DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a steering control device and a processing device in claims 1, 5, and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, the term "exterior" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is exterior referring to. Does the exterior term relate to the steering control device, steering device, processing device, or vehicle? This renders the claim as indefinite. Appropriate action is required.
Claims 2-5 ultimately depend from claim 1 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al US 2024/0124047.
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto et al discloses a steering control device 40 configured to control a steering device including: a turning shaft 12 configured to turn a turning wheel 11 of a vehicle, dynamic power transmission between the turning shaft and a steering wheel being separated (see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0115]); and a turning motor 31 configured to generate a torque that is given to the turning shaft, the steering control device comprising a processing device 202 configured to: control drive of the turning motor depending on a steering state of the steering wheel; and execute a lock process based on a command from an exterior, in a state where the steering device is equipped in the vehicle, the lock process being a process of driving the turning motor such that a position of the turning shaft is kept at a particular position. See FIG. 1 and paragraphs [0008]-[0029].
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto et al discloses wherein the lock process is a process of driving the turning motor such that the position of the turning shaft is kept at the particular position, regardless of the steering state of the steering wheel. See paragraph [0011].
Regarding claim 3, Matsumoto et al discloses wherein the particular position is a neutral position of the turning shaft, the neutral position corresponding to a straight movement state of the vehicle. See paragraphs [0069]-[0071] and [0080].
Regarding claim 4, Matsumoto et al discloses wherein the particular position is an end position that is a limit position in a physically movable range of the turning shaft. See paragraph [0110].
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto et al discloses wherein the processing device is configured to execute the lock process when the vehicle is at a stop. See paragraph [0067].
Regarding claim 6, Matsumoto et al discloses a steering control method for controlling a steering device 10 including: a turning shaft 5 configured to turn a turning wheel 4 of a vehicle, dynamic power transmission between the turning shaft and a steering wheel being separated (see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0115]); and a turning motor configured to generate a torque that is given to the turning shaft, the steering control method comprising executing a lock process by a processing device 202, based on a command from an exterior, in a state where the steering device is equipped in the vehicle, the lock process being a process of driving the turning motor such that a position of the turning shaft is kept at a particular position, regardless of a steering state of the steering wheel. See FIG. 1 and paragraphs [0008]-[0029].
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747