DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an Application No. 18/910,553 filed on 10/09/2024 in which claims 1-10 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 10/09/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Telang et al. (US 2017/0223597 A1) hereinafter “Telang”.
Regarding claim 1, Telang discloses a voice call management method, comprising:
determining, by a processor of an apparatus (see FIG. 8; see ¶ [0080], UE includes processor), a current scenario associated with an operation environment of the apparatus (see FIG. 2-4; see ¶ [0044], A user utilizing UE 115-a originates a voice call over an LTE network using an IMS via communications link 125-a and base station 105-a); and
determining, by the processor, to perform a voice call through a modem (MD) voice engine or through an application processor (AP) voice engine according to the current scenario (see FIG. 2-4; see ¶ [0045-47], the UE 115-a also detects that a WiFi network is available via wireless link 127-a to AP 107-a and determines that the WiFi network is capable of supporting a transfer of the active voice call).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Telang discloses wherein the current scenario comprises at least one of following scenarios: the apparatus currently only supports a Wi-Fi service; the apparatus currently only supports a cellular network service; and the apparatus supports the Wi-Fi service and the cellular network service at the same time (see ¶ [0046], the UE 115-a may include a plurality of radio resources or modems, including at least one VoLTE-capable modem and at least one VoWiFi-capable modem).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Telang discloses further comprising:
disabling, by the processor, the AP voice engine in an event that the apparatus currently only supports the cellular network service (see ¶ [0028] [0087], entering an operating mode that disables one or more radio resources and disabling the second radio resource).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Telang discloses further comprising:
disabling, by the processor, the MD voice engine in an event that the apparatus currently only supports the Wi-Fi service (see ¶ [0047], a mode where all modems designated for cellular service are disabled and at least one modem designated for WiFi is active).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Telang discloses further comprising:
disabling, by the processor, the AP voice engine in an event that the apparatus supports the Wi-Fi service and the cellular network service at the same time (see ¶ [0047] [0087], the UE 115-a will then disable the VoLTE-capable modem as well as any other cellular-based radio resources of the UE 115-a while keeping the VoWiFi-capable modem active and disabling the second radio resource).
Regarding claim 6, Telang discloses an apparatus (see FIG. 8; see ¶ [0079], UE), comprising:
a transceiver, configured to perform wireless transmission and reception to and from a network node (see FIG. 8; see ¶ [0080], UE includes transceiver); and
a processor, coupled to the transceiver (see FIG. 8; see ¶ [0080], UE includes processor and transceiver), and performing operations comprising:
determining a current scenario associated with an operation environment of the apparatus (see FIG. 2-4; see ¶ [0044], A user utilizing UE 115-a originates a voice call over an LTE network using an IMS via communications link 125-a and base station 105-a); and
determining to perform a voice call through a modem (MD) voice engine or through an application processor (AP) voice engine according to the current scenario (see FIG. 2-4; see ¶ [0045-47], the UE 115-a also detects that a WiFi network is available via wireless link 127-a to AP 107-a and determines that the WiFi network is capable of supporting a transfer of the active voice call).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Singh et al. (US 2016/0174191 A1) teach a method for reception of calls on a mobile device that includes Wi-Fi and cellular radios (see Abstract).
KIM et al. (US 2018/0359663 A1) teaches a method for processing handover by a terminal includes determining whether the terminal is required to perform handover of another wireless network included in the heterogeneous wireless networks, and upon determining that the handover is required, performing handover to the another wireless network, wherein the handover is determined by applying at least one handover condition to each of predetermined operation modes in the terminal conducting the voice call service (see Abstract).
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462