DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1 and 13 are independent claims.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein selecting the portable electronic display without using an identifier for the requesting device or an account for the requesting device” which is incoherent. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets the claim as “wherein selecting the portable electronic display is performed without using an identifier for the requesting device or an account for the requesting device”.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the request includes the at least one image”. However, parent claim 1 already recites “an approval request that includes… the at least one image”. Therefore, claim 11 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gudai et al. (US 2020/0090216 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gudai teaches a method comprising: receiving, at a host system, a request for presentation of content on a portable electronic display and that identifies a) a personalized message and b) at least one image (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052], block 206 of FIG. 2 and [0056-0062]: host system, including at least server 102, receives a request for presentation of content on a portable electronic display/panel 108; FIGS. 4E-F and [0085-0086]: see examples of various content, which identifies a personalized message and at least one image); creating, in a database of the host system, a record i) for the request and ii) that identifies the personalized message, the at least one image, and a status with an initial status value (FIG. 1 and [0049]: see how server 102 stores information and is communication with owner device 106; FIG. 5A and [0088]: a record for the request is created. As evidenced in FIG. 5A, the record identifies the personalized message and the at least one image that form the content. The record also includes a status with an initial status value, such as “AWAITING APPROVAL”); providing, by the host system and to a device for an administrative account, an approval request that includes the personalized message, the at least one image, and a user interface element that initiates approval or rejection of the request (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: server 102 communicates with owner device 106/a device for an administrative account; blocks 206-208 of FIG. 2 and [0058-0062], FIGS. 5A-B and [0088]: the approval request includes the personalized message, the at least one image, and a user interface element, such as “Approve” button or “Reject” button seen in FIG. 5B); receiving, by the host system and from the device, data that indicates a selection of the user interface element approving or rejecting the request (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: server 102 communicates with owner device 106; block 208 of FIG. 2 and [0059-0062], FIGS. 5A-B and [0088]: from the owner device 106, a selection of either the “Approve” button or “Reject” button is received by the server 102.); and in response to determining that the data indicates the selection of the user interface element approval the request: updating, in the database, the status of the record to have an approved status value (FIG. 1 and [0049]: see how server 102 stores information and is communication with owner device 106; FIG. 5A and [0088]: as supported by the “APPROVED” section of exemplary FIG. 5A, the status of a content that initially is “AWAITING APPROVAL” is updated to “APPROVED” in response to selection of “APPROVE” button of FIG. 5B); and transmitting, by the host system and using at least a wireless communication mode, an instruction to a portable electronic display to cause the portable electronic display to display at least a portion of the personalized message and the at least one image (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: server 102 communicates with panel control module 110 which controls panel 108; block 210 of FIG. 2 and [0066-0067]: server 102 transmits, using at least a wireless communication mode like the internet, an instruction to a portable electronic display/panel 108 to display at least a portion of the personalized message and the at least one image).
Regarding claim 4, Gudai further teaches the method of claim 1, comprising selecting, from a plurality of portable electronic displays and using an identifier for the record that was included in the request, the portable electronic display (blocks 204-206 of FIG. 2, FIGS. 4B-D and [0082-0084]: an identifier corresponds to the specific panel, among a plurality of panels, that is selected. The request includes the identifier corresponding to the selected panel).
Regarding claim 5, Gudai further teaches the method of claim 4, wherein: receiving the request comprises receiving, by the host system and from a requesting device, the request (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: server 102 communicates with requesting device/computer 104; blocks 204-206 of FIG. 2 and [0053-0057], FIG. 5A and [0088]: the request is received by the server 102 from a requesting device/advertiser 104); and selecting the portable electronic display from the plurality of portable electronic displays uses a physical location for the requesting device that is indicated in the record (blocks 202-206 of FIG. 2 and [0053-0057], FIGS. 4A-D and [0081-0084]: a physical location is indicated in the record and used to select the appropriate panel 108).
Regarding claim 6, Gudai further teaches the method of claim 5, wherein selecting the portable electronic display without using an identifier for the requesting device or an account for the requesting device (blocks 202-206 of FIG. 2 and [0053-0057], FIGS. 4A-D and [0081-0084]: a panel is selected without using an identifier for the requesting device/computer 104. Rather, the panel is selected based on the panel’s physical location).
