DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 10-12 recite the limitations "sulfonate, sulfate, and carboxylate anionic surfactants, but there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hanson et al, US 11,026,422.
Hanson et al teach a wipe saturated with a composition having a pH of from 2 to 4 (claims 1, 5, and 8) comprising LAS, nonionic surfactant, and lactic acid (col. 31, table 10 A). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 1-10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Dreilinger et al, US 2010/0240752.
Dreilinger et al teach a wipe saturated with a composition having a pH of approximately 3 comprising secondary alkane sulfonate, nonionic surfactants, lactic acid, and citric acid (¶122, examples E5 and E7). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 1-10, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Frank et al, US 2023/0111060.
Frank et al teach a disinfecting wipe with a pH of 5 (claim 1) saturated with a composition comprising secondary alkane sulfonate, and citric acid (¶106, table 2E). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Smith et al, US 2017/0202753.
Smith et al teach a personal cleansing wipe with a pH of less than 5 (¶91) saturated with a composition comprising sodium stearate, additional surfactant, and citric acid (¶149, example 10). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Carty et al, US 2023/0381068.
Carty et al teach a disposable wipe saturated with a personal cleansing composition (claim 24) comprising sodium lauryl ether sulfate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, lactic acid, and citric acid with a pH of 4.32 (¶253, example 7). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Joseph, US 2017/0304478.
Joseph teaches a disinfectant wipe dispenser comprising a container with two compartments. One compartment for wipes, and one compartment for a disinfectant composition (see abstract). The disinfectant composition is in tablet form and comprises 15% citric acid, lauryl sulfate, and dodecylbenzene sulfonate (¶144). The examiner maintains that due to the high amount of acid in the composition, the diluted use composition will have a pH within the range claimed. As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761