Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/09/2025 and 10/09/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 with generic claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 06/19/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims within Group II, specifically claim 15, is very closely related and would not cause a search burden. This is not found persuasive. Although Group I and Group II are related in that Group II is directed to an apparatus and method of manufacturing the product of Group I, the claims are directed to distinct inventions. Group I is directed to the apparatus/product itself; while Group II is directed to the manufacturing apparatus and manufacturing method for making the product. Claim 15 requires a manufacturing apparatus that manufactures the product claimed in Group I in addition to the limitations of the product. While claim 16 is method used by the manufacturing apparatus of claim 15.
Furthermore, since Group II is directed to the apparatus and method used to manufacture the liquid container apparatus of Group I, examination of Group II may require research in an entirely different field of prior art. The search for Group I would focus on the structure of the apparatus, while the search for Group II would also need to search for an apparatus/equipment and method/process used to produce the liquid container of Group I. Therefore, although similar in claimed subject matter, the search for both groups would not be the same.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-7, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the examiner is unsure how the “on-off valve” is claimed to “freely move” if the valve requires a tool to move it from one position to the second position and vice versa.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the examiner is unsure of the relationship between the tool and rotation mechanism. The first limitations of the claim states that the rotation mechanism rotates the tool, but the next limitation states “… the rotation mechanism is rotated in a first direction by the tool …”. Which limitation is true? Does the tool rotate the rotation mechanism? Or does the rotation mechanism rotate the tool?
Furthermore, the examiner is unsure how the tool changes the positions of the on-off valve when rotating. Is there some formation within the on-off valve that the tool catches when rotating? How does the tool reverse the on-off valve position when rotating the tool in a different direction? How does the on-off valve change position a second time when the tool is rotated further? Does “returns” require the valve to automatically move back to the first position or is the movement of the valve by the tool required? For claim 7, are the predetermined angles fixed? Is the first angle the same as the second angle??
Regarding claim 12, the examiner is unsure what the applicant means by a “suction nozzle” and its function based on the contradictory limitations terms used within the claim. Does the tool suck the air “in” the space? Would the tool not be a “pushing/pressure” nozzle, instead of suction, if it sucks air into the space? If the tool sucks air into a space, wouldn’t it cause a positive pressure within the space instead of a “negative pressure”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP H1148490 A) in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2004050748 A)
Sato discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 1, a liquid container (“ink tank 10”, Figure 1) to be detachably mounted to a container mounting portion (Figure 1 displays how the “ink tank 10” is detachably mounted to the “head-integrated ink tank holder”, as described in paragraph [0038].) of a printing apparatus (Paragraph [0081] describes an “ink jet recording apparatus”), comprising:
a bag body (“first storage chamber 34”, Figure 2) which contains a liquid therein (Paragraph [0076] describes how the “first storage chamber 34” stores ink.); and
an outlet unit (“ink supply port 14A”, Figure 2) having a supply channel unit (“ink supply cylinder 14”, Figure 2) which permits the liquid to be delivered to the printing apparatus from the bag body (Paragraph [0043] describes how the “ink supply cylinder 14” is connected to the “color inkjet head 22” to deliver ink to the ink jet recording apparatus), and
a bypass channel unit (“ink injection pipe 112”, Figure 11) which permits the liquid to be delivered to the bag body from the printing apparatus (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “ink injection pipe 112” allows ink from the “ink reservoir 120” of the “ink injecting apparatus to the “ink tank 10”.),
in the bypass channel unit (“ink injection pipe 112”, Figure 11), an on-off valve (“valve 114”, Figure 11) is disposed which is configured to be movable to a first position and a second position (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” can either be in a state of “open” or in a state of “close”.),
the first position being a position at which the on-off valve closes the bypass channel unit to not permit the liquid to be delivered (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” is “closed” to close off the flow of ink from going through the “ink injection pipe 112”),
the second position being a position at which the on-off valve opens the bypass channel unit to permit the liquid to be delivered (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” is “opened” to allow the ink to flow through the “ink injection pipe 112”), and
the on-off valve is configured to be freely moved between the first position and the second position by being operated by a tool from outside the liquid container to thereby switch opening and closing of the bypass channel unit (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” is closed or open depending on where the ink flow needs to go. Although Sato does not expressly identify the tool used to open and close the “valve 114”, movement of the “valve 114” necessarily requires an operation or mechanism capable of making the “valve 114” move. It would have been obvious to configure the valve to be movable by a tool external to the “ink tank 10”).