Regarding claim 7, Gudai further teaches the method of claim 1, comprising selecting, from a plurality of portable electronic displays, two or more portable electronic displays including the portable electronic display ([0063-0065]: two or more panels may be selected), wherein: transmitting the instruction comprises transmitting, by the host system and using at least a wireless network and to each of the two or more portable electronic displays, a corresponding instruction to cause the corresponding portable electronic display to display a respective portion of the personalized message (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: server 102 communicates with panel control module 110 which controls panel 108; block 210 of FIG. 2 and [0063-0067]: server 102 transmits, using at least a wireless communication mode like the internet, an instruction to each panel to display a respective portion of the personalized message. As described in [0065], “Some advertising panels may need a piece of content to be broken up into different segments and placed in different coordinates (x, y) of the piece of content that gets played by the panel control module. For example, an advertising panel can be significantly wider compared to its height. It may be that the screen is actually 4 screens next to each other that looks like one screen and is just showing a piece of the content.”).
Regarding claim 9, Gudai further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one image comprises a video sequence ([0048], [0059], and [0063-0064]).
Regarding claim 10, Gudai further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one image comprises a dynamic image ([0048], [0059], and [0063-0064]).
Regarding claim 11, Gudai further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request includes the at least one image (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: server 102 communicates with owner device 106/a device for an administrative account; blocks 206-208 of FIG. 2 and [0058-0062], FIGS. 5A-B and [0088]: the approval request includes the personalized message, the at least one image, and a user interface element, such as “Approve” button or “Reject” button seen in FIG. 5B).
Regarding claim 12, Gudai further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request includes an identifier for the at least one image already stored on the host system (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052], FIGS. 4E-F and [0085-0086]: for example, if content is selected from content lib4rary GUI 400e, seen in FIG. 4E, then the request to display said content includes an identifier for the at least one image already stored on the host system, or server 102).
Regarding claim 13, Gudai teaches a system (FIG. 1 and [0044]) comprising: a portable electronic display for displaying a personalized message and that includes a first communication module (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: panel 108/portable electronic display is configured to display a personalized image. Panel 108 includes a first communication module/panel control module 110; block 210 of FIG. 2 and [0066-0067]: a portable electronic display/panel 108 displays a personalized message); and a host system that includes a second communication module that enables wireless communication with the first communication module of the portable electronic display and with one or more requesting mobile devices, and one or more processors and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the one or more processors to perform operations (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: server 102 includes a second communication module that enables wireless communication, such as via the internet, with panel 108 and one or more requesting mobile devices/computer 104; See also network 814, which includes wireless communication, of FIG. 8 and [0141]) comprising: receiving a message request from one of the one or more requesting mobile devices (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052], blocks 206-208 of FIG. 2 and [0058-0062], FIGS. 5A-B and [0088]: message request received from computer 104), presenting the message request for approval (blocks 206-208 of FIG. 2 and [0058-0062], FIGS. 5A-B and [0088]: as seen in FIG. 5B, the message request is presented for approval), and upon approval and activation, sending, using the second communication module and to the first communication module, the personalized message to the portable electronic display for display (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052], block 210 of FIG. 2 and [0066-0067]: server 102 uses the second communication module, like the internet, and the first communication module/panel control module 110 to send the personalized message to panel 108 for display).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudai et al. (US 2020/0090216 A1), in view of Clancy, Jr. et al. (US 9767461 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Gudai further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
receiving, by the host system… , second data that indicates a selection of the presentation initiation user interface element (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: server 102 communicates with owner device 106; block 208 of FIG. 2 and [0059-0062], FIGS. 5A-B and [0088]: from the owner device 106, a selection of either the “Approve” button or “Reject” button is received by the server 102, the selection of which indicates selection of a presentation initiation user interface element. As supported in [0062], “In some embodiments, the server sends the awaiting approval notification to the admin user prior to the screen owner. Further, the screen owner may be notified only if the ad is approved by the admin user. The screen owner may perform the same check as the admin user and/or any other checks they want to do and either approve or reject the content.”);
transmitting, by the host system and using at least the wireless communication mode, the instruction to the portable electronic display to cause the portable electronic display to display at least the portion of the personalized message and the at least one image is responsive to receiving the second data that indicates a selection of the presentation initiation user interface element (FIG. 1 and [0044-0052]: server 102 communicates with panel control module 110 which controls panel 108; block 210 of FIG. 2 and [0066-0067]: server 102 transmits, using at least a wireless communication mode like the internet, an instruction to a portable electronic display/panel 108 to display at least a portion of the personalized message and the at least one image).
