servicing page, and displaying the second virtual scene, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated and because doing so can provide a sense of urgency which increases stimulation of the game.
With respect to claim 4, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 3. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
wherein a first equipment control and a first resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the first equipment control is configured to improve object information of the first virtual object, and the first resource value is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the first equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the object information of the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the first equipment control; and deducting the first resource value from a resource balance of the target object
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
wherein a first equipment control and a first resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the first equipment control is configured to improve object information of the first virtual object, and the first resource value is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the first equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the object information of the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the first equipment control; and deducting the first resource value from a resource balance of the target object (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) with cost to upgrade/improve the players object (e.g., selected weapon, armor, accessory – can also upgrade damange/skill) for a resource value (see “my currency and “available points” and “cost” and the players operation instructions on the controls result in the upgrade)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include wherein a first equipment control and a first resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the first equipment control is configured to improve object information of the first virtual object, and the first resource value is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the first equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the object information of the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the first equipment control; and deducting the first resource value from a resource balance of the target object, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to wherein a first equipment control and a first resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the first equipment control is configured to improve object information of the first virtual object, and the first resource value is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the first equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the object information of the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the first equipment control; and deducting the first resource value from a resource balance of the target object, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
With respect to claim 5, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 4. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
wherein a first equipment control and a first resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the first equipment control is configured to improve object information of the first virtual object, and the first resource value is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the first equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the object information of the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the first equipment control; and deducting the first resource value from a resource balance of the target object
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
wherein the object information of the first virtual object comprises any one of a hit point of the first virtual object or armor of the first virtual object; and the adjusting the object information of the first virtual object comprises: increasing the hit point of the first virtual object by a target value based on the object information of the first virtual object being the hit point of the first virtual object; or increasing a grade of the armor of the first virtual object by a target grade number based on the object information of the first virtual object being the armor of the first virtual object (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) with cost to upgrade/improve the players object (e.g., selected weapon, armor, accessory – can also upgrade damage hit points or grade of the armor) - player can also swap current armor for higher level/grade armor based current armor/grade/level of the first player)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the object information of the first virtual object comprises any one of a hit point of the first virtual object or armor of the first virtual object; and the adjusting the object information of the first virtual object comprises: increasing the hit point of the first virtual object by a target value based on the object information of the first virtual object being the hit point of the first virtual object; or increasing a grade of the armor of the first virtual object by a target grade number based on the object information of the first virtual object being the armor of the first virtual object, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated. (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include wherein he object information of the first virtual object comprises any one of a hit point of the first virtual object or armor of the first virtual object; and the adjusting the object information of the first virtual object comprises: increasing the hit point of the first virtual object by a target value based on the object information of the first virtual object being the hit point of the first virtual object; or increasing a grade of the armor of the first virtual object by a target grade number based on the object information of the first virtual object being the armor of the first virtual object, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated..
With respect to claim 6, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 4. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
displaying, based on the object information of the first virtual object satisfying an information requirement, the first equipment control on the servicing page in a first form, the first form indicating that the object information of the first virtual object has satisfied the information requirement, the object information of the first virtual object being a hit point of the first virtual object, and the object information of the first virtual object satisfying the information requirement being that the hit point of the first virtual object is not less than a hit point threshold, or the object information of the first virtual object being armor of the first virtual object, and the object information of the first virtual object satisfying the information requirement being that a grade of the armor of the first virtual object is not less than a grade threshold
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
displaying, based on the object information of the first virtual object satisfying an information requirement, the first equipment control on the servicing page in a first form, the first form indicating that the object information of the first virtual object has satisfied the information requirement, the object information of the first virtual object being a hit point of the first virtual object, and the object information of the first virtual object satisfying the information requirement being that the hit point of the first virtual object is not less than a hit point threshold, or the object information of the first virtual object being armor of the first virtual object, and the object information of the first virtual object satisfying the information requirement being that a grade of the armor of the first virtual object is not less than a grade threshold (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) with cost to upgrade/improve the players object (e.g., selected weapon, armor, accessory – can also upgrade damage hit points or grade of the armor) - player can also swap current armor for higher level/grade armor based current armor/grade/level threshold of the first player)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include displaying, based on the object information of the first virtual object satisfying an information requirement, the first equipment control on the servicing page in a first form, the first form indicating that the object information of the first virtual object has satisfied the information requirement, the object information of the first virtual object being a hit point of the first virtual object, and