DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed February 24, 2025 has been entered. Claims 70-89 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 70-71, 80, 83, 85-86 and 89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2013/0197693 to Kamen et al. (Kamen) in view of US Patent 4,953,545 to McCarty (McCarty).
Regarding claims 70, 80 and 85, Kamen discloses a system and method comprising: a single dose medication chamber (cup 24); a dispensing apparatus (35); and a controller (control system 32), configured to: detect presence of the single dose of medication received by the dispensing apparatus (via cameras 26 and 27); and to prevent access to the to the single dose chamber while the dispenser is actuated (in the embodiment having a door restricting access to the medication until after dispensing). Kamen does not disclose the dispensing apparatus includes an aerosol generator and the medication being an aerosol, wherein in response to detecting presence of the single dose aerosol chamber received by the aerosol dispensing apparatus, actuate the aerosol generator to deliver an aerosol dose into the single dose aerosol chamber. McCarty teaches a device for dispensing single doses of an aerosol to a single-use aerosol chamber (10) and having an aerosol dispenser including an aerosol generator (20, 22) to dispense single doses of the aerosol to the single-use chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McCarty with the system and method of Kamen such that single doses of an aerosol can be dispensed to a single-use aerosol chamber to aid a user in inhaling the aerosol and to remove the need for cleaning the aerosol chamber, as taught by McCarty. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the cameras of Kamen to detect the presence of the aerosol chamber in dispensing apparatus prior to dispensing the aerosol, as any aerosol product dispensed without the aerosol chamber in place would be wasted. Therefore, to eliminate waste and ensure the aerosol product is delivered to the patient, the controller would be programmed to only actuate the aerosol generator when it has been verified that the aerosol chamber is properly positioned.
Regarding claims 71, 83 and 89, Kamen as modified by McCarty discloses the system of claim 70, controller of claim 80 and method of claim 85, but does not disclose the controller is further configured to actuate the aerosol generator according to a pre-set time and a pre-set flow rate. However, a known manner for dispensing a desired dose of a product is to deliver the product at a predetermined rate for a predetermined time, which results in a desired amount of product. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the controller of Kamen to actuate the aerosol generator according to a pre-set time and a pre-set flow rate such that a desired dose is delivered in a known manner.
Regarding claim 86, McCarty further teaches generating a Coanda effect within the single dose aerosol chamber (the shape of the chamber produces the effect and would be present in the combination as set forth above).
Claims 72-73, 77-79, 81-82, 84 and 87-88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamen in view of McCarty as applied to claims 70, 80 and 85 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2004/0065321 to Stenzler (Stenzler).
Regarding claims 72-73, 84, and 87-88, Kamen as modified by McCarty discloses the system of claim 70, controller of claim 80 and method of claim 85, but does not disclose wherein the aerosol dispensing apparatus further includes a container containing a liquid and a pump linked to the container, wherein the aerosol generator includes a reservoir, and wherein the controller is further configured to cause the pump to deliver a quantity of the liquid from the container to the reservoir before the aerosol generator is actuated, wherein the controller is further configured to detect end of dose of the quantity of the liquid and end actuation of the aerosol generator in response to detecting end of dose of the quantity of the liquid. Stenzler teaches an aerosol delivery device which includes a container (container 74 contains the drug in liquid form) containing a liquid and a pump (92) linked to the container (the pump is fluidly connected to the container), wherein the aerosol generator (100) includes a reservoir (conduit 94 can be considered a reservoir for the liquid fed from the pump to the nebulizer 100), and wherein the controller (4) is further configured to cause the pump to deliver a quantity of the liquid from the container to the reservoir before the aerosol generator is actuated (liquid is first delivered and then the aerosol generator is actuated), wherein the controller is further configured to detect end of dose of the quantity of the liquid and end actuation of the aerosol generator in response to detecting end of dose of the quantity of the liquid (the controller operates both the pump and aerosol generator and is configured to end operations thereof when the desired dose has been delivered). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Kamen as modified by McCarty to include liquid storage and a pump and to program the controller to supply the liquid to an aerosol generator and to stop the dispensing when the desired dose is reached as taught by Stenzler to ensure that the proper dose is administered ([0005] and [0008] of Stenzler).
Regarding claims 77-79 and 81-82, Kamen as modified by McCarty discloses the system of claim 70, controller of claim 80 and method of claim 85and Kamen further discloses the aerosol dispensing apparatus further includes a user interface (touchscreen 15 and speaker 29) wherein the user interface includes a display screen or a speaker. Kamen as modified by McCarty does not disclose the controller is further configured to generate instructions for inhalation of the aerosol dose from the single dose aerosol chamber and provide the instructions through the user interface, wherein the instructions for inhalation include a period of time or a number of inhalations. Stenzler further teaches a user interface (see Fig. 1) and the controller is further configured to generate instructions for inhalation of the aerosol dose from the single dose aerosol chamber and provide the instructions through the user interface, wherein the instructions for inhalation include a period of time or a number of inhalations (see [0028], [0038], [0040], [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Kamen to include providing instructions to the user via the interface from the controller as taught by Stenzler to aid the user in properly using the system and in administering the medication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 74-76 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited documents do not disclose “wherein the aerosol dispensing apparatus further includes a chamber handler including an arm and a receiver disposed at one end of the arm, wherein the arm is rotatable between a first position in which the receiver is configured to receive the single dose aerosol chamber and a second position in which the single dose aerosol chamber is configured to receive the aerosol dose from the aerosol generator, and wherein the controller is further configured to cause the arm to rotate between the first position and the second position.” The examiner finds no evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the cited documents to include such an arrangement, absent the teachings of Applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 December 10, 2025