Regarding claim 14, a printing apparatus (Paragraph [0081] describes an “ink jet recording apparatus”) comprising:
a liquid container (“ink tank 10”, Figure 1) detachably mounted to a container mounting portion of the printing apparatus (Figure 1 displays how the “ink tank 10” is detachably mounted to the “head-integrated ink tank holder”, as described in paragraph [0038].);
a hollow needle insertable into an outlet unit included in the liquid container; and
a tool for moving an on-off valve included in the liquid container (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” is closed or open depending on where the ink flow needs to go. Although Sato does not expressly identify the tool used to open and close the “valve 114”, movement of the “valve 114” necessarily requires an operation or mechanism capable of making the “valve 114” move.),
wherein the liquid container (“ink tank 10”, Figure 1) includes:
a bag body (“first storage chamber 34”, Figure 2) which contains a liquid therein (Paragraph [0076] describes how the “first storage chamber 34” stores ink.); and
an outlet unit (“ink supply port 14A”, Figure 2) having
a supply channel unit (“ink supply cylinder 14”, Figure 2) which permits the liquid to be delivered to the printing apparatus from the bag body (Paragraph [0043] describes how the “ink supply cylinder 14” is connected to the “color inkjet head 22” to deliver ink to the ink jet recording apparatus), and
a bypass channel unit (“ink injection pipe 112”, Figure 11) which permits the liquid to be delivered to the bag body from the printing apparatus (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “ink injection pipe 112” allows ink from the “ink reservoir 120” of the “ink injecting apparatus to the “ink tank 10”.),
in the bypass channel unit (“ink injection pipe 112”, Figure 11), an on-off valve (“valve 114”, Figure 11) is disposed which is configured to be movable to a first position and a second position (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” can either be in a state of “open” or in a state of “close”.),
the first position being a position at which the on-off valve closes the bypass channel unit to not permit the liquid to be delivered (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” is “closed” to close off the flow of ink from going through the “ink injection pipe 112”),
the second position being a position at which the on-off valve opens the bypass channel unit to permit the liquid to be delivered (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” is “opened” to allow the ink to flow through the “ink injection pipe 112”), and
the on-off valve is configured to be freely moved between the first position and the second position by being operated by a tool from outside the liquid container to thereby switch opening and closing of the bypass channel unit (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” is closed or open depending on where the ink flow needs to go. Although Sato does not expressly identify the tool used to open and close the “valve 114”, movement of the “valve 114” necessarily requires an operation or mechanism capable of making the “valve 114” move. It would have been obvious to configure the valve to be movable by a tool external to the “ink tank 10”).
Regarding claim 2, the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the supply channel unit (Figure 2 displays how the “ink supply tube 14” defines the “ink supply port 14A”) includes a liquid supply hole to insert a hollow tube included in the printing apparatus (Paragraph [0043] describes how the “ink-jet head 22” has a “ink passage tube” that is entered into the “ink supply tube 14”.), a liquid inlet hole communicating with the bag body (Figure 2 displays how the “ink supply tube 14” has an inner hole that communicates with the “first storage chamber 34”), a liquid channel connecting the liquid supply hole and the liquid inlet hole to each other (Figure 2 displays how the “ink supply tube 14” functions as a connection between the two openings.), and the bypass channel unit (“ink injection pipe 112”, Figure 11) includes a bypass channel hole communicating with the bag body (“ink inlet 5”, Figure 11), and the on-off valve disposed at an intermediate portion of the bypass channel (Figure 11 displays how the “valve 114” is disposed within the intermediate portion of the “ink injection pipe 112”).