the object information of the first virtual object satisfying the information requirement being that the hit point of the first virtual object is not less than a hit point threshold, or the object information of the first virtual object being armor of the first virtual object, and the object information of the first virtual object satisfying the information requirement being that a grade of the armor of the first virtual object is not less than a grade threshold, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include displaying, based on the object information of the first virtual object satisfying an information requirement, the first equipment control on the servicing page in a first form, the first form indicating that the object information of the first virtual object has satisfied the information requirement, the object information of the first virtual object being a hit point of the first virtual object, and the object information of the first virtual object satisfying the information requirement being that the hit point of the first virtual object is not less than a hit point threshold, or the object information of the first virtual object being armor of the first virtual object, and the object information of the first virtual object satisfying the information requirement being that a grade of the armor of the first virtual object is not less than a grade threshold, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
With respect to claim 7, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 3. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
wherein a second equipment control and a second resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, wherein equipment corresponding to the second equipment control is a virtual item, and the second resource value is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the second equipment control; and the method further comprises: controlling, based on an operation instruction for the second equipment control, the first virtual object to obtain the virtual item corresponding to the second equipment control; and deducting the second resource value from a resource balance of the target object
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
wherein a second equipment control and a second resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, wherein equipment corresponding to the second equipment control is a virtual item, and the second resource value is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the second equipment control; and the method further comprises: controlling, based on an operation instruction for the second equipment control, the first virtual object to obtain the virtual item corresponding to the second equipment control; and deducting the second resource value from a resource balance of the target object (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) with cost to upgrade/improve the players objects (e.g., first/second/third equipment controls with first/second/third resource value costs (e.g., selected weapon, armor, accessory – can also upgrade damage/skill) for a resource value (see “my currency and “available points” and “cost” and the players operation instructions on the controls result in the upgrade)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include wherein a second equipment control and a second resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, wherein equipment corresponding to the second equipment control is a virtual item, and the second resource value is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the second equipment control; and the method further comprises: controlling, based on an operation instruction for the second equipment control, the first virtual object to obtain the virtual item corresponding to the second equipment control; and deducting the second resource value from a resource balance of the target object, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include wherein a second equipment control and a second resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, wherein equipment corresponding to the second equipment control is a virtual item, and the second resource value is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the second equipment control; and the method further comprises: controlling, based on an operation instruction for the second equipment control, the first virtual object to obtain the virtual item corresponding to the second equipment control; and deducting the second resource value from a resource balance of the target object, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
With respect to claim 8, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 7. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
displaying, based on the operation instruction for the second equipment control, the second equipment control on the servicing page in a second form, the second form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the virtual item corresponding to the second equipment control
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
displaying, based on the operation instruction for the second equipment control, the second equipment control on the servicing page in a second form, the second form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the virtual item corresponding to the second equipment control (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) which show equipped upgraded items (e.g., first/second/third virtual items associated with first/second/third equipment controls and associated with the players avatar)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include displaying, based on the operation instruction for the second equipment control, the second equipment control on the servicing page in a second form, the second form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the virtual item corresponding to the second equipment control, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include displaying, based on the operation instruction for the second equipment control, the second equipment control on the servicing page in a second form, the second form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the virtual item corresponding to the second equipment control, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
With respect to claim 9, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 3. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
wherein a third equipment control and a third resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the third equipment control is configured to adjust a skill of the first virtual object, and the third resource value is configured for indicating a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the skill of the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the third equipment control and the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control; and deducting the third resource value from a resource balance of the target object
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
wherein a third equipment control and a third resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the third equipment control is configured to adjust a skill of the first virtual object, and the third resource value is configured for indicating a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the skill of the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the third equipment control and the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control; and deducting the third resource value from a resource balance of the target object (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) with cost to upgrade/improve the players objects (e.g., first/second/third equipment controls with first/second/third resource value costs (e.g., selected weapon, armor, accessory – can also upgrade damage/skill) for a resource value (see “my currency and “available points” and “cost” and the players operation instructions on the controls result in the upgrade)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include wherein a third equipment control and a third resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the third equipment control is configured to adjust a skill of the first virtual object, and the third resource value is configured for indicating a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the skill of the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the third equipment control and the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control; and deducting the third resource value from a resource balance of the target object, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include wherein a third equipment control and a third resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the third equipment control is configured to adjust a skill of the first virtual object, and the third resource value is configured for indicating a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the skill of the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the third equipment control and the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control; and deducting the third resource value from a resource balance of the target object, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
