DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 20 have been amended by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 201.04, 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on Continuation of 16522476, filed 07/25/2019, and further from provisional Application 62703147, filed 07/25/2018, and claims priority from Provisional Application 62741825, filed 10/05/2018, and also claims foreign priority to CN 201921076323.3, filed 07/10/2019 (China).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 201.15.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62703147, filed 07/25/2018, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically the claimed subject matter involving optical element driving mechanism including a metallic member, disposed on the base, comprising an inner electrical connection part and an outer electrical connection part, wherein the inner electrical connection part and the outer electrical connection part are connected to each other, and as detailed in Figs. 129-136 and related descriptions of the instant application is not supported and described in provisional application 62703147. Therefore, the priority benefit applies to Provisional Application 62741825, having priority date of 10/05/2018.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeo (of record, see IDS dated 10/09/2024) US 20170168315 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Yeo teaches (see Figs. 1-18) an optical element driving mechanism (i.e. less driving device, motor, with OIS and AF functionalities, Abstract, paragraphs [03, 11-29, 58-64, 66-75, 80-91, 103-105, 106-117, 124-125], see e.g. Figs. 2-9), comprising:
a fixed part, comprising a base (e.g. housing 300, base 400, cover can 100, of module 10’, or base substrate 22 of 10, paragraphs [61-64, 66-75], Figs. 1-9);
a movable part (bobbin 200 with lens barrel and lens(es), paragraphs [61-64, 66-75], Figs. 1-3, 9), movably connected to the fixed part, carrying an optical element having 5an optical axis (as 200 has lens barrel with lens having optical axis along Z-direction and 200 moves along optical axis, and is connected through elastic elements 700 to housing 300 and base, Figs. 2, 5, 11, paragraphs [61-64, 66-75, 81-92], Figs. 1-9]);
a metallic member, disposed on the base (substrate 600 FPCB with metallic electrical connections, side springs 730a,b and electrical power input/output members 710a,b, supplying electrical power to first coil 520, paragraphs [61, 90-96,100-104,108-110, 113-116]) comprising a plurality of inner electrical connection parts and a plurality of outer electrical connection parts (i.e. as terminals and soldering tabs 610a,b of 610 with engaging portions 732,732a of 730a, 730b, and terminal portion 620, which are along e.g. X-direction and Y-direction, paragraphs [61, 90-96,100-104,108-110, 113-116] as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 5-7),
a driving assembly (actuator 500, paragraphs [61, 66, 76, 86-88, 101, 136]), comprising at least one driving magnetic element (e.g. 510, paragraphs [61, 66, 76, 86-88, 101, 136], Fig. 2) and a coil (first coil, 520 paragraphs [61, 66, 76, 86-88, 101, 136]), driving (500) the 10movable part to move relative to the fixed part (as 500 moves e.g. 200 relative to fixed parts including 300, along Z direction, also 400, 100, paragraphs [61, 66, 76, 86-88, 101, 136], Fig. 2),
wherein when observed along the optical axis, the inner electrical connection parts are disposed on a first side of the base, and the inner electrical connection parts are arranged along the first side and a first axis, and where in the first axis is perpendicular to the optical axis (e.g. as observed along Z-direction, 610a,b 712b, are on first side e.g. left/right side of base, housing 400,300 and is parallel to X-axis direction, which is perpendicular to Z-axis that is the optical axis, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61]),
wherein when observed along the optical axis the outer electrical connection part is disposed on a second side of the base, and the outer electrical connection parts are arranged along the second side and a second axis (as e.g. 620 terminals are on front side of the base, housing 400,300 parallel to Y-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61]), and wherein the first side is not parallel to the second side, and wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis (i.e. as left/right side parallel to X-axis is not parallel to front side that is parallel to Y-axis see Figs. 1-2,6-7, and second axis as Y-axis is perpendicular to optical Z-axis, and perpendicular to first X-axis as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61], see annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below),
wherein no inner electrical connection part is disposed on the second side of the base (as no connecting parts 610a,b that are arranged along the left/right side of 400,300 are disposed on front side of 400,300, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61), and no outer electrical connection part is disposed on the first side of the base (as no connecting terminals 620 that are arranged along the front side of 400,300, are disposed on right/left side of 400,300, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, also 7, 5, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]),
wherein the driving assembly is electrically connected to the outer electrical connection parts via the inner electrical connection parts (i.e. as terminals 620 and soldering tabs/portions of 600, 610a,b 730a,b noted above supply electrical power to first coil 520, see e.g. paragraphs [90-96,100-104,108-110, 113-116,125], Figs. 1-2, 7),
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
wherein the inner electrical connection part is extended along the optical axis (i.e. as 610a,b of 610 have engaging portions 732,732a of 730a, 730b, that are extended along the optical axis along Z-direction, paragraphs [100-104,108-110, 113-116] as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 5-7).