Regarding claim 3, the liquid container according to claim 2, wherein the printing apparatus (Paragraph [0081] describes an “ink jet recording apparatus”) includes a pump mechanism (“transport pump 160”, Figure 11) capable of delivering the liquid to the liquid container from the printing apparatus (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “transport pump 160” transports ink from the “ink reservoir 120” of the “ink jet recording apparatus” to the “liquid storage container 10” through the “ink injection pipe 115”.), and in a state where the liquid container is mounted to the printing apparatus (Figure 1 displays how the “ink tank 10” is detachably mounted to the “head-integrated ink tank holder” of the “ink jet recording apparatus”.) and the hollow tube is inserted in the liquid supply hole (Paragraph [0043] describes how the “ink-jet head 22” has a “ink passage tube” that is entered into the “ink supply tube 14”.), the delivery of the liquid to the printing apparatus from the liquid container is performed by delivering the liquid through the supply channel unit of the liquid container and the hollow tube (Paragraph [0043] describes how the “ink-jet head 22” has a “ink passage tube” that is entered into the “ink supply tube 14” to allow ink to be delivered to the “ink jet recording apparatus”.), and the delivery of the liquid to the liquid container from the printing apparatus is performed by delivering the liquid through the hollow tube, the liquid channel, and the bypass channel unit branching off from the liquid channel with the on-off valve of the bypass channel unit opened by the tool (Figure 11 displays how the ink from the “ink reservoir 120” flows to the “ink tank 10” first through the “ink transport pipe 117” and then through the branched out “ink injection pipe 112”. Paragraph [0101] describes how the “valve 114” is opened when the ink flow needs to go through the “ink injection pipe 112”. Although Sato does not expressly identify the tool used to open and close the “valve 114”, movement of the “valve 114” necessarily requires an operation or mechanism capable of making the “valve 114” move. It would have been obvious to configure the valve to be movable by a tool external to the “ink tank 10”).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood by the examiner the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the outlet unit (“ink supply port 14A”, Figure 2)
Regarding claim 7, as best understood by the examiner the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the outlet unit (“ink supply port 14A”, Figure 2).
Sato fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 1, a check valve is disposed which permits the liquid to be delivered to the printing apparatus from the bag body and does not permit the liquid to be delivered to the bag body from the printing apparatus
Regarding claim 2, and the check valve disposed at an intermediate portion of the liquid channel; a bypass channel branching off from an intermediate portion of the liquid channel forming the supply channel unit between the liquid supply hole and the check valve, and connected to the bypass channel hole
Regarding claim 3, a pump mechanism capable of delivering the liquid to the printing apparatus from the liquid container; the delivery of the liquid to the printing apparatus from the liquid container is performed with the on-off valve of the bypass channel unit closed.
Regarding claim 5, the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the on-off valve disposed in the bypass channel unit includes a valve element and a biasing member which has an elastic restoring force, and the on-off valve is moved to the second position from the first position against the elastic restoring force of the biasing member by the tool to thereby open the bypass channel unit, and is returned to the first position from the second position by being biased by the elastic restoring force of the biasing member to thereby maintain a state of closing the bypass channel unit.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the outlet unit further has a rotation mechanism which rotates the tool, and the on-off valve is moved to the second position from the first position in a case where the rotation mechanism is rotated in a first direction by the tool.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood by the examiner the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the outlet unit further has a rotation mechanism which rotates the tool, and the on-off valve is moved to the second position from the first position in a case where the rotation mechanism is rotated by a predetermined angle in a first direction by the tool.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 6, wherein the tool is a screwdriver, and the rotation mechanism has a shape of a recess corresponding to a shape of a tip portion of the screwdriver such that the screwdriver is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood by the examiner the liquid container according to claim 7, wherein the tool is a screwdriver, and the rotation mechanism has a shape of a recess corresponding to a shape of a tip portion of the screwdriver such that the screwdriver is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism.
Regarding claim 10 as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 6, wherein the tool is a key, and the rotation mechanism includes a key cylinder having a keyhole corresponding to a shape of the key such that the key is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism.
Regarding claim 11 as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 7, wherein the tool is a key, and the rotation mechanism includes a key cylinder having a keyhole corresponding to a shape of the key such that the key is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism.
Regarding claim 12 as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the tool is a suction nozzle which sucks air in a space communicating with a surface of the on-off valve and an atmosphere to generate a negative pressure.
Regarding claim 13 as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 12, wherein a constituent material of a tip portion of the suction nozzle contains an elastic material.
