DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansson (US 2019/0146070) in view of Pacala (US 2018/0059222).
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Hansson teaches an optical ranging device configured to detect a distance to a target by using a round-trip time of flight [#100 of Fig 1; 0033], the optical ranging device comprising: a light receiving module that is a plate-shaped member on which detectors are arranged, the detectors being configured to respond to sensing light having a predetermined wavelength [#126 of Fig 1, 2A, 2B; 0037]; light emitting elements … configured to emit the sensing light [#404 of Fig 12; 0055]; an aperture module disposed upward of the light receiving module [#408 of Fig 12; 0055], …the reflected light being the sensing light reflected by the target [0055]; and a glass plate in contact with upper ends of the light emitting elements [0033; 0037], wherein the light emitting elements are provided on portions of the aperture module where the openings are not provided on the aperture module [#404, #406, #408 of Fig 12; 0055]. Hansson does not explicitly teach – but Pacala does teach light emitting elements which are vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers and configured to emit the sensing light [0050]; the aperture module being a plate-shaped member having (point-shaped) openings through which reflected light passes toward the detectors [Fig 1, 3B; 0044; 0050]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Hansson to include (point shaped) openings at the aperture opening as a diffraction-limited diameter would maximize geometrical selectivity of the field of view of the system and using VCSELs would output an illuminating beam of an initial diameter substantially identical to (or slightly greater than) the diameter of a corresponding aperture in the aperture layer.
Regarding Claim 18, Hansson teaches an optical ranging device configured to detect a distance to a target by using a round-trip time of flight [#100 of Fig 1; 0033], the optical ranging device comprising: an irradiation module [#404 of Fig 12; 0055] including a plate-shaped member and light emitting elements provided on the plate-shaped member [0033; 0037], the light emitting elements …and configured to emit sensing light having a predetermined wavelength [#404 of Fig 12; 0055], the plate-shaped member transmitting the sensing light [0033; 0037]; a light receiving module that is a plate-shaped member on which detectors are arranged, the detectors being configured to respond to the sensing light [0033; 0037; 0055];…, the reflected light being the sensing light reflected by the target [0033; 0037; 0055]; and a glass plate in contact with upper ends of the light emitting elements [0033; 0037], wherein the irradiation module is disposed upward of the light receiving module and faces the light receiving module [#404, #406, #408 of Fig 12; 0055], and the aperture array is disposed between the light receiving module and the irradiation module [#408 of Fig 12; 0055]. Hansson does not explicitly teach – but Pacala does teach being vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers [0050]; an aperture array that is a plate-shaped member including openings through which reflected light passes toward the detector [Fig 1, 3B; 0044; 0050]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Hansson to include (point shaped) openings at the aperture opening as a diffraction-limited diameter would maximize geometrical selectivity of the field of view of the system and using VCSELs would output an illuminating beam of an initial diameter substantially identical to (or slightly greater than) the diameter of a corresponding aperture in the aperture layer.
Regarding Claim 2, Hansson also teaches an optical unit configured to focus the reflected light through each of the openings, and allow the sensing light from the light emitting elements to enter the optical unit [Fig 3; 0040].
Regarding Claim 3, Hansson also teaches wherein the light emitting elements are arranged on the aperture module such that one of the openings is arranged between two of the light emitting elements [Fig 12; 0055].
Regarding Claim 4, Hansson also teaches wherein the one of the openings is arranged at equal distance from adjacent two of the light emitting elements [0051-55]. Pacala additionally teaches this limitation in [0044; 0050; 0060].
Regarding Claim 5, Hansson also teaches wherein at least one of the light emitting elements is disposed within 60 μm from one of the openings [0051-55]. Pacala additionally teaches this limitation in [0044; 0050; 0060].
Regarding Claim 6, Hansson does not explicitly teach- but Pacala does teach wherein the openings are arranged in a matrix, and the detectors face at least one of the openings [Fig 1, 3B; 0044; 0050]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Hansson to include openings arranged in a matrix at the aperture opening as a diffraction-limited diameter would maximize geometrical selectivity of the field of view of the system.
Regarding Claim 7, Hansson also teaches wherein one of the light emitting elements is disposed between adjacent two of the openings [Fig 12; 0055].
Regarding Claims 8 and 15, Hansson does not explicitly teach- but Pacala does teach wherein the openings are arranged in a staggered manner [Fig 1, 2; 0025; 0029; 0035]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Hansson to include staggered openings to maximize geometrical selectivity of the field of view of the system
Regarding Claims 10 and 14, Hansson does not explicitly teach- but Pacala does teach wherein outlines of the opening have a circular shape [Fig 1, 3B; 0044; 0050]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Hansson to include circular openings to maximize geometrical selectivity of the field of view of the system.
Regarding Claim 11, Hansson does not explicitly teach- but Pacala does teach wherein the aperture module is larger in size than the light receiving module, and the optical ranging device further comprises a lens module disposed between the aperture module and the light receiving module and configured to focus light from the openings of the aperture module on the light receiving module [Fig 3A, 3B; 0041-45]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Hansson to include a larger aperture module and a lens to maximize geometrical selectivity of the field of view of the system.
Regarding Claim 16, Hansson also teaches wherein the aperture module is a module in which the openings are through-holes formed on a metal plate #124 of Fig 1; 0043].
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansson (US 2019/0146070) in view of Pacala (US 2018/0059222), as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Motomura (WO 2020/050044) and Kadotani (US 2008/0179617).
Regarding Claims 9 and 13, Hansson does not explicitly teach but Motomura teaches a heat conductor [#30 of Fig 1, 2; 0034], and Kadotani teaches arranged on a top or lateral side of the light emitting elements or a portion of the aperture module behind the light emitting elements [Fig 1; 0043]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Hansson to include a heat conductor arranged near the aperture module to simultaneously provide both high light-emission efficiency and a high heat radiation effect.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansson (US 2019/0146070) in view of Pacala (US 2018/0059222), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2019/0383938).
Regarding Claim 17, Hansson does not explicitly teach – but Lin teaches an image generation part configured to generate a range image based on output signals from the detectors, each pixel of the range image indicating a distance to the target in a predetermined direction, wherein each of the detectors includes light receiving elements, and number of the light receiving elements included in each of the detectors is different between a central portion and a peripheral portion of the light receiving module [0005; 0052-60]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Hansson to include image generation elements and different numbers of receiving elements in the central and peripheral portions of the module so that objects that are present in the near field can be detected with correspondingly higher resolution compared to the resolution of the central detection section.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645