Annotated Figs. 1 and 2 of Yeo depicting left/right side parallel to X-axis, and front side parallel to Y-axis, where X- and Y-axis are perpendicular and perpendicular to optical Z-axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (hereafter Hu, of record, see IDS dated 10/09/2024) US 20180031854 A1 in view of Yeo (of record, see IDS dated 10/09/2024) US 20170168315 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) an optical element driving mechanism (i.e. less driving device 1 with OIS 20 and lens module 10, 10’, Abstract, paragraphs [06-19, 40-44, 52-60, 69-72], see e.g. Figs. 2-5, 11-14), comprising:
a fixed part, comprising a base (e.g. frame 10 with cover 18 and base 12 of module 10’, or base substrate 22 of 10, Figs. 2, 5, 11, paragraphs [40-43, 52-60, 69-72]);
a movable part (holder 13 holding/sustaining a lens paragraphs [06, 40-43, 53-60, 69-72]), movably connected to the fixed part, carrying an optical element having 5an optical axis (holder 13 holding/sustaining a lens having optical axis along z-direction movably connected through elastic elements 15, 16 to frame 11, Figs. 2, 5, 11, paragraphs [56-60, 69-72]);
a metallic member, disposed on the base (metallic conductive member(s) P, paragraphs [59-60, 70-72], with also metallic circuit board 21, 22, paragraphs [44-46,58-63, 66-68], Figs. 9-13,3-4) comprising a plurality of inner electrical connection parts and a plurality of outer electrical connection parts (i.e. as any of connecting parts P on top side of 12, and connecting parts P at positions E, paragraphs [71-72, 57-60], as depicted in Figs. 11-13, such parts are further connected to wiring layer 211 and 210A, 210B, paragraphs [44-45], Figs. 3-4); and
a driving assembly (14), comprising at least one driving magnetic element (e.g. M1),
and a coil (coil C) driving the 10movable part to move relative to the fixed part (electromagnetic driving mechanism 14 with magnet(s) e.g. M1 and coil C, driving the holder 13 relative to 12, 11, paragraphs [52, 55-57, 59, 70]);
wherein when observed along the optical axis the inner electrical connection parts are disposed on a first side of the base (i.e. as observed along the optical axis z-axis, connecting parts P are disposed on first/top side of base 12, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]), and the inner electrical connection parts are arranged along the first side and a first axis, and where in the first axis is perpendicular to the optical axis (as connecting parts P are arranged along the first/top side of base 12 along first X-axis, which is perpendicular to optical axis O which is Z-axis as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63,40], please refer to annotated Figs. 13 below),
wherein when observed along the optical axis, the outer electrical connection parts are disposed on a second side of the base (i.e. as observed along optical z-axis, connecting parts P at E are disposed on second side e.g. as right side and left side, or inside round side of the base, or parts P2 and P1, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]), and the outer electrical connection parts are arranged along the second side (as , connecting parts P at E are arranged along the second side e.g. as right side and left side, or inside round side of the base, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, also 7, 5, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]), wherein the first side is not parallel to the second side (i.e. as the first/ top side and second/right and/or left side, or round side of the base 12 are not parallel to one another as they are top side of rectangular/square base 12 and round side or round right/left side of base 12 in plane that is perpendicular to optical axis O (z-axis), as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, paragraphs [71-72]),
wherein no inner electrical connection part is disposed on the second side of the base (as no connecting parts P that are arranged along the first/top side of base 12 are disposed on inside right/left side, or round side of the base 12, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]), and no outer electrical connection part is disposed on the first side of the base (as no connecting parts P at E that are arranged along the second side e.g. as right side and left side, or inside round side of the base are disposed on first/top side of the base 12, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, also 7, 5, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]),
wherein the driving assembly is electrically connected to the outer electrical connection parts via the inner electrical connection parts (i.e. as coil C of 14 is connected to connecting parts P on top side of 12, which are connected to connecting parts P at positions E, as parts P2 and P1, are also connecting parts P at positions E are connected to wiring layer 211 at 211A on 210 of 21, hence external power source can applies a driving signal (e.g., current) to the coil C, e.g. paragraphs [70-72, 57-62, 66-68], as depicted in e.g. Figs. 11-13, also 7-10; also parts of wiring layer 211 and parts 210A, and 210B are connected, see paragraphs [44-45], Figs. 3-4),
wherein the inner electrical connection part is extended along the optical axis (i.e. as e.g. connecting parts P, is disposed on first/top side of base 12 are directly connecting to terminal 17C of sensing assembly 17, and are extending in optical axis Z-direction as clearly depicted in Fig. 12, see paragraphs [70-72, 59-63, 67], and as also connecting parts P at E positions (P1) of base 12 that connect to 211 of 21 via extending portion T towards 21, in optical axis Z-direction, Fig. 10, paragraphs [70-72, 59-63, 67]).
Hu does not specify that the outer electrical connection parts are arranged also along a second axis, and wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis (i.e. along optical z-axis, connecting parts P at E points are disposed on second side e.g. as right side and left side of the base, in Figs. 13, 11, but are not along a second axis, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]).
