DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolf et al. (US Patent 9,669,807).
Re claim 1, Wolf et al. discloses a vehicle vent curtain comprising an inlet (11, figure 1) for enabling air to enter the vent curtain; a first branch (17, figure 1) for directing air flow to an external side of a vehicle, a second branch (16, figure 1) for directing air at a wheel and brake, at a front end of a wheel well (2, figure 1), both branches being open so that flow simultaneously enters the wheel well from the second branch and passes over a brake cooling the brake and the air flow from the first branch passes to the external side of the vehicle for enhancing aerodynamics during brake cooling (see column 1, lines 61-67).
Re claim 2, the first branch includes an outlet having an elongated rectangular configuration (29, figure 3).
Re claim 3, the first branch has an overall rectangular configuration in cross section (as seen in figure 3).
Re claim 5, the second branch has an outlet (24, figure 3) with an elongated configuration (the branch itself is elongated).
Re claim 8, the second branch has an overall L-shape configuration with a short leg (as seen in figure 3) having an outlet (24, figure 3).
Re claim 9, an end of the short leg includes the outlet angled with respect to its body to exit air flow toward a wheel well (see figure 1 which shows the angling of 16 toward the wheel well).
Re claim 10, Wolf et al. discloses a vehicle including a vent curtain comprising a front fascia (3, figure 1) including an opening (11, figure 1); an inlet (37, figure 1) on the air curtain adjacent the opening for enabling air flow to enter the air curtain, a first branch (17, figure 1) for directing air flow to an external side of a vehicle; a second branch (17, figure 1) for directing air at a wheel (1, figure 1) and brake (9, figure 1), at a front end of a wheel well, both branches being open so that flow simultaneously enters the wheel well from the second branch and passes over a brake cooling the brake and the air flow from the first branch passes to the external side of the vehicle for enhancing aerodynamics (see column 1, lines 61-67).
Re claim 11, the first branch includes an outlet having an elongated rectangular configuration (29, figure 3).
Re claim 12, the first branch has an overall rectangular configuration in cross section (as seen in figure 3).
Re claim 14, the second branch has an outlet (24, figure 3) with an elongated configuration (the branch itself is elongated).
Re claim 17, the second branch has an overall L-shape configuration with a short leg (as seen in figure 3) having an outlet (24, figure 3).
Re claim 18, an end of the short leg includes the outlet angled with respect to its body to exit air flow toward a wheel well (see figure 1 which shows the angling of 16 toward the wheel well).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al. (US Patent 9,669,807).
Wolf discloses all the limitations of the claims, as applied above, except for the outlet having a larger height dimension than the cross section of the first branch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a vehicle vent curtain, such as that disclosed by Wolf, to have the outlet have a larger height dimension than the cross section of the first branch since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 6, 7, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al. (US Patent 9,669,807) in view of Gibson (US Patent 9,487,251).
Re claims 6 and 15, Wolf et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim as applied above, except for the second branch having an overall rectangular configuration in cross section.
Gibson et al. teaches a second branch (48, 1-3) having an overall rectangular configuration in cross section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a vehicle vent curtain, such as that disclosed by Wolf et al., to have the second branch have an overall rectangular configuration in cross section, as taught by Gibson et al., in order to better fit the device in a vehicle which includes less transverse space for its mounting.
Re claims 7 and 16, Wolf et al. in view of Gibson disclose all the limitations of the claims, as applied above, except for the outlet having a larger height than the cross section of the second branch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a vehicle vent curtain, such as that disclosed by Wolf in view of Gibson above, to have the outlet have a larger height dimension than the cross section of the first branch since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose vehicle venting mechanisms.
US Patent Application Publication 2015/0345578 discloses a bifurcated ducting system.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
June 13, 2026