DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that this application is continuation of US patent application 18368097, filed on 09/14/2023; which is continuation of US patent application 17399320, filed on 08/11/2021; which is continuation of US patent application 16483830, filed on 08/06/2019; which is national stage of international patent application PCT/KR2018/001617, filed on 02/06/2018; which claims priority from US provisional application 62/455148, filed on 02/06/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2025, 06/02/2025 and 10/29/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Won (WO2016013751, English translation relying on US equivalent US20170172923).
The limitation of claims 1-6 and 12-16 is met by Won disclosing A composition for delivering a bioactive material include a porous silica nanoparticle containing pores with an average pore diameter ranging from 1 nm to 100 nm, at least one of (i) a functional group which binds to the pore surface of the porous silica nanoparticle and gives the pore surface a negative charge or a positive charge, (ii) a ligand which binds to the pore surface of the porous silica nanoparticle and specifically binds to the bioactive material, and (iii) a combination of the functional group and the ligand, and a bioactive material having a size to be accommodated within the pores of the porous silica nanoparticle, the bioactive material bound to said at least one of the functional group and the ligand bound to the pore surface of the mesoporous silica nanoparticle and accommodated within the pores of the porous silica nanoparticle while the bioactive agent is cell-permeable peptide A (abstract; page 12-13, example 1, [0146-0152]; Fig. 11; claims 1-3 and 12-13, 17-18). In the above 102 rejections, Won is silent about all the properties including absorbance in claims 1-6, however, Won discloses a porous silica in example 1 obtained from a substantially same process and same starting materials as the applicant’s example 1(1) of specification. The inventive porous silica particle in applicant’s working example is expected to have all the properties in the claims 1-6 in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Therefore, the porous silica in Won is expected to be the same or substantially same as the inventive porous silica in working example, which reads on and discloses porous silica in claims 1 and 3-6. The principle of law states from MPEP 2112: II. INHERENT FEATURE NEED NOT BE RECOGNIZED AT THE TIME OF THE INVENTION. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). In this case, the same or substantially same purpose silica is expected to have all the same properties. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Regarding claims 7-10, the limitation is met by Won disclosing porous silica particle with pore size of 28±2nm, BET surface area 388m2/g, pore volume 1.47 mL/g (page 13, [0151]) and particle size of 267±46nm (page 15, [0175]).
Regarding claim 11, the limitation is met by Won disclosing the ratio of active agent and porous silica particle 1:10 (page 13, [0155]).
Regarding claims 17-18, the limitation is met by Won disclosing growth hormone which is peptide hormone ([0054]).
Regarding claim 19-20, the limitation is met by Won disclosing subcutaneous administration (page 19, [0204]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (WO2016013751, English translation relying on US equivalent US20170172923).
In arguendo that applicant’s claimed invention is not anticipated by Won, it is still obvious in the following analysis.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Won teaching in the above 102 rejection are incorporated herein by reference. The procedure to make the porous silica particle is also included herein.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Won is that Won is not specific enough for anticipated.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
The limitation of claims 1-6 and 12-16 is met by Won teaching A composition for delivering a bioactive material include a porous silica nanoparticle containing pores with an average pore diameter ranging from 1 nm to 100 nm, at least one of (i) a functional group which binds to the pore surface of the porous silica nanoparticle and gives the pore surface a negative charge or a positive charge, (ii) a ligand which binds to the pore surface of the porous silica nanoparticle and specifically binds to the bioactive material, and (iii) a combination of the functional group and the ligand, and a bioactive material having a size to be accommodated within the pores of the porous silica nanoparticle, the bioactive material bound to said at least one of the functional group and the ligand bound to the pore surface of the mesoporous silica nanoparticle and accommodated within the pores of the porous silica nanoparticle while the bioactive agent is miRNA (abstract; page 12-13, example 1, [0146-0152]; Fig. 11; claims 1-3 and 12-13, 17-18). In the above 102 rejections, Won is silent about all the properties including absorbance in claims 1-6, however, Won discloses a porous silica in example 1 obtained from a substantially same process and same starting materials as the applicant’s example 1(1) of specification. The inventive porous silica particle in applicant’s working example is expected to have all the properties in the claims 1-6 in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Therefore, the porous silica in Won is expected to be the same or substantially same as the inventive porous silica in working example, which reads on and discloses porous silica in claims 1 and 3-6. The principle of law states from MPEP 2112: II. INHERENT FEATURE NEED NOT BE RECOGNIZED AT THE TIME OF THE INVENTION. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). In this case, the same or substantially same purpose silica is expected to have all the same properties. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Regarding claims 7-10, the limitation is met by Won teaching porous silica particle with pore size of 28±2nm, BET surface area 388m2/g, pore volume 1.47 mL/g (page 13, [0151]) and particle size of 267±46nm (page 15, [0175]).
Regarding claim 11, the limitation is met by Won teaching the ratio of active agent and porous silica particle 1:10 (page 13, [0155]).
Regarding claims 17-18, the limitation is met by Won teaches growth hormone which is peptide hormone
Regarding claim 19-20, the limitation is met by Won teaching subcutaneous administration (page 19, [0204]).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11786469. Both reference application and applicant’s claimed invention direct towards a composition comprising a porous silica and bioactive agent peptide (claim 4), it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11530132 in view of Won (WO2016013751, English translation relying on US equivalent US20170172923). Both reference application and applicant’s claimed invention direct towards a composition comprising a porous silica and bioactive agent, in view of Won teaching the same porous silica and peptide as bioactive agent, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11129796 in view of Won (WO2016013751, English translation relying on US equivalent US20170172923). Both reference application and applicant’s claimed invention direct towards a composition comprising a porous silica and bioactive agent, in view of Won teaching peptide as bioactive agent, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11793757 in view of Won (WO2016013751, English translation relying on US equivalent US20170172923). Both reference application and applicant’s claimed invention direct towards a composition comprising a porous silica, in view of Won teaching peptide as bioactive agent, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12138346 in view of Won (WO2016013751, English translation relying on US equivalent US20170172923). Both reference application and applicant’s claimed invention direct towards a composition comprising a porous silica, in view of Won teaching peptide as bioactive agent, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613