Regarding claim 14, a check valve is disposed which permits the liquid to be delivered to the printing apparatus from the bag body and does not permit the liquid to be delivered to the bag body from the printing apparatus.
However, Suzuki teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 1, a check valve is disposed which permits the liquid to be delivered to the printing apparatus from the bag body (Page 4, in the highlighted section after the [Check Valve] subtitle, describes how the “check valve 3” is disposed within the “first opening 7a” and allows the ink to flow from the “ink reservoir 2”.) and does not permit the liquid to be delivered to the bag body from the printing apparatus (Page 4, in the highlighted section after the [Check Valve] subtitle, describes how the “check valve 3” prevents ink to flow in reverse towards the “ink reservoir 2” as shown in Figure 5.)
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply a check valve is disposed which permits the liquid to be delivered to the printing apparatus from the bag body and does not permit the liquid to be delivered to the bag body from the printing apparatus taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of preventing air bubbles and impurities to enter the ink reservoir (Suzuki, page 4 in the highlighted section).
Regarding claim 2, the check valve disposed at an intermediate portion of the liquid channel (Figure 3 displays how the “check valve 3” is within the middle of the “communication path 5a” that connects the “first opening 7a” to the “ink reservoir 2”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply the check valve disposed at an intermediate portion of the liquid channel taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of preventing air bubbles and impurities to enter the ink reservoir (Suzuki, page 4 in the highlighted section).
The combination of Sato and Suzuki discloses the claimed invention except for a bypass channel branching off from an intermediate portion of the liquid channel forming the supply channel unit between the liquid supply hole and the check valve and connected to the bypass channel hole. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to a bypass channel branching off from an intermediate portion of the liquid channel forming the supply channel unit between the liquid supply hole and the check valve and connected to the bypass channel hole, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70(CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 3, a pump mechanism capable of delivering the liquid to the printing apparatus from the liquid container (Page 6, in the highlighted section, describes a “vacuum pump” that causes the “ink reservoir 2” to have a “negative pressure” and pull ink from the “ink filling needle 52”); the delivery of the liquid to the printing apparatus from the liquid container is performed with the on-off valve of the bypass channel unit closed (Figure 14D displays how the “bottom of the second opening 7b” is closed by the “valve seat” when the “hollow needle 8” of the “ink jet printer unit 10” is used to help the ink in the “ink reservoir 2” to flow to the “recording head unit 42”.)
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply the delivery of the liquid to the printing apparatus from the liquid container is performed with the on-off valve of the bypass channel unit closed taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of filling the ink reservoir with ink (Suzuki, page 6 in the highlighted section) and to further prevent air bubbles and impurities to enter the ink reservoir (Suzuki, page 8 in the highlighted section).
Regarding claim 5, the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the on-off valve (Figures 14A-D displays a “valve seat” on the inner bottom of the “second opening 7b”.) disposed in the bypass channel unit (“second opening 7b”, Figure 14) includes a valve element (“valve body 72”, Figures 14A-D) and a biasing member which has an elastic restoring force (Page 8, under the highlighted section, describes a spring not shown in the drawings that helps push the “valve body 72”.), and the on-off valve (Figures 14A-D displays a “valve seat” on the inner bottom of the “second opening 7b”.) is moved to the second position from the first position against the elastic restoring force of the biasing member by the tool to thereby open the bypass channel unit, and is returned to the first position from the second position by being biased by the elastic restoring force of the biasing member to thereby maintain a state of closing the bypass channel unit (Figure 14A-D displays the process of the “driver 73” turning the “shaft 70”, causing the spring to push the “valve body 72” and move the “valve seat” into a second position of closing the “bottom of the opening 7b”. Furthermore, it would be obvious to configure the spring and the “driver 73”, when the “driver 73” is rotated in the opposite direction, to also bias the “valve body 72” to move and open the “bottom of the opening 7b”).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply wherein the on-off valve disposed in the bypass channel unit includes a valve element and a biasing member which has an elastic restoring force, and the on-off valve is moved to the second position from the first position against the elastic restoring force of the biasing member by the tool to thereby open the bypass channel unit, and is returned to the first position from the second position by being biased by the elastic restoring force of the biasing member to thereby maintain a state of closing the bypass channel unit taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of managing the valve of the second opening using a tool to prevent air bubbles and impurities to enter the ink reservoir (Suzuki, page 8 in highlighted section).
