DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 12:
A quality unit configured to retrieve
A homogeneity unit configured to specify
A position unit configured to determine
An output unit configured to output
Claim 13:
A geometry unit configured to receive
Claim 12:
A quality unit configured to retrieve has no corresponding structure disclosed in the specification.
A homogeneity unit configured to specify has no corresponding structure disclosed in the specification.
A position unit configured to determine has no corresponding structure disclosed in the specification.
An output unit configured to output is considered to be a display as described in paragraph [0098] of the PG-Publication.
Claim 13:
A geometry unit configured to receive has no corresponding structure disclosed in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 12 is rejected because the specification, as originally filed, fails to support limitations (e.g. quality unit, homogeneity unit, position unit, geometry unit) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as described above.
Claims 2-4 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 is rejected because “the patient couch” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 3 is rejected because “the spatial location” and “the volume” lack proper antecedent basis. Claim 12 is rejected because it is unclear what structures correspond to the claim limitations (e.g. quality unit, homogeneity unit, position unit, geometry unit) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2016/0266760 to Beckman et al. “Beckman”.
As for Claims 1, 10, 11, 12, 14, 17 and 18 , Beckman discloses a system and method for planning a medical imaging examination (e.g. magnetic resonance imaging, MRI) (Abstract; Paragraph [0052]) including steps to determine geometric information about an examination area where a camera acquires a graphical representation of the examination subject to create a planning environment and enable at least one imaging parameter to be specified directly on the graphical representation of the subject (Paragraph [0014]). Beckman further discloses where the at least one imaging parameter can include, for example, a positioning and/or geometry and/or a size of a field of view for the medical imaging examination (Paragraphs [0017], [0021] and [0031]). Beckman discloses determining quality information including information corresponding to a homogeneity of a main magnetic field where an imaging parameter may be a position of the patient relative to an isocenter of the scanner (Paragraph [0028]). Beckman explains ideal conditions are found in the isocenter so the patient’s region for examination should be arranged in the isocenter region (e.g. homogeneity region) (Paragraph [0028]). Beckman’s system and method allows the user to specify a number of homogeneity areas (e.g. imaging examination regions) based on whether values of the quality information lie in a specified range where a valid parameter range for the position of the examination subject in relation to the isocenter region (Paragraph [0029]). Beckman also explains the specified imaging parameters have an upper and lower limit (Paragraphs [0025]-[0027]). Examiner notes the aforementioned steps to set the examination region with a valid range in the isocenter region reads on the claimed step to determine position data based on location and shape of the number of homogeneity areas and of the examination area in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, such data displayed on the user interface would be output from a data file in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Beckman makes it clear the system and method can include computer readable data storage medium for implementing the method (Paragraphs [0002] and [0043]).
Regarding Claim 2, Beckman discloses wherein the examination area selection may include a position of a local coil (e.g. knee or head coil) (Paragraph [0030]) and using a touchscreen to indicate desired positioning (Paragraphs [0007], [0012] and [0058]).
As for Claims 3 and 13, Beckman discloses wherein a camera may acquired 2D or 3D images of the subject for examination (Paragraph [0034]) and used to set the aforementioned examination areas with respect to homogeneity areas.
With respect to Claim 4, Examiner notes that the aforementioned selections on 3D data would provide a 3D homogeneity area in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, the limits on the size of the examination area and the feedback to selectively change the exanimation region relative to the isocenter region would provide a comparison for a number of homogeneity areas in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
As for Claims 5 and 15, while Beckman’s exemplary embodiments depict one homogeneity area, Beckman makes it clear that the user sets “at least one” imaging parameter (Paragraph [0028]). Thus, Beckman’s system and method is configured to set multiple homogeneity areas, each area with limits as previously explained above. Alternatively, Beckman’s feedback to adjust the size of the examination area with respect to limits (Paragraph [0032]) would read on specifying first and second homogeneity areas and determining whether the areas exceed thresholds in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to Claim 7, Beckman discloses where the user is requested to change the imaging parameter when it exceeds an allowable range (Paragraphs [0025]-[0027]) to quickly address errors (Paragraphs [0021], [0029] and [0032]). Such a request is considered to be a warning as claimed in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Beckman discloses where if the desired field of view exceeds the maximum size the system may change the imaging mode to a multi-stage measurement (Paragraph [0032]) which is considered to read on an adjusted protocol with a sub-divided examination areas in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckman in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0041409 to Beck et al. “Beck” or U.S. Publication No. 2022/0015710 to Lewis et al. “Lewis” or U.S. Publication No. 2019/0274582 to Zeller.
As for Claim 6, Beckman discloses an MRI system and method as described above allowing a user to specify an examination region with various colors (Paragraph [0029]) However, the desired examination region is not projected on the patient as claimed.
Beck teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to planning an MRI exam (Abstract) where a camera is configured to acquire position data of a patent table and/or the object (e.g. patient) positioned on the table (Paragraphs [0015] and [0017]) and wherein the camera includes integrated optics to project a marking onto the patient in addition to a superimposed marking (Paragraph [0034]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the camera described by Beckman to include integrated optics to project a marking onto the patient as described by Beck in order provide a visual cue to an operator to enable simple and rapid positioning (Beck-Paragraph [0022]). Such a modification merely involves combing prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Alternatively, Lewis teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to properly positioning a patient for imaging (Abstract) where a camera can project a position indicator onto the table so the patient can get into proper position (Paragraphs [0006], [0024], [0044] and [0049]).
Alternatively, Zeller teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI set up (Abstract) where optics are configured to project a target position onto a patient for an imaging accessory (Paragraph [0076]; Fig. 3). Examiner notes the target position is for a local coil and would relate to an examination region in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the camera described by Beckman to include integrated optics to project a marking onto the patient as described by Lewis or Zeller in order provide a visual cue to properly set up an imaging parameter. Such a modification merely involves combing prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckman in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0121066 to Rheineck et al. “Rheineck”.
As for Claim 9, Beckman discloses an MRI system and method as described above allowing a user to specify an examination region. However, Beckman does not expressly disclose interventional MRI. Rheineck teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to preparing a patient for an MRI wherein the MRI procedure may include an intervention (Paragraphs [0005], [0011] and [0013]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have implemented Beckman’s set up technique on other types of MRI procedures including interventional MRI as described by Rheineck in order to correctly position the patient for optimal imaging. Such a modification merely involves combing prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797