DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicants’ Communication received on October 9, 2024 for application number 18/910,372. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frank et al. (US PG Pub No. 2010/0258096 A1), hereinafter “Frank”.
Regarding claim 1, Frank discloses an intercooler assembly for an intercooler supercharger system (40), comprising: three separate, contiguous intercooler cores (Fig. 1 (30)), each including a top (Fig. 2 (top part of elements 30)) and a bottom (Fig. 2 (bottom parts of elements 30)), wherein two of the bottoms of the intercooler cores (Fig. 2 (bottom parts of elements 30)) are coplanar, and the bottom of the remaining intercooler core is not coplanar with the bottoms of the other two intercooler cores (Fig. 2 (bottom parts of elements 30)).
Regarding claim 2, Frank discloses the intercooler assembly of claim 1, wherein two of the bottoms of the intercooler cores (Fig. 2 (bottom parts of elements 30)) are disposed above the bottom of the remaining intercooler cores (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Frank discloses the intercooler assembly of claim 1, wherein two of the bottoms of the intercooler cores (Fig. 2 (bottom parts of elements 30)) are disposed below the bottom of the remaining intercooler core (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Frank discloses an intercooler assembly for an intercooler supercharger system (40), comprising: a plurality of separate, contiguous intercooler cores (Fig. 1 (30)), each including a top (Fig. 2 (top part of elements 30)) and a bottom (Fig. 2 (bottom parts of elements 30)), wherein at least two of the bottoms of the intercooler cores (Fig. 2 (bottom parts of elements 30)) are coplanar.
Regarding claim 5, Frank discloses the intercooler assembly of claim 4, wherein two of the bottoms of the plurality of separate, contiguous intercooler cores (Fig. 2 (bottom parts of elements 30)) are disposed above the bottom of a remaining of the plurality of separate, contiguous intercooler cores (Fig. 1 (30)).
Regarding claim 6, Frank discloses the intercooler assembly of claim 4, wherein two of the bottoms of the plurality of separate, contiguous intercooler cores (Fig. 2 (bottom parts of elements 30)) are disposed below the bottom of a remaining of the plurality of separate, contiguous intercooler cores (Fig. 1 (30)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,962. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 4 are basically claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,962 with minor English language syntax differences. Further on, claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,962 anticipates claims 1 and 4 of the instant present application. Still further, please refer to the following table for the correspondence of claims between the present application and U.S. Patent No. 12,116,962:
Application (18/910,372)
Claims
Patent (U.S. Patent No. 12,116,962)
Claims
1
8
4
1
Therefore, claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,962 anticipate claims 1-6 of the instant present application separately alone or altogether.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747