Regarding claim 6, rejected as best understood by the examiner the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the outlet unit further has a rotation mechanism which rotates the tool (Figure 14A-D displays the process of the “driver 73” being rotated. Although Suzuki does not expressly identify what is used to rotate the “driver 73”, movement of the “driver 73” necessarily requires an operation or mechanism capable of making the “driver 73” move.), and the on-off valve is moved to the second position from the first position in a case where the rotation mechanism is rotated in a first direction by the tool (Figure 14A-D displays the process of the “driver 73” turning the “shaft 70”, which would be the rotation mechanism if the tool rotates the rotations mechanism, causing the spring to push the “valve body 72” and move the “valve seat” into a second position of closing the “bottom of the opening 7b”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply wherein the outlet unit further has a rotation mechanism which rotates the tool, and the on-off valve is moved to the second position from the first position in a case where the rotation mechanism is rotated in a first direction by the tool taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of managing the valve of the second opening using a tool to prevent air bubbles and impurities to enter the ink reservoir (Suzuki, page 8 in highlighted section).
Regarding claim 7, rejected as best understood by the examiner the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the outlet unit further has a rotation mechanism which rotates the tool (Figure 14A-D displays the process of the “driver 73” being rotated. Although Suzuki does not expressly identify what is used to rotate the “driver 73”, movement of the “driver 73” necessarily requires an operation or mechanism capable of making the “driver 73” move.), and the on-off valve is moved to the second position from the first position in a case where the rotation mechanism is rotated by a predetermined angle in a first direction by the tool (Figure 14A-D displays the process of the “driver 73” turning the “shaft 70”, which would be the rotation mechanism if the tool rotates the rotations mechanism, causing the spring to push the “valve body 72” and move the “valve seat” into a second position of closing the “bottom of the opening 7b”. Although Suzuki does not specifically express predetermined angle the “driver 73” needs to be at, the rotation of the “driver 72” means that there is inherently an angle that opens or closes the “valve seat”.),
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply wherein the outlet unit further has a rotation mechanism which rotates the tool, and the on-off valve is moved to the second position from the first position in a case where the rotation mechanism is rotated by a predetermined angle in a first direction by the tool, and the on-off valve is moved to the first position from the second position in a case where the rotation mechanism is further rotated by a predetermined angle taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of managing the valve of the second opening using a tool to prevent air bubbles and impurities to enter the ink reservoir (Suzuki, page 8 in highlighted section).
Regarding claim 8 as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 6, wherein the tool is a screwdriver (“screwdriver/driver 73”, Figures 14A-D), and the rotation mechanism (Figure 14A-D displays the process of the “driver 73” turning the “shaft 70”, which would be the rotation mechanism if the tool rotates the rotations mechanism.) has a shape of a recess corresponding to a shape of a tip portion of the screwdriver such that the screwdriver is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism (Figure 14A-D displays the how the “shaft 70” has a recess that corresponds to the shape of the “driver 73” so that the “screwdriver/driver 73” is used for rotating the ”shaft 70”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply wherein the tool is a screwdriver, and the rotation mechanism has a shape of a recess corresponding to a shape of a tip portion of the screwdriver such that the screwdriver is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of having a tool that can engage the rotation mechanism and move the valve (Suzuki, page 8 in highlighted section).
Regarding claim 9 as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 7, wherein the tool is a screwdriver (“screwdriver/driver 73”, Figures 14A-D), and the rotation mechanism (Figure 14A-D displays the process of the “driver 73” turning the “shaft 70”, which would be the rotation mechanism if the tool rotates the rotations mechanism.) has a shape of a recess corresponding to a shape of a tip portion of the screwdriver such that the screwdriver is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism (Figure 14A-D displays the how the “shaft 70” has a recess that corresponds to the shape of the “driver 73” so that the “screwdriver/driver 73” is used for rotating the ”shaft 70”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply wherein the tool is a screwdriver, and the rotation mechanism has a shape of a recess corresponding to a shape of a tip portion of the screwdriver such that the screwdriver is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of having a tool that can engage the rotation mechanism and move the valve (Suzuki, page 8 in highlighted section).