Although Gudai teaches updating the status of the record to have the approved status value (FIG. 1 and [0049]: see how server 102 stores information and is communication with owner device 106; FIG. 5A and [0088]: as supported by the “APPROVED” section of exemplary FIG. 5A, the status of a content that initially is “AWAITING APPROVAL” is updated to “APPROVED” in response to selection of “APPROVE” button of FIG. 5B) and the request being reviewed for approval, in sequence, by multiple administrators ([0061-0062]: “In some embodiments, the server sends the awaiting approval notification to the admin user prior to the screen owner. Further, the screen owner may be notified only if the ad is approved by the admin user. The screen owner may perform the same check as the admin user and/or any other checks they want to do and either approve or reject the content.”), Gudai does not explicitly teach in response to updating the status of the record to have the approved status value, transmitting, to a second device for a second administrative account, an instruction to cause the second device to display a user interface with a first identifier for the request and a presentation initiation user interface element; receiving, by the host system and from the second device, second data that indicates a selection of the presentation initiation user interface element, wherein: transmitting, by the host system and using at least the wireless communication mode, the instruction to the portable electronic display to cause the portable electronic display to display at least the portion of the personalized message and the at least one image is responsive to receiving the second data that indicates a selection of the presentation initiation user interface element.
Clancy teaches in response to updating the status of the record to have the approved status value, transmitting, to a second device for a second administrative account, an instruction to cause the second device to display a user interface with a first identifier for the request and a presentation initiation user interface element (Col. 6, line 62 to Col. 7, line 20: “Online group moderator(s) monitors and controls the content of the online group. An online group can have one or more moderators […] An online group moderator(s) decides whether to accept advertisements from advertisers or not and what types of advertisements to accept or to reject.”; FIG. 4B and Col. 10, line 56 to Col. 12, line 23, FIG. 6 and Col. 14, lines 26-44: an instruction is transmitted to a second device belonging to a second moderator with a second administrative account. The instruction displays window 160 with a first identifier for the request, such as the name for the ad or the advertiser, and a presentation initiation user interface element, such as checking for “Approve” and/or “Done”);
receiving, by the host system and from the second device, second data that indicates a selection of the presentation initiation user interface element (FIG. 3A and Col. 6, line 62-Col. 8, line 30, FIG. 4B and Col. 10, line 56 to Col. 12, line 23, FIG. 6 and Col. 14, lines 26-44: second data indicating selection of “Approve” is received from the second device by the host system/online group server 112), wherein:
transmitting, by the host system and using at least the wireless communication mode, the instruction to the portable electronic display to cause the portable electronic display to display at least the portion of the personalized message and the at least one image is responsive to receiving the second data that indicates a selection of the presentation initiation user interface element (FIG. 3A and Col. 6, line 62-Col. 8, line 30, FIG. 4B and Col. 10, line 56 to Col. 12, line 23, FIG. 6 and Col. 14, lines 26-44: the host system, using the internet, transmits the instruction to the portable electronic display at user window 102’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the approval process of Gudai by incorporating the teachings of Clancy so as to in response to updating the status of the record to have the approved status value, transmitting, to a second device for a second administrative account, an instruction to cause the second device to display a user interface with a first identifier for the request and a presentation initiation user interface element; receiving, by the host system and from the second device, second data that indicates a selection of the presentation initiation user interface element, wherein: transmitting, by the host system and using at least the wireless communication mode, the instruction to the portable electronic display to cause the portable electronic display to display at least the portion of the personalized message and the at least one image is responsive to receiving the second data that indicates a selection of the presentation initiation user interface element. Doing so would allow another layer of verification by another administrator/moderator to help ensure that the content is acceptable prior to its display. By having another administrator at the second device review the content, inappropriate, irrelevant, or otherwise unacceptable content is less likely to be mistakenly approved and transmitted for display.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudai et al. (US 2020/0090216 A1), in view of Clancy, Jr. et al. (US 9767461 B2), in view of Ferrara et al. (US 2007/0288378 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Gudai in view of Clancy teaches the method of claim 2. Gudai in view of Clancy does not explicitly teach wherein the administrative account and the second administrative account have different account permissions.