However, Yeo teaches in the same field of invention of a lens driving device (see Figs. 1-18, lens driving device, motor, with OIS and AF functionalities, Abstract, paragraphs [03, 11-29, 58-64, 66-75, 80-91, 103-105, 106-117, 124-125], e.g. Figs. 2-9), and further teaches that
observing along the optical axis the outer electrical connection part is disposed on a second side of the base, and the outer electrical connection parts are arranged along the second side and a second axis (as e.g. 620 terminals are on front side of the base, housing 400,300 parallel to Y-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61]), and further that the second axis is perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis (i.e. as left/right side parallel to X-axis is not parallel to front side that is parallel to Y-axis see Figs. 1-2,6-7, and second axis as Y-axis is perpendicular to optical Z-axis, and perpendicular to first X-axis as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61, 104], see annotated Figs. 1 and 2 above, providing power and connectivity to camera module circuit boards with multiple terminals),
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the outer electrical connection parts of Hu so that they are arranged on a second side of the base, and the outer electrical connection parts are arranged along the second side and the second axis that is perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis according to teachings of Yeo in order to provide power and connectivity to camera module circuit boards with multiple terminals, see Yeo paragraphs [58-61,104]),
Regarding claim 2, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the driving assembly comprises at least two driving magnetic elements disposed on two opposite sides of the base (i.e. as 14 has at least two magnets M1 disposed on opposite sides of the base 12, as depicted in Figs 11, 5, paragraphs [52, 56-57, 70]).
Regarding claim 3, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that when 15observed in a direction of the optical axis, the outer electrical connection parts partially overlap one of the at least two driving magnetic elements (i.e. as connecting parts P overlap at least partially with magnets M1, in optical axis direction, as depicted by Figs. 13, 11 and 7, 5, paragraphs [59-61, 69-71]).
Regarding claim 4, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the first side and the second side are perpendicular to the optical axis (i.e. as the above top and left (or right) sides of the base 12 are perpendicular to one another as they are sides of rectangular/square base 12 and in plane that is perpendicular to optical axis O (z-axis), as depicted in Figs. 13, 11 and 7, 5).
Regarding claim 5, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the at least one driving magnetic element is not disposed on the first side (i.e. as magnetic element M1 is not on the top side of 12, as depicted in Figs. 11-13, paragraphs [69-71]).
Regarding claim 6, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the base further comprises a standing wall disposed on the first side (i.e. as upwards projecting side portion of the base 12 and circuit board 17A on top side of the base 12, as depicted in Figs. 12 and 11, paragraphs [69-71]), and the standing wall extends along 10the optical axis (i.e. as upwards projecting side of the base 12 and circuit board 17A on top side of the base 12, extending in direction of optical axis O (z direction), as depicted in Figs. 12 and 11, paragraphs [69-71]).
Regarding claim 7, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) further comprising a position sensing assembly (as sensing chip 17B of 17, as depicted in Figs.12, 11, paragraphs [69-71]), electrically connected to the inner electrical connection parts (i.e. as conductive member(s) P of the inner electrical connection parts are connected to 17B 17 via conductive terminals 17C, paragraphs [70-71], see Figs. 11-13, wherein the position sensing assembly is disposed on an inner side wall of the standing wall, and the inner side wall faces the movable part (as sensing chip 17B of 17 is disposed on upwards projecting side of the base 12 and circuit board 17A which faces the moving holder 13, as depicted in Figs.12, 11, paragraphs [69-71]).
Regarding claim 8, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the 15metallic member is adjacent to the standing wall (as conductive member(s) P are adjacent to upwards projecting side of base 12 and 17A, Figs. 12-11), and the metallic member is electrically connected to the position sensing assembly (i.e. as conductive member(s) P are connected to 17B 17 via conductive terminals 17C, paragraphs [70-71], see Figs. 11-13).
Regarding claim 9, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the standing wall further comprises a protruding part formed on the inner side wall (i.e. as protruding part next to 17B and/or protruding part of the upwards projecting base 12, as clearly depicted in Fig. 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 12, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the coil is disposed on the movable part (coil C on holder 13, paragraphs [55-59], e.g. Figs. 11-5).
Regarding claim 13, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the outer electrical connection parts receive an external electrical current (i.e. as the outer conductive member(s) P on 12 are connected to external power source for supplying electrical power to coil C via 16, paragraph [59, 69-70]), and the current flows to the coil through the elastic assembly (i.e. power is delivered via 16, paragraphs [59]), so that the coil and the at least one driving magnetic element drive 15the movable part to move relative to the fixed part (i.e. providing 14 with M1, and C to move the lens holder 13, paragraphs [56-59, 69-70]).
Regarding claim 14, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the outer electrical connection parts are directly connected to an external electrical current (i.e. as connecting parts P at positions E are directly connected to wiring layer 211 at 211A of 21 providing external power source that applies a driving signal e.g. current the coil C, paragraphs [70-72, 57-62, 66-68], as depicted in e.g. Figs. 11-13, also 7-10).
