DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romera Jolliff et al. (US 2011/0304550, hereinafter Romera) in view of Hosoya et al. (US 2012/0306752), further in view of Chiang et al. (US 2013/0135211).
As to Claim 1, Romera discloses An information handling system comprising: a housing (fig.2-4, interface 102 may in the form of a tablet; para.0049); a processor coupled in the housing and operable to execute instructions to process information (fig.4; para.0053,0055-0056; tablet application interface 402 may be implemented within a processor that is part of the adaptive user interface device 102; processor may be within an attached device or within the adaptative user interface); a memory coupled in the housing and interfaced with the processor, the memory operable to store the instructions and information (para.0053,0055-0056);
an embedded controller interfaced with the processor and configured to manage inputs from input devices (para.0053-0054; tablet controller may be configured to pass configuration and actuation commands to and receive touch event notifications from the adaptive user interface device 102); and
a keyboard interfaced with the embedded controller (fig.2-4,11, adaptive user interface 102; para.0050-0051, 0054,0073-0075), the keyboard having plural keys each key accepting an end user press as an input by mechanical vertical movement (fig.2, keys 214; para.0050- Such buttons 214 may be actuated by any of the actuation mechanisms described herein. By providing actuating buttons 214 that raise up in a keyboard mode but retract to form a smooth surface in a touchpad mode; fig.6- para.0059- The press of a button 214 may be determined based upon a pressure change within the fluid pocket 602, as may be detected by a pressure sensor (not shown), or by transducers or switches which may convert a button press into an electrical signal that may be interpreted by the attached computer; para.0057- when a user presses a raised button 214, the piezoelectric materials may generate electric signals that can be measured to detect the button press; fig.8- para.0064-The press of a raised button 214 may be detected based upon signals generated when the engaged pins are pressed down through their individual linear actuators 812, or when pressure or strain is applied to the linear actuators 812 or support plate 810; fig.9, para.0065- Pressing of this button 214 may be detected by the change in the capacitance or voltage between the two layers as may be measured by the electrical sensor 912. As illustrated in FIG. 9B, the button 214 may be retracted and the adaptive user interface device 100 may return to a smooth surface),
the keyboard having a set of adjacent keys of less than all of the plural keys (para.0049, 0051, 0056; adaptive user interface 102 {which includes adjacent keys 214} may be configured to sense a user's finger touch using capacitive sensors in a touchpad mode 100; fig.11C- para.0073, 0075-keyboard layout having sets of adjacent keys of less than all plural keys),
the set of adjacent keys positioned above a top side of a capacitive detection surface, the capacitive detection surface separate from and below the plural keys,
the set of adjacent keys simultaneously retracting with the mechanical vertical movement to define a touchpad area (fig.9; para.0050-Such buttons 214 may be actuated by any of the actuation mechanisms described herein. By providing actuating buttons 214 that raise up in a keyboard mode but retract to form a smooth surface in a touchpad mode…the adaptive user interface 102 provides a smooth touchpad surface, which may be suitable for other tasks (such as receiving pointing and drawing inputs)para.0057, 0066)
the touchpad area sensing cursor inputs through the set of adjacent keys at the capacitive detection surface top side.
Romera discloses where capacitive sensors may be used in the touch mode (para.0049), and where pressing on the button 214 may be detected by capacitive sensing (para.00550, 0065). Romera further discloses where user interface may be configured with a plurality of actuating elements that can be actuated individually to generate raised portions or buttons 214 anywhere on the interface surface and in a variety of shapes (para.0051,0059,0060), which suggests that a plurality of buttons 214 may be actuated at the same time to create a smooth surface for use in a touchpad mode.
Romera does not expressly disclose the set of adjacent keys simultaneously retracting. However, Romera discloses the user interface may be configured with a plurality of actuating elements that can be actuated individually to generate raised portions or buttons 214 anywhere on the interface surface (para.0051, 0059, 0060, 0065, 0068), which suggests that a plurality of buttons 214 may be actuated at the same time to create a pad smooth surface in a touch mode. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized simultaneously retracting a plurality of keys 214 to generate a smooth surface for touch pad operation.
Romera does not expressly disclose the set of adjacent keys positioned above a top side of a capacitive detection surface, the capacitive detection surface separate from and below the plural keys; the touchpad area sensing cursor inputs through the set of adjacent keys at the capacitive detection surface top side.
Hosoya et al. discloses the set of adjacent keys positioned above a top side of a capacitive detection surface (fig.2, integrated keys 28, 27, 29; para.0038, integrated key top 30 positioned above touchpad base 34, where a touch sensor may be provided on the top surface of the touchpad base 34); the touchpad area sensing cursor inputs through the set of adjacent keys at the capacitive detection surface top side (para. parra.0031-0032, 0033, 0034-0036; the integrated key 28 may allow pointer or cursor control or movement by moving (or dragging) a finger or another object across a top surface of the integrated key 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Romera with the teachings of Hosoya et al., the motivation being to provide a convenient interface for controlling or moving a pointer or cursor or performing mouse type functions.
Romera in view of Hosoya et al. do not expressly disclose the capacitive detection surface separate from and below the plural keys.
Chiang et al. discloses a keyboard comprising a capacitive detection surface separate from and below the plural keys (fig.1, para.0016; capacitive sensing device 18 disposed below the key structures 14; fig.2-3, capacitive touch sensing device 38).
The combination of Guard et al. in view of Romera in view of Hosoya et al. and Chiang et al.,. each element would have performed the same function as it did separately. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would yield predictable results, in particular a capacitive detection surface below the keys to detect touch operation on the keys.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Romera in view of Hosoya et al, with the teachings of Chiang et al., since in doing so would not have modified by the operation of the device, yielding predictable results.
