DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the controller is configured to” in claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the claim limitation "sending, based on the pixel region not being detected, an inquiry for a depth with respect to pixels of pixel regions that are not determined as the transparent obstacle through the aligned depth image" (emphasis added) renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear what the purpose is for sending the inquiry for the depth information, how the inquiry is related to detection of the transparent obstacle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozcan et al (IEEE Access 2022), hereinafter Ozcan in view of Wu (US 20220383513 A1), hereinafter Wu.
-Regarding claim 1, Ozcan discloses an apparatus for detecting a human behand a transparent obstacle, the apparatus comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-7; Page 66841, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph, “low-light and transparent obstacles …”; Page 66836, 2nd col, 2nd paragraph; Page 66838, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph): a red-green-blue-depth (RGB-Depth) camera configured to generate at least one image associated with the transparent obstacle, wherein the at least one image comprises red-green-blue (RGB) data and depth data (FIGS. 1-2, 4, 6; Tables 1, 4; Page 66834, 1st col., Sec. III., 3rd paragraph, “a Microsoft Kinect camera is used as an RGB-D sensor to obtain optical and depth data”; Page 66836, 2nd col, 2nd paragraph; Page 66838, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph); a thermal imaging camera configured to generate a thermal image associated with the transparent obstacle (FIGS. 1-2, 4, 6; Table 4; Page 66834, 1st col., Sec. III., 3rd paragraph, “Seek Compact Pro is used as a thermal sensor to detect thermal data in the environment”; Page 66836, 2nd col, 2nd paragraph; Page 66838, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph); and a controller coupled to the RGB-depth camera and the thermal imaging camera synchronized with each other, wherein the controller is configured to: align the at least one image and the thermal image (FIG. 2-5; Page 66832, 1st Col., 4th paragraph, “… using a real-time fusion, a new method establishing relationships between RGB-D and thermal sensors”, 2nd paragraph, Sec. II., 3rd paragraph, “different features are registered by using different sensors together”; Page 66834, Sec. III.); detect, based on the aligned at least one image and the aligned thermal image, a pixel region determined as the transparent obstacle by using an artificial intelligence model (FIGS. 4-7; Tables 4-6; Page 66832, 1st col., 1st paragraph, “Having all of this data simultaneously … the thermal and depth information of any desired object or region in the environment can be determined”; Page 66836, 2nd col., Sec. IV. A., 1st paragraph, “interest regions are assigned to overlap data from different sensors using the method described in Section III. … ROI images”; Page 66838, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph; Page 66841, 2nd paragraph – Page 66842, 1st paragraph, “… YOLOv4 neural network … increased even more with the training of the newly generated hybrid dataset …”); and estimate, based on the detected pixel region and based on the depth data of the aligned at least one image, a depth of the object associated with transparent obstacle (FIGS. 2-7).
Ozcan discloses an apparatus for detecting a human behand a transparent obstacle. However, Ozcan does not disclose detecting a transparent obstacle directly. A person of ordinary skills in the art would understand that the transparent obstacle can be determined based on detection process of a human behand the transparent obstacle.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches a method for tracking a transparent object using machine learning (Wu: Abstract; FIGS. 1-2). Wu further teaches acquiring an environment capture camera or a visible light image data in real time and infrared thermal image data acquired in real time (Wu: FIG. 1, step 120; FIG. 2, blocks 121, 122) and providing the data to an object detection model using a convolutional neural network for transparent object detection and tracking (Wu: FIGS. 1-2). Wu also teaches that the environment capture camera is in frame synchronization with the infrared thermal imaging camera frame. (Wu: [0021]), and the transparent object can be detected and marked, and estimated depth values are assigned based transparent pixel identifier (Wu: [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ozcan with the teaching of Wu by detecting transparent obstacle with fusion of RGB-D image data and thermal image data in order to improve the performance for the detection of an object behind the transparent obstacle.
-Regarding claim 11, Ozcan discloses a method for detecting a human behand a transparent obstacle, the method comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-7; Page 66841, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph, “low-light and transparent obstacles …”; Page 66836, 2nd col, 2nd paragraph; Page 66838, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph): synchronizing a red-green-blue-depth (RGB-Depth) camera and a thermal imaging camera; aligning red-green-blue (RGB) image and a depth image generated (FIG. 2; Page 66832, 1st Col., 4th paragraph, “… using a real-time fusion, a new method establishing relationships between RGB-D and thermal sensors”, 2nd paragraph, Sec. II., 3rd paragraph, “different features are registered by using different sensors together”; Page 66834, Sec. III.) by the RGB-Depth camera with a thermal image generated by the thermal imaging camera (FIGS. 1-2, 4, 6; Tables 1, 4; Page 66834, 1st col., Sec. III., 3rd paragraph, “a Microsoft Kinect camera is used as an RGB-D sensor to obtain optical and depth data”; Page 66836, 2nd col, 2nd paragraph; Page 66838, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph), to generate an aligned RGB image, an aligned depth image, and an aligned thermal image, wherein each of the aligned RGB image, the aligned depth image, and the aligned thermal image is associated with the transparent obstacle (FIGS. 3-5); detecting, based on the aligned at least one image and the aligned thermal image, a pixel region determined as the transparent obstacle by using an artificial intelligence model (FIGS. 4-7; Tables 4-6; Page 66832, 1st col., 1st paragraph, “Having all of this data simultaneously … the thermal and depth information of any desired object or region in the environment can be determined”; Page 66836, 2nd col., Sec. IV. A., 1st paragraph, “interest regions are assigned to overlap data from different sensors using the method described in Section III. … ROI images”; Page 66838, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph; Page 66841, 2nd paragraph – Page 66842, 1st paragraph, “… YOLOv4 neural network … increased even more with the training of the newly generated hybrid dataset …”); and estimating, based on the detected pixel region and based on the depth data of the aligned at least one image, a depth of the object associated with transparent obstacle (FIGS. 2-7).
