DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/835,406, filed on August 2, 2024.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-35 of copending Application No. 18/835,406 in view of Morlot et al. (U.S. 8,528,758). Copending Application No. 18/835,406 discloses the claimed invention but sets forth that the cam extends from the upper plate. Morlot et al. teaches that it is known to provide a cam on an upper plate (see element 31). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of copending Application No. 18/835,406 with the cam extending from the upper surface, as taught by Morlot et al., in order to engage the closure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morlot et al. (U.S. 8,528,758). Morlot et al. teaches a closure assembly 1 for a package with a flexible thin-walled bag for containing fruit juices and puree, yogurt, energy drinks and the like (col. 1 lines 13-18), comprising a spout unit 5 extending along a spout axis, comprising a connection portion 7, suitable for being hermetically applied to the bag, a spout 12 and at least one spout cam portion 31, a closure 3 which is applicable to the spout unit (figures 1 and 2), comprising a cap 3 which is engageable with the spout extending along a cap axis, wherein the cap 3 comprises a cap wall at 43 comprising a lower edge in which at least one cap cam portion 73 is obtained, wherein the at least one cap cam portion 73 is at least partially complementary to the at least one spout cam portion 31 (figure 2), wherein, in a disengagement configuration, by rotating the cap about the cap axis with respect to the spout, the interaction between the at least one cap cam portion 73 and the at least one spout cam portion 31 causes a continuous axial lifting of the cap with respect to the spout to an apex vertical position at which the cap is disengaged from the spout (the cap is disengaged from the spout when hooks 73 and 23 are disengaged as they are the only locking mechanism), wherein the spout unit is made in a single piece of plastics material by means of injection molding and the closure is made in a single piece of plastics material by injection molding (see note below), wherein the spout unit comprises an upper plate 21 orthogonal to the spout axis, and wherein the spout cam portion is close to the spout (figure 2).
Note: The limitations regarding the injection molding are considered process limitations within a product claim. It has been held that "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Regarding claim 2, the spout cam portion 31 defines an upper cam surface inclined with respect to the spout axis (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, the spout unit 5 comprises two spout cam portions (figure 10) arranged symmetrically with respect to the spout axis and two diametrically opposite cap cam portions 73 are obtained in the lower edge (figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, the spout unit 5 comprises a spout locking element 23 and the closure comprises an engagement element (lower portion of 73) arranged in proximity to the lower edge, wherein, in a locked configuration, the engagement element engages the spout locking element in such a way that the spout unit and the closure are jointly engaged with each other (figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, the spout unit 5 comprises two spout locking elements 23, arranged symmetrically with respect to the spout axis (figure 10) and the closure comprises two diametrically opposite engagement elements (lower portions of element 73; figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, in a disengagement configuration, the interaction between the at least one cap cam portion 23 and the at least one spout cam portion 31, further causes the engagement element disengages from the locking element (figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8, the upper plate at 21 has two opposite straight edges (upper surface and lower surface joined by two leading edges and the spout cam portion 31 is made on a straight edge (upper surface).
Regarding claim 9, a package comprising a flexible thin-walled bag (col 1 lines 33-39), and the closure assembly of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the connection portion of the spout unit is hermetically applied to the bag.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morlot et al. (U.S. 8,528,758) in view of Van Der Molen (WO 2018/194454A1). Morlot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the handle. Van Der Molen teaches that it is known to provide a cap with a handle (see element 24). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the closure assembly of Morlot et al. with the handle, as taught by Van Der Molen, in order to allow the user to easily grasp the cap for application and removal from the spout.
Further regarding claim 7, the closure 3 comprises a handle (24 of Van Der Molen) made in one piece with the cap, wherein the handle comprises two wing portions (shown at 24 of Van Der Molen )which extend from the cap wall substantially on an imaginary plane containing the cap axis (see 24a in figure 8 of Van Der Molen), in two opposite directions, wherein said wing portions comprise a panel portion (24a of Van Der Molen ) and a reinforcement rib (24b of Van Der Molen ) integral with the panel portion, and wherein the panel portion is planar and is entirely contained in the imaginary plane containing the cap axis and the reinforcement rib is positioned at the top of the panel portion (figure 8 of Van Der Molen).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the primary reference of Morlot et al. does not teach “in a disengagement configuration, by rotation the cap about the cap axis with respect to the spout, the interaction between the at least one cap cam portion and the at least one spout cam portion causes a continuous axial lifting of the cap with respect to the spout to an apex vertical position at which the cap is disengaged from the spout”. It is the examiner’s position that Morlot et al. meets this limitation of claim 1. Specifically, Morlot et al. teaches a cap cam portion 73 and a spout cam portion 31. The disengagement configuration is considered to be when the hooks 23 and 73 become disengaged, to the degree set forth in the claim. In this disengagement configuration (when 23 and 73 are disengaged), an interaction between the at least one cap cam portion 73 and the at least one spout cam portion 31 causes an axial lifting of the cap with respect to the spout because in order for the cap cam portion 73 to move into and out of the recess defined by 23, the cap cam portion 73 must ride up and over spout cam portion 73. When the cap cam portion rides up and over spout cam portion 31, the ramp provides and upwardly directed force onto the cam cap portion causing the cap cam portion and cap to move upwardly to an apex vertical position (peak height of ramp 31) at which the cap is disengaged from the spout (73 is disengaged from 23).
Applicant states that ramp 31 acts to tighten not lift the cap. It is the examiner’s position that that the spout cam portion 31 can tighten the cap and lift the cap depending on the relative location of the cap cam portion. When the cap cam portion is located in the position shown in figure 2 the spout cam portion 31 secures the cap cam portion in the recess defined by 23. However, when the cap cam portion rides over the spout cam portion, the spout cam portion provides a lifting force to the cap.
Applicant argues that when the hook 23 rides over the detent 31 during unlocking, it is a “momentary resistance” and not “a continuous camming action meant to lift the cap away from the spout”. Amended claim 1 sets forth that the interaction between the cam portions causes “a continuous axial lifting of the cap” to an apex vertical position. It is the examiner’s position that as 73 moves counter clockwise from the position when in figure 2, it rides continuously upwardly over 31 to the apex position which is located at the midpoint of 31.
Applicant argues that the user must manually grasp and lift the cap to remove it. However, the claim language does not require complete removal of the lid. Additionally, the disengagement configuration has not been defined in the claim to require complete removal of the lid. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The arguments regarding the Double Patenting rejection have been addressed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736