DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see application, filed 08/03/2026, with respect to the
majority of the 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The
majority of the 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the 112a rejection is overcome in regards to the additional matrix sizes being disclosed in the specification. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The specification supports subject matter for additional quantization matrices such as non-square quantization matrices. Therefore, there is support for other matrix sizes than the only claimed matrix sizes (i.e. 2x2, 4x4 and 8x8).
Applicant argues that the double patenting rejection is overcome since the parent application fails to disclose "wherein the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 can be applied to chroma blocks, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 is not applied to luma blocks, wherein for a block size which is equal to or smaller than 8x8, only quantization matrices of three sizes are encoded as the second quantization matrices, and the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 is encoded first, when encoding the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2, the second quantization matrix having a size of 4x4, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 8x8, and wherein a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 8x8, the size of the second quantization matrix is 8x8.". The examiner respectfully disagrees. For example, co-pending app. ‘585 claims the above argued limitation except for “wherein a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 8x8, the size of the second quantization matrix is 8x8”. Instead, co-pending app. ‘585 claims “wherein a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 4x4, the size of the second quantization matrix is 4x4”. The changing of the matrix sizes does not overcome an obviousness rejection.
Applicant's amendments have overcome the prior 112 rejections but has
removed the allowable subject matter from the independent claims. Therefore, the prior
art previously cited still applies. Lim disclose the limitations "wherein for a block size
which is equal to or smaller than 8x8, only quantization matrices of three sizes are
decoded as the second quantization matrices" and "the sizes correspond to 2x2, 4x4
and 8x8" (Lim, para. 0015 and/or 0309, 0619 and 1063-1064).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/695,638, filed on 03/30/2022.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 of copending Application No. 18/910,585 in view of Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim ‘396) (US 20150334396). The only difference between this instant application and the co-pending application is the size of the first and second quantization matrix. This instant application contains 8x8, whereas copending app. claims 4x4. However, Lim ‘396 does disclose wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 8×8, the size of the second quantization matrix is 8×8. [See Lim ‘396 [0019] Quantization matrix having the same size as a quantization matrix when coding/decoding is being performed. Also, see 0038, 8x8 quantization matrices.] It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by the claims of copending Application No. 18/910,585 to add the teachings of Lim ‘396, in order to improve upon coding efficiency [See Lim ‘396 [0005]].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-12 of copending Application No. 18/910,601 in view of Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim ‘396) (US 20150334396). Co-pending App. ‘601 does not explicitly claim wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 8×8, the size of the second quantization matrix is 8×8. However, Lim ‘396 does disclose wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 8×8, the size of the second quantization matrix is 8×8. [See Lim ‘396 [0019] Quantization matrix having the same size as a quantization matrix when coding/decoding is being performed. Also, see 0038, 8x8 quantization matrices.] It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by the claims of copending Application No. 18/910,601 to add the teachings of Lim ‘396, in order to improve upon coding efficiency [See Lim ‘396 [0005]].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 of copending Application No. 18/910,615 in view of Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim ‘396) (US 20150334396). Co-pending App. ‘615 does not explicitly claim wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 8×8, the size of the second quantization matrix is 8×8. However, Lim ‘396 does disclose wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 8×8, the size of the second quantization matrix is 8×8. [See Lim ‘396 [0019] Quantization matrix having the same size as a quantization matrix when coding/decoding is being performed. Also, see 0038, 8x8 quantization matrices.] It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by the claims of copending Application No. 18/910,615 to add the teachings of Lim ‘396, in order to improve upon coding efficiency [See Lim ‘396 [0005]].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112
(pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or
a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at
the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation "wherein for a block size which is equal to or smaller than 8x8, only quantization matrices of three sizes are decoded as the second quantization matrices" appears to be new subject matter. For example, applicant's published spec. para.
