DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11-14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Chen et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0320263).
In reference to claim 1, Chen discloses a method for a robotic lawn mower system, the method comprising:
controlling movement of a robotic lawn mower 100 using a user terminal 200 (par. 0088, “an operation object can remotely control or place a mower at any boundary of a to-be-trimmed lawn”);
acquiring boundary data that relate to a boundary defining an operation area within which the robotic lawn mower 100 is adapted to operate (Fig. 2, step S201, par. 0088);
presenting boundary data to a user via a user terminal display of the user terminal 200 (Fig. 9);
defining, in response to a user's instruction via the user terminal 200, a boundary part, comprised in the boundary (par. 0096, “the mower works in the remotely controlled movement mode to determine the boundary of the to-be-trimmed lawn”),
controlling the robotic lawn mower 100 to perform boundary cutting along said boundary part (Fig. 2, step S204, par. 0095), and to perform normal cutting along a remainder of the boundary (Fig. 2, step S203), wherein the boundary cutting is a procedure adapted to enable cutting over the boundary in a pre-defined manner (Fig. 2, step S204, the pre-defined manner being remotely controlled cutting).
In reference to claim 2, Chen discloses that the boundary is an imaginary boundary (par. 0084, “without burying wires in the region”), the boundary data comprising imaginary nodes along which the boundary runs, wherein defining at least one edge cut boundary part comprises selecting or adding nodes between which the robotic lawn mower 100 is adapted to be controlled to perform the boundary cutting (Fig. 2, each step constitutes adding another node to the boundary).
In reference to claim 3, Chen discloses that the boundary is an imaginary boundary (par. 0084, “without burying wires in the region”), wherein defining at least one boundary part comprises adding nodes between which the robotic lawn mower 100 is adapted to be controlled to perform boundary cutting (Fig. 2, each step constitutes adding another node to the boundary).
In reference to claim 5, Chen discloses controlling the robotic lawn mower 100 to move along a first path in adjacent straight lines in the operation area (par. 0018, “moving the mowing apparatus to the target movement position along a straight line”), and
controlling the robotic lawn mower 100 to perform the boundary cutting when encountering the boundary part (Fig. 2, step S204, par. 0095).
In reference to claim 6, Chen discloses providing instructions to the user terminal, which instructions enable a user to
- control the robotic lawn mower via the user terminal (Fig. 2, step S204, par. 0095; Fig. 9, par. 0217),
- be presented with said boundary data (Fig. 9, par. 0217), and to
- define the at least one boundary part (par. 0217, “manually control the movement path”).
In reference to claim 8, Chen discloses that the robotic lawn mower 100 encounters the boundary part the method comprises performing continuous boundary cutting along the boundary part such that a continuously cut grass edge is acquired along the boundary part (Fig. 2, step S204).
In reference to claim 9, Chen discloses a robotic lawn mower 100 that is adapted to operate within an operation area defined by a boundary and comprises a mower control unit (par. 0161, “controller”) adapted to control the operation of the robotic lawn mower 100, wherein the mower control unit is adapted to receive data defining at a boundary part (Fig. 2, step S201, par. 0088), comprised in the boundary, wherein the mower control unit 200 is adapted to control the robotic lawn mower 100 to perform boundary cutting along said boundary part (Fig. 2, step S204, par. 0095), and to perform normal cutting along a remainder of the boundary (Fig. 2, step S203), wherein the boundary cutting is a procedure adapted to enable cutting over the boundary in a pre-defined manner (Fig. 2, step S204, the pre-defined manner being remotely controlled cutting).
In reference to claim 11, Chen discloses a robotic lawn mower system comprising the robotic lawn mower 100 according to claim 9 (see above) and a user terminal 200 that is arranged for wireless communication, where the user terminal 200 is adapted to
- receive boundary data that relate to the boundary 21 defining the operation area within which the robotic lawn mower 100 is adapted to operate (Fig. 9);
- present boundary data 21 to a user via a user terminal display of the user terminal (Fig. 9);
- receive instructions from a user, the instructions defining a boundary part comprised in the boundary 21 (par. 0217, Fig. 9),
- send the instructions to the mower control unit that is adapted to control the robotic lawn mower 100 to perform boundary cutting along said boundary part (Fig. 2, step S204, par. 0095), and to perform normal cutting along a remainder of the boundary (Fig. 2, step S203).