Regarding claim 15, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the coil comprises a coil extension electrically connected to the lower spring (as the coil C has coil end(s)/lead(s) is electrically connected to lower spring 16 at connecting par(s) of 16, as described in paragraphs [71-72], as depicted in Figs. 11-13), wherein the coil extension (coil C end(s) paragraphs [59-71-72]) extends from the coil to surroundings of the inner electrical connection part (i.e. given the electrical connection the coil C end(s) extends to surroundings of connecting parts P on top side of 12, as described in paragraphs [71-72, 59-60], as depicted in Figs. 5-7, 11-13, see also claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 16, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the inner electrical connection part is connected to lower spring by a connector (as connecting parts P on top/first side of 12 at 17C, are connected to coil C by connector as board 17A and/or connecting terminal 17C, as described in paragraphs [71-72], as depicted in Figs. 11-13), wherein the connector (as connector conductive parts of circuit board 17A and 17C and connecting part of resilient spring 16 , paragraphs [71-72, 57-60]) is disposed between the inner electrical connection parts, and the coil extension (i.e. as best understood and given the nature of electrical connections, the connector conductive parts of circuit board 17A, 17C, connecting part of resilient spring 16 is between and electrically connects connecting parts P on top side of 12 at 17C, the coil C end(s) and lower spring16 at connecting par(s) of 16, as described in paragraphs [71-72, 59-60], as depicted in Figs. 5-7, 11-13).
In regard to independent claim 20, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) an optical element driving mechanism (i.e. less driving device 1 with OIS 20 and lens module 10, 10’, Abstract, paragraphs [06-19, 40-44, 52-60, 69-72], see e.g. Figs. 2-5, 11-14), comprising:
a fixed part, comprising a base (e.g. frame 10 with cover 18 and base 12 of module 10’, or base substrate 22 of 10, Figs. 2, 5, 11, paragraphs [40-43, 52-60, 69-72]);
a movable part (holder 13 holding/sustaining a lens paragraphs [06, 40-43, 53-60, 69-72]), movably connected to the fixed part, carrying an optical element having 5an optical axis (holder 13 holding/sustaining a lens having optical axis along z-direction movably connected through elastic elements 15, 16 to frame 11, Figs. 2, 5, 11, paragraphs [56-60, 69-72]);
a metallic member, disposed on the base (metallic conductive member(s) P, paragraphs [59-60, 70-72], with also metallic circuit board 21, 22, paragraphs [44-46,58-63, 66-68]) comprising an inner electrical connection part and an outer electrical connection part (i.e. as any of connecting parts P on top side of 12 and connecting parts P at positions E, paragraphs [71-72, 57-60], as depicted in Figs. 11-13; also connected to parts of wiring layer 211 and 210A, 210B, paragraphs [44-45], Figs. 3-4),
wherein the inner electrical connection part and the outer electrical connection part are connected to each other (i.e. as connecting parts P on top side of 12 and connecting parts P at positions E, or parts P2 and P1, are connected, and connecting parts P at positions E are connected to wiring layer 211 at 211A on 210 of 21, paragraphs [71-72, 57-62, 66-68], as depicted in e.g. Figs. 11-13, also 7-10; also parts of wiring layer 211 and parts 210A, and 210B are connected, see paragraphs [44-45], Figs. 3-4);
a driving assembly (14), comprising at least one driving magnetic element (e.g. M1),
and a coil (C), wherein the driving assembly (14) drives the 10movable part to move relative to the fixed part (electromagnetic driving mechanism 14 with magnet(s) e.g. M1 and coil C, driving the holder 13 relative to 12, 11, paragraphs [52, 55-57, 59, 70]), and the coil comprises a coil extension (i.e. as coil C has coil ends connected to elastic member 16 and conductive member(s) on 12 to circuit board 21, see paragraphs [59-60, 67, 71-72]);
an elastic assembly (elastic/resilient members 15, 16, Figs. 11, 5, e.g. paragraphs [52, 56-59, 69-72]), comprising a lower spring (i.e. lower elastic member 16, e.g. Figs. 11,5), wherein the lower spring is elastically connected to the fixed part and the movable part (i.e. as elastic elements 15, 16 connected to fixed base, frame 12, 11 and the moving holder 13, paragraphs [52, 56-59, 69-72], see Figs. 11, 5); and
a position sensing assembly, electrically connected to the inner electrical connection part via an internal circuit (i.e. sensing chip 17B of sensing assembly 17 at top side of the base 12, connected to internal circuit board 17A which is connected to inner connectors P at first/top side of 12 through conductive terminal 17C of 17A, as depicted in Figs. 11-13, paragraphs [69-71]),
wherein the inner electrical connection part is disposed on a first side of the base and is arranged along a first axis (as connecting parts P are arranged along the first/top side of base 12 along first X-axis, which is perpendicular to optical axis O which is Z-axis as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, see paragraphs [70-72, 59-63,40,50], please refer to annotated Figs. 13 below), and the outer electrical connection part is disposed on a second side of the base (i.e. as connecting parts P is disposed on first/top side of base 12, and connecting parts P at E are disposed on second/right side (or alternatively the left side) of the base 12, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]), wherein the optical axis, the first axis and the second axis are perpendicular to each other (i.e. as optical O axis (Z axis) is perpendicular to first X-axis, and second Y-axis, e.g. Figs. 11,13, paragraphs [70-72, 40,50])
wherein the first side is perpendicular to the second side when observed along the optical axis (i.e. as the first/ top side and second/right (or left) side of the base 12 are perpendicular to one another as they are sides of rectangular/square base 12 and in plane that is perpendicular to optical axis O (z-axis), as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, paragraphs [71-72]), wherein the first side is perpendicular to the second axis (i.e. as top side with P connecting points along the X-axis is perpendicular to second Y-axis, e.g. Figs. 11,13, paragraphs [70-72, 40,50]),