With respect to claim 10, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 9. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
displaying, based on the operation instruction for the third equipment control, the third equipment control on the servicing page in a third form, the third form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
displaying, based on the operation instruction for the third equipment control, the third equipment control on the servicing page in a third form, the third form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) which show equipped upgraded items (e.g., first/second/third virtual items associated with first/second/third equipment controls and associated with the players avatar)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include displaying, based on the operation instruction for the second equipment control, the second equipment control on the servicing page in a second form, the second form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the virtual item corresponding to the second equipment control, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include displaying, based on the operation instruction for the third equipment control, the third equipment control on the servicing page in a third form, the third form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the equipment corresponding to the third equipment control, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
With respect to claim 11, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 3. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
wherein at least one fourth equipment control and a fourth resource value corresponding to each fourth equipment control are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control is configured to adjust a skill of a virtual item possessed by the first virtual object, and the fourth resource value corresponding to a fourth equipment control is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the skill of the virtual item possessed by the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the fourth equipment control and the equipment corresponding to the any fourth equipment control; and deducting the fourth resource value corresponding to the any fourth equipment control from a resource balance of the target object
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
wherein at least one fourth equipment control and a fourth resource value corresponding to each fourth equipment control are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control is configured to adjust a skill of a virtual item possessed by the first virtual object, and the fourth resource value corresponding to a fourth equipment control is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the skill of the virtual item possessed by the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the fourth equipment control and the equipment corresponding to the any fourth equipment control; and deducting the fourth resource value corresponding to the any fourth equipment control from a resource balance of the target object (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) with cost to upgrade/improve the players objects (e.g., first/second/third/fourth equipment controls with first/second/third/fourth resource value costs (e.g., selected weapon, armor, accessory – can also upgrade damage/skill) for a resource value (see “my currency and “available points” and “cost” and the players operation instructions on the controls result in the upgrade)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include wherein at least one fourth equipment control and a fourth resource value corresponding to each fourth equipment control are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control is configured to adjust a skill of a virtual item possessed by the first virtual object, and the fourth resource value corresponding to a fourth equipment control is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the skill of the virtual item possessed by the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the fourth equipment control and the equipment corresponding to the any fourth equipment control; and deducting the fourth resource value corresponding to the any fourth equipment control from a resource balance of the target object, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include wherein at least one fourth equipment control and a fourth resource value corresponding to each fourth equipment control are further displayed on the servicing page, equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control is configured to adjust a skill of a virtual item possessed by the first virtual object, and the fourth resource value corresponding to a fourth equipment control is a resource value required for obtaining the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control; and the method further comprises: adjusting the skill of the virtual item possessed by the first virtual object based on an operation instruction for the fourth equipment control and the equipment corresponding to the any fourth equipment control; and deducting the fourth resource value corresponding to the any fourth equipment control from a resource balance of the target object, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
With respect to claim 12, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 11. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
displaying, based on the operation instruction for the any fourth equipment control, the fourth equipment control on the servicing page in a fourth form, the fourth form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the equipment corresponding to the any fourth equipment control
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
displaying, based on the operation instruction for the any fourth equipment control, the fourth equipment control on the servicing page in a fourth form, the fourth form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the equipment corresponding to the any fourth equipment control (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) which show equipped upgraded items (e.g., first/second/third/fourth virtual items associated with first/second/third/fourth equipment controls and associated with the players avatar) included upgraded hp/skill)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include displaying, based on the operation instruction for the any fourth equipment control, the fourth equipment control on the servicing page in a fourth form, the fourth form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the equipment corresponding to the any fourth equipment control, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include displaying, based on the operation instruction for the any fourth equipment control, the fourth equipment control on the servicing page in a fourth form, the fourth form being configured for indicating that the first virtual object has obtained the equipment corresponding to the any fourth equipment control, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
With respect to claim 13, Urushihara, Washington, and Dungeon Defenders teach the method of claim 11. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
wherein an update control and a fifth resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, the update control is configured to update the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control, the fifth resource value is configured for indicating a resource value required for updating the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control, and the fifth resource value increases as a quantity of updates of the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control increases; and the method further comprises: updating, based on an operation instruction for the update control, the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control on the servicing page; and deducting the fifth resource value from a resource balance of the target object
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
