DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicants’ amendment and response received August 6, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hanson et al, US 11,026,422.
Hanson et al teach an antimicrobial wipe saturated with a composition having a pH of from 2 to 4 (claims 1, 5, and 8) comprising LAS, nonionic surfactant, and lactic acid (col. 31, table 10 A). These compositions are used on hard surfaces and do not result in streaky, hazy or tacky residues (col. 1, lines 14-25). As the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, whatever properties achieved by the claimed composition will also be achieved by the composition of the reference. As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Applicants have traversed this rejection on the grounds the composition of the reference does not improve the shine of the surface and this is addressed above.
Claims 1-10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Dreilinger et al, US 2010/0240752.
Dreilinger et al teach a hard surface cleaning wipe saturated with a composition having a pH of approximately 3 comprising secondary alkane sulfonate, nonionic surfactants, lactic acid, and citric acid (¶122, examples E5 and E7). As the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, whatever properties achieved by the claimed composition will also be achieved by the composition of the reference. As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Applicants have traversed this rejection on the grounds the composition of the reference does not improve the shine of the surface and this is addressed above.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Joseph, US 2017/0304478.
Joseph teaches a disinfectant wipe dispenser for hospitals and medical treatment facilities (¶2) comprising a container with two compartments. One compartment for wipes, and one compartment for a disinfectant composition (see abstract). The disinfectant composition is in tablet form and comprises 15% citric acid, lauryl sulfate, and dodecylbenzene sulfonate (¶144). The examiner maintains that due to the high amount of acid in the composition, the diluted use composition will have a pH within the range claimed. As the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, whatever properties achieved by the claimed composition will also be achieved by the composition of the reference.
Applicants have traversed this rejection on the grounds the composition of the reference does not improve the shine of the surface and this is addressed above.
All remaining rejections set forth in the previous action are withdrawn in view of applicants’ amendment and response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frank et al, US 2023/0111060.
Frank et al teach a disinfecting wipe with a pH of 5 (claim 1) saturated with a composition comprising secondary alkane sulfonate, and citric acid (¶106, table 2E). These compositions may be used on hard surfaces (¶40) and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the disinfecting wipe of table 2E on a hard surface with confidence of achieving a disinfected surface. With respect to the wipe improving the shine of a surface, as the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, whatever properties achieved by the claimed composition will also be achieved by the composition of the reference once the composition is used on a hard surface.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al, US 2017/0202753.
Smith et al teach a personal cleansing wipe with a pH of less than 5 (¶91) saturated with a composition comprising sodium stearate, additional surfactant, and citric acid (¶149, example 10). These compositions may be used on hard surfaces (¶97) and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the disinfecting wipe of example 10 on a hard surface with confidence of achieving a disinfected surface. With respect to the wipe improving the shine of a surface, as the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, whatever properties achieved by the claimed composition will also be achieved by the composition of the reference once the composition is used on a hard surface.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carty et al, US 2023/0381068.
Carty et al teach a disposable wipe saturated with a personal cleansing composition (claim 24) comprising sodium lauryl ether sulfate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, lactic acid, and citric acid with a pH of 4.32 (¶253, example 7). These compositions may be used on hard surfaces (¶4) and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the disinfecting wipe of example 7 on a hard surface with confidence of achieving a disinfected surface. With respect to the wipe improving the shine of a surface, as the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, whatever properties achieved by the claimed composition will also be achieved by the composition of the reference once the composition is used on a hard surface.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761