Regarding claim 10 as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 6, wherein the tool is a key (Figures 14A-D display a “screwdriver/driver 73” that, by definition, is a key as it unlocks or it turns), and the rotation mechanism (Figure 14A-D displays the process of the “driver 73” turning the “shaft 70”, which would be the rotation mechanism if the tool rotates the rotations mechanism.) includes a key cylinder having a keyhole corresponding to a shape of the key such that the key is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism (Figure 14A-D displays the how the “shaft 70” is a cylinder shape component that has a recess that corresponds to the shape of the “driver 73” so that the “screwdriver/driver 73” is used for rotating the ”shaft 70”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply wherein the tool is a key, and the rotation mechanism includes a key cylinder having a keyhole corresponding to a shape of the key such that the key is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of having a tool that can engage the rotation mechanism and move the valve (Suzuki, page 8 in highlighted section).
Regarding claim 11 as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 7, wherein the tool is a key (Figures 14A-D display a “screwdriver/driver 73” that, by definition, is a key as it unlocks or it turns), and the rotation mechanism (Figure 14A-D displays the process of the “driver 73” turning the “shaft 70”, which would be the rotation mechanism if the tool rotates the rotations mechanism.) includes a key cylinder having a keyhole corresponding to a shape of the key such that the key is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism (Figure 14A-D displays the how the “shaft 70” is a cylinder shape component that has a recess that corresponds to the shape of the “driver 73” so that the “screwdriver/driver 73” is used for rotating the ”shaft 70”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply wherein the tool is a key, and the rotation mechanism includes a key cylinder having a keyhole corresponding to a shape of the key such that the key is exclusively used for the rotation mechanism taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of having a tool that can engage the rotation mechanism and move the valve (Suzuki, page 8 in highlighted section).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood by the examiner the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the tool is a suction nozzle which sucks air in a space communicating with a surface of the on-off valve and an atmosphere to generate a negative pressure (Page 6, in the highlighted section, describes a “vacuum pump” that is in communication with the “check valve 3” and causes the “first series passage 5a” to have a “negative pressure”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid container taught by Sato to also apply wherein the tool is a suction nozzle which sucks air in a space communicating with a surface of the on-off valve and an atmosphere to generate a negative pressure taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of generating a negative pressure to allow the valve to open naturally (Suzuki, page 6 in the highlighted section).
Regarding claim 13 as best understood by the examiner, the liquid container according to claim 12, wherein a constituent material of a tip portion of the suction nozzle contains an elastic material
The combination of Sato and Suzuki does not disclose the following limitations of the constituent material of the tip portion of the suction nozzle being elastic. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize wherein the constituent material of the tip portion of the suction nozzle being elastic since it has been held to be with in the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use for the purpose of finding materials that can be used without permanent deformation occurring for the suction nozzle or liquid container. In re Leshin, 125, USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 14, a check valve is disposed which permits the liquid to be delivered to the printing apparatus from the bag body (Page 4, in the highlighted section after the [Check Valve] subtitle, describes how the “check valve 3” is disposed within the “first opening 7a” and allows the ink to flow from the “ink reservoir 2”.) and does not permit the liquid to be delivered to the bag body from the printing apparatus (Page 4, in the highlighted section after the [Check Valve] subtitle, describes how the “check valve 3” prevents ink to flow in reverse towards the “ink reservoir 2” as shown in Figure 5.)
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printing apparatus taught by Sato to also apply a check valve is disposed which permits the liquid to be delivered to the printing apparatus from the bag body and does not permit the liquid to be delivered to the bag body from the printing apparatus taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of preventing air bubbles and impurities to enter the ink reservoir (Suzuki, page 4 in the highlighted section).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the primary reason for allowance of claim 12 is the inclusion of with the “wherein the liquid is an ink containing a pigment color material which is a precipitating component and a liquid medium in which the pigment color material is dispersed, and the liquid container is configured such that liquid circulation can be performed in which the liquid is delivered to the printing apparatus from the liquid container through the supply channel unit and delivered to the liquid container from the printing apparatus through the bypass channel unit by using the pump mechanism in a case where the pigment color material in the ink in the printing apparatus or in the liquid container precipitates.”
Conclusion
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853