Ferrara teaches wherein the administrative account and the second administrative account have different account permissions ([0025-0030]: for example, the administrative account belongs to a reviewer while the second administrative account belongs to a supervisor. The reviewer and the supervisor have different account permissions since, as supported in [0026], “the supervisor reviewer 325 is given access to a screen that only displays once-escalated images, while issuer reviewers 315 do not have access to this screen.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the administrative accounts of Gudai in view of Clancy by incorporating the teachings of Ferrara so as to include wherein the administrative account and the second administrative account have different account permissions. Doing so would ensure that the additional layer of verification comes from an account with a different account permission, such as someone from a higher level of authority, in this case a supervisor who is higher than a reviewer. This extra verification from a supervisor would help ensure that the content is acceptable prior to its display. By having a supervisor at the second device to review the content, inappropriate, irrelevant, or otherwise unacceptable content is less likely to be mistakenly approved and transmitted for display should only a reviewer review it.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudai et al. (US 2020/0090216 A1), in view of Saracino et al. (US 2009/0144157 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Gudai teaches the method of claim 1.
Gudai does not explicitly teach receiving the request comprises receiving the request that indicates a font size, a font color, and one or more font effects for the personalized message; and creating the record comprises creating the record that includes, in corresponding fields for the record, data identifying the font size, the font color, and the one or more font effects.
Saracino teaches receiving the request comprises receiving the request that indicates a font size, a font color, and one or more font effects for the personalized message; and creating the record comprises creating the record that includes, in corresponding fields for the record, data identifying the font size, the font color, and the one or more font effects ([0023-0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gudai by incorporating the teachings of Saracino so as to include receiving the request comprises receiving the request that indicates a font size, a font color, and one or more font effects for the personalized message; and creating the record comprises creating the record that includes, in corresponding fields for the record, data identifying the font size, the font color, and the one or more font effects. Doing so would allow greater customizability to create a more appealing and evocative personalized message by leveraging attributes of the font. For example, a larger font size may help the personalized message be more visually prominent and/or easier to comprehend.
Claim(s) 14-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudai et al. (US 2020/0090216 A1), in view of Piccionelli (US 2021/0361105 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Gudai teaches the system of claim 13.
Gudai does not explicitly teach wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a light, separate from a screen included in the portable electronic display; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the light.
Piccionelli teaches the portable electronic display comprises a light, separate from a screen included in the portable electronic display; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the light (FIGS. 1-2 and [0056-0068]: personalized message is sent via data transmission from controller 16 to a screen/display member 20; [0009], [0015], and [0115]: ornament/portable electronic display comprises a light, separate from the screen, which is activated according to instructions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gudai by incorporating the teachings of Piccionelli so as to include wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a light, separate from a screen included in the portable electronic display; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the light. Doing so would allow for transmission of a more appealing and impactful message, characterized by special effects, that may more effectively garner attention from and convey meaning to intended recipients. The incorporation of such an added special effect could help reduce the likelihood of intended recipients (i) not adequately focusing on the personalized message or (ii) missing the personalized message altogether.
Regarding claim 15, Gudai teaches the system of claim 13.
Gudai does not explicitly teach wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a smoke dispenser; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the smoke dispenser.
Piccionelli teaches the portable electronic display comprises a smoke dispenser; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the smoke dispenser (FIGS. 1-2 and [0056-0068]: personalized message is sent via data transmission from controller 16 to a screen/display member 20; [0009], [0015], [0097], [0114], [0120], and [0136]: ornament/portable electronic display comprises a smoke dispenser which is activated according to instructions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gudai by incorporating the teachings of Piccionelli so as to include wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a smoke dispenser; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the smoke dispenser. Doing so would allow for transmission of a more appealing and impactful message, characterized by special effects, that may more effectively garner attention from and convey meaning to intended recipients. The incorporation of such an added special effect could help reduce the likelihood of intended recipients (i) not adequately focusing on the personalized message or (ii) missing the personalized message altogether.
Regarding claim 16, Gudai teaches the system of claim 13.
Gudai does not explicitly teach wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a confetti dispenser; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the confetti dispenser.
Piccionelli teaches the portable electronic display comprises a confetti dispenser; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the confetti dispenser (FIGS. 1-2 and [0056-0068]: personalized message is sent via data transmission from controller 16 to a screen/display member 20; [0009], [0015], [0076], [0097-0098], [0114], and [0120]: ornament/portable electronic display comprises a confetti dispenser which is activated according to instructions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gudai by incorporating the teachings of Piccionelli so as to include wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a confetti dispenser; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the confetti dispenser. Doing so would allow for transmission of a more appealing and impactful message, characterized by special effects, that may more effectively garner attention from and convey meaning to intended recipients. The incorporation of such an added special effect could help reduce the likelihood of intended recipients (i) not adequately focusing on the personalized message or (ii) missing the personalized message altogether.