[0072] states in part "the quantization matrices that are generated are, however, not
limited thereto, and quantization matrices corresponding to the shape of the subblocks
such as 4x8 and 8x4 may be generated. Therefore, the specification provides support
for non-square matrices when the block size is equal to or smaller than 8x8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim) (US 20220321885) in view of Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim '396) (US 20150334396) and in further view of Tanaka (US 20150063447).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses an image encoding apparatus comprising:
a quantization unit configured to quantize transform coefficients in a block in an image, using a first quantization matrix, [See Lim [0024] Quantizing transform coefficients of a current block of a current picture based on the quantization matrix set. Also, see Fig. 1, quantization unit (140).]
an encoding unit configured to encode the first quantization matrix, [See Lim [Fig. 1] Entropy encoding unit (150).]
wherein (a) in a case where a first mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes, into a scaling list data syntax structure, information indicating that the first quantization matrix is the same as a second quantization matrix to be referenced, and encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, information for specifying the second quantization matrix, [See Lim [1045] Quantization matrix copy mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag.]
(b) in a case where a second mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, the information for specifying the second quantization matrix, and encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, information for deriving a difference between an element of the first quantization matrix and an element of the second quantization matrix, and [See Lim [1046] Inter-quantization matrix prediction mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag.]
(c) in a case where a third mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes a difference between an element and another element within the first quantization matrix, [See Lim [1046] Intra-quantization matrix DPCM mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded.]
wherein the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 can be applied to chroma blocks, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 is not applied to luma blocks, and [See Lim [0494-0495] Quantization matrix having size of 2x2 is not used for luma, and quantization matrix having size of 2x2 is used for chroma.]
wherein for a block size which is equal to or smaller than 8x8, only quantization matrices of three sizes are encoded as the second quantization matrices, and [See Lim [1063-1064] The embodiments are applicable only when the size of the current block is equal to or less than 8x8. Also, see 0015, Quantization matrix is defined according to a size of a block. Also, see 0619, quantization matrix having a size of 2x2, 4x4, or 8x8.]
[See Lim [1063-1064] The embodiments are applicable only when the size of the current block is equal to or less than 8x8. Also, see 0015, Quantization matrix is defined according to a size of a block. Also, see 0619, quantization matrix having a size of 2x2, 4x4, or 8x8.]
Lim does not explicitly disclose
wherein a code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the second mode is used,
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used,
the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 is encoded first, when encoding the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2, the second quantization matrix having a size of 4x4, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 8x8.
wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 8x8, the size of the second quantization matrix is 8x8.
However, Lim '396 does disclose
wherein a code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the second mode is used, [See Lim '396 [0203] Scaling list pred mode flag is 0 when matrices are identical and copying is used, and scaling list pred mode flag is 1 when prediction is used. Also, see 0049, exp-Golmb coding.]
wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 8x8, the size of the second quantization matrix is 8x8. [See Lim ‘396 [0019] Quantization matrix having the same size as a quantization matrix when coding/decoding is being performed. Also, see 0038, 8x8 quantization matrices.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Lim to add the teachings of Lim '396, in order to improve upon coding efficiency [See Lim '386 [0005]].
Lim (modified by Lim '386) do not explicitly disclose
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is not greater than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used,
wherein the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 is encoded first, when encoding the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2, the second quantization matrix having a size of 4x4, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 8x8.
However, Tanaka does disclose
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is not greater than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used, [See Tanaka [0119-0123] 1st mode is 0, 2nd mode is 1 and 3ʳᵈ mode is 2. Also, see 0195, Golomb coding.]
wherein the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 is encoded first, when encoding the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2, the second quantization matrix having a size of 4x4, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 8x8. [See Tanaka [0182] Loops for every size and type of quantization matrix, starting at size 0 (i.e. in view of Lim, 2x2 will be encoded first).]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Lim (modified by Lim '396) to add the
teachings of Tanaka, in order to improve upon coding efficiency related to quantization
matrices [See Tanaka [0009-0010]].
Regarding claim 2, Lim (modified by Lim’396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein types of components of the block include a luma component and two chroma components, and [See Lim [0098] Block includes luma and two chroma components.]
transform coefficients of each component are quantized using the first quantization matrix corresponding to the component. [See Lim [Figs. 9-17] Quantization matrices for luma/chroma.]
Regarding claim 3, Lim (modified by Lim’396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the second quantization matrix is a quantization matrix which has already been encoded or a default quantization matrix all elements of which are 16. [See Lim [Fig. 31] Default matrix having values of 16.]
Regarding claim 5, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486