DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first and second homogeneity areas with different limit values must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 12:
A quality unit configured to retrieve
A homogeneity unit configured to specify
A position unit configured to determine
An output unit configured to output
Claim 13:
A geometry unit configured to receive
Claim 12:
A quality unit configured to retrieve has been interpreted to be a processor as set forth on Page 21 of the specification.
A homogeneity unit configured to specify has been interpreted to be a processor as set forth on Page 21 of the specification.
A position unit configured to determine has been interpreted to be a processor as set forth on Page 21 of the specification.
An output unit configured to output is considered to be a display as described in paragraph [0098] of the PG-Publication.
Claim 13:
A geometry unit configured to receive has been interpreted to be a processor as set forth on Page 21 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2016/0266760 to Beckmannn et al. “Beckmannn”.
As for Claims 1, 10, 11, 12, 14 and 17-19 , Beckmann discloses a system and method for planning a medical imaging examination (e.g. magnetic resonance imaging, MRI) (Abstract; Paragraph [0052]) including steps to determine geometric information about an examination area where a camera acquires a graphical representation of the examination subject to create a planning environment and enable at least one imaging parameter to be specified directly on the graphical representation of the subject (Paragraph [0014]). Beckmann further discloses where the at least one imaging parameter can include, for example, a positioning and/or geometry and/or a size of a field of view for the medical imaging examination (Paragraphs [0017], [0021] and [0031]). Beckmann discloses determining quality information including information corresponding to a homogeneity of a main magnetic field where an imaging parameter may be a position of the patient relative to an isocenter of the scanner (Paragraph [0028]). Beckmann explains ideal conditions are found in the isocenter so the patient’s region for examination should be arranged in the isocenter region (e.g. homogeneity region) (Paragraph [0028]). Beckmann’s system and method allows the user to specify a number of homogeneity areas (e.g. imaging examination regions) based on whether values of the quality information lie in a specified range where a valid parameter range for the position of the examination subject in relation to the isocenter region (Paragraph [0029]). Beckmann also explains the specified imaging parameters have an upper and lower limit (Paragraphs [0025]-[0027]). Examiner notes the aforementioned steps to set the examination region with a valid range in the isocenter region reads on the claimed step to determine position data based on location and shape of the number of homogeneity areas and of the examination area in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, such data displayed on the user interface would be output from a data file in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Beckmann makes it clear the system and method can include computer readable data storage medium for implementing the method (Paragraphs [0002] and [0043]).
Regarding Claim 2, Beckmann discloses wherein the examination area selection may include a position of a local coil (e.g. knee or head coil) (Paragraph [0030]) and using a touchscreen to indicate desired positioning (Paragraphs [0007], [0012] and [0058]).
As for Claims 3 and 13, Beckmann discloses wherein a camera may acquire 2D or 3D images of the subject for examination (Paragraph [0034]) and used to set the aforementioned examination areas with respect to homogeneity areas.
With respect to Claim 4, Examiner notes that the aforementioned selections on 3D data would provide a 3D homogeneity area in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, the limits on the size of the examination area and the feedback to selectively change the exanimation region relative to the isocenter region would provide a comparison for a number of homogeneity areas in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
As for Claims 5 and 15, while Beckmann’s exemplary embodiments depict one homogeneity area, Beckmann makes it clear that the user sets “at least one” imaging parameter (Paragraph [0028]). Thus, Beckmann’s system and method is configured to set multiple homogeneity areas, each area with limits as previously explained above. Alternatively, Beckmann’s feedback to adjust the size of the examination area with respect to limits (Paragraph [0032]) would read on specifying first and second homogeneity areas and determining whether the areas exceed thresholds in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to Claim 7, Beckmann discloses where the user is requested to change the imaging parameter when it exceeds an allowable range (Paragraphs [0025]-[0027]) to quickly address errors (Paragraphs [0021], [0029] and [0032]). Such a request is considered to be a warning as claimed in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Beckmann discloses where if the desired field of view exceeds the maximum size the system may change the imaging mode to a multi-stage measurement (Paragraph [0032]) which is considered to read on an adjusted protocol with a sub-divided examination areas in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckmann in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0041409 to Beck et al. “Beck” or U.S. Publication No. 2022/0015710 to Lewis et al. “Lewis” or U.S. Publication No. 2019/0274582 to Zeller.
As for Claim 6, Beckmann discloses an MRI system and method as described above allowing a user to specify an examination region with various colors (Paragraph [0029]) However, the desired examination region is not projected on the patient as claimed.
Beck teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to planning an MRI exam (Abstract) where a camera is configured to acquire position data of a patent table and/or the object (e.g. patient) positioned on the table (Paragraphs [0015] and [0017]) and wherein the camera includes integrated optics to project a marking onto the patient in addition to a superimposed marking (Paragraph [0034]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the camera described by Beckmann to include integrated optics to project a marking onto the patient as described by Beck in order provide a visual cue to an operator to enable simple and rapid positioning (Beck-Paragraph [0022]). Such a modification merely involves combing prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Alternatively, Lewis teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to properly positioning a patient for imaging (Abstract) where a camera can project a position indicator onto the table so the patient can get into proper position (Paragraphs [0006], [0024], [0044] and [0049]).