Ozcan discloses an apparatus for detecting a human behand a transparent obstacle. However, Ozcan does not disclose detecting a transparent obstacle directly. A person of ordinary skills in the art would understand that the transparent obstacle can be determined based on detection process of a human behand the transparent obstacle.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches a method for tracking a transparent object using machine learning (Wu: Abstract; FIGS. 1-2). Wu further teaches acquiring an environment capture camera or a visible light image data in real time and infrared thermal image data acquired in real time (FIG. 1, step 120; FIG. 2, blocks 121, 122) and providing the data to an object detection model using a convolutional neural network for transparent object detection and tracking (FIGS. 1-2). Wu also teaches that the environment capture camera is in frame synchronization with the infrared thermal imaging camera frame. (Wu: [0021]), and the transparent object can be detected and marked, and estimated depth values are assigned based transparent pixel identifier (Wu: [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ozcan with the teaching of Wu by detecting transparent obstacle with fusion of RGB-D image data and thermal image data in order to improve the performance for the detection of an object behind the transparent obstacle.
-Regarding claims 3 and 13, Ozcan in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further teaches extracting an RGB camera parameter and a depth camera parameter from the RGB-Depth camera, through camera calibration; extracting a thermal imaging camera parameter from the thermal imaging camera; and by using the extracted RGB camera parameter, the extracted depth camera parameter, and the extracted thermal imaging camera parameter, generating the aligned RGB image, the aligned depth image, and the aligned thermal image (Ozcan: FIGS. 2-5).
-Regarding claims 4 and 14, Ozcan in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further teaches wherein the aligning the RGB image and the depth image with the thermal image comprises: aligning the depth image with the RGB image; and aligning the aligned depth image and the aligned RGB image with the thermal image, to generate the aligned RGB image, the aligned depth image, and the aligned thermal image (Ozcan: FIGS. 2-5).
-Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ozcan in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further teaches wherein the detecting the pixel region determined as the transparent obstacle comprises: extracting, via a deep learning model, a feature of each of the aligned RGB image and the aligned thermal image; extracting, based on the extracted feature, regions where different images are formed as the pixel region; and detecting pixels of the pixel region as the transparent obstacle (Ozcan: FIGS. 2-7; Page 66834, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph, “The differences in distance and slope between the detected calibration points are calculated and compared to each other”; Page 66836, 2nd col., Sec. IV. A., 1st paragraph, “interest regions are assigned to overlap data from different sensors using the method described in Section III. … ROI images”; Page 66838, 1st col., 2nd paragraph, “… detection and classification are measured using a pre-trained convolutional neural network …”; Page 66841, 2nd paragraph – Page 66842, 1st paragraph, “… YOLOv4 neural network … increased even more with the training of the newly generated hybrid dataset …”; See also Wu: FIGS. 1-2)
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozcan et al (IEEE Access 2022), hereinafter Ozcan in view of Wu (US 20220383513 A1), hereinafter Wu, and further in view of Jiang et al (arXiv:2304.00157v2 2023), hereinafter Jiang.
-Regarding claims 2 and 12, Ozcan in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 12.
Ozcan in view of Wu does not teach estimating depth of the transparent obstacle for a robot navigation with without colliding with the transparent obstacle.
However, Jiang is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method for perceiving transparent objects to enables robots achieving higher levels of autonomy (Jiang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-11). Jiang further teaches comparing the estimated depth of the transparent obstacle with a collision range of a robot; controlling, based on the estimated depth being within the collision range, the robot to stop; and controlling, based on the estimated depth being out of the collision range, the robot to normally drive (Jiang: Page 2, 1st col., 1st paragraph, “(1) locating transparent objects and (2) accurately estimating the depth of transparent object …”; Page 6, Sec. III., 1st paragraph, “It allows autonomous robots to navigate in unknown environments … without colliding with glass walls or windows”; Page 7, 2nd col., 4th paragraph, “… depth information of transparent objects … self-localization”; Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ozcan in view of Wu with the teaching of Wu by provide robotic perception of transparent objects in order to provide a real-world application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huo et al (arXiv:2204.05453v4 16 Mar 2023), hereinafter Huo teaches a method for glass segmentation utilizing paired RGB and thermal images.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/XIAO LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664