In reference to claim 12, Chen discloses that the robotic lawn mower system comprises a remote server (par. 0163) that is adapted for wireless communication with the robotic lawn mower 100 and the user terminal 200, wherein the remote server is adapted to receive the instructions and to send corresponding instructions to the mower control unit, enabling the mower control unit to instruct the robotic lawn mower 100 to perform boundary cutting along said boundary part (Fig. 2, step S204, par. 0095), and to perform normal cutting along the remainder of the boundary (Fig. 2, step S203).
In reference to claim 13, Chen discloses that the boundary is an imaginary boundary (par. 0084, “without burying wires in the region”), the boundary data comprising imaginary nodes along which the boundary runs, wherein the user terminal 200 is adapted to receive information in the form of selected, moved or added nodes between which the robotic lawn mower 100 is adapted to be controlled to perform the boundary cutting (Fig. 2, each step constitutes adding another node to the boundary).
In reference to claim 14, Chen discloses that the boundary is an imaginary boundary (par. 0084, “without burying wires in the region”), wherein the user terminal 200 is adapted to receive information in the form of added nodes between which the robotic lawn mower 100 is adapted to be controlled to perform the boundary cutting (Fig. 2, each step constitutes adding another node to the boundary).
In reference to claim 16, Chen discloses that the user terminal 200 is a special remote control provided specifically for the robotic lawn mower system (par. 0161, “special remote controller for the mowing apparatus), or a mobile phone with a touch-sensitive display adapted for reception and presentation of data (par. 0161, Fig. 9).
In reference to claim 17, Chen discloses that, in the case of the user terminal 200 being in the form of a smart phone, the smart phone is modified to function in the robotic lawn mower system by means of instructions, and the interaction with the robotic lawn mower is performed via an application program, an App, comprising said instructions (Fig. 9, pars. 0161 and 217).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0320263) in view of Frick et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0270044).
In reference to claims 4 and 15, Chen fails to disclose that the boundary is constituted by a boundary wire, wherein the boundary data comprises a layout over the boundary wire, wherein defining at least one boundary part comprises adding imaginary nodes along the layout of the boundary wire, between which added nodes the robotic lawn mower is adapted to be controlled to perform boundary cutting.
Frick discloses that boundary wires can be used to constitute a boundary (par. 0005). In combination with Chen, this would result in using the boundary wire as a boundary and adding imaginary nodes along the layout of the boundary (Fig. 2, each step constitutes adding another node to the boundary), between which added nodes the robotic lawn mower is adapted to be controlled to perform boundary cutting. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a boundary wire to define the boundary with a reasonable expectation of success to ensure that the mower will not leave the boundary.
Claim 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0320263) in view of Furuta et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0306538) and Frick et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0270044).
In reference to claim 7, Chen fails to disclose that the robotic lawn mower has
- at least two drive wheels that form a pair of drive wheels arranged along a drive wheel axis with a center, the center being positioned between the drive wheels in the pair,
- at least one swivelable wheel,
- at least a first rotatable grass cutting disc having a rotation axis,
- a first end portion facing a forward travelling direction,
- and a second end portion facing a reverse travelling direction,
wherein the boundary cutting is a pivoting boundary cutting, wherein controlling the robotic lawn mower to perform the boundary cutting comprises controlling the robotic lawn mower to move towards the boundary part such that a first end portion approaches the boundary part,
determining if a distance to the boundary part fulfills a condition, and when is the condition is fulfilled, the method comprises stopping the robotic lawn mower, and
controlling the drive wheels to turn in mutually different directions such that the second end portion of the robotic lawn mower performs an arcuate movement along a cutting arc, enabling the first rotatable grass cutting disc to cut grass within the cutting arc.