Alternatively, Zeller teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI set up (Abstract) where optics are configured to project a target position onto a patient for an imaging accessory (Paragraph [0076]; Fig. 3). Examiner notes the target position is for a local coil and would relate to an examination region in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the camera described by Beckmann to include integrated optics to project a marking onto the patient as described by Lewis or Zeller in order provide a visual cue to properly set up an imaging parameter. Such a modification merely involves combing prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckmann in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0121066 to Rheineck et al. “Rheineck”.
As for Claim 9, Beckmann discloses an MRI system and method as described above allowing a user to specify an examination region. However, Beckmann does not expressly disclose interventional MRI. Rheineck teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to preparing a patient for an MRI wherein the MRI procedure may include an intervention (Paragraphs [0005], [0011] and [0013]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have implemented Beckmann’s set up technique on other types of MRI procedures including interventional MRI as described by Rheineck in order to correctly position the patient for optimal imaging. Such a modification merely involves combing prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckmann in view of U.S. Publication No. 2011/0082361 to Jattke et al. “Jattke” or alternatively, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0317168 to Popescu.
As for Claim 20, Beckmann discloses an MRI system and method as described above allowing a user to specify an examination region. However, while Beckmann discloses a multi-stage measurement, it is not clear if each FOV stage has different limits for quality as now claimed.
Jattke teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to controlling imaging examination settings where fields of view (e.g. first and second FOV) are determined with respect to a first and second isocenter (Abstract). Jattke teaches wherein the table position for the FOV are determined to maximize image quality (Paragraphs [0015], [0033] and [0039]). Examiner notes the FOV with respect to the isocenter would have different quality limits in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified Beckmann’s multi-stage measurement with different quality limits for each FOV as described by Jattke in order to customize patient scanning parameters. Such a modification merely involves combing prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Alternatively, Popescu teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI imaging examinations (Abstract) where data from first and second homogeneity volumes are acquired and combined to form combination image data to extend an imaging region (Abstract). Examiner notes the second homogeneity area would have a different quality limit than the first homogeneity area in its broadest reasonable interpretation given its distance from the isocenter.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified Beckmann’s multi-stage measurement with different quality limits for each FOV as described by Popescu in order to extend the imaging coverage region. Such a modification merely involves combing prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 with respect to the prior art rejections in the 02/26/2026 office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. New prior art rejections necessitated by amendments. 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations updated based upon Applicant’s arguments that the units disclosed are a processor (REMARKS, Page 8). 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) rejections relating to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments that claim limitations (e.g. quality unit, ) do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because one skilled in the art would understand they have definite structure is not persuasive. Quality, homogeneity, position, output, geometry, etc. do not convey any particular structure. Thus, the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations are maintained.
Returning to the prior art arguments, Applicant argues “Claim 1 recites, among other things, ‘determining quality information including information corresponding to a homogeneity of a main magnetic field and/or gradient fields in the examination area”…The claimed invention recites determining quality information which is fundamentally different from simply knowing field homogeneity characteristics of the iso center” (REMARKS, Page 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes the step of determining quality information is broad. Beckmannn explains “the best conditions” for imaging are when the patient’s examination zone coincides with the isocenter (Paragraph [0028]). Thus, “best quality” FOV’s coincide with the isocenter while “lower quality” FOVs would be displaced from the isocenter in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant also argues “Claim 1 further recites ‘specifying a number of homogeneity areas in the examination area based on a determination of whether the values of the quality information lie in a specified value range’…Beckmann’s ‘valid parameter range’ merely checks whether the user-specified parameters fall within acceptable ranges. This is fundamentally different from specifying distinct spatial regions (homogeneity areas) within the examination area based on threshold values” (REMARKS, Page 11). Examiner respectfully notes Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claim. The claim fails to disclose a step of specifying distinct spatial regions within the examination area based on a threshold values of quality information. In addition, Examiner notes the FOV described by Beckmannn is considered to include areas of homogeneity in the examination area in its broadest reasonable interpretation and the modification to adjust the FOV to align with the isocenter specifies a number of homogeneity areas in the examination region based on quality values (e.g. best quality, lower quality) in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant also argues “Since Beckmann does not disclose specifying distinct homogeneity areas as discussed above, Beckmann also does not disclose determining position data based on the location and shape of such homogeneity areas in relation to the examination area” (REMARKS, Page 11). Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes the claims fail to disclose “distinct areas”. Beckmannn’s size and shape of the FOV and its position is based upon the determined quality information and number of homogeneity area near the isocenter which is within a specified value range in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Thus, the rejections have been maintained.
Examiner notes new Claim 20 is not commensurate with Applicant’s remarks that Claim 20 finds support at page 7 which describes an output of control data that can be used to move the patient couch automatically to another position.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797