wherein the inner electrical connection part is extended along the optical axis (i.e. as e.g. connecting parts P is disposed on first/top side of base 12 are directly connecting to terminal 17C of sensing assembly 17, and are extending in optical axis Z-direction as clearly depicted in Fig. 12, see paragraphs [70-72, 59-63, 67], and as also connecting parts P at E positions (P1) of base 12 that connect to 211 of 21 via extending portion T towards 21, in optical axis Z-direction, Fig. 10, paragraphs [70-72, 59-63, 67]),
wherein the coil extension is electrically connected to the lower spring (as the coil C end(s)/lead(s) is electrically connected to lower spring 16 at connecting par(s) of 16, as described in paragraphs [71-72], as depicted in Figs. 11-13),
wherein the inner electrical connection part is connected to lower spring by a connector (as connecting parts P on top/first side of 12 at 17C, are connected to coil C by connector as board 17A and/or connecting terminal 17C, as described in paragraphs [71-72], as depicted in Figs. 11-13), thereby the inner electrical connection part is electrically connected to the coil and the position sensing assembly (i.e. since connecting parts P on top/first side of 12 at 17C, are electrically connected to coil C, as described in paragraphs [71-72], as depicted in Figs. 11-13, . and since sensing chip 17B of sensing assembly 17 at top side of the base 12, is on and electrically connected to internal circuit board 17A that is connected to inner connectors P at first/top side of 12 through conductive terminal(s) 17C of 17A, as depicted in Figs. 11-13, paragraphs [69-71]),
wherein no inner electrical connection part is disposed on the second side of the base,
(as no connecting part(s) P that is/are arranged along the first/top side of base 12 are disposed on right/left side, of the base 12, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]), and no outer electrical connection part is disposed on the first side of the base (as no connecting parts P at E that are arranged along the second side e.g. as right side and left side, of the base 12 are disposed on first/top side of the base 12, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, also 7, 5, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63], see also annotated Fig. 13 below showing left/right side),
wherein the surface of the first side and the surface of the second side are parallel to the optical axis (as first/top side of base 12 includes outer surface that is parallel to optical axis O, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63], and as second side e.g. as right side and left side, or inside round side of the base 12 includes outer surface that extends into optical axis O direction and is thus parallel to optical axis O, also as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]).
Hu does not specify that the outer electrical connection parts are arranged also along a second axis, and the second side is perpendicular to the first axis (i.e. along optical Z-axis, connecting parts P at E points are disposed on second side e.g. as right side and left side of the base, in Figs. 13, 11, but are not along a second axis, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]).
However, Yeo teaches in the same field of invention of a lens driving device (see Figs. 1-18, lens driving device, motor, with OIS and AF functionalities, Abstract, paragraphs [03, 11-29, 58-64, 66-75, 80-91, 103-105, 106-117, 124-125], e.g. Figs. 2-9), and further teaches that
observing along the optical axis the outer electrical connection part is disposed on a second side of the base, and the outer electrical connection parts are arranged along the second side and a second axis (as e.g. 620 terminals are on front side of the base, housing 400,300 parallel to Y-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61]), and further that the second axis is perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis and the second side is perpendicular to the first axis (i.e. as left/right side parallel to X-axis is not parallel to front side that is parallel to Y-axis see Figs. 1-2,6-7, and second axis as Y-axis is perpendicular to optical Z-axis, and perpendicular to first X-axis, where the second side along Y axis is perpendicular to X-axis, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61, 104], see annotated Figs. 1 and 2 above, providing power and connectivity to camera module circuit boards with multiple terminals),
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the outer electrical connection parts of Hu so that they are arranged on a second side of the base, and the outer electrical connection parts are arranged along the second side and the second axis that is perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis according to teachings of Yeo in order to provide power and connectivity to camera module circuit boards with multiple terminals, see Yeo paragraphs [58-61,104]),
Annotated Fig. 13 of Hu
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (hereafter Hu, of record, see IDS dated 10/09/2024) US 20180031854 A1 in view of Osaka et al. (hereafter Osaka, of record, see IDS dated 10/09/2024) US 20170235094 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that a shortest 20distance between the protruding part and the movable part (i.e. distance between the protruding part on the side of 17B or upwards projecting part of 12 and 13 with coil C or second magnets M2, see Figs. 11, 12) and a shortest distance between the position sensing assembly and the movable part (distance between 17B and 13, M2 or C, Figs. 12, 11). But Hu is silent that a shortest 20distance between the protruding part and the movable part is shorter than a shortest distance between the position sensing assembly and the movable part.