As to Claim 2, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., disclose a liquid crystal display coupled under the set of adjacent keys and including the capacitive detection surface (Romera-fig.18, para.0049,0086; user interface 102 may include LCD elements and LEDs); wherein the liquid crystal display presents a key value for each key of the set of adjacent keys through a transparent upper surface of each key of the set of adjacent keys (Romera-para.0086-0088).
As to Claim 3, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., disclose wherein the set of adjacent keys comprises a number pad (Romera-fig.11c, key layout may comprise adjacent keys number pad; para.0057,0085,0087-received input may be a letter or a number; Hosoya-para.0031).
As to Claim 4, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., disclose a ferromagnetic material coupled in each key of the set of adjacent keys (Romera-fig.9C-D; para.0066, permanent magnet 954); and one or more magnets below the set of adjacent keys to retract the set of adjacent keys when the touchpad area is selected to detect cursor inputs (Romera-figs.9C-D-para.0066-smooth surface (retract; touchpad mode) when attractive force between permanent magnet and electromagnet).
As to Claim 5, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., disclose wherein the one or more magnets comprises a planar magnetic sheet placed under the set of adjacent keys (Romera-fig.9C-D; para.0066- layers 956,958).
As to Claim 6, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., disclose wherein the one or more magnets comprises one or more electropermanent magnets that select a magnetic field on when the touchpad area is selected to detect cursor inputs (Romera-para.0066-By reversing the polarity of the current applied to the pancake electromagnet 960, an attractive force can be established between the permanent magnet 954 and the electromagnet 960, causing the permanent magnet 954 to rest on the separator layer 960 resulting in a smooth surface of the adaptive user interface device 102 {smooth surface is in a smooth touchpad mode, where pointing and drawing inputs may be received; para.0050)) and a magnetic field off when the set of adjacent keys are selected to accept key inputs (Romera-para.0066, By applying a voltage of the right plurality to the electromagnet 960, a magnetic field may be generated in a manner that repels the permanent magnet 954. If the permanent magnet 954 is coupled to the top surface layer 956 with pliable materials, it may raise above the surface layer to a sufficient degree so as to create a button 214).
As to Claim 9, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., disclose wherein the housing is configured as a portable housing and the keyboard couples into the housing at an upper surface (Romera-fig.1-4; Hosoya-fig.1).
As to Claims 10-11, 14 are method claims drawn to the apparatus of Claims 1,2,4 and are rejected for the reasons as set forth above.
As to Claim 12, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., disclose the plural adjacent keys are the number pad keys (Romera-fig.11-key layouts include number pad, and where the keys are retracted to form a smooth surface in a touchpad mode, where pointing input may be received, and keys may be selectively actuated), and only the number pad keys of the plural keys retract to define a touchpad cursor input area (Romera- para.0051, 0059, 0060, 0065, 0068- a plurality of actuating elements that can be actuated individually to generate raised portions or buttons 214 anywhere on the interface surface and in a variety of shapes. By adjusting the position in shapes of raised buttons 214; Hosoya-fig.2,selective integrated keys 28 for cursor operation).
As to Claim 13, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., disclose
wherein the plural magnets are electropermanent magnets that turn on a magnetic field when touchpad cursor inputs are accepted (Romera-para.0050; para.0066-By reversing the polarity of the current applied to the pancake electromagnet 960, an attractive force can be established between the permanent magnet 954 and the electromagnet 960, causing the permanent magnet 954 to rest on the separator layer 960 resulting in a smooth surface of the adaptive user interface device 102 {smooth surface is in a smooth touchpad mode, where pointing and drawing inputs may be received) and turn off the magnetic field when number pad inputs are accepted (Romera-para.0066, By applying a voltage of the right plurality to the electromagnet 960, a magnetic field may be generated in a manner that repels the permanent magnet 954. If the permanent magnet 954 is coupled to the top surface layer 956 with pliable materials, it may raise above the surface layer to a sufficient degree so as to create a button 214).
As to Claim 16-17, 20 has limitations similar to those of Claim 1,2,4, and are met by the references as set forth above.
Claim(s) 7-8, 15, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romera Jolliff et al. (US 2011/0304550, hereinafter Romera) in view of Hosoya et al. (US 2012/0306752), further in view of Chiang et al. (US 2013/0135211), and further in view of De Saulles et al. (US 2015/0341030).
As to Claim 7, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., do not expressly disclose, but De Saulles et al. discloses: a tray sized to couple to a bottom side of the keyboard (fig.5, support frame 506; para.0041); a planar magnetic sheet coupled to the tray (fig.5, para.0041, flexible circuit 508 provided on the support frame which can be formed of a metal or other material); and ferromagnetic material in each of the plural keys, the planar magnetic sheet retracting all of the keys when the keyboard couples in the tray (para.0042,0046,0049,0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al., with the teachings of De Saulles et al., the motivation being to avoid inadvertent user actuation of the keys when the device is used in a touchscreen configuration and allow achieve a thinner profile when in a closed configuration.
As to Claim 8, Romera in view of Hosoya et al., as modified by Chiang et al. and De Saulles et al., disclose a lid (Hosoya-fig.1, casing 13) coupled to the tray defining an internal space that accepts the keyboard with the keys retracted (Hosoya-fig.1, recessed portion 14); wherein the planar magnetic sheet retracts the plural keys as the keyboard slides into the space (DeSaulles-para.0036).
As to Claim 15 is method claim drawn to the apparatus of Claim 7 and is rejected for the reasons as set forth above.
As to Claims 18-19 have limitations similar to those of Claims 7-8 and are met by the references as set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,10,16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection applied as necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/DISMERY MERCEDES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627