DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/29/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-8 drawn to Invention I in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110316998 A1 to Kishima in view of US 20040223215 A1 to Weiss et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Kishima discloses a sample image optical system, comprising: a fluorescent channel including a first light source (Fig. 1 light source 14); and a bright-field channel including a second light source (Fig. light source 13), wherein a first light of the first light source, which is irradiated onto a sample (Fig. 1 sample SPL) and emitted from the sample, is refracted while passing through the fluorescent channel to produce a fluorescent image of the sample (See Fig. 1 and para 40-42), wherein a second light of the second light source, which passes through the sample, is refracted while passing through the bright-field channel to produce a bright-field image of the sample (See Fig. 1 and para 39 and 43).
Kishima does not specifically disclose that the fluorescent image and the bright-field image overlap with each other by 70% or more.
However, the many benefits and advantages of overlaying a brightfield image and a fluorencent image are well known in the art. Weiss discloses the bright-field image overlap with each other for better image evaluation (See para 5). The amount of overlap between the aforementioned images is a result-effective variable. In that, improved overlap will improve the evaluation of the image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the fluorescent image and the bright-field image overlap with each other by 70% or more for improved image evaluation is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 2. Kishima further discloses the bright-field channel includes one or more windows configured such that the second light of the second light source, which passes through the sample, is refracted while passing through the bright-field channel (See Fig. 1 objective lens 12A and image forming lens 12B ).
Regarding Claim 3. Kishima further discloses each of the one or more windows is made of a transparent material (See para 43, and Fig. 1 slide glass SG and cover glass CG).
Regarding Claim 4. Kishima further discloses the fluorescent channel includes a dichroic beam splitter (Fig. 1 dichroic mirror 12C) and an emission filter (Fig. 1 emission filter 12D), and wherein the first light of the first light source, which is irradiated onto the sample and emitted from the sample, is refracted while passing through the dichroic beam splitter and the emission filter to produce the fluorescent image of the sample (See Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5. Kishima further discloses the bright-field channel includes a first window and a second window, and wherein the second light of the second light source, which passes through the sample, is refracted while passing through the first window and the second window to produce the bright-field image of the sample (See Fig. 1 slide glass SG and cover glass CG).
Regarding Claim 6. Kishima further discloses the fluorescent channel includes a dichroic beam splitter (Fig. 1 dichroic mirror 12C) and an emission filter (Fig. 1 emission filter 12D), and the first light of the first light source (See Fig. 1), which is irradiated onto the sample and emitted from the sample, is refracted while passing through the dichroic beam splitter and the emission filter to produce the fluorescent image of the sample (as shown in Fig. 1), and wherein the bright-field channel includes a first window and a second window, and the second light of the second light source, which passes through the sample (See Fig. 1 slide glass SG and cover glass CG), is refracted while passing through the first window and the second window to produce the bright-field image of the sample (See Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7. Kishima further discloses the first window is arranged at a position corresponding to the dichroic beam splitter, and the second window is arranged at a position corresponding to the emission filter (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8. Kishima and Weiss further discloses a thickness, a material, and an angle of each of the first window and the second window are set such that the fluorescent image and the bright-field image overlap with each other by 70% or more (See Kishima Fig. 1 and Weiss para 5).
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871