However, Osaka teaches in the same field of invention of a lens holder driving device (see Figs. 1-9, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [16-18, 66-76, 94-97, 102]) and further teaches that a shortest 20distance between the protruding part and the movable part is shorter than a shortest distance between the position sensing assembly and the movable part (i.e. as the protruding part of 122 of the wall 122 of the base 12 is closer having shorter distance to 342a magnet on the lens holder 14, than the distance between position sensing assembly hole (Hall) sensor 344 and the 342a sensor magnet, as 344 is set into the hole 122a on 122, as depicted in Fig. 4, see paragraphs [94-97, 102] in order to provide optimally set position of hole sensor with the influence of the magnetic interference included improving the output of the 344 sensor and S/N ratio, see Osaka, paragraph [102]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Osaka of having the position sensor optimally set within the protruding wall part of the side base wall to the configuration of Hu modifying and slightly embedding the magnetic sensor in the protruding part in order to provide optimally set position of magnetic sensor with the influence of the magnetic interference included and thus improving the output of the 344 sensor and S/N ratio, (see Osaka, paragraph [102]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (hereafter Hu, of record) US 20180031854 A1 in view of Park (of record, see IDS dated 10/09/2024) US 20160320585 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the inner electrical connection part is connected to lower spring by a connector (as connecting parts P on top/first side of 12 at 17C, are connected to coil C by connector as board 17A and/or connecting terminal 17C, as described in paragraphs [71-72], as depicted in Figs. 11-13), wherein the connector (i.e. as Hu notes that conductive member P is with connector parts 17A, 17C and can be connected with connection element W as solder, see e.g. paragraphs [69-72, 59, 63], so that the bonding strength is improved), but is silent that the connector is solder made of tin alloy or electrically conductive glue.
However, Park is analogous art of a lens moving apparatus (see Figs. 1-12, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [05-25, 340-341]) and further teaches that connector solder electrically conductive glue (as conductive support 1220 and elastic member 1150 are conductively connected with conductive adhesive, thus providing conductivity between support conductors, elastic member(s) and coil 1120, paragraphs [340-341]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Park of using conductive solder as conductive adhesive to the elastic element and conducting member(s) of Hu in order to provide conductivity between such support conductors, the elastic member(s) and coil (see Park paragraphs [340-341]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (hereafter Hu, of record, see IDS dated 10/09/2024) US 20180031854 A1 in view of Hu et al. (hereafter Hu ‘376, of record, see IDS dated 10/09/2024) US 20170315376 A1.
Regarding claim 18, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) an optical element driving system (i.e. less driving device, Abstract, paragraphs [06-19, 40-44, 52-60, 69-72], see e.g. Figs. 2-5, 11-14), comprising optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 1 (i.e. lens driving device, 1 with 10, 10’, 20, see Figs. 2-5, 11-14, and claim 1 above), wherein the outer electrical connection parts of the optical element driving mechanisms are on a same side of the optical element driving system (i.e. as one of connecting parts P on top side of 12 and connecting parts P at positions E, paragraphs [71-72, 57-60], as depicted in Figs. 5-7, 11-13, is on the same side e.g. top side or inner left/right side of 12 of 10).
But Hu is silent that driving system comprises at least two optical element driving mechanisms.
However Hu ‘376 is related invention of a dual lens camera system (see Figs. 1-14, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [2, 04-24, 44-54]) and further teaches that driving system comprises at least two optical element driving mechanisms (i.e. as dual-lens camera system 1 with two lens driving modules 2 provided side by side with AF and OIS functionality, and also having connecting parts on the same side of the optical driving modules as depicted for connectors of circuit board 80 and 90, see paragraphs [44-54], therefore providing dial-lens camera system with two separate lens driving modules moving two separate lenses with reduced magnetic interference generated by the magnetic elements of the two lens driving modules, and thereby improving the focus speed and accuracy of the lenses in the dual-lens camera system, see Hu ‘376 abstract, paragraphs [02, 04]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention apply the teaching of Hu ‘376 of having two lens driving modules moving two separate lenses in such dual-lens camera system, to the lens driving device of Hu in order to provide providing dial-lens camera system with two separate lens driving modules moving two separate lenses with reduced magnetic interference generated by the magnetic elements of the two lens driving modules, and thereby improving the focus speed and accuracy of the lenses in the dual-lens camera system, see Hu ‘376 abstract, paragraphs [02, 04]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the lens drive module of Hu as presented in the dual-lens camera system of Hu ‘376 for the same benefits as noted above, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977).
