Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 14 is directed towards a computer readable medium, without explicitly claiming the medium as non transitory, which means the BRI of the limitation may include signals which are not one of the four statutory classes, and claim 15 is directed towards a program, which is not one of the four statutory classes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stoyanov (US 11383171)
In claim 1, Stoyanov discloses
A communication interface configured to communicate with a game server and (the recording component 114 is in communication with the other portions of the online gaming platform as shown in figure 1 #105, as well as the administration servers, registry servers, and client computing platforms)
A controller configured to generate an asset code corresponding to a game asset in the game server and register the asset code on a blockchain network (figure 1 #114, column 11 lines 29-47 discloses creating of a digital asset and registering it on a blockchain network, the asset code would be figure 1A “identifier = #001”)
In claim 8, 14, ane 15 Stoyanov discloses
Generating an asset code corresponding to a game asset in a game server and (figure 1 #114, column 11 lines 29-47 discloses creating of a digital asset, the asset code would be figure 1A “identifier = #001”)
Registering the asset code on a blockchain network (figure 1 #114, column 11 lines 29-47)
In claims 2 and 9, Stoyanov discloses the controller provides status information for the asset code when obtaining intermediary information for the asset code (it is noted by examiner that the terms “status information” and “intermediary information” are extremely broad terms that can mean basically any sort of information whatsoever. Further, within applicant’s own spec, “the intermediate information may be […] a string […] the string may be the asset code itself”, meaning that a teaching of the asset code is a teaching of the intermediary information as they may be one and the same thing. However, Stoyanov discloses these limitations more narrowly, as Stoyanov discloses intermediary information such as “name = “Boss Dino Blanko”, and status information such as ownership rights and history, as per column 5 lines 32-42)
In claims 3 and 10, Stoyanov discloses the controller transmits a transaction of the asset code to the blockchain network when trading of the asset code occurs (column 7 lines 44-67, column 8 lines 1-3)
In claims 4 and 11, Stoyanov discloses the controller provides status information of the asset code, and particularly provides at least one of pieces of information about sale, rental, and shared ownership of the asset code (column 15 lines 1-36)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoyanov.
In claims 5 and 12, Stoyanov discloses the claimed invention except the controller generates the asset code corresponding to the game asset in the game server, and deletes the game asset from a user account in the game server where the game asset is stored, however Official notice is taken that removal of redundant data after uploading data to a different storage solution was notoriously well known before the effective filing date of the invention, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Stoyanov with this well known technique in order to allow for server space to be reclaimed.
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoyanov in view of Andon (US 11113754).
In claims 6, 7 and 13, Stoyanov discloses the claimed invention except for restoring the asset code and store the game asset corresponding to the asset code in a user account in the game server, wherein the controller restores the asset code and provides rewards based on a management period from a time when the game asset was converted into the asset code to a time when the asset code is restored, however Andon discloses that the user may lease their crypto to another user (column 19 lines 3-27) which would involve removing the asset code from the owner’s use, and then restoring it after a time frame and providing a reward based on the management period. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Stoyanov with Andon in order to allow for the owner to profit off their digital assets without selling the assets.
Conclusion
/THOMAS H HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715