Regarding claim 17, Gudai teaches the system of claim 13.
Gudai does not explicitly teach wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a laser; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the laser.
Piccionelli teaches the portable electronic display comprises a laser; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the laser (FIGS. 1-2 and [0056-0068]: personalized message is sent via data transmission from controller 16 to a screen/display member 20; [0015], [0081], and [0115]: ornament/portable electronic display comprises a smoke dispenser which is activated according to instructions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gudai by incorporating the teachings of Piccionelli so as to include wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a laser; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the laser. Doing so would allow for transmission of a more appealing and impactful message, characterized by special effects, that may more effectively garner attention from and convey meaning to intended recipients. The incorporation of such an added special effect could help reduce the likelihood of intended recipients (i) not adequately focusing on the personalized message or (ii) missing the personalized message altogether.
Regarding claim 19, Gudai teaches the system of claim 13.
Gudai does not explicitly teach wherein the portable electronic display comprises an aperture that receives at least one of a smoke dispenser or a confetti dispenser.
Piccionelli teaches wherein the portable electronic display comprises an aperture that receives at least one of a smoke dispenser or a confetti dispenser (FIG. 2, [0009], [0015], [0097], [0114], [0120], and [0136]: the ornament includes a variety of enhancement devices that produces special effects. Thus, the ornament comprises an aperture to accommodate a special effects engine for smoke or confetti).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gudai by incorporating the teachings of Piccionelli so as to include wherein the portable electronic display comprises an aperture that receives at least one of a smoke dispenser or a confetti dispenser. Doing so would allow for transmission of a more appealing and impactful message, characterized by special effects from a smoke dispenser or a confetti dispenser, that may more effectively garner attention from and convey meaning to intended recipients. The incorporation of such an added special effect could help reduce the likelihood of intended recipients (i) not adequately focusing on the personalized message or (ii) missing the personalized message altogether.
Regarding claim 20, Gudai in view of Piccionelli teaches the system of claim 19. Gudai in view of Piccionelli further teaches wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a door that maintains the smoke or the confetti in the aperture; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the door and disperse at least some of the smoke or the confetti ([0098], [0120]: confetti or smoke is housed by the ornament’s door and is released when the ornament’s door is activated) (See rationale provided for claim 19).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudai et al. (US 2020/0090216 A1), in view of Piccionelli (US 2021/0361105 A1), in view of Shlomot (US 2016/0236102 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Gudai teaches the system of claim 13.
Gudai does not explicitly teach wherein: the portable electronic display comprises a sparkler; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the sparkler.
Piccionelli teaches the portable electronic display comprises a special effect engine; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the special effect engine (FIGS. 1-2 and [0056-0068]: personalized message is sent via data transmission from controller 16 to a screen/display member 20; [0009], [0015], [0097], [0114], [0120], and [0136]: ornament/portable electronic display comprises a special effect engine such as a smoke or confetti dispenser which is activated according to instructions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gudai by incorporating the teachings of Piccionelli so as to include wherein the portable electronic display comprises a special effect engine; and sending the personalized message comprises sending instructions to cause the portable electronic display to activate the special effect engine. Doing so would allow for transmission of a more appealing and impactful message, characterized by special effects, that may more effectively garner attention from and convey meaning to intended recipients. The incorporation of such an added special effect could help reduce the likelihood of intended recipients (i) not adequately focusing on the personalized message or (ii) missing the personalized message altogether.
Gudai in view of Piccionelli does not explicitly teach the special effect engine being a sparkler.
Schlomot teaches the special effect engine being a sparkler (FIGS. 3 and 10 and [0066]: portable electronic display/yo-yo 300 includes an auxiliary device 330 which acts as a sparkler with miniature firework payloads).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gudai in view of Piccionelli by incorporating the teachings of Schlomot so as to include wherein the special effect engine is a sparkler. Doing so would further allow for transmission of a more appealing and impactful message, characterized by pyrotechnics, that may more effectively garner attention from and convey meaning to intended recipients. The incorporation of such an added special effect could further help reduce the likelihood of intended recipients (i) not adequately focusing on the personalized message or (ii) missing the personalized message altogether. Specifically, sparklers may provide a more visually dynamic and tactile showcase to better capture and sustain viewers’ attention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including:
US 2018/0225716 A1: approval of advertising graphics
US 2016/0294820 A1: card-design process including approval step
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171