Regarding claim 19, the Hu-Hu ‘376 combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the driving 20magnetic elements are not disposed on adjacent sides of the optical element driving mechanisms (i.e. as magnets M1 which are on opposite sides of 10, are not disposed on adjacent sides of 10, 14, as depicted in Figs. 11, 5, as modified by duplication with Hu ‘376).
Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (hereafter Hu, of record) US 20180031854 A1 in view of Osaka et al. (hereafter Osaka, of record) US 20170235094 A1.
Regarding claim 17, Hu teaches (see Figs. 1-14) further comprising: an elastic assembly, comprising a first lower spring and a second lower spring (elastic/resilient members 15, 16, Figs. 11, 5, e.g. paragraphs [52, 56-59, 69-72]), comprising a first lower spring and a second lower spring (i.e. lower elastic member 16 with independent different parts of 16 are connected to coil C and to conductive members P on top side of 12 also via board 17A, so that external power source can applies a driving signal (e.g., current) to the coil C, e.g. paragraphs [70-72, 57-62, 66-68], as depicted in e.g. Figs. 11-13, also 7-10),
wherein the inner electrical connection parts comprise a first inner electrical connection part and a second inner electrical connection part (as at least two different conductive members P on top side of 12 are needed to connect to coil C through resilient member 16 parts, also via board 17A, so that external power source can apply the driving signal (e.g., current) to the coil C, e.g. paragraphs [70-72, 57-62, 66-68], as depicted in e.g. Figs. 11-13, also 7-10), and wherein the first inner electrical connection part is connected to the first lower spring, and the second inner electrical connection part is connected to the second lower spring (because two different conductive members P on top side of 12 are needed to connect to coil C via plurality of, e.g. two independent portions of the elastic member 16, also via board 17A, so that external power source can apply the driving signal (e.g., current) to the coil C, e.g. paragraphs [70-72, 57-62, 66-68], as depicted in e.g. Figs. 11-13, also 7-10). However, in the interest of compact prosecution, assuming that the first lower spring and a second lower spring are separate elements that are parts of lower spring assembly, Hu doesn’t explicitly mention that first lower spring and a second lower spring are separate (i.e. as noted Hu describes the lower elastic member 16, where different parts, i.e. two independent portions of 16 are connected to two ends of coil C, and the conductive members P on top side of 12, so that external power source can applies a driving signal (e.g., current) to the coil C, e.g. paragraphs [59, 70-72, 57-62, 66-68], as depicted in e.g. Figs. 11-13, also 7-10).
However, Osaka teaches in the same field of invention of a lens holder driving device (see e.g. Figs. 1-10, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [01, 13-18, 70-78, 114-124]) and further teaches that first lower spring and a second lower spring are separate (i.e. as lower leaf spring 24 has two separate pieces 24-1, 24-2 which are needed to provide power to feed the coil 16, using separate 24-1 and 24-2 lower spring pieces with separate connection terminals 242-1, 244-1 and 242-2, 244-2 to connect to 16 and to external power on the FCP 40, see e.g. Figs. 1-2, 6-8, paragraphs [114-124]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify separate parts of lower spring/resilient element that are connected to different connecting conductive members P of Hu according to teachings of Osaka to have separate lover spring pieces that are also separately connected to driving coil, in order to achieve power feeding to driving coil vie such separate lower spring pieces (see Osaka, paragraphs [114-124]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 09/03/2026 with Respect to claims 1 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues on page 8-9 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Yeo does not disclose the amended features of claim 1 as “when observed along the optical axis, the inner electrical connection parts are disposed on a first side of the base, and the inner electrical connection parts are arranged along the first side and a first axis, and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to the optical axis, wherein when observed along the optical axis, the outer electrical connection parts are disposed on a second side of the base, and the outer electrical connection parts are arranged along the second side and a second axis, and wherein the first side is not parallel to the second side, and wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis, “ because connection points 610a, 610b (as the inner electrical connection parts) is parallel to the arranging direction of the terminal portion 620. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the above issue, as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Yeo teaches all limitations of claim 1, as Yeo teaches (see Figs. 1-18) an optical element driving mechanism (i.e. less driving device, motor, with OIS and AF functionalities, Abstract, paragraphs [03, 11-29, 58-64, 66-75, 80-91, 103-105, 106-117, 124-125], see e.g. Figs. 2-9), comprising:
a fixed part, comprising a base (e.g. housing 300, base 400, cover can 100, of module 10’, or base substrate 22 of 10, paragraphs [61-64, 66-75], Figs. 1-9);
a movable part (bobbin 200 with lens barrel and lens(es), paragraphs [61-64, 66-75], Figs. 1-3, 9), movably connected to the fixed part, carrying an optical element having 5an optical axis (as 200 has lens barrel with lens having optical axis along Z-direction and 200 moves along optical axis, and is connected through elastic elements 700 to housing 300 and base, Figs. 2, 5, 11, paragraphs [61-64, 66-75, 81-92], Figs. 1-9]);