wherein an update control and a fifth resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, the update control is configured to update the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control, the fifth resource value is configured for indicating a resource value required for updating the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control, and the fifth resource value increases as a quantity of updates of the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control increases; and the method further comprises: updating, based on an operation instruction for the update control, the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control on the servicing page; and deducting the fifth resource value from a resource balance of the target object (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows servicing page(s) with cost to upgrade/improve the players objects (e.g., first/second/third/fourth/fifth equipment controls with first/second/third/fourth/fifth resource value costs (e.g., selected weapon, armor, accessory – can also upgrade damage/skill) for a resource value (see “my currency and “available points” and “cost” and the players operation instructions on the controls result in the upgrade)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include wherein an update control and a fifth resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, the update control is configured to update the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control, the fifth resource value is configured for indicating a resource value required for updating the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control, and the fifth resource value increases as a quantity of updates of the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control increases; and the method further comprises: updating, based on an operation instruction for the update control, the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control on the servicing page; and deducting the fifth resource value from a resource balance of the target object, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include wherein an update control and a fifth resource value are further displayed on the servicing page, the update control is configured to update the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control, the fifth resource value is configured for indicating a resource value required for updating the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control, and the fifth resource value increases as a quantity of updates of the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control increases; and the method further comprises: updating, based on an operation instruction for the update control, the equipment corresponding to the fourth equipment control on the servicing page; and deducting the fifth resource value from a resource balance of the target object, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
With respect to claim 14, Urushihara and Washington teach the method of claim 1. Urushihara does not appear to disclose,
wherein at least one of a game score of the target object in a game or a game grade of the target object in the game is displayed on the target page; and the method further comprises: determining the game score of the target object in the game based on level scores of the target object in the game levels corresponding to the level controls; and determining the game grade of the target object in the game based on the game score of the target object in the game
However, Dungeon Defenders discloses
wherein at least one of a game score of the target object in a game or a game grade of the target object in the game is displayed on the target page; and the method further comprises: determining the game score of the target object in the game based on level scores of the target object in the game levels corresponding to the level controls; and determining the game grade of the target object in the game based on the game score of the target object in the game (see time stamps 25:27-25:32 and 21:43-22:55 which shows level grade of the target object shown and players score and current grade in top left corner (i.e., determining the game score of the target object in the game based on level scores of the target object in the game levels corresponding to the level controls) and wherein the grade of available objects are based on the players level which is based on the game score)
Dungeon Defenders suggests it is advantageous to include wherein at least one of a game score of the target object in a game or a game grade of the target object in the game is displayed on the target page; and the method further comprises: determining the game score of the target object in the game based on level scores of the target object in the game levels corresponding to the level controls; and determining the game grade of the target object in the game based on the game score of the target object in the game, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urushihara in view of Washington to include wherein at least one of a game score of the target object in a game or a game grade of the target object in the game is displayed on the target page; and the method further comprises: determining the game score of the target object in the game based on level scores of the target object in the game levels corresponding to the level controls; and determining the game grade of the target object in the game based on the game score of the target object in the game, as taught by Dungeon Defenders, because doing so can provide a chance for the player to purchase/upgrade certain abilities after a wave is defeated.
Indication of Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record is Urushihara et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2014/0357339, December 4, 2014 - hereinafter "Urushihara”); “Let’s Play Dungeon Defenders – Awakened [ Early Access] – PC Gameplay Part 6 – Spectator Sentinels” (YouTube video published online at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVZA-46qhpk&list=PLVmM0UVcquYJvvBkz7gE7UVBR4jz9s5yu&index=10 on March 6, 2020 – hereinafter “Dungeon Defenders”); Danielson et al.(U.S. PG Pub No. 22020/0152010 May 14, 2020- hereinafter "Danielson”);Washington et al.(U.S. PG Pub No. 2016/0171835 June 16, 2016- hereinafter "Washington”); and Kim et al.(U.S. Patent No. 9,480,922 November 1, 2016- hereinafter "Kim”);
Urushihara discloses a video game with enemy waves including map views and level controls and respective map regions in which virtual scenes corresponding to selected game regions are displayed and wherein subsequent regions/scenes are displayed after a first wave is defeated.
Dungeon Defenders teaches a wave-based video game where users select game regions and wherein plurality of enemy waves are spawned after hit point thresholds are passed and including a variety of servicing pages where players can upgrade/purchase various items in between waves and wherein a countdown clock is displayed.
Danielson teaches a wave-based video game where users select game regions and wherein plurality of enemy waves are spawned after hit point thresholds are passed and including a variety of servicing pages where players can upgrade/purchase various items in between waves.
Washington teaches a wave-based video game where users select game regions and wherein plurality of enemy waves are spawned after hit point thresholds are passed and including a variety of servicing pages where players can upgrade/purchase various items in between waves.
Kim discloses a wave-based video game where users select game regions and wherein plurality of enemy waves are spawned after hit point thresholds are passed and including a variety of servicing pages where players can upgrade/purchase various items in between waves
As per claim 15, the closest prior art of record taken either individually or in combination with other prior art of record fails to teach or suggest "further comprising: obtaining a plurality of candidate regions determined according to the game map, an area of each of the plurality of candidate regions being less than an area of the game map; determining a plurality of candidate game regions in response to an operation instruction for the first level control in the plurality of level controls; sorting the plurality of candidate game regions to obtain a sorting result, the sorting result being configured for indicating a challenge order of the target object in the plurality of candidate game regions; determining a quantity of game regions that the target object has challenged and passed through in the game level corresponding to the first level control; determining the first game region in the sorting result according to the quantity; and displaying the first virtual scene corresponding to the first game region” in combination with the other claim limitations. While individual features may be known per se, there is no teaching or suggestion absent applicants’ own disclosure to combine these features other than with impermissible hindsight
Conclusion
No claim is allowed
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES M DETWEILER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621