DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
transfer apparatus configured to transfer a wafer to be cleaned in the brush aging chamber in claims 7, 18; disclosed as a robot arm, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa US 20210305069 A1 in view of Hokaku US 20240253182.
Re claims 1, 6, 14, Kajikawa discloses a brush aging pad Wd, fig. 18, configured to age a surface protrusion [protrusions seen in figs. 14-15] of a brush [90 in fig. 18, 1 in figs. 3, 14-15] configured to clean a semiconductor wafer W in a chemical mechanical polishing cleaning apparatus, the brush aging pad comprising:
a pad body [body of dummy wafer Wd];
a brush aging chamber 600, fig. 17, configured to accommodate a pair of brushes 90; and the brush aging pad Wd between the pair of brushes included in the brush aging chamber, fig. 18, the brush aging pad configured to age a surface protrusion of the brush,
the brush aging pad configured to be in contact with and to be pressed against a surface protrusion of the brush included in the brush aging chamber, Abstract, “a first process in which the cleaning member 90 is pressed against a dummy substrate Wd at a first pressure”., wherein the brush aging pad comprises a pad body having circular shape, figs. 14-15.
Kajikawa does not disclose wherein a surface roughness of at least one surface of the pad body ranges from 1 µm to 5 µm.
However, Hokaku discloses a table with dummy wafer roughness of over 1 µm, figs. 4A-4B. Both Kajikawa and Hokaku discuss the conditioning of brushes using dummy wafers. One of ordinary skill, would have the capabilities to optimize the result effective variable of roughness to properly condition brushes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a wafer having the roughness range claimed, in order to yield the predictable result of properly conditioning the cleaning brushes. Also, it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”, in this case the table ranges of Hokaku overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges, MPEP 2144.05 I. Finally, it also has been held that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.", in this case, the general conditions of a brush aging pad with roughness to condition a brush is disclosed, and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of the roughness by routine experimentation.
Re claims 2-5, 10-13, 15-17, Kajikawa and Hokaku teach the invention as discussed above. Kajikawa and Hokaku further teach wherein a material of the pad body comprises one of quartz, plastic, metal, and silicon, ¶82, “[t]he dummy substrate Wd preferably has an insulating film such as an oxide film. This insulating film may be tetraethoxysilane (TEOS).”[Kajkawa], “a silicon dummy substrate” [Hokaku]; wherein the pad body has a circular shape, a plate shape or a cylindrical shape, figs. 14-15 [Kajikawa], fig. 4B [Hokaku].
Kajikawa and Hokaku do not disclose wherein a thickness of the pad body is less than or equal to 1 mm; wherein the circular shape has a diameter of 200 mm or 300 mm.
However, Kajikawa and Hokaku do teach using a dummy wafers to put into a cleaning chamber for wafers, thus, implying the wafer has similar dimensions to an actual wafer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the thickness, and diameter of the dummy wafer to the specific ranges claimed, in order to yield the predictable result of cleaning the brushes with a substrate as geometrically similar as possible to the actual wafers, and since it been held that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.", in this case, the general conditions of a brush aging pad dimensions is disclosed, and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of the dimensions by routine experimentation..
Re claims 7, 18, Kajikawa and Hokaku teach the invention as discussed above, and further teach wherein the brush aging pad is inserted into or removed from the brush aging chamber by a transfer apparatus configured to transfer a wafer to be cleaned in the brush aging chamber, ¶177, “[w]hen the control part 350 controls the transfer part 300 to replace the dummy substrate Wd, the dummy substrate Wd can be automatically replaced in the cleaning process of the cleaning member”.
Re claims 8, 19, Kajikawa and Hokaku teach the invention as discussed above, and further teach wherein the brush aging chamber further comprises a jig 660, fig. 18, supporting the brush aging pad Wd, and wherein the pair of brushes 90 are configured such that a surface protrusion of each of the pair of brushes is in contact with the brush aging pad and configured to press the brush aging pad, Abstract, “a first process in which the cleaning member 90 is pressed against a dummy substrate Wd at a first pressure”.
Re claims 9, 20, Kajikawa and Hokaku teach the invention as discussed above, and further teach wherein a deionized water flow path 115, fig. 3, is included in the brush 1, and wherein deionized water, ¶78, “[t]he cleaning liquid in the present embodiment contains rinse liquid, such as deionized water”, configured to flow in the deionized water flow path 115, flows out through the surface protrusion of each of the pair of brushes [figs. 14-15].
Contact Information
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723