Furuta discloses a robotic lawn mower 10 comprising
- at least two drive wheels 16L and 16R (par. 0015) that form a pair of drive wheels arranged along a drive wheel axis with a center, the center being positioned between the drive wheels in the pair (Fig. 1),
- at least a first rotatable grass cutting disc 50 having a rotation axis M1 (Fig. 1),
- a first end portion facing a forward travelling direction (Fig. 1),
- and a second end portion facing a reverse travelling direction (Fig. 1),
wherein the boundary cutting is a pivoting boundary cutting, wherein controlling the robotic lawn mower 10 to perform the boundary cutting comprises controlling the robotic lawn mower 10 to move towards the boundary part such that a first end portion approaches the boundary part (Fig. 1),
determining if a distance to the boundary part fulfills a condition, and when is the condition is fulfilled, the method comprises stopping the robotic lawn mower 10, and
controlling the drive wheels 16L and 16R to turn in mutually different directions such that the second end portion of the robotic lawn mower 10 performs an arcuate movement along a cutting arc, enabling the first rotatable grass cutting disc 50 to cut grass within the cutting arc (par. 0056).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the above lawn mower to conduct the above method steps with a reasonable expectation of success so that the mower can be used to cut a corner section of the boundary.
Frick discloses a robotic mower with at least one swivelable wheel 108 (par. 0041, “front wheels 108 may freely caster relative to the housing 102”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a swivelable wheel with a reasonable expectation of success so that the mower can maneuver more effectively.
In reference to claim 10, Chen fails to disclose the mower comprising a body, at least two drive wheels that form a pair of drive wheels arranged along a drive wheel axis with a center, the center being positioned between the drive wheels in the pair, the robotic lawn mower further comprising at least one swivelable wheel, at least a first rotatable grass cutting disc having a rotation axis, wherein a first end portion is facing a forward travelling direction and a second end portion is facing a reverse travelling direction, wherein, during the boundary cutting, the mower control unit is adapted to
- control the robotic lawn mower to move towards the boundary part such that the first end portion approaches the boundary part, and to
- determine if a distance to the boundary part fulfills a condition,
wherein, when the mower control unit determines that the distance to the boundary part, fulfills the condition, the mower control unit is adapted to stop the robotic lawn mower, and to control the drive wheels to turn in mutually different directions such that the second end portion of the robotic lawn mower performs an arcuate movement along a cutting arc, enabling the first rotatable grass cutting disc to cut grass within the cutting arc.
Furuta discloses a mower 10 comprising a body 12, at least two drive wheels 16L and 16R that form a pair of drive wheels (par. 0015) arranged along a drive wheel axis with a center (Fig. 1), the center being positioned between the drive wheels in the pair (Fig. 1), the robotic lawn mower 10 further comprising at least a first rotatable grass cutting disc 50 having a rotation axis M1 (Fig. 1), wherein a first end portion is facing a forward travelling direction and a second end portion is facing a reverse travelling direction (Fig. 1), wherein, during the boundary cutting, the mower control unit is adapted to
- control the robotic lawn mower 10 to move towards the boundary part such that the first end portion approaches the boundary part (Fig. 5), and to
- determine if a distance to the boundary part fulfills a condition (par. 0056),
wherein, when the mower control unit determines that the distance to the boundary part, fulfills the condition, the mower control unit is adapted to stop the robotic lawn mower 10, and to control the drive wheels 16L and 16R to turn in mutually different directions such that the second end portion of the robotic lawn mower performs an arcuate movement along a cutting arc, enabling the first rotatable grass cutting disc 50 to cut grass within the cutting arc (par. 0056).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the above lawn mower to conduct the above method steps with a reasonable expectation of success so that the mower can be used to cut a corner section of the boundary.
Frick discloses a robotic mower with at least one swivelable wheel 108 (par. 0041, “front wheels 108 may freely caster relative to the housing 102”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a swivelable wheel with a reasonable expectation of success so that the mower can maneuver more effectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/004392) discloses a robotic mower that determines a boundary (Figs. 1 and 2); Yao et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0297114) discloses a method of guiding a lawn mower relative to a boundary (Figs. 4A, 4B and 5); and Wilkestad et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0015812) discloses a method of defining a boundary for a mower 100 (Figs. 4, 6 and 8).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
6/25/26