a metallic member, disposed on the base (substrate 600 FPCB with metallic electrical connections, side springs 730a,b and electrical power input/output members 710a,b, supplying electrical power to first coil 520, paragraphs [61, 90-96,100-104,108-110, 113-116]) comprising a plurality of inner electrical connection parts and a plurality of outer electrical connection parts (i.e. as terminals and soldering tabs 610a,b of 610 with engaging portions 732,732a of 730a, 730b, and terminal portion 620, which are along e.g. X-direction and Y-direction, paragraphs [61, 90-96,100-104,108-110, 113-116] as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 5-7),
a driving assembly (actuator 500, paragraphs [61, 66, 76, 86-88, 101, 136]), comprising at least one driving magnetic element (e.g. 510, paragraphs [61, 66, 76, 86-88, 101, 136], Fig. 2) and a coil (first coil, 520 paragraphs [61, 66, 76, 86-88, 101, 136]), driving (500) the 10movable part to move relative to the fixed part (as 500 moves e.g. 200 relative to fixed parts including 300, along Z direction, also 400, 100, paragraphs [61, 66, 76, 86-88, 101, 136], Fig. 2),
wherein when observed along the optical axis, the inner electrical connection parts are disposed on a first side of the base, and the inner electrical connection parts are arranged along the first side and a first axis, and where in the first axis is perpendicular to the optical axis (e.g. as observed along Z-direction, 610a,b 712b, are on first side e.g. left/right side of base, housing 400,300 and is parallel to X-axis direction, which is perpendicular to Z-axis that is the optical axis, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61]),
wherein when observed along the optical axis the outer electrical connection part is disposed on a second side of the base, and the outer electrical connection parts are arranged along the second side and a second axis (as e.g. 620 terminals are on front side of the base, housing 400,300 parallel to Y-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61]), and wherein the first side is not parallel to the second side, and wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis (i.e. as left/right side parallel to X-axis is not parallel to front side that is parallel to Y-axis see Figs. 1-2,6-7, and second axis as Y-axis is perpendicular to optical Z-axis, and perpendicular to first X-axis as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61], see annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below),
wherein no inner electrical connection part is disposed on the second side of the base (as no connecting parts 610a,b that are arranged along the left/right side of 400,300 are disposed on front side of 400,300, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61), and no outer electrical connection part is disposed on the first side of the base (as no connecting terminals 620 that are arranged along the front side of 400,300, are disposed on right/left side of 400,300, as clearly depicted in Figs. 13, 11, also 7, 5, see paragraphs [71-72, 59-63]),
wherein the driving assembly is electrically connected to the outer electrical connection parts via the inner electrical connection parts (i.e. as terminals 620 and soldering tabs/portions of 600, 610a,b 730a,b noted above supply electrical power to first coil 520, see e.g. paragraphs [90-96,100-104,108-110, 113-116,125], Figs. 1-2, 7),
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
wherein the inner electrical connection part is extended along the optical axis (i.e. as 610a,b of 610 have engaging portions 732,732a of 730a, 730b, that are extended along the optical axis along Z-direction, paragraphs [100-104,108-110, 113-116] as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 5-7).
Annotated Figs. 1 and 2 of Yeo depicting left/right side parallel to X-axis, and front side parallel to Y-axis, where X- and Y-axis are perpendicular and perpendicular to optical Z-axis.
Specifically, Yeo teaches that when observed along the optical axis, the inner electrical connection parts are disposed on a first side of the base, and the inner electrical connection parts are arranged along the first side and a first axis, and where in the first axis is perpendicular to the optical axis (e.g. as observed along Z-direction, 610a,b 712b, are on first side e.g. left/right side of base, housing 400,300 and is parallel to X-axis direction, which is perpendicular to Z-axis that is the optical axis, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61]),
and when observed along the optical axis the outer electrical connection part is disposed on a second side of the base, and the outer electrical connection parts are arranged along the second side and a second axis (as e.g. 620 terminals are on front side of the base, housing 400,300 parallel to Y-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61]), and wherein the first side is not parallel to the second side, and wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis (i.e. as left/right side parallel to X-axis is not parallel to front side that is parallel to Y-axis see Figs. 1-2,6-7, and second axis as Y-axis is perpendicular to optical Z-axis, and perpendicular to first X-axis as depicted in Figs. 1-2,6-7, paragraphs [58-61], see annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below), It is specifically, noted that the claim language does not recite that the first or second side is specifically only one specific side, respectfully. Therefore, the cited prior art of Yeo teaches all limitations of independent claim 1 including the limitations raised under the above point.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 20 over the Hu reference, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
No additional substantial arguments were presented in the Remarks dated